PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Petrodex Dental Treats for Cats

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Petrodex Dental Treats for Cats

Crunchy, freeze-dried fish snacks with added chlorophyll for fresher breath. Cleans teeth as your cat chews.
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4
 / 
5
(17 reviews) 17
13 of 17(76%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Petrodex Dental Treats for Cats
Review 1 for Petrodex Dental Treats for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 17 reviews

cat loves it, chews are large

August 30, 2012
by kitters
frompittsburg, ca
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 17 reviews
I've got a big guy a little over a year old (stray). He was diagnosed w/gingivitis, but his gums are white instead of red. I just bought these, he gobbled one up right away- they even smelled appealing to me! They are pretty big so he struggled a bit at 1st, but it does fit in his mouth. He did have a week on antibiotics, but his gums are still pale, so I'm hoping these help. I wanted a spray/water additive also, but my local petsmart didn't have it.
Pros: taste, high quality ingredients
Cons: price
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Petrodex Dental Treats for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 17 reviews

Vet recommended them, cats love them!

April 14, 2012
by Elieza
fromMinnesota
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 17 reviews
My vet gave me a few pieces to try with my young cats, who are just starting to have some gingivitis issues. I offered one first to my female cat...she sniffed it, licked it, and walked away. My tomcat saw the treat, picked it up and ran off with it to eat it. As soon as she saw her brother enjoying it, jealousy kicked in, and my little girl wanted her own to eat. Turns out they do actually both like them!
Unfortunately I haven't yet been able to find these in my local store, so I'll continue to have to order them online. Too soon to tell if there is a significant improvement in their oral health, but we'll see what the vet says at their next checkup!
Pros: high quality, digestible, taste
Cons: price
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Petrodex Dental Treats for Cats
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 17 reviews

Not the Best Choice

January 27, 2011
by Ynk4202
fromRound Rock, TX
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Pet Satisfaction 
1 / 5
1 / 5 17 reviews
I have a tuxedo cat who eats just about anything. He wouldn't even sniff this product. I've heard good things about these dental treats, but they are so big. It's a wonder how cats can even eat them. The label says not to tear the outer layer off, but if you try to cut it in half, the outer layer comes right off. My cat likes the little Meow Mix fish treats, so I'm just going to get something similar for his dental treats.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Petrodex Dental Treats for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 17 reviews

These saved my cats' teeth & gums!

February 16, 2010
by NutmegsMomm
fromIllinois
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 17 reviews
I can't say enough good things about these treats. I really needed help with the health of my two kitties' teeth and gums. The incredible strength of their tongues makes brushing impossible. My male has juvenile gingivitis, which subjects him to multiple gingivitis attacks a year for life. It required antibiotics about 3 to 4 times a year. But with his history of turning his nose up at any and all treats offered, I didn't have much hope. I decided to try these anyway, knowing my female would gladly eat his portion if I let her! ;)
I stood in utter shock as my impossibly finicky boy went absolutely crazy over the treat. 3 or 4 years later, he still comes back hoping for an extra hand out. I've been giving each of them 2 chews a day, 1 after each meal, and I can tell you they really do work. My cats' gums haven't looked better. They are light pink instead of red. Their breath is much better. And Nutmeg hasn't had ONE attack of gingivitis! I am tickled pink.
I would urge anyone to give these a try. The little cylinders look almost too big for their little mouths when they bite into them, but they don't seem to mind one bit. A thin onion-skin-like wrap around the outside holds them together until they bite down. If your cat is a dainty eater like my girl, a few pieces may fall on the floor, but she doesn't leave one speck behind. My boy doesn't give it a chance to hit the floor! If you seal the pouch after each use, the treats shouldn't be powdery at all.
I hope this helps. Good luck! :)
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Petrodex Dental Treats for Cats
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 17 reviews

September 16, 2009
by LeMeowmy
fromLos Angeles, CA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Pet Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5 17 reviews
These treats are filled with powder which tends to get everywhere after the cat bites into them. If the cat doesn't lick up the powder, it makes a real mess on the carpet and probably will require vacuuming to clean up. However they are smaller and more bite-sized than CET Chews which is a plus.
Pros: promotes oral health, small size
Cons: messy, stinky
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Petrodex Dental Treats for Cats
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 17 reviews

Wouldn't touch it

September 7, 2008
by ownedbycats
fromsuburban Philadelphiqa
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
Effectiveness 
1 / 5
1 / 5 17 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
1 / 5
1 / 5 17 reviews
They eat the C.E.T. chews, and I got this when the product I wanted was not on the shelf. None of my six cats would even touch the stuff. A real waste of money.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Petrodex Dental Treats for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 17 reviews

Best Cat Treat

March 22, 2008
by kitcak
fromTorrington, CT
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Effectiveness 
4 / 5
4 / 5 17 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 17 reviews
I'm almost afraid to tell you how good these are because then they'll never be in stock. When my cat sees the bag, I can't get it open fast enough to suit him. He purrs when I put one in front of him and heaven help anyone who gets in the way!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Petrodex Dental Treats for Cats
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 17 reviews

Unappetizing

February 4, 2008
by HappyMeil
fromSan Diego, CA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Pet Satisfaction 
1 / 5
1 / 5 17 reviews
For some reason, my cats just are not interested in these treats - not even my cat who eats just about anything you give him!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Petrodex Dental Treats for Cats
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 17 reviews

Not sure..

