PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for NaturVet Bitter Yuck! No Chew Spray

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

NaturVet Bitter Yuck! No Chew Spray

Water-based spray deters chewing. Alcohol-free formula will not sting like other chew products.
Overall rating:
2.719 / 5
2.7
 / 
5
(64 reviews) 62
30 of 64(47%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for NaturVet Bitter Yuck! No Chew Spray
Review 41 for NaturVet Bitter Yuck! No Chew Spray
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 64 reviews

waste of money

October 19, 2008
by txallycat
fromColorado Springs, CO
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Effectiveness 
1 / 5
1 / 5 64 reviews
We used this product to try to keep the dogs from chewing their bed. It had absolutely no effect. In fact, it probably encouraged them to chew even more! This product is a waste of money (and it's not cheap!). I would strongly recommend that anyone reading this review not waste their time and money on this product. And I recommend that Petsmart stop carring this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 42 for NaturVet Bitter Yuck! No Chew Spray
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 64 reviews

Didn't work

September 8, 2008
by Tara2684
fromSt Louis
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Effectiveness 
1 / 5
1 / 5 64 reviews
This product did not work at all! A friend of mine had it for her dog so she gave her's to me when i got my puppy. It didn't work at all. He actually liked it! I ended up getting bitter apple instead which worked great!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 43 for NaturVet Bitter Yuck! No Chew Spray
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 64 reviews

Finally a solution!

August 15, 2008
by sill
fromRancho Cucamonga, CA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 64 reviews
My puppy loves to tear my couch and cushions and pull the stuffing out! Not to mentio she also likes to chew on the wall! I tried everything! From yelling to doing the training of walking out, but nothing worked. I tried this and wow! She has stopped chewing anything that I spray this product on. She hates it so much that I had her watch as I sprayed the hall where she loves to urinate, and she stopped doing that too!
Thank you!
But beware, wear gloves and keep your mouth closed when you spray, it tastes really BAD!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 44 for NaturVet Bitter Yuck! No Chew Spray
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 64 reviews

Didn't Work for 2-Month-Old Puppy

August 5, 2008
by Sheol
fromSouthern California
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
1 / 5
1 / 5 64 reviews
I bought this to spray on the couch to deter our 2-month-old puppy from chewing.
He licked it and licked it... and when he was done licking, he chewed again. Didn't work for my puppy.
Also, I sprayed heavily after the first dosage didn't seem to work, and so much got into the air that my boyfriend ran outside to try to recover from its horrible taste.
I didn't try it again, so I'm not sure if repeat dosages would have been more effective... even though the puppy practically tried to drink it like it was water.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 45 for NaturVet Bitter Yuck! No Chew Spray
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 64 reviews

an attempt to puppy proof- failed.

July 14, 2008
by newpuppymamma
fromOregon
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
2 / 5
2 / 5 64 reviews
I have a teething puppy and thought that this might keep him from chewing on his favorite spots like the corner of the couch, the edge of the carpet- well pretty much everywhere. It worked great immediately after I spray it and true to its word, this product does not sting, stain, or smell (it REALLY does taste bad), but you have to reapply it constantly. My puppy would return to the spot within 30 minutes- with that much reapplication, I'm not sure it is entirely worth it. I found that it also left a kind of sticky film on my puppy when he rubbed up against something that I sprayed. This might work well with adult dogs- just maybe not for puppies.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 46 for NaturVet Bitter Yuck! No Chew Spray
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 64 reviews

Do not buy!

July 3, 2008
by ILuvBeagles
fromLewisville, Texas
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
1 / 5
1 / 5 64 reviews
I was very disappointed with this item. My puppy had started chewing my furniture a few weeks ago so I thought I'd take a chance with this spray since the price was reasonable. It worked maybe the first hour until my puppy decided that he liked the bitter taste of the spray and began licking it off the furniture. I do not recommend this product!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 47 for NaturVet Bitter Yuck! No Chew Spray
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 64 reviews

Kept my dogs from chewing

June 26, 2008
by LoveMyChihuahuas
fromNorthern CA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
4 / 5
4 / 5 64 reviews
I tried Bitter Yuck because it had a good price point and when I got it home and applied it my wall where my dogs had been chewing (that's right, my dogs love to chew on dry wall) and kept an eye on iy. My dogs saw me put this stuff on it and when they went over to sniff it, they immediately turned away. I have not had any issues wherever I have applied it. This product work great!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 48 for NaturVet Bitter Yuck! No Chew Spray
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 64 reviews

Great Taste Deterrent!

June 23, 2008
by TerrierLoverX2
fromTurlock, CA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 64 reviews
I had used a taste deterrent before with Alcohal and it stained my couch. I was recommended this product because it was water base and it worked great. My couch was not stained and my dog stopped chewing on it. I can vouch this stuff taste bad, I got a little on my hand and then got in my mouth and it was bad!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 49 for NaturVet Bitter Yuck! No Chew Spray
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 64 reviews

This stuff is GREAT!

