PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Zoo Med Hermit Crab Sand

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Zoo Med Hermit Crab Sand

The perfect sandy substrate for your hermit crab.
Overall rating:
4.357 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(14 reviews) 14
12 of 14(86%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Zoo Med Hermