PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for NaturVet Bitter Yuck! No Chew Spray

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

NaturVet Bitter Yuck! No Chew Spray

Water-based spray deters chewing. Alcohol-free formula will not sting like other chew products.
Overall rating:
2.719 / 5
2.7
 / 
5
(64 reviews) 62
30 of 64(47%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for NaturVet Bitter Yuck! No Chew Spray
Review 1 for NaturVet Bitter Yuck! No Chew Spray
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 64 reviews

Tastes nasty, but...

December 19, 2011
by Freya807
fromHouston, TX
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
My experiences with this product have been mixed. I have a 9 week old yellow lab puppy, and she chews EVERYTHING. I tasted this product personally in the store because I wanted to see what the deal was. It tastes so nasty (just imagine the most intense bitter taste you can imagine. No wait, you can't even imagine!) that I wanted to take one of the dog bones off the wall to chew on just to try and get the taste out of my mouth! I thought, "Wow, this is going to be the end of all my puppy's chewing for good!" Not exactly so...
It is safe to use on furniture, carpet, skin, etc. If my puppy is chewing on a wooden chair, for instance, I can spray a little of this stuff. She will lick at it, and stop chewing...for a little while. Maybe I just need to keep using it, but it does not seem to create the strong negative reaction I was hoping for. She will come back and try to chew the same object again late on. What's more, this stuff has no odor, but when you spray it it inevitably gets in your mouth. If you spray it on your hands, the taste will be there for days no matter how hard you scrub. I wouldn't mind all of that if it deterred her chewing more effectively, but it just doesn't seem to. Maybe my puppy has taste buds of steel, and it will work better for your dog.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for NaturVet Bitter Yuck! No Chew Spray
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 64 reviews

Great product

August 23, 2011
by DaBrat
fromTulsa, Oklahoma
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
This stopped my lab/aussie mix from chewing quickly. It is good to re-spray about every 2 weeks, just to make sure your dog gets the nasty taste each time he tries to chew. Then after about3-4 times I have not sprayed any on my furniture, plants or anything else in months. I can leave the house now for even 4 hours and he chews up nothing!
Thanks goodness cause I thought I was going to have to get rid of him.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for NaturVet Bitter Yuck! No Chew Spray
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 64 reviews

Not Bad

July 16, 2011
by McCrackin2
fromBeckley, WV
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
With stuff like this you kind of have to take a risk. Some dogs actually like the taste of it. It works for me. My puppy HATES the taste. It doesn't stain furniature and it is safe to spray on the dog itself to keep it from chewing it's butt or someting. If I had anything bad to say about it, it would be that I can't stand the taste of it. I don't even have to get any on me and I can taste it. I think I may just be super sensitive to it though because it doesn't effect anyone else in my family like it does me. Also, it wears off rather quickly. For the dog anyway... one spray and I can taste it for days. I still say try it though. They have small bottles so I suggest starting with one of thoes so you don't waist as much money if it doesn't work.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for NaturVet Bitter Yuck! No Chew Spray
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 64 reviews

This stuff is yucky

July 9, 2011
by Beau1
fromAnderson, SC
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Doesn't work! Puppy actually seems to like the taste. Pump sprayer stopped working the third time. Saturated rug and she still chewed it. Waste of money.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for NaturVet Bitter Yuck! No Chew Spray
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 64 reviews

Useless

June 1, 2011
by Baileysowner
fromLouisiana
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Yellow lab immediately began licking product off and continued. No effect whatsoever. Don't waste your money.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for NaturVet Bitter Yuck! No Chew Spray
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 64 reviews

Puppy Loved this spray

April 29, 2011
by Anonymous
fromThomaston,CT
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
My 9 week old newfie puppy loved this spray. She actually ran around the house attacking everything that this was sprayed on. What a waste of money!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for NaturVet Bitter Yuck! No Chew Spray
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 64 reviews

Disgusting taste

March 13, 2011
by BrodyandDakota
fromCincinnati, Ohio
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Well it certainly has a disgusting taste. I sprayed it on the bottom of the couch that the pups were chewing on. Now I can't get the taste out of my mouth. Problem is, the pups don't seemed to be phased by it. They now have it all over their fur and it rubs off on us. Gave this a 3 because it is a revolting taste. Only problem is, the pups like the revolting taste. They haven't stopped chewing. Need to try something else. Word of warning to others. Be careful, it seems to be able to transfer onto clothing, skin, etc and eventually into your mouth. Yuck!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for NaturVet Bitter Yuck! No Chew Spray
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 64 reviews

Apparently not bitter enough...

February 27, 2011
by mrsbutler
fromBoston, MA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
This spray does not work very well with our teething French Bulldog puppy. She is sometimes deterred, but most often not. I have switched brands and the other spray works better than this.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for NaturVet Bitter Yuck! No Chew Spray
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 64 reviews

Yuck Stops Dogs from chewing

January 12, 2011
by JestersMom
fromNC
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
We have recently adopted a young dog who loves to chew things. He went through a pair of shoes and started on my leather boots the first week. I have used the YUCK and have tried to spray everything, including my brand new leather furniture. So far, so good! It does not leave any residue on the furniture, shoes, rugs, even electrical items. I haven't seen him try to chew any of these items, but don't want to either! I recommend buying this in a large size--I am going back for another bottle. It is certainly cheaper to buy than replacing shoes and boots and anything else.
Pros: reasonable, does not stain
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for NaturVet Bitter Yuck! No Chew Spray
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 64 reviews