January 18, 2008
by Housekitten
fromIndiana
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
4 / 5
4 / 5 17 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 17 reviews
Well the cats love these. My younger kitten though grabbed it and ran all around the house chewing on it, this resulted in tons of crumbs all over the living room carpet so I wasn't too happy. It may be better in a smaller size.
I left the baggie on the countertop overnight and the next morning the older cat had grabbed it off the countertop, carried it into our bedroom, and proceeded to rip through the plastic and ate most of the rest of the treats (she didn't suffer any ill effects.)
I'm trying to find a healthy dental treat that is less messy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Petrodex Dental Treats for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 17 reviews

Dental treats

June 8, 2007
by RichS
fromCharlotte, NC
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 17 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 17 reviews
We have two cats. One doesn't care for these and prefers the greenies. The other cat, the male, is crazy about these dental treats. My wife gives both cats a treat before she leaves the house each day. The male cat practically throws his body in front of her to block the door if she forgets. If she only gives him greenies he keeps looking up at her wondering where the good stuff is. He'll eat every crumb of the dental treat first, then polish off the greenies.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Petrodex Dental Treats for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 17 reviews

This stuff is GREAT!!

March 13, 2007
by ACEMOOSE
fromVA
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 17 reviews
Thank G-d I don't have to ask any spouse/husband/significant other for approval -- I bought these, not knowing if ANY of my cats would like em -- and 2 of my 3 cats LOVE em. The other cat does not like them, but who cares.
I prefer getting the green treats (chlorophyll) because I feel it gives em another measure of protection, but they like to crunch on both flavors of these treats.
It's a joy to hear my kitties rush for these dental treats and go "Crunch Crunch" crunch" on these treats (which are MUCH healthier than the junk food dental treats you buy at the grocery store).
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Petrodex Dental Treats for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 17 reviews

Awesome!

March 3, 2007
by Scab
fromLos Angeles, CA
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 17 reviews
My kitty is very finicky. He will not eat many things, thus making it hard for me to find anything for him. I tried other less healthy dental treats that he liked, but I did not like them because they were junk food. I was tentative about trying these because of its price, but I was pleasantly surprised when I saw him take to it right away. My husband thinks that he's playing with them, and losing them behind the furniture and appliances. I'm convinced that he's eating them because I cannot find them anywhere. And, as soon as I put one down, he runs to it and starts licking it. That shows me that he approves and loves them! I am very pleased with them, and so are my kitty's teeth. The vet is really glad with the condition of his teeth. :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Petrodex Dental Treats for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 17 reviews

Suprisingly A Great Product

February 26, 2007
by CanadianMama
fromOntario, Canada
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 17 reviews
My husband was hesitant on the price at first but went ahead and bought them. At first we would put one in his treat bowl; and it manage to disapear. We were convinced he was hiding them. A week later we moved the oven to clean under it and discovered 3 of them. We figured he didn't like them due to the massive size of the treat but the minute he got hold of those on the ground he went crazy and ate all 3 of them. Since then we shake the bag and he goes CRaZy!. We love these treats compared to the grocery store brand. And his breath seems much better. Excellent Product!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Petrodex Dental Treats for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 17 reviews

Fantastic results

February 17, 2007
by Alex
  • Expert
fromKansas
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 17 reviews
This actually was first recommended to me by a veterinarian. At first I was skeptical, as my cat doesn't take fondly to new treats. However, she loves these and I got her started early and her teeth are still nice and white. I would highly recommend this.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Petrodex Dental Treats for Cats
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 17 reviews

My kittens love them!

February 14, 2007
by Larry
fromAustin, TX
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 17 reviews
With some of this dental care stuff, it's really hard to tell if they're actually cleaning their teeth or not. It's really hard to know if any of these snack-type things actually work. But I do know that my kittens really like these things. And I have some satisfaction in thinking it might be good for their teeth.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Petrodex Dental Treats for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 17 reviews

My cats like these

January 17, 2007
by TommysMommy
  • Expert
fromHope Mills, NC
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 17 reviews
A cat-taste-approved and natural (with natural fish as the first ingredient. No wheat, corn, or by products) dental treat.
My kitten, Missy, sometimes likes to bat this around, so it's like a toy and dental treat in one for her.
Along with regular veterinarian visits and brushing, this dental treat completes a dental care routine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Petrodex Dental Treats for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 17 reviews

great dental treats

January 15, 2007
by sashasmommy
fromseattle
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 17 reviews
My cat loves these treats and they have helped keep her teeth healthy. She won't let me brush her teeth, but she eats one of these a day and keeps the kitty dentist away.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.