PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Tetra Whisper In-Tank Power Aquarium Filters

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Tetra Whisper In-Tank Power Aquarium Filters

Super quiet power filtration that's easy to conceal within your aquarium. As versatile as they are powerful, these filters are ideal for low water level environments.
Overall rating:
3.951 / 5
4
 / 
5
(102 reviews) 98
82 of 102(80%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Tetra Whisper In-Tank Power Aquarium Filters
Review 1 for Tetra Whisper In-Tank Power Aquarium Filters
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 102 reviews

Good filter

March 13, 2014
by Gclo
fromNY
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 102 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 102 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 102 reviews
Ive had this filter for 4 years for my 10 gallon tank with my one goldfish. It keeps the water very clean. If you have a 10 gallon tank and plan on getting more then one goldfish then i recommend getting the next size up. The filter cartridges are super easy to install, and the filter itself is easy to clean. The only bad thing is that i spent like an hour trying to get the suction cups into the tiny holes your supposed to fit them in on the back of the filter. It also comes with an attachment that hooks over the side of the tank if you dont want to use the suction cups.
Pros: easy to clean, easy to install
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Tetra Whisper In-Tank Power Aquarium Filters
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 102 reviews

Disappointing

February 1, 2014
by AlphaBetta
fromMississauga
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I went through 3 filters before I got to this item. I purchased both the 3i and the 10i of the type of filter and I can honestly say I expected more. The 3i has a noisy air pump that even a towel underneath doesn't quiet. The top broke off the day I got it, it bubbles everywhere and now the rubber has come off the suckers and it won't stick to the tank.
The 10i is noisy and vibrates the tank. It doesn't sit deep enough into the tank. It would be nice to have another notch or two in the hanger for tanks that need less water (I have dwarf frogs so having hte water high in the tank makes it difficult for them to breath). They both leave a white powdery mess on the edge of my tanks. I was so excited to finally find filters for small tanks as nano tanks are not well supported and garner disdain the fish community.
Other nano filters are very expensive so a cheaper item was nice to see.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Tetra Whisper In-Tank Power Aquarium Filters
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 102 reviews

Very nice

January 17, 2014
by YellowTurtle
fromValley City, Ohio
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I like this filter.
My turtle has a fifty gallon tank with a little fishy to chase.
It keeps it clean for a while, and the bags are not expensive. I have another filter in there two, and I don't like that one very much (wrote review on the Zoo Med Clean Filter, not so clean!)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Tetra Whisper In-Tank Power Aquarium Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 102 reviews

Wonderful

January 11, 2014
by Guppies18
fromHenderson,NV
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Makes a beautiful soothing sound, and does it's job!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Tetra Whisper In-Tank Power Aquarium Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 102 reviews

I love this!

December 30, 2013
by AnnasAnimals
fromPortland, OR
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 102 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 102 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 102 reviews
The 10i is very inexpensive and has been running with no issues for over a year in my 10 gallon aquarium. All I have to do is clean it monthly and change the "bio-bag", which I buy fairly cheap ($2.50 each) at my local grocery store.
Pros: easy to clean, works great, easy to install
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Tetra Whisper In-Tank Power Aquarium Filters
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 102 reviews

Not compatible with high water aquariums

December 11, 2013
by Eleria
fromPalmdale, CA.
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5 102 reviews
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5 102 reviews
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5 102 reviews
I bought this filter today, and I took it back after using is for 10 minutes. The quality of the filter is average. Not poor. But the design on this filter is not good for aquariums with only fish and the water is high. More for a turtle tank or semi aquatic tank of that sort. Also this filter is not quiet. It's very loud. Not like the box says.
Pros: easy to install
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Tetra Whisper In-Tank Power Aquarium Filters
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 102 reviews

November 17, 2013
by Ivanlol
fromVancouver, BC
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 102 reviews
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5 102 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 102 reviews
That wasn't my first choice to got this product. I had retuenrd one because it was too big on my 10G tank. Anyways, it's quiet and powerful. But it will become more and more noisy after coulpe days than the first day.
Cons: hard to clean
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Tetra Whisper In-Tank Power Aquarium Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 102 reviews