Doesn't Work

December 28, 2010
by MikeMSD
fromMemphis, TN
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I bought this to try and get my puppy to stop chewing on my couch cushions. It was an abysmal failure. I sprayed this on the couch cushions, and 5 minutes later, puppy had one in her mouth and didn't care one bit.
I figured I needed to use some more, so I completely soaked all sides of the cushion with the spray, using about a quarter of the spray bottle. Within 10 minutes, it was back in her mouth where she proceeded to work on getting more stuffing out.
The only thing this succeeded in doing is to make the air in my house so bitter that I couldn't finish my dinner. I'm willing to give this two stars because it definitely is bitter. Just the and aerosolized back spray was enough to make me vacate the house for 30 minutes.
Pros: very bitter
Cons: doesn't work
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for NaturVet Bitter Yuck! No Chew Spray
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 64 reviews

I'm sure it works for others, but not us

September 3, 2010
by darbydolittle
fromMississauga, Ontario
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Our pup seems to find this as a nice extra seasoning to whatever furniture piece she chooses to munch on. We are going to switch to the bitter apple spray. Actually, if anyone has a bottle of the apple spray that doesn't work for them, would you like to trade?
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for NaturVet Bitter Yuck! No Chew Spray
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 64 reviews

Awesome!

June 10, 2010
by JRTlvr
fromTexas
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Vertical blinds were my puppy's chew toy of choice until I started using this stuff. It was the best option for me as it's all-natural and water-based, so it didn't stain the blinds. Kept my little stinker from destroying any more blinds than he already had, and helped him focus on the toys that were actually meant to be chewed on!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for NaturVet Bitter Yuck! No Chew Spray
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 64 reviews

Works as Advertised!

June 9, 2010
by MDogg31
fromColorado
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I used this product to keep my dog from excessively licking himself and his stitches after surgery. It did the trick! It does need to be reapplied daily, but if used properly, should work for you too. Be aware of the back spray, though, this stuff is beyond strong!
Pros: non-stinging, works!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for NaturVet Bitter Yuck! No Chew Spray
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 64 reviews

I recommend this to my clients

June 8, 2010
by Canine
fromWA
What is your gender?F
Being a trainer, I understand that dogs chew for many reasons. I have tried many no-chew sprays, and Bitter YUCK is the only chewing deterrant I recommend to my clients (and use personally) as it is all-natural, odorless, non-staining, and alcohol free (very important when applying to any open wounds as it won't sting). Chewing is a natural behavior for dogs, so it is important to remember that the pet owner cannot apply this to everything and expect the pet to cease all chewing. Remember to provide your pet with plenty of chew-friendly options while using this product to deter her from undesirable behavior.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for NaturVet Bitter Yuck! No Chew Spray
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 64 reviews

Recommended by professionals so...

June 8, 2010
by JS79
fromBend, OR
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
...it must be good! I run the front desk at a small animal hospital, and all of the doctors here recommend Bitter YUCK for their patients (and owners!). It's great for surgical sutures or any healing wound as it's alcohol-free, which means no stinging (which can lead to more chewing and licking). Also great for keeping animals from chewing/removing their bandages.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for NaturVet Bitter Yuck! No Chew Spray
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 64 reviews

Great Product!

June 7, 2010
by EGreg
fromOregon
I have been a groomer for 13 years and have tried several no-chew products, both for customers and my own animals. This product is fantastic and probably the best I've tried because it's:
-All-natural
-Alcohol free (won't sting hot spots or other wounds)
-Odorless
-Won't stain perfectly groomed fur or the furniture!
-Inexpensive
-It works!
Pros: all-natural, alcohol-free, stain-free
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for NaturVet Bitter Yuck! No Chew Spray
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 64 reviews

Did not work for my pups

May 19, 2010
by puppycrazy
fromApple Valley, CA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
My pups love to chew! So I tried this product on the two most chewed spots: my couch and my hope chest. even after spraying they still chewed not even a hint of them not liking it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for NaturVet Bitter Yuck! No Chew Spray
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 64 reviews

Doesn't work. Be carefull!

May 15, 2010
by bkfranks
fromSouthern California
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I sprayed this all over a sock because my dog loves to chew on socks. He then took the sock and chewed on it like nothing was different. Hasn't deterred him from chewing on anything.
Be careful when you spray it. After I sprayed in, somehow it was in the air and I got a taste of it in my mouth. It took hours to get rid of the taste even after using mouth wash.
Pros: none
Cons: doesn't work, tastes terrible
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for NaturVet Bitter Yuck! No Chew Spray
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 64 reviews

Not Good!

May 8, 2010
by ILoveMyPets22
fromMI
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I bought this for my Chihuahua puppy, Pixie. I thought it might help with her teething. I put some on my finger to test it. She sniffed it and then licked and licked my finger! I put some on the corner of the baseboard that she likes to chew on. She went right over and kept chewing. I took this back. This was a waste of money.
Pros: none
Cons: puppy liked it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for NaturVet Bitter Yuck! No Chew Spray
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 64 reviews

April 18, 2010
by zekie
fromMichigan
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I used this after my dog was nuetered, he kept licking at his stitches in addition to be rambunctious and was tearing open the stitches. I sprayed him with bitter yuck and he only tried to lick himself once more, the stuff tastes awful (I accidentally got it on my hand so I know too) and kept him from opening his stitches. I had to re-apply it every so often but it was worth it to let him heal properly.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 next