PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Andis AGC Two-Speed Heavy Duty Dog Clipper

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Andis AGC Two-Speed Heavy Duty Dog Clipper

Dual-speed clipper handles even heavy coats The ideal clipper if you choose to shave your dog Includes #10 blade
Overall rating:
4.364 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(22 reviews) 20
18 of 22(82%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Andis AGC Two-Speed Heavy Duty Dog Clipper
Review 1 for Andis AGC Two-Speed Heavy Duty Dog Clipper
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 22 reviews

November 17, 2013
by Savage1007
fromCumberland, ME
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 22 reviews
Works well and does very good job cutting, feels comfortable in the hands. Very quite on both speeds. The two speed option is great for thick hair. The unit does get warm with extended use but it is to be expected.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Andis AGC Two-Speed Heavy Duty Dog Clipper
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 22 reviews

Best Clippers, recommended by Groomers

July 10, 2013
by doberman
fromSacramento, CA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 22 reviews
I am a professional Groomer and these are the best clippers to buy. I have used numerous brands and always end up back with these clippers.
They also come in a square shape if that fits your hand better.
These only come with a #10 blade (which will leave the dog almost bald), so if you want a longer cut you need to buy longer blades or comb attachments.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Andis AGC Two-Speed Heavy Duty Dog Clipper
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 22 reviews

Great Clippers

January 7, 2013
by CWill
fromTopeka, KS
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 22 reviews
These clippers worked great on my standard poodle and my lab briard mix. The clippers easily cut through the hair and were easy to maneuver and clean. The clippers did not become hot over the time period of clipping the two dogs.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Andis AGC Two-Speed Heavy Duty Dog Clipper
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 22 reviews

Have to return. 2 speed doesn't work

December 9, 2012
by KathyM
fromEndicott, NY
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5 22 reviews
I did a lot of research before buying this model. I was going to use them on my Golden Retriever. It was a quiet unit but after about 15 minutes, the 2nd speed quit working. The clipper would actually lose power intermittently which took forever to clip my dog. Needless to say, I'm returning these to the store. Next time I'll also be purchasing a clipper that has an adjustable blade. I wasn't able to lengthen/shorten this one so my Golden ended up almost bald.
Pros: gentle
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Andis AGC Two-Speed Heavy Duty Dog Clipper
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 22 reviews

My himalayan cat

August 24, 2012
by wingheart1
fromCharlotte NC
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 22 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I have a himalayan cat and have used this for several years. My cat has to be completely shaved twice a year. Otherwise her hair gets tangled and she gets very hot in the summer. This razor is very easy to use and very quick - considering my cat does not like to sit for very long this comes in handy. I have had and used other brands before and they just did not work as well as the Andis model AG2 super duty does. I would recommend this clipper for all.
Pros: gentle, Shed Prevention
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Andis AGC Two-Speed Heavy Duty Dog Clipper
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 22 reviews

All my friends want one

April 17, 2012
by Pammi
fromToronto, Ontario
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Hi there from Toronto. I bought the Andis AGC at our local PetSmart for grooming our 12-year-old mini-schnauzer a year ago.
He was just getting too old to stay all day at the groomer's and would be exhausted for days afterwards.
Thanks to the wonders of research and YouTube, he now has a grooming experience at home spread out over several days...bath one day, nails clipped, ears cleaned another, etc. The Andis is so quiet, he falls asleep on his side as I shave him!
Excellent little machine, great long cord and the blades are amazing. I invested in a #5 blade so I can switch jobs as the blades cool down.
I should have bought one years ago. My friends keep wanting to borrow it!
Thank you, Andis, for your quality product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Andis AGC Two-Speed Heavy Duty Dog Clipper
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 22 reviews

Awesome clipper!