Great Product

August 17, 2013
by CrazyForMyAnimals
fromSC
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 102 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 102 reviews
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5 102 reviews
This product is great. It was very simple to put together,and its really quiet. When I went to plug it in it was so quiet I didn't even know it was on. I will defiantly recommend this product to anyone. It cleans my 10 gallon guppy tank very well!!! Love it
Pros: works great, easy to install, easy to clean
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Tetra Whisper In-Tank Power Aquarium Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 102 reviews

Great!

June 28, 2013
by MyBettaRocks
fromMississauga, Ontario
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 102 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 102 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 102 reviews
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
I had this since October for my 5 gallon tank, and its great so far!
It keeps my water crystal clear, and I've never had any problems with it.
The current may be too strong for my Betta though, but he's learned not to swim directly in front of the holes at the bottom.
I've never had any problems with the water splashing onto the floor or whatever other peoples complaints were. I also love how quiet it is.
The filter may not be cut out for fish that produces a great amount of waste, such as goldfish. It is better suited for Bettas, Guppies, Tetras, etc.
So far this filter has been good to me! I would recommend it to anyone.
Pros: works great, easy to install, easy to clean
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Tetra Whisper In-Tank Power Aquarium Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 102 reviews

Got the 10i for my 10 gallon tank

April 6, 2013
by AnnasPets
fromPortland, Oregon
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I love this filter! It's easy to clean, the filter replacements are cheap and easy to replace, and it keeps my water clean and my fish happy! Also, you can't beat the price! I would not recommend this for seriously overstocked tanks or tanks with small shrimp unless you plan on covering the filter intake.
Overall, this is a great filter and I wouldn't dream of replacing it unless something went wrong, in which case I would buy another 10i.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Tetra Whisper In-Tank Power Aquarium Filters
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 102 reviews

40i, poorly designed, poorly made

February 4, 2013
by U238
fromBarrie, Ontario
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5 102 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 102 reviews
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5 102 reviews
Bought the 40i for a 30g aquarium with two gold fish. Had to work within a budget, but wish I had waited till I could have afforded a canister (Ehiem).
Issues:
- filter pad does not lock in
- bio-screen does not lock into lock tabs of housing
- water goes directly up from pump and splashed water out the top of the unit and on to lid and floor
- water bi-passes under and over filter pad
- bio screen restricts flow through filter pad, and directs flow inefficiently
- had to heat housing and re-form it to get bio-screen to lock in
- had to make a foam lid/lock
- Bio-screen lacks surface area for build up of good bacteria
- could use a second suction cup on the housing to keep it in place on the glass
- when hanger is set to lowest position it exposes a hole in the housing that water jets out of
- too large inside the tank, and ugly
Cons: didn't work
-15points
1of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Tetra Whisper In-Tank Power Aquarium Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 102 reviews

Works Great, Lasts Years

January 30, 2013
by KenL
fromBend, OR
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 102 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 102 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 102 reviews
I bought this filter about 3 years ago for my 10 gallon aquarium. It works great, and is very easy to keep maintained. Very happy with this product for the price!
Pros: works great, easy to clean
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Tetra Whisper In-Tank Power Aquarium Filters
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 102 reviews

Keeps Tank Clean

January 28, 2013
by Shirobird
fromUtah
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 102 reviews
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5 102 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 102 reviews
This filter does an exceptional job at keeping the tank clear and clean. I've used this in my 5 and 10 gallon tank for almost 3 years now. Having said that, the suction cup on the back has popped out of mine and rattles against the glass. That part drives me nuts. For the value, it's great, but it may be worth your time to invest in one that is a little sturdier.
Pros: works great, easy to install
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Tetra Whisper In-Tank Power Aquarium Filters
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 102 reviews

