PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Cat Urine Stink-Finder Super Brite UV Light Combo

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Cat Urine Stink-Finder Super Brite UV Light Combo

UV light and flashlight find invisible sources of cat odor. Plus, includes an 8-oz. bottle of Stink Free Instantly! Urine Odor Remover.
Overall rating:
3.454 / 5
3.5
 / 
5
(11 reviews) 11
6 of 11(55%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Cat Urine Stink-Finder Super Brite UV Light Combo
Review 1 for Cat Urine Stink-Finder Super Brite UV Light Combo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews

Nice little gadget to help get rid of the stink!

December 2, 2010
by Manypets
fromCape May, NJ
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
This is a nice little light. Now, when I say little light, this is what I'm referring too. It is a nice size to store away and pull off the shelf when needed. I use to have one that was huge like a baseball bat. That isn't necessary as this one does the same thing. However, the large one might have shown some spots even if there was a slight bit of light shining in on the room. This small one, you have to close the door of the room and make sure that it is completely in the dark before giving it a try. You also have to remember that this a black light and it will show any mark you have on your carpet. It doesn't know how to show up just cat urine spots alone. You might have spilled something on your carpet before and just gave it a quick clean up. Depending on what was in it, the purple light might show you still have this stain. (Some people think that this is just a urine dector, but no matter what way you look at it, this is a purple light.) The packaging for the light has a grid to let you know what color purple things would be so you would know what would be a true cat urine stain. I actually like that it shows even the smallest of stains as I know where I need to put more effort in when I do my carpet shampooing.
Pros: small & easy to store
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Cat Urine Stink-Finder Super Brite UV Light Combo
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 11 reviews

Not worth it

May 15, 2010
by Cattingaround
fromSpring Hill, Tn.
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Stinkfinder couldn't find odors where I knew they were. My nose worked better. Also I now have dirty spots where I put the solution and the urine smell is still in there. From what I've read on the internet, white vinegar is the only thing that will take out cat urine odor. I'm going to give that a try. Right now, I can smell urine, febreeze, lysol, and stinkfinder solution all at once and it is very nauseating.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Cat Urine Stink-Finder Super Brite UV Light Combo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews

Works Wonderfully!

March 1, 2010
by HeidiHo
fromEscondido, CA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews
Okay, I'm not sure why two reviewers had a hard time seeing the urine because this light works just great. Yes, you have to be within inches of the stain and the room does need to be dark, but using this gadget actually made the carpeting in my crafting room, where the kitties have their litter box, light up like a christmas tree. I have one bad kitty who doesn't always like to use the box and the room started smelling bad. I was able to find multiple areas that he did his thing. Unfortunately, just like CSI, using a cleaner to pick up the mess doesn't get rid of the residue so even if you use your carpet cleaner, the residue will light up again the next time you use the light. I highly recommend buying this light to find areas that accidents (well in my case and my cat, a purposeful act) have happened.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Cat Urine Stink-Finder Super Brite UV Light Combo
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 11 reviews

September 10, 2009
by kberg
fromwausau, wi
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I've always read that a black light is supposed to be effective on finding stains, etc. This is the first black light that I have ever used and I am very disappointed. I have two cats, one of which has started spraying and the light doesn't pick up any of the stains. He recently urinated on a gym bag- left a puddle of urine and even holding the light an inch or so away from the area in a completely dark room didn't detect anything. A very disappointing purchase.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Cat Urine Stink-Finder Super Brite UV Light Combo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews

