PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Andis Pro Dog Clipper Kit

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Andis Pro Dog Clipper Kit

This complete gromming kit is perfect for complete home grooming of dogs of all types.
Overall rating:
2.733 / 5
2.7
 / 
5
(15 reviews) 14
5 of 15(33%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Andis Pro Dog Clipper Kit
Review 1 for Andis Pro Dog Clipper Kit
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 15 reviews

Rarely used and didn't last.

April 12, 2011
by makrtyco
fromNorfolk, VA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5 15 reviews
I purchased these clippers in May 2009 to use only in the spring to cut down our 1 dog. She is a mix with thick hair. The first 2 times I used them they cut very well. I did have to take breaks because the unit got warm. I pulled out the clippers today (4/12/2011) to use them for the 3rd time TOTAL and they sounded a little funny, like they were running at a lower power. I started cutting and after 5 minutes they died. I was diligent about cleaning them after the first 2 uses. What a waste of money. I could've taken her to the groomer twice and had her cut down for a little more than the price of these.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Andis Pro Dog Clipper Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 15 reviews

It Worked For Me

August 9, 2010
by Spontaneous
fromUSA
I am VERY particular and not easy to please so I was leary on buying clippers. I have a Shitzu and his hair is already cut low. I just brought these to maintain his short do. It worked for me. It did get A LITTLE warm but do-able. I'm only goin got use it once a month for touch ups so its perfect for me SO FAR. If not, I have the receipt and it will go back.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Andis Pro Dog Clipper Kit
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 15 reviews

save your money

July 5, 2010
by scubak
fromraleigh, nc
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5 15 reviews
I purchased this at a store, brought it home and used it to clip my severly matted cat. It did work well for this, however when I went to use it a few weeks later on my other cat, it did not even turn on.
Next time I will spring for a more sturdy model. this might be ok for short haired animals but wouldn't get it again.
Pros: worked well once
Cons: never worked again
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Andis Pro Dog Clipper Kit
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 15 reviews

Broken out of Box

June 16, 2010
by CustomerReview
fromDenver, CO
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
What a disappointment!!! I read and followed the instructions before plugging it in. I oiled the blades before plugging it in. Upon turning this clipper on it made a horribly loud buzzing noise. I knew something had to be wrong bcuz the reviews said that it was so "quiet". Well, I turned it off and on several times. Finally, one time it turned on a little quieter than the previous times. So, I TRIED to use it on my Bichon. The blade was hanging up and snagging her hair. It wouldn't cut properly. Actually, barely at all. So, I can only assume that this pair was faulty. Needless to say, I am returning these clippers. What a pain...
Cons: broken out of box
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Andis Pro Dog Clipper Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews

Worked great on both of our long haired dogs!

November 28, 2009
by SWilkes
fromMonroe, LA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
My husband and I purchased these clippers to keep our long-haired mutts shaved closely because of our baby on the way.
One hour later, two dogs down, they worked like perfect! They were easy to use, didn't overheat at all, and they weren't super loud like other clippers. The dogs didn't mind it at all!!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Andis Pro Dog Clipper Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 15 reviews

Decent clippers at a reasonable price

October 26, 2009
by ShihTzuLuver
fromAustin, TX
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 15 reviews
I have no clue why others units "burned out". I've had mine for 4 years and have 5 Shih-Tzus. That's a lot of hair to groom! If you've prepared the coat properly for grooming in the first place, then these are very easy to use and have little problem taking the hair down. I will upgrade my next set to a more professional model with 2 speeds though. My only real beef is that the blades get hot when using it for any length of time so you have to interrupt grooming to let them cool down.
Pros: ceramic blades are awesome!
Cons: lack of 2-speed motor., blades get hot when extensively used.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Andis Pro Dog Clipper Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews

very good

March 30, 2009
by petparents
fromflorida
What is your gender?F
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 15 reviews
I purchased this clipper kit and the andis#5 blade. so far, this clipper works great for me. I was suprised to read the comments on this product, but I dont use the guard combs, so that could be the difference. The #10 blade that comes with the clipper I use on the paw pads and sanitary. I then shave my dogs with the 5 blade and they look so pretty. I like how the blade snaps out for changing (EASIER SINCE THE BLADE I HAD BEFORE DIDN'T) . only complaint i have is that i purchased a one speed instead of a two speed.
Pros: comes with instructions, comes with oil, blades snap out for easy changing
Cons: one speed
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Andis Pro Dog Clipper Kit
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 15 reviews

Snagged

February 3, 2009
by minipoodle
fromRoscoe, IL
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5 15 reviews
I have a miniature poodle. Wouldn't recommend these clippers for dogs with curly hair. For whatever reason it snagged a lot, even without the the clipper attachments. I have a cheaper, $30 (i think), Andis clipper set that didn't snag. Will be returning Andis Pro Dog Clipper Kit.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Andis Pro Dog Clipper Kit
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 15 reviews

These are horrible

January 28, 2008
by JByrd
fromCentreville, Virginia
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5 15 reviews
I bought these to groom my small - medium hair cat. They worked for all of 5 minutes and no matter how much I cleaned them, changed guards, etc., they would barely trim the hair. I am taking them back today!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Andis Pro Dog Clipper Kit
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 15 reviews

maybe OK for some...but not for my big babies

July 22, 2007
by ashcu55
fromProctorville, OH
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5 15 reviews
I have had these clippers for a little under three years and, recently, the motor gave out on me. I will say that when I bought them, I didn't realize how often I'd be grooming given that we only had one standard poodle at the time and have since added another standard and an OES to the group. However, I should add that I tried to use them on a friend's cocker when they were still working well, and they barely clipped through its coat. Overall, I should have made more of an investment in a sturdy pair of clippers that cut much more quickly/smoothly.
***This set would have probably been absolutely fine for occasional use on smaller pets.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Andis Pro Dog Clipper Kit
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 15 reviews

DO NOT BUY !!!!

June 19, 2007
by dukiedog
fromAlbany,NY
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5 15 reviews
The motor on these clippers will burn out!!!! They cut ok for the first time then you can tell that they aren't running just right....... then you have your dog half cut for summer and.......that's it! Garbage!!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Andis Pro Dog Clipper Kit
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 15 reviews

DO NOT BUY THESE!!!!

February 24, 2007
by DOGGIE
fromCanton. MI
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5 15 reviews
I bought these clippers not once, but twice. The motor will fail after about six monthes... Buy an upgraded pair, these will barely make the warrenty.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Andis Pro Dog Clipper Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews

This IS a pro kit and I use it to groom rescues!

January 16, 2007
by texashurricane
fromhouston, tx
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
I have bought 2 of these and am about to buy my third. I can't tell you how many times I have dropped these and they still keep on going. Only the parts that wear on on ANY clipper have ever worn out and they are cheaply and easily replaced. I bought one extra as a back up and am going to buy another so I don't have to stop to switch blades. I have used the oster brands and as they have the side vents that end up blowing dog hair into my face I can't stand to use them! LOVE LOVE LOVE andis
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Andis Pro Dog Clipper Kit
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 15 reviews

Not What It's Cut Out To Be...

November 18, 2006
by Tuxedokids
fromRedondo Beach, CA
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5 15 reviews
I bought this, looking for a good way to groom my long-haired cats. The pieces got caught in their fur, and we ended up just using the blade itself, with no attachments. The case is great & the concept is a good one, but the blades are hardly "pro".
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Andis Pro Dog Clipper Kit
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
1 out of 1 recommend this product