May 6, 2011
by Stefy
fromNJ
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 22 reviews
I have bought other clippers for my dog but theres ALWAYS something wrong.... it gets too hot. the blades dont work. it breaks.
but this one, is easy to handle easy to use. My dog loves it!
I now choose whatever haircuts i want and cut his hair becuase its that amazing.... i def. recomend this item!
My only complain is i wish it was somewhat cheaper =[.. BUT it is definatley worth the money!
Pros: gentle
Cons: expensive
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Andis AGC Two-Speed Heavy Duty Dog Clipper
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 22 reviews

Amazing

August 11, 2010
by Kato
fromDallas, TX
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 22 reviews
I have been looking for good clippers for a while. I bought some cheep ones to save money and they didn’t work. I have a Husky, Australian Shepherd and a Blue Heeler. The cheep ones didn’t even touch a bottom of my heeler’s coat. So I decided to spend the money. I got them last Friday and as of today all my dogs are shaved. They are amazing. It took me only 15 minutes to shave the Australian Shepherd. Just make sure you oil them before, during and after use and they will work like a charm.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Andis AGC Two-Speed Heavy Duty Dog Clipper
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 22 reviews

Works for me

July 20, 2010
by Snoopdog
fromPalm Beach Gardens, FL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 22 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I bought this a couple of weeks ago to attempt to groom my two dogs myself, just can't afford grooming anymore. After reading reviews I surmised that I wouldn't be happy with any of the lower priced clippers. I think I made a great decision. It was actually easier then I thought and the clippers really made the job neat and clean. It is not noisy at all, it does get warm/hot after prolonged use, but I just stopped for awhile to give my dogs a break that they needed anyway. This will pay for itself after another groom so I am very happy. The 14 ft. cord is great too.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Andis AGC Two-Speed Heavy Duty Dog Clipper
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 22 reviews

Twelve years and still running!

March 16, 2010
by CollieMom81
fromVictoria
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 22 reviews
I've been using these as my primary clippers for 12 years, both on my own dogs and at work (grooming salon). That's as in 'the same unit'. One quick brush/driver repair a few years ago. Simple to use if they're maintained correctly. Will go through any coat. Advise to have spare blades though, as the higher speed will heat the blades up a bit quicker.
Pros: last for years, two speed option
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Andis AGC Two-Speed Heavy Duty Dog Clipper
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 22 reviews

OUTSTANDING!

August 3, 2008
by montecristo
fromMichigan
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 22 reviews
We purchased these clippers to shave our cocker spaniel who was heavily matted. These clippers worked like a charm! They zipped right through her hair like a hot knife through warm butter. This was our first time cutting her hair and we had no problems at all. I highly recommend this item, you will not be disappointed. Just follow the directions with oiling the clippers prior, during, and after use.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Andis AGC Two-Speed Heavy Duty Dog Clipper
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 22 reviews

Beautiful

July 2, 2008
by Trivia
fromLas Vegas
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 22 reviews
Slices through tough fur like a hot knife through butter. Just take care of it as it should be (as directed in the instructions booklet) and there will be absolutely no problems.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Andis AGC Two-Speed Heavy Duty Dog Clipper
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 22 reviews

Excellent Choice

May 31, 2008
by Rottweiler
fromRoanoke Rapids, NC
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 22 reviews
I have always used cheap trimmers on my rotts. My puppy has unusually thick, wavy hair. Very undesirable in the breed! He burned up three trimmers before we could ever get him fully cut. We waited two weeks before we tried again with this one. It is very quiet compared to the others and went right threw his tangles and waves. If you have a dog with a thick coat or long fur, you need this one!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Andis AGC Two-Speed Heavy Duty Dog Clipper
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 22 reviews

Great Clipper

May 5, 2008
by ScootersMom
fromVista, Calif.
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 22 reviews
I have a Cocker-Poo/Pom. mix. Her undercoat gets heavy and tangled, & of course she hates to be brushed. I bought this pair of clippers after using Whal and Osters. They were awful in preformance for Scooters' hair.
These clippers just glide through Scooters hair and that makes the haircut go by in about 1/2 the time it used to take. No tangling and getting stuck in her hair. She actually seems to like getting haircuts now that it isn't as stressful as before.
These clippers give a fast, trouble free haircut, without all the stress we used to have. They are by far the quietest clippers I have ever used. I would recommend them to anyone.
If the clippers aren't what you need, Pet Smart will take them back with no questions asked. It's a great place to shop.
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Andis AGC Two-Speed Heavy Duty Dog Clipper
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 22 reviews

I can do it!

