PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Calm Down For Cats

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Calm Down For Cats

This homeopathic remedy can be administered directly or mixed with drinking water to keep cats calm in stressful situations.
Overall rating:
3.818 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(11 reviews) 10
8 of 11(73%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Calm Down For Cats
Review 1 for Calm Down For Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews

Calm Down Works!

January 8, 2007
by Melany
fromHatboro, PA
Effectiveness 
4 / 5
4 / 5 11 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5 11 reviews
I have used this product for years. I just inject it into my cats' mouths with a syringe. Although the injection can be difficult, it really calms my cats down effectively. I use it when I shave my Maine Coon for the summer. She just lays on the table and lets me trim her with out any stress. It also works well for the rare baths that are a nightmare without Calmdown. I would definately recommend this to anyone with cats.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Calm Down For Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews

Crying cat in the morning

March 18, 2010
by SleepyEliz
fromCapital Region, NY
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5 11 reviews
My boyfriend just started working an earlier shift. We've had our cat for about 2 months and as soon as my boyfriend started his earlier shift, our cat would cry from as soon as my boyfriend left, until I finally got out of bed to play with him, and I work 2nd shift and for my sanity can not get up at 6am and still be functioning at work at 9. I was at wits end from listening to his crying and yowling, even when he had food, water, a clean litter box, and my attention. We've been using this product for just over a week and its great. We tried putting it in his food at night, but he would still cry in the am, and then we tried his waterbowl, but it still wasn't working. We then read online that you can just put it right in their mouth and that was the most effective way. Each morning before my boyfriend leaves he gives our cat a tsp and i can then sleep an extra couple of hours :) It works so well and our cat is happy too.
Pros: not harmful, liquid
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Calm Down For Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews

It's a miracle!

March 1, 2010
by davido
fromTucson, AZ.
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews
Thank you for this product--it allowed me to keep my 1 yr. old very active and aggressive Kitten who now gets along with my 2 other adult cats. The difference in behavior is extraordinary in less than 24 hrs.!!! This product has saved me from the heartbreak of giving him up. Try this--it's worth every cent!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Calm Down For Cats
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 11 reviews

Reverse Effects

October 24, 2009
by KathyL6
fromLansing, MI
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
1 / 5
1 / 5 11 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
1 / 5
1 / 5 11 reviews
This product sounded like exactly what my cat needed. My 2 year old female cat has severe separation anxiety, so we thought "Calm Down," would be the perfect solution. I followed the directions on the bottle, mixed 1 tsp with soft food, twice a day, only to find out, my cat began to hiss, growl and bite upon us trying to pet or hold her. (And she normally loves attention.) This product may have worked for other pet owners, but it most definitely did not work for my cat, nor would I recommend it to anyone else.
Cons: aggression
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Calm Down For Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews

works extremely well

June 28, 2009
by recommended
fromManchester, PA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews
This product has been a real life saver for our cat...she is greiving from the loss of our male cat...since putting a teaspoon a day in her drinking water, the constant meowing, pacing, over eatting and sleeplessness has completely stopped...she is back to her nomal self and isnt suffering from the "zombie look" that the sedative our vet gave us was causing...we havent noticed any side effects and we are only using this as a short term help aid to get her through the up coming stress of bringing home another friend for her...Id definately recommend trying Calm Down...its worked wonders for this little girl...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Calm Down For Cats
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 11 reviews

Didn't work

June 11, 2009
by kittykatsrule
fromGarner, NC
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
1 / 5
1 / 5 11 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
1 / 5
1 / 5 11 reviews
After reading all the positive reviews, I figured I'd give this a try. I used this for several days with my 2 male cats. I put it in their wet food in the evening & in their milk for a snack. Unfortunately, I saw no changes whatsover. I guess, my babies are the exception to the majority. I truly wish it would've worked for me but being that it's easy to administer & so reasonably priced, I would definitely suggest giving it a try.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Calm Down For Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews

Calm Down....it really does!

July 10, 2008
by Bones
fromSan Jose, CA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
This product has been a life saver. Our cat had severe anxiety resulting in pulling his hair out in large clumps. The vet had us try prescription meds which we didn't really like doing. They didn't work anyway. Happened to see this product at PetSmart. Just a little in his water and it's amazing. Seems like he is drinking more water these days, which is a good thing. He hasn't pulled out any hair since then. It is an all natural product and we haven't had any issues with it. He is totally himself but without the anxiety. He seems so much happier. By the way, he is an indoor/outdoor cat and we are not worried about him. Still talks up a storm and plays and all the things he has done before.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Calm Down For Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews

Here Are A Few Tips That May Help

February 25, 2007
by Tracey12
fromHouston, Texas, USA
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews
Calm Down For Cats in my home works great in the water bowl. When out of town, and I hate to leave my animals, but at times, we all must, Calm Down helps them cope with me being away, and cuts down on fights that happen when my cats get stressed. If you're having problems getting them to drink Calm Down, use either milk, or half and half cream mixed with the normal dose. Or, their favorite ice cream (chocolate is poison to cats and dogs) melted in a bowl. It is also possible to pour the teaspoon on to bread and add cheese, cream cheese, or mix into moist cat foods. Bread, butter and a teaspoon full of Calm Down works well together. Lastly, most cats love various soups, and in particular, cream of chicken which hides the flavor very well. A dinner of cream of chicken in a bowl mixed with Calm Down is very easy and your cat will likely love it. I hope these ideas help. It would be great to see a vet review here explaining any interactions or long term use effects that may be a threat to the pets health.
Like all meds, minimal use is probably best. If Calm Down is out of the question, turkey contains a natural chemical that calms both humans and pets. And, I don't know about your cats, but mine would do anything to eat turkey every meal. Please help save lives of poor, lost pets by adopting from local pounds.
+6points
8of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Calm Down For Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews

Great calming product

January 14, 2007
by babibear
fromHomestead, Florida
Effectiveness 
4 / 5
4 / 5 11 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5 11 reviews
I have cats and dogs and had to travel 1000 miles with all of them. I put the recommended amount in the communal water bowl before the trip and had a refill jug with more in it to give through out the trip. It was so effective without making the pets too groggy. They were still able to function and interact without the nervousness and minimal verbalization while in their kennels. I also use this for my dogs when we are going to be gone for long periods to help them stay calm throughout the day. Works wonderful and I will be a faithful user of this product. There are no long lasting effects. I simply change out the water bowl when I no longer need to use it.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Calm Down For Cats
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 11 reviews

Not good for my cat

December 26, 2006
by dancingflame
fromCherokee Nation
Effectiveness 
1 / 5
1 / 5 11 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
1 / 5
1 / 5 11 reviews
This product is added to the water bowl right before high winds or thunderstorms hit my area... well, I can't tell my cat when to take a drink and I don't want to "drug" my cat all day and make him drink funny-tasting water either. I think a tasty treat with calming affects would work better. This may work fine for your cat or for someone who can actually administer the liquid with a dropper, but my cats will not allow anyone to use a dropper... and it's out of the question to go to the veterinarian for every thunderstorm.
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Calm Down For Cats
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 11 reviews
1 out of 1 recommend this product
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
2 / 5
2 / 5 11 reviews