PetSmart Ratings and Reviews
Shop now at PetSmart

Customer reviews for Zodiac Spot On Plus for Cats More Than 5 lbs.

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Zodiac Spot On Plus for Cats More Than 5 lbs.

Eliminates adult fleas and ticks and prevents reinfestation for 30 days. For cats and kittens 12 weeks of age and older.
Overall rating:
2.357 / 5
2.4
 / 
5
(14 reviews) 14
4 of 14(29%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Zodiac Spot On Plus for Cats More Than 5 lbs.
Review 1 for Zodiac Spot On Plus for Cats More Than 5 lbs.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 14 reviews

Works great! very economical!

March 3, 2011
by lovesmycats
fromSpringfield MO
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 14 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5 14 reviews
I noticed my pets had fleas, so I went to the store and picked this product up.
I loved it! not only was it killing fleas, but the flea eggs as well. At first I noticed there were fleas still getting on my pet so I called the 800 number and spoke with a very friendly rep. She exp that since the cats had fleas before being treated, there was an infestation in the home.
She recommended that I treat my home and explained how, and to keep applying the product every 30 days. She said it may take a few weeks to get through all of the fleas that were able to complete their life cycle in the environment and I may continue to see some fleas on the pet, but once the infestation was done it would work great.
And sure enough! No more fleas in the home, or on my two cats.
When I called I asked about the greasy spot, which I seen on the reviews. The rep said it was normal and brushing will help it go away faster.
Great product and great price! I recommend this product to friends.
Pros: effective, price, easy to use
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Zodiac Spot On Plus for Cats More Than 5 lbs.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 14 reviews

It works - just keep up with it!

March 28, 2010
by UVANURSE09
fromVirginia
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 14 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
3 / 5
3 / 5 14 reviews
I've been using this on our indoor/outdoor cats (2) and dog for almost a year now. I think what the other reviewers are complaining about is that it doesn't work well to control fleas that are already overpopulated on an animal - however - it does work really well to keep fleas and ticks off the animals in the first place. We have not had fleas or ticks in the house. It does get a little greasy - ours never seems to leave stains anywhere or goo, but it's so much less expensive - I don't mind the cats/dogs fur looking "wet" for a few days - it starts to dissapear within 5 days. The animals do try to scratch/rub the spot - but they do the same with the more expensive stuff - and its only for the first day or so. I have recommended this product, and will continue to recommend it!
Pros: prevents fleas ticks mosquitos, inexpensive, available at most local stores
Cons: doesn't control an already infested animal's fleas, greasy looking for a few days
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Zodiac Spot On Plus for Cats More Than 5 lbs.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 14 reviews

Not worth the savings

November 27, 2009
by LMI1979
fromDepew, NY
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I have two cats and found fleas on my younger cat. I went straight out to the pet store & purchased this plus other items to try and kill the fleas. After a week I noticed more fleas and now even have bites on me. Not worth the savings. You are better off going straight to the vet to get advantage first then getting powers & spays. Do your research, I now have!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Zodiac Spot On Plus for Cats More Than 5 lbs.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 14 reviews

Worthless, but at least it won't kill your pet

May 20, 2009
by SamSam
fromNashville TN
Effectiveness 
3 / 5
3 / 5 14 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
1 / 5
1 / 5 14 reviews
This stuff is possibly safer than some of the more popular OTC flea brands containing dangerous insecticides like PHENOTHRIN or METHOPRENE or PERMETHRIN which can cause adverse and sometimes fatal reactions, but it also doesn't kill fleas very well. It takes over two days to kill them and then they come back a week after that.
It's very greasy too and my cat's neck was manky for over a WEEK even after I washed her neck with soap and water, the stuff just WOULD NOT come off and was very nasty. Even though i applied the stuff to her skin it still ended up mostly just in the fur on her neck. I won't buy this product again and will go back to using Revolution like I was before. It may cost more but at least it works the way it's advertised.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Zodiac Spot On Plus for Cats More Than 5 lbs.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 14 reviews

Worthless

March 23, 2009
by rdelp585
fromPA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
1 / 5
1 / 5 14 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
1 / 5
1 / 5 14 reviews
We have three cats that are indoors only. Somehow we ended up with fleas. I tried to save a little money and purchased this product. Unfortunately it did not work. We still had fleas and their coats were a mess. I went back and purchased the Frontline product and NO MORE FLEAS !!! So I ended up spending more money than I needed to. I agree this is one product that you end up with what you pay for. From now on its nothing but Frontline for my cats.
Cons: not worth the savings !!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Zodiac Spot On Plus for Cats More Than 5 lbs.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 14 reviews

