PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for All Living Things(r) Hamster Starter Kit

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

All Living Things(r) Hamster Starter Kit

The perfect beginning for you and your pet hamster.
Overall rating:
3.968 / 5
4
 / 
5
(126 reviews) 120
94 of 126(75%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for All Living Things(r) Hamster Starter Kit
Review 1 for All Living Things(r) Hamster Starter Kit
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 126 reviews

Not recommended

August 21, 2013
by Fisheez
fromMI
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Ease of Assembly 
3 / 5
3 / 5 126 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
1 / 5
1 / 5 126 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 126 reviews
I got this cage as an economical start-up for my Syrian. It wasn't too hard to set up once I got the bars unstuck from each other. My hamster, Timmy, didn't have nearly enough room and was literally climbing the walls, trying to move around. There was no room for an igloo, and the stuff that was in there left little to no room for nesting. I wanted to litter-train my hamster, but there was also no room for even the tiny litter box I got him.
The water bottle leaked so badly; there was a large wet circle after a short time that Timmy avoided. I ended up hiding his food under the bedding so he could search and so I could use the bowl to catch all the dripping water.
Another thing I noticed really quickly is that the cage is not easy to clean. If you want to actually reach your hands in there to get everything out, you have to take it apart first.
Pros: stylish
Cons: hard to clean, low quality
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for All Living Things(r) Hamster Starter Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 126 reviews

Great for my Robo

June 6, 2013
by LoverOfRobos
fromNC
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Ease of Assembly 
5 / 5
5 / 5 126 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
3 / 5
3 / 5 126 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 126 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I got this cage when I got my first Robo. Miniwheat loves it but he had a little trouble getting up and down the slides sometimes so I just replaced it with some tubes and it's much easier for him. I also get rid of the wheel because I didn't like it even though he didn't have any problems with it. The only real problem I had was that the water bottle leaked like crazy but the people at PetSmart offered me a replacement with my receipt. I like the space I have to build his tubes up and I even put a branch inside. He loves it.
Pros: easy to clean, sturdy
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for All Living Things(r) Hamster Starter Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 126 reviews

JESSIE LOVES HER CAGE!!

April 14, 2013
by Vlada
fromFL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
It is good for Chinese dwarf hamster owners. Jessie (my hammy) runs on the wheel almost all day, Loves the food and the stuff that comes with the cage.
Suggestions:
-buy nesting material squares or put toilet paper squares for your hammy to build a nest
-an igloo woks best in a corner, also an empty toilet paper tube to hide and chew.
-put a puzzle playground on the top shelf, and move the food in a corner next to the water so it is easier to reach by your hammy.
-put vegetable oil where the wheel spins, so it will be quiet.
-use aspen wood shavings as the bedding, as it is better for a Chinese dwarf.
-clean the cage weekly and offer dust baths
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for All Living Things(r) Hamster Starter Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 126 reviews

January 29, 2013
by animalhat1
fromarlington, TX
Ease of Assembly 
5 / 5
5 / 5 126 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
5 / 5
5 / 5 126 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 126 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
good cage though my hamster had troulble getting up the slide i simply removed it great for dwarfs
Pros: stylish, easy to clean
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for All Living Things(r) Hamster Starter Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 126 reviews

Good but not for gerbils

January 29, 2013
by Darknight
fromCanada
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Ease of Assembly 
4 / 5
4 / 5 126 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
5 / 5
5 / 5 126 reviews
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5 126 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
I got this cage for my gerbil at first. After, I read about it and saw that it is not good for gerbils to have cages with bars because they have bigger noses for hamsters and they sniff through the bars and it is bad for their face. Also an issue with the bars is that my gerbil climbs up to the top of the cage then jumps down constantly and if she hit the ground wrong that could be bad. Another problem is that she chewed through the plastic shelf in 2 months and the first day I had her I went out and when i got back her entire water bottle (that came with the cage) had leaked everywhere and I had to change all the bedding. I ended up going back and getting an aquarium with a wire lid in the reptiles section for her. She LOVES this cage and I still put her in the old one when I clean it. But yes, it is called HAMSTER starter kit and it means it. I would suggest this cage for hamsters but not gerbils.
Pros: stylish, easy to clean
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for All Living Things(r) Hamster Starter Kit
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 126 reviews