June 21, 2008
by Pirate
fromSO CAL
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 64 reviews
Several weeks ago our pup took to chewing on the sofa, a chair and trying to gnaw a couple holes in the wall to my closed office...
We tried BITTER YUCK...it took about 3 days of liberal dousing at his chew spots (NO stains by the way)...not only did he stop chewing at his usual spots...HE STOPPED CHEWING ANYTHING except for his chews and toys!
I HIGHLY RECOMMEND BITTER YUCK by NATURVET!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 50 for NaturVet Bitter Yuck! No Chew Spray
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 64 reviews

Save your money

June 20, 2008
by DoggieReview
fromTexas
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Effectiveness 
1 / 5
1 / 5 64 reviews
Buy bitter apple instead. My dog just licked this and looked at me as if to say "Is that all you've got?"
Did not work - waste of money
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 51 for NaturVet Bitter Yuck! No Chew Spray
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 64 reviews

My cats love it!!

June 15, 2008
by CatandCat
fromNeptune, NJ
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Effectiveness 
1 / 5
1 / 5 64 reviews
If I had thought of buying something to get them closer this would have been the perfect product. Instead of making them stop chewing, they lick it till its end. I just wasted my time and money. I would never recommend it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 52 for NaturVet Bitter Yuck! No Chew Spray
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 64 reviews

Doesn't work at all

May 25, 2008
by CraigHwk
fromDenver, CO
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Effectiveness 
1 / 5
1 / 5 64 reviews
I should have read reviews here before buying this, but it doesn't work at all. I sprayed a generous amount where I don't want my cat licking or chewing and she goes about her business at that spot like nothing has happened.
Absolutely worthless. I bet I could get my cat to enjoy this as a treat.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 53 for NaturVet Bitter Yuck! No Chew Spray
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 64 reviews

Worked for Us

May 25, 2008
by RileyOwner
fromHanford, CA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 64 reviews
Our border collie mix would chew on his leash when we weren't looking. We had him for a month and went through 3 leashes. We bought a new leash and some Bitter Yuck and so far he hasn't chewed the new leash at all.
My only problem is that I got some of the product on my hand and it won't come off for hours even using soap and water.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 54 for NaturVet Bitter Yuck! No Chew Spray
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 64 reviews

Terrible.

November 4, 2007
by 2crazycats
fromNew Jersey
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
1 / 5
1 / 5 64 reviews
Don't waste your money. This didn't even phase my cat.. she just kept on chewing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 55 for NaturVet Bitter Yuck! No Chew Spray
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 64 reviews

Ironically my dog loves it!!!

August 27, 2007
by koapi
fromWA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
1 / 5
1 / 5 64 reviews
It worked once but after that he loves it. He'd just lick it away and continue on chewing the furniture. He ruined the wheels of our computer chair and chewed the edges of our shoe rack already. I don't recommend this product. It's a waste of your money.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 56 for NaturVet Bitter Yuck! No Chew Spray
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 64 reviews

Doesn't work well at all

August 1, 2007
by Erica6375
fromBerywn, IL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Effectiveness 
2 / 5
2 / 5 64 reviews
I bought this hoping to stop our puppy from chewing on our large collection of book and the furniture. Not very effective at all. I had to keep re-spraying every day.
It worked better when I made my own blend with the rosemary and baking soda....
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 57 for NaturVet Bitter Yuck! No Chew Spray
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 64 reviews

looked great, but was a bust

June 7, 2007
by MonaH
fromrockaway park ny
Effectiveness 
1 / 5
1 / 5 64 reviews
we bought the yuck! spray hoping to stop our 2 puppies from eating our sofa leg. my husband sprayed the recommended amount and having got some on his hand, agreed it tasted awful. at 1st, it seemed to work- the puppies sniffed, but walked away. but the very next day, they were back at it. we tried spraying more, but we may as well be spraying plain old water- it seems they're immune to the ill effects of this stuff. we had such high hopes, but the product was a bust! :(
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 58 for NaturVet Bitter Yuck! No Chew Spray
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 64 reviews

This product worked great for my cat

May 15, 2007
by luvallanimals
fromJacksonville, NC
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 64 reviews
My 2 year old male cat was always chewing up our house plants. I purchased this product about two months ago, and it is still working. He has completely stopped chewing on the plants.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 59 for NaturVet Bitter Yuck! No Chew Spray
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 64 reviews

Worthless

May 10, 2007
by jsl0
fromcentral NY
Effectiveness 
1 / 5
1 / 5 64 reviews
Before using Bitter Yuck my puppy would eat my entire coffee table and couch, after spraying Bitter Yuck she focuses on the areas that I sprayed. I now have a ruined couch, coffee table, and 2 end tables. Bitter Yuck doesn't prevent anything.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 60 for NaturVet Bitter Yuck! No Chew Spray
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 64 reviews

It had the exact opposite effect

April 20, 2007
by Andie2
fromToronto
Effectiveness 
1 / 5
1 / 5 64 reviews
As soon as I sprayed Bitter Yuck on my plant my cat went straight for it and chewed it more than he ever has before.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
prev 1 2 3 4 next