PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Contech Scat Mat Automatic Indoor Cat Training Mat

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Contech Scat Mat Automatic Indoor Cat Training Mat

Help your cat learn good house manners by keeping them off furniture or counters, or out of selected rooms. Scat Mat emits a mild, harmless static pulse when your cat touches it. Cats soon learn which parts of your home they should avoid. To watch a product demo, click on the video camera at bottom left of product image.
Overall rating:
4.75 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(8 reviews) 8
8 of 8(100%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Contech Scat Mat Automatic Indoor Cat Training Mat
Review 1 for Contech Scat Mat Automatic Indoor Cat Training Mat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 8 reviews

Scat Mat is a fantastic training tool

February 13, 2014
by suchelle
fromMandeville, LA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 8 reviews
I bought the Scat Mat in an attempt to keep my cats off of certain surfaces. So far, it's only been placed on a chair. It only took a couple of times for them to learn their lesson. I keep it on the lowest setting and it's very effective. I intend to buy more for use on countertops, table, etc.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Contech Scat Mat Automatic Indoor Cat Training Mat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 8 reviews

Yes!

January 4, 2014
by lynnie44
fromWhidbey Is, WA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 8 reviews
Hated to scare my cat but the constant messy problem appears to be solved. She's OK now.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Contech Scat Mat Automatic Indoor Cat Training Mat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 8 reviews

Awesome product

October 29, 2013
by jjjay
fromTexas
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?First time
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 8 reviews
If you want to teach a cat to stay away from an area in your house purchase the Scat Mat. My wife's cat stepped on it once and got the surprise of its life. It has been a week and the cat has not returned to the area again. The cat was not harmed in any way. I love this thing!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Contech Scat Mat Automatic Indoor Cat Training Mat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 8 reviews

October 12, 2013
by Chris63
fromSuwannee Ga.
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Great product and does the job I had hoped it would do.Our cat is no longer getting on top of the kitchen cabinets and reigning cat hair where it doesn't belong.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Contech Scat Mat Automatic Indoor Cat Training Mat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 8 reviews

Worked great and solved my problem

September 19, 2013
by Greenhornet1945
fromColorado
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?First time
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 8 reviews
I love our little dog but she has been driving me crazy by getting in the trash can in our bedroom knocking it over so trash is all over the floor.
I tried different things to get her to stop but nothing worked.
So I bought a Scatmat from a pet smart put the mat in front of the trash can. She tried 2 times to get into the trash can and stopped she never comes around it now
Problem solved
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Contech Scat Mat Automatic Indoor Cat Training Mat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 8 reviews

The Best Product Ever Invented!

April 14, 2007
by Cattlady
fromHolland Michigan
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 8 reviews
I LOVE this product! We have 8 cats, and a we had a major problem with several of them urinating outside of their litter boxes. I put the Scat Mats in the spots they target and it is 100% effective. After they got zapped once or twice, they learned not to go on the mats. We just spent a lot of money having a stone fireplace put in our home, and we've protected our investment by placing scat mats in front of the hearth. While I'm not thrilled with having the mats lying all over the house, it sure beats having a stinky house! We use the mats in addition to medication from our Vet (Prozac & Clomicalm) - the "incidents" having dropped from 5-6 times a day to once or twice a month. Highly recommend!
+17points
17of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Contech Scat Mat Automatic Indoor Cat Training Mat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 8 reviews

April 12, 2007
by manny12
fromIowa
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 8 reviews
This product is great, keeps cats off the counter!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Contech Scat Mat Automatic Indoor Cat Training Mat
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 8 reviews

Scat Mats

February 28, 2007
by BigB
fromBountiful, UT
Effectiveness 
3 / 5
3 / 5 8 reviews
I purchased a large Scatmat for my Chihuahua's and cats. It took over 2 days for the animals to make contact with the wires in the mat so they would get a small charge and stay out of the frontroom.
I hope future mats have the wire spacing closer together so they work more effectively. My animals walked over the mat serveral times with their tiny feet before anything happened. Even now I can touch the mat sometimes and not feel anything.
I cannot say for sure if I would recommend it to a friend since I am still trying to get the benefit out of the mat.
I would have expected my animals would have made contact with the wires sooner. I will have to see if the animals react differently in a week or so.
Right now, the mat is no more effective than a water sprayer! The dogs still trotted across it and came into the couch where I was sitting without any reaction.
0points
9of 18voted this as helpful.