January 25, 2013
by kodiiak
fromSouth carolina
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 102 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 102 reviews
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5 102 reviews
This filter came as part of a 10 gallon starter kit. Is very quiet and easy to install and use. It The only drawback to it I find is that it is slightly bulky and the current it creates is so strong it will send my beta sailing across the tank.
Pros: easy to clean, works great, easy to install
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Tetra Whisper In-Tank Power Aquarium Filters
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 102 reviews

10 gallon & 20 gallon

January 15, 2013
by Damien
fromNew york Ny
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 102 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 102 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 102 reviews
I bought a 20g one for my 10g tank for my RES, worked perfectly, i then bought fish & decided to buy another filter but bought the 10g one, it didnt clean my 10g fish tank so good so i then switched the filters, after a while my 20g filter just stopped working & I threw out my box so i couldnt get a new one. Now my 10g filter is 'cleaning' my fish tank -___-
Pros: easy to install, easy to clean
Cons: didn't work
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Tetra Whisper In-Tank Power Aquarium Filters
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 102 reviews

Ehh... I Mean Its Ok...

January 10, 2013
by IMASOHAPPYGAL
fromSurprise,AZ
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 102 reviews
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5 102 reviews
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5 102 reviews
Buy A Better Filter For The Extra Ten Bucks. It Will Last Longer. I Can't Find Any More Cartridges For It Go I Used A Sponge. I Cut Off The Abrasive Side And Stuck It In. It Works Fairly Ok But I Still Had To Get Algae Eaters And Shrimp And A Crab.
Pros: easy to clean
Cons: Hard to Install
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Tetra Whisper In-Tank Power Aquarium Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 102 reviews

Great Filter, Use it on all of my tanks

January 6, 2013
by Mandigirl
fromTexas and Oregon (currently Texas)
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 102 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 102 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 102 reviews
I have been using this on all of my tanks except my fifty gallon for a long time. One of my main hobbies is taking care of my aquariums, which I am very proud of. I have one fifty gallon, three twenty gallons, one ten gallon, one five gallon (hospital tank) and a large pond outside full of comet goldfish. Point is, I have been doing this for a long time and tetra whisper has never failed me. It is quiet, strong (but no too strong), and keeps my tanks clean.
I have no complaints about this filter. I think it is perfect for all tanks from 10-40 gallons. I would strongly recommend this to anyone either starting an aquarium or with experience keeping fish.
Pros: works great, easy to install, easy to clean
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Tetra Whisper In-Tank Power Aquarium Filters
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 102 reviews

fine

January 5, 2013
by jdhdtecthjtwcrh
fromcanada
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5 102 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 102 reviews
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5 102 reviews
loud but works fine
Pros: easy to install, easy to clean
Cons: didn't work
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Tetra Whisper In-Tank Power Aquarium Filters
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 102 reviews

i actually paid money for this...

January 1, 2013
by winteree
fromgrand prairie, Texas
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5 102 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 102 reviews
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5 102 reviews
i bought this filter for my 10 gal medication tank and i set it up just how the directions say to. And it won't come on after messing with it for about 20 mins i was very angry. Because getting to a petsmart isn't just down the street. I was in a hurry so i left to go to school. When i get home some 4 hours later it's working just fine. I tried to move it to the other side of the tank. And the only suction cup holding it in place comes off and after trying to put it back on. I broke the plastic hanger that goes over the side of the tank. Now i have to wrap a piece of bailing wire around it to keep it from falling into the water. And then after accidentally unplugging the cord i can't get it to start back again. And i can't return it because i was a day passed the 2 week limit.
This is just another bad product that petsmart put out.
Cons: hard to clean, didn't work
-7points
0of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Tetra Whisper In-Tank Power Aquarium Filters
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 102 reviews

Great Product Great Price

January 1, 2013
by spnd2sv
fromOhio
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 102 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 102 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 102 reviews
I was looking for a companion filtration system for our turtle aquarium. This little pump works hard and does a great job and keeping the tank clean.
Pros: works great, easy to install, easy to clean
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next