Good starter cage but won't last long

December 28, 2012
by Mollyanneandkujo
fromKeller, tx
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Ease of Assembly 
2 / 5
2 / 5 126 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
2 / 5
2 / 5 126 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 126 reviews
I bought this cage knowing it wouldn't last, I just needed a starter kit. Little did I know it wouldn't even last a week. Thank god my poor babies (I bought two cages for two dwarf hamsters) won't live in there for more than a week! Let's just start with it was a pain in the butt to set up. The wires were hard to line up with the base. One of the side latches won't latch on. The wheel is so loud that when I put oil on it, it still didn't fix! The water bottle leaked so bad I had to replace it the next day! I woke up and my russian dwarf was covered in water. I had to change all the bedding and wrap her in a warm towel until she warmed up!:( my Chinese dwarf hamster however stayed on the top level as the water bottle soaked her bedding. The food has a lot of fattening sunflower seeds etc. the pros were they came with a TON of coupons!!!!!! However they were for bad food, and chep supplies. All of these bad things happend in both of my cages! I won't buy this cage ever again. It was so bad. Please don't make my same mistake. This cage is also so tiny for even a dwarf please don't buy it!!!!
Cons: hard to clean, low quality
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for All Living Things(r) Hamster Starter Kit
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 126 reviews

Has a few flaws

November 30, 2012
by KKLY
fromFL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Ease of Assembly 
5 / 5
5 / 5 126 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
4 / 5
4 / 5 126 reviews
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5 126 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Not as small as it looks But has some problems MY WINTER HAS HARDLY NO EXCERISE IN THE CAGE PROS __________________ .Big enough 2 run around in . comes with water bottle 2nd story comes with food boul, water bottle, bedding , & food. CONS _____________________________ .wheel does not work so he does not get the excerise he needs . does not come with a house so he is forsed to sleep in a corner . .HARD TO PUT THE SECOND FLOOR . . NO MATTER HOW MUCH I LOSEN IT OR TIGHTEN IT THE WHEEL DOES NOT WORK!. IT IS LIKE HE PRAYS FOR THE EXCERISE HE NEEDS IN HIS CAGE but I will get a excerise ball for him.
Pros: easy to clean, sturdy
Cons: low quality
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for All Living Things(r) Hamster Starter Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 126 reviews

Great!

November 27, 2012
by Raych
fromOntario, Canada
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
My friend had this cage and he loved it! I went to visit his hamster and the cage was so amazing!! With the second level and ladder it was great! the only thing was that his hamster looked a little small for it but it was still pretty good size!
Pros: stylish, sturdy
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for All Living Things(r) Hamster Starter Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 126 reviews

November 10, 2012
by Low56
fromWilkes County, NC
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Ease of Assembly 
2 / 5
2 / 5 126 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
4 / 5
4 / 5 126 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 126 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
I love the cage! It was confusing to put together though, and the water bottle leaked. Other than that it is an amazing cage and my dwarf hamster Wiggle loves it!
Pros: easy to clean, sturdy, stylish
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for All Living Things(r) Hamster Starter Kit
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 126 reviews

meh.

November 3, 2012
by SkiddishBlossom
fromMacon, GA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Ease of Assembly 
3 / 5
3 / 5 126 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
5 / 5
5 / 5 126 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 126 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
The cage is good for those on a budget. But, in the end you would have to replace so many parts of the cage that it may not be worth it to you to buy this kit.
1. The water bottle leaks straight out of the box. We tried shaking it, tapping it, etc. to try to create a vacuum, but in the end it was just a cheap faulty water bottle.
2. The second story and slide/ramp is completely useless (and is not as pictured). When the slide is turned to let out underneath the shelf, the hamsters cannot make the climb all the way up the slide. When it is turned facing away, the hamsters can't make the clearance between the slide and the shelf.
3. The base is plastic. Some of the user photos show a metal base on these cages, but they are in fact plastic. I don't really take issue with a plastic bottom, but it can matter if your small pet is a voracious chewer.
4. The wheel is meh. It spins and isn't exactly squeaky, but my poor dwarf hamster is too wide to run on it comfortably. Every other step one of his paws falls off the wheel. And if they get to going too fast it will produce an odd squeaking noise (it hasn't been like the typical constant wheel squeak, more of an intermittent squawk).
Oh, and the item description here, on the box and the reality inside the box are all different things. This listing says the kit includes Nutriphase food and Carefresh bedding. The box says it has All Living Things food and bedding. My particular package actually contained Carefresh bedding and All Living Things food. Some pet owners are particular about the brands they use, so I thought I would include that tidbit as well.
All in all, it's a good starter kit and can hold you over until you're ready to buy extra accessories and move things around to your liking. I personally plan on either modding the ramp or taking it out, adding two good wheels and taking out the original, and getting them an igloo or hideaway. It's a small cage, but with proper item placement it has the potential to be very handy and versatile.
Pros: easy to clean
Cons: low quality
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for All Living Things(r) Hamster Starter Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 126 reviews