March 30, 2008
by LMCR
fromnorthern Illinois
What is your gender?F
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 22 reviews
I trimmed my cockapoo for the first time today with these clippers with the Andis combs I bought separately. He hadn't had a trim in 3 mos. because I was tired of paying the high grooming fees. I wasn't sure if this was going to be a waste of money - could I do it and would he let me. He wasn't fazed by the clippers and they easily cut through his thick, curly coat at the high speed. He actually seemed to enjoy the process. I had no problems with the clippers getting hot but I did faithfully follow the directions for oiling them periodically. The noise was minimal and you could carry on a conversation while using them without a problem.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Andis AGC Two-Speed Heavy Duty Dog Clipper
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 22 reviews

The best overall clipper...

February 19, 2008
by tabbycat20
frombakersfield, ca
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 22 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
As a professional dog groomer, I would have to say that this is the best clipper with all things considered. The only clipper companies that are in their league are Oster and Laube. However, osters require a lot of maintenance and have costly repairs. Laubes make short work of a thick coat with their ultra powerful motors, but are pretty expensive and tend to be a bit loud. I haven't had to replace anything on these clippers yet, grooming 6 dogs/day 5 days/week and I've had them for 9 months. Virtually all of petsmarts groomers use this model. As far as overheating, any high power clipper heats up faster than cheaper brands like wahl and conair. It's because their more powerful, it's a diesel truck vs. an economy car. higher rpm=more friction=more heat. So use blade coolant. If you don't like waiting for them to cool, buy and extra blade so you can use one while the other cools.
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Andis AGC Two-Speed Heavy Duty Dog Clipper
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 22 reviews

clippers

November 19, 2007
by tricia
fromdaytona beach, fl
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 22 reviews
I have to say these are the best clippers I have tried. They were recomended to me by a professional pet groomer. I didnt want to spend the money, but they do the job. I have a long haired german shepard , that gets really matted up. If I dont brush her everyday.(and I dont) .Nothing would go through her matted hair. She has arthritis,so I dont take her to the groomers anymore. 2 cuts and I have my money back. I have found them quick and easy to use. I use the blade coolant to keep them cool. other clippers I have tried get so hot you cant even hold them, and after one cut, theyre shot. Dont waste your money on cheaper brands.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Andis AGC Two-Speed Heavy Duty Dog Clipper
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 22 reviews

*Great clippers, what the pros use*

November 17, 2007
by terrierlover
fromJacksonville, FL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 22 reviews
I saw the "bad" reviews on this item and was compelled to submit a review from a groomers point of view. I have been grooming for over 10 years, and after trying several others the Andis AGC 2 spd is THE clipper of choice for me and most of the groomers I have worked with. They are lighter and quieter than other brands and are virtually maintenance free. ANY high speed clipper will heat up the blades, this is what they make "blade coolant" for. Test the blades on your wrist every now and then while you are working, if they start to feel hot spray coolant on the blade while clippers are running, wipe with a cloth and keep on clipping. Oil your blades as well after every use to keep them sharp and running smoothly. These are great clippers, give perfect results every time, worth the high price.
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Andis AGC Two-Speed Heavy Duty Dog Clipper
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 22 reviews

Gets Hot Quickly Unfortunately

November 1, 2007
by LoveMyPet
fromWilliamsburg, VA
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5 22 reviews
I've had the same problem with these clippers. They get very, very hot and I cannot clip my dog for very long because of this. Have to stop and let them cool off. These were very expensive too so I'm very disappointed.
-3points
1of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Andis AGC Two-Speed Heavy Duty Dog Clipper
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 22 reviews

Overheats Quickly

September 5, 2007
by b17sdaughter
fromOcala, FL
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5 22 reviews
Although this product clips fine, it becomes hot quickly. I have a small dog, it takes forever to clip her as I have to stop frequently to allow the clippers to cool. I have cheaper clippers that do not heat up this fast, so I am disappointed with these.
+3points
6of 9voted this as helpful.
1 2 next