PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Petromalt Hairball Remedy

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Petromalt Hairball Remedy

Favorite of cat owners for more than 50 years; its lubricating action aids in the elimination of hairballs.
Overall rating:
3.875 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(8 reviews) 8
6 of 8(75%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Petromalt Hairball Remedy
Review 1 for Petromalt Hairball Remedy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 8 reviews

My pet loves this!

February 20, 2010
by ferretluver2010
fromOttawa, ON
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 8 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 8 reviews
My pet loves the taste! Every time I give her some she is always extremely happy. Best part, I haven't seen a hairball in ages! She loves this, and I can give her some as a treat! I am no longer worried about hairballs because I have this great product and I will keep buying it for years to come and I think you should too!
Pros: prevents hairballs, my pet loves the taste!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Petromalt Hairball Remedy
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 8 reviews

December 23, 2009
by meows2much
fromCharleston, SC
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
My cats love this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Petromalt Hairball Remedy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 8 reviews

Really works!

April 10, 2009
by Vienna
fromVolusia County, FL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I have a fluffy cat that would hack up hairballs almost daily. Sometimes it would be just hair and other times there would be food mixed in, just depends on how long she had eaten before feeling ill. Anyway, it was pretty gross to clean up the ones with food mixed in, not to mention the sad noise the cat would make right before hacking one up, so I went online to see what types of remedies were out there. After reading the reviews on eveything, this is the only stuff I wanted to try, as virtually everyone that left a review raved about it. So I bought it, put a little strip on top of my cat's food daily for a few days (as package suggests) and no hairballs since. I now give her a 1 inch strip only twice a week (as package directs). This stuff really does work! I also wanted to mention that I don't have to go to any trouble as far as getting the cat to eat it. I put it on top (don't even have to mix it in) of her food, and she eats it first. None left behind. If you have the problem I had you'll definately be thrilled with this product.
Pros: really works cat likes taste, great price convienent application (tube type).
Cons: none at all
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Petromalt Hairball Remedy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 8 reviews

Rabbits LUV it!!!

March 27, 2008
by happybunnyowner
fromCalgary, AB, Canada
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 8 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 8 reviews
I give my two female bunnies a ribbon of petromalt (malt flavor of course) a week, and they absolutely love the stuff. Rabbits have just as much fur as cats and they clean themselves just as often. So it's nice that there's a product that out there to prevent hairballs, especially one that they like so much.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Petromalt Hairball Remedy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 8 reviews

THIS STUFF IS GREAT!!

October 6, 2007
by DonnaK
fromAtlanta
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 8 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 8 reviews
My 16-year-old cat loves this and I use it as a treat so he doesn't know that it is good for him. And, it does help with the hairball problem.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Petromalt Hairball Remedy
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 8 reviews

Sometimes the cat wins

August 21, 2007
by CatNovice
fromMichigan
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
2 / 5
2 / 5 8 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
1 / 5
1 / 5 8 reviews
My cat despises this and ALL other hairball remedies and will not voluntarily consume any of them. "try putting it on her paws" a helpful associate suggested. It was difficult to get it onto her paws, but she managed to get it off onto the furniture quite easily as she ran around the house to escape from the hairball remedy. (Fortunately it comes off the furniture nicely)
Actually it has been kind of funny seeing her reject every attempt from the pastes to the hairball prevention treats to the special canned food. I've given up and just started brushing her every day even though she is a short-hair and that seems to resolve the hairball issue.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Petromalt Hairball Remedy
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 8 reviews

Petromalt Takes Time to Work

December 7, 2006
by kbw1207
fromBurtonsville, MD
Effectiveness 
4 / 5
4 / 5 8 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5 8 reviews
I have been using Petromalt with one of my 4 cats who has severe hairballs--coughs up cigar size hairballs. It took a month of Petromalt, 1" ribbons of Petromalt, added to breakfast and dinner, to get progress for my cat. After the hairballs stopped coming up, the hacking/coughing continued, but is getting better. Along with the Petromalt, I also groom my cat with a flee comb, per my vet's recommendation. I had tried the flee comb for a year, with some positive results, but my cat needs the flee comb and Petromalt. The flee comb is much better at getting hair out of the cat vs. a cat brush. My only dislike of Petromalt is that the tube is difficult to get the stuff out near the end. I feel like I waste about 3 days at the end of the tube since it is so hard to squeeze. Petromalt is also expensive. It is costing me $20/month for one cat! My cat needs the Petromalt twice per day to be effective.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Petromalt Hairball Remedy
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 8 reviews

Pump Difficulty

November 24, 2006
by KGreen
fromBrunswick, ME
Effectiveness 
1 / 5
1 / 5 8 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
2 / 5
2 / 5 8 reviews
I never used the tube one but purchased the pump of this product thinking of maybe reducing the mess around the tube. The product pushes out very very hard, and takes a lot of time and power to push 1 inch ribbon! The one of my two cats (who has a lot more stomach issues than other one) doesn't even seem to care about the hard ribbon. The other one takes this as any other kind. I stopped using this because neither my cats nor I can be patient enough to wait until the whole un inch is pushed anymore.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.