Pretty Good Stuff

August 24, 2009
by ChunkyMonkeyDunkeyDoo
fromthe South
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Effectiveness 
4 / 5
4 / 5 11 reviews
The blacklight works best with brand new batteries, and although it's not CSI quality, it will aid in finding pet stains that you may not realize you had and it works well for hunting down "mystery odors". However, you need to be patient, and have a very dark room for it to work best. For instance, our dog pottied on our new carpet because the cats had wadded her puppy pad up, well I wasn't sure if it was a #1 spot or just a place where she had played with her KONG- got the light and it was a stain, not slobber, it was very evident and I grabbed the stain remover (not what was included in the package), well two weeks later our room kept smelling funky, so I checked the area again and no potty stains, I went to one corner where our kitties used to have "potty parties" and there was a very faint glow about the area and at first I ignored it, I just thought it might have been me looking too hard or something but the smell didn't go away so out of curiosity I tried some stain remover (not what was included) and sure enough, there was a huge stain of #1! So much that tonight will be my third night in a row trying to get it up (letting it dry completely in between). I say that to say that yes, the light works, but in our case the stains aren't always going to light up like a chirstmas tree- so I think using it as a tool, to monitor your pets bad habits is all you can expect.
The included stain stuff, on the other hand, is AWESOME! For whatever reason our kitties decided to also have a potty party in our spare room and literally pottied around almost the entire perimeter of the room (we couldn't really tell because of the color of the carpet). Well, I had already scrubbed and scrubbed with different stain remover and gotten most of the spots up, only to discover two of our kitties pottying in there again a few days later. I was so disgusted I just threw in the towel for the time being, until the smell just got to me one day when I was picking up in there and I decided to try the stain stuff included in this package- I literally just squirted it everywhere, having no expectation of it working or not but I thought, hey, I'd use it, try it and just maybe get lucky. I literally used the whole bottle in one 10x10 room and it smells really nice, fresh and clean but not too overpowering and the nice smell has lingered for almost a week now. I'm not sure how long it will last or if it's a permenant fix or if, because I used the stain stuff the stains won't light up, but it totally caught me off guard! And all I had to do was squirt it on the stains! It didn't do anything for the stain as far as the color, but the odors were gone!
Pros: cheap, effective, a good tool to keep bad pet habits in check
Cons: not 100% perfect in detecting all stains
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Cat Urine Stink-Finder Super Brite UV Light Combo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews

Cat urine stink finder

July 17, 2009
by ragdoll7
fromPhoenix, AZ
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I, like the other reviewer put off buying this product due to bad reviews, but out of desperation, finally broke down and have been very happy with it. With light carpet and tile, I have no problem seeing the stains with this light whereas I couldn't see them before with the naked eye. It took a few minutes to determine the difference between a urine stain and other types of stains, and it's a little more difficult to see the urine stains on my dark area rugs, but the light still worked great. With 2 new male cats in the neighborhood, my 18 year indoor male cat has felt the need to start spraying so I'm using this light at least twice a week. At first I used batteries out of a flashlight and the stains were harder to see, but when I put in fresh batteries, the stains are very easy to see. With this light, I see that my Hoover carpet cleaner was not getting up the stains like I thought it was.
Pros: works fine, like the flashlight feature
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Cat Urine Stink-Finder Super Brite UV Light Combo
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 11 reviews

Get the stuff!!!!!!.. forget the light

September 28, 2008
by dacga
fromGeorgia
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews
ok, situation - siamese cat starts peeing on the couch. EVERY pillow ends up being marked. The light.. whatever, not that much luck and it has to be absolutely dark for it to work really good.. I cant wait til midnight to correct the issue. Sooo, I just used the old nose and that was good enough to find the areas. The stink finder solution is Magic! works instantly and smells fantastic FRESH FRESH FRESH.. plus its just pour and go.. no scubbing, nothing! just buy the gallon size to start with. youll need it if you have repeat issues. I will buy again if I need to. (lets hope not!!)
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Cat Urine Stink-Finder Super Brite UV Light Combo
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 11 reviews

Worked on NATURAL fibres.

September 28, 2008
by twocentsCanada
fromS-W Ontario
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Effectiveness 
3 / 5
3 / 5 11 reviews
The UV light showed up soiled areas on a carpet that I think is wool. It also showed areas on (cotton?) backing of a smaller mat. It did not work on nylon or other man-made carpet or material. The flashlight was useful to see shiny soiled area on wall and baseboard that needed cleaning. I'm not sure if soiled areas stop fluorescing/glowing after they've been cleaned or not.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Cat Urine Stink-Finder Super Brite UV Light Combo
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 11 reviews

stinkfinder fluid

August 20, 2008
by clnosko
fromEast Brunswick NJ
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
2 / 5
2 / 5 11 reviews
I was unable to see the urine using the uv light. True daylight worked better. The fluid to remove the cat urine smelt good for a couple of days, but the urine smell kept comming back.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Cat Urine Stink-Finder Super Brite UV Light Combo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews

Simply Indispensable!

May 3, 2008
by Pilgrimben
fromMississippi
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews
I found this little uv lamp to be a real time saver in pointing out kitty accidents of all kinds. Yes ....it works best in a darkened room,,,,& you have to get the light right down to the carpet.....but it will easily point out areas whiere cat bodiliy fluids have dribbled. I recommend it highly!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Cat Urine Stink-Finder Super Brite UV Light Combo
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 11 reviews

Did not work

March 25, 2008
by Stem570
fromBaltimore
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
1 / 5
1 / 5 11 reviews
I did not find this product useful at all. The light did not detect anything even in a spot I know my cat had used. Also, I don't feel the product took care of the odor.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.