I love it because it works ... but its oily

August 13, 2008
by Anonymous
fromPhilly
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 14 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
3 / 5
3 / 5 14 reviews
I LOVE THIS STUFF!! I have two cats who go in and out doors. As long as I apply the Spot On EVERY 30 DAYS, I never, never get a single flea bite. (Once I let it go 45 days, and I had to spray for fleas... my bad)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Zodiac Spot On Plus for Cats More Than 5 lbs.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 14 reviews

Ineffective and greasy

July 6, 2008
by SoCal
fromNewport Beach, CA
Effectiveness 
1 / 5
1 / 5 14 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
1 / 5
1 / 5 14 reviews
We have two cats -- all indoors except one cat who goes out for a few hours in the early evening to sleep on the front porch. This cat came in with a couple of fleas two weeks ago and I decided to go ahead and treat her and the other flealess cat with Zodiac Spot On to head off any flea troubles. Went out of town for two days and came back to a house FULL of fleas, two greasy miserable cats and a sofa nearly ruined with greasy flea goo. Nasty!
I ended up having to get the cats bathed and dipped, the sofa cleaned twice, and bomb the house for fleas three times - a total of about $500!
I've never had a problem with fleas when using advantage or frontline, but this stuff was worthless, greasy and appears to be flea pheromones and fertility drug. I've never see so many fleas multiply so quickly!!!! Please don't waste your money.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Zodiac Spot On Plus for Cats More Than 5 lbs.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 14 reviews

DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY

May 29, 2008
by crp104
fromPENSACOLA, FL
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
1 / 5
1 / 5 14 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
1 / 5
1 / 5 14 reviews
I TRIED THIS PRODUCT ON MY TWO CATS. IT DID NOTHING TO KILL THE FLEAS AND THEIR COATS WERE GREASY. I'M GOING TO STICK TO FRONTLINE PLUS
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Zodiac Spot On Plus for Cats More Than 5 lbs.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 14 reviews

Worthless

March 6, 2008
by Chloedog
fromOrlando, FL
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
1 / 5
1 / 5 14 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
1 / 5
1 / 5 14 reviews
All the Zodiac Spot-On treatment did was make our pets miserable. It did absolutely nothing to the flea infestation. It did however do an excellent job of turning their coat into a greasy disgusting mess.
DO NOT BUY THIS!!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Zodiac Spot On Plus for Cats More Than 5 lbs.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 14 reviews

useless

September 13, 2007
by FelisLachesis
fromColumbus, OH
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Effectiveness 
1 / 5
1 / 5 14 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
1 / 5
1 / 5 14 reviews
I bought this to give my cats the ability to go outside without catching fleas. Boy, was I mistaken. Within 2 days, they were both infested, and now I have fleas in my carpet.
It was greasy when applied, and it just didn't seem to work.
Frontline's chemical formula is different than Zodiac. Zodiac has a lot more of the larva medicine, and much less of the adult flea medicine.
You get what you pay for.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Zodiac Spot On Plus for Cats More Than 5 lbs.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 14 reviews

This is Better than Frontline!

July 2, 2007
by ANorris
fromSpur, Texas
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 14 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 14 reviews
I bought this product and put it on an outside adult cat that was abosolutly covered in fleas and ticks, it not only got rid of the fleas and ticks that were attached but, we have not seen any signs of fleas or ticks on him and we have let him stay inside.
I say by all means BUY it!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Zodiac Spot On Plus for Cats More Than 5 lbs.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 14 reviews

Zodiac Spot On

November 26, 2006
by Ros1
fromChicago, IL
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 14 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 14 reviews
I don't understand all the fuss about Frontline. This product suits me just fine. It's just as effective and I don't have to shell out too much money just to prevent and kill fleas and ticks in the summer months! My dogs and cats remain healthy and free of ticks and fleas according to my vet. No scratching or allergies in the summer, thanks to Zodiac Spot on!
And it's easy to use too!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Zodiac Spot On Plus for Cats More Than 5 lbs.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 14 reviews

Worthless

November 25, 2006
by Brent
fromTampa, FL
Effectiveness 
1 / 5
1 / 5 14 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
1 / 5
1 / 5 14 reviews
This product did absolutely nothing to kill fleas. All it did is make my cat's coat very greasy for many days. It was so greasy, in fact, that the residue from the Zodiac permanently stained the ottoman that my cat slept on. Now we have just as many fleas as before and I need to buy a new ottoman.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Zodiac Spot On Plus for Cats More Than 5 lbs.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 14 reviews

I do not think anyone should buy it

September 28, 2006
by EricaPie
fromHouston, TX
Effectiveness 
1 / 5
1 / 5 14 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
1 / 5
1 / 5 14 reviews
About a week ago I bought this Zodiac product. I read the directions and followed them exactly. I put it on my 3 cats, and they still have just as many fleas as before. Do not waste your money.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.