Pretty good

October 17, 2012
by Dragonfli
fromOhio
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
I have my female chinese hamster in this cage and it seems pretty awesome for the price. Wouldnt put anything bigger then a mouse chinese, or dwarf hamster in it though. But its a great little cage for a lone hamster or mouse :). Very durable! Also if the wheel gets a little squeaky put veggie oil on it.. fixes it perfect!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for All Living Things(r) Hamster Starter Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 126 reviews

Basic but has what you need to start up.

September 28, 2012
by ilovereptiles
fromPA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
When I got my first two hamsters this is what I got. I had a smaller breed (Chinese Dwarf) and now I have my Winter White in it.
My Pro's
- Simple to start up with
- Water bottle does not leak
- Has a fun little tube that leads up to food
- has a raised platform for food bowl to sit on
My Con's
- Water bottle started to get a weird build up on it
- The holder for the water bottle could be better
- What holds the wire part down needs to be upgraded to some newer latches
- Wheel is squeaky after awhile (luckily i got a new one)
I have used this for 3 years and I think it is time to get a new one. I like that it lasted so long but it is time for a new one.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for All Living Things(r) Hamster Starter Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 126 reviews

Good and fun for your pets!

September 17, 2012
by Brancappuchino
fromMequon, WI
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I have used the cage for almost 3 years now and it works great. My hamsters climb the sides and slide down the slide. The wheel is a little loud but oh well. The assembly can get annoying at times but other than that its perfect!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for All Living Things(r) Hamster Starter Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 126 reviews

Hammy Cage

September 9, 2012
by Beeanna93
fromMesa, AZ
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Its a great cage and my Hamster Molly Loves it! I'd recommend it to anyone! :D
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for All Living Things(r) Hamster Starter Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 126 reviews

Very good starter Kit

August 23, 2012
by DeannaNicole
fromGreenville, SC
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I bought this cage today for my new Gerbil and he loves it! If my mom hadn't been there I probably couldn't of gotten it together by myself (and im 17 lol), it was a bit difficult and a con that I've found is our water bottle does leak so I'm going to have to go buy a better one and the size seems a little small... I also bought a little plastic home dome thing and it fits perfectly under the upstairs part. He also hasn't really gone upstairs... I put him up there and he jumped right back down. But i definitely recommend this cage to anyone who wants a Hamster or Gerbil. :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for All Living Things(r) Hamster Starter Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 126 reviews

August 1, 2012
by Toki
fromBoise
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
It is very good. The water bottle does not leak at all! i love and my hamster does to. you can put a hut in it and toys.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for All Living Things(r) Hamster Starter Kit
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 126 reviews

dont get this cage!

July 16, 2012
by emmylag
frombrockton ma
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
this cage is not good it is so small my hamster (mr.pickles) it has no room for his igloo and his water bottle is leaking every where it also is wrong the clips to latch on dosent work .dont get this cage!
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for All Living Things(r) Hamster Starter Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 126 reviews

Wonderfull cage!

June 23, 2012
by nuttyaboutsquirrels
fromRichmond, IN
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
I got this for my hamster Scurry, and now my new hamster flurry uses it. its, like, the perfect size, and i like the little platform they can go on, but the two bad things are this: leaky bottle, LOUD loud wheel! but i LOVe this cage, exept for those parts. just replace the water bottle, and get a new wheel or put olive oil on it!
PS: Sorry, i got this cage mixed up with Grreat Choise Pet Home for Hamsters, and i put a review on for that. this is really the cage i got, not the other one. Sorry.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for All Living Things(r) Hamster Starter Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 126 reviews

Great!!!!But needs better water bottle and wheel

April 20, 2012
by Monkeybear
fromWindsor, Ont
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
I've heard its bad but really works great.easy set up and everything needed!you should really buy it.
+2points
5of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for All Living Things(r) Hamster Starter Kit
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 126 reviews

Too small

March 30, 2012
by Pheonix
fromNH
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
THis cage is too small for a syrian hamster but would work well for a dwarf of mouse. I now have a bigger cage for him and he is much happier. Here are the cons:
Noisy wheel
Size
Doesn't use tunnel (He climbed up the side)
Second level too small
-3points
2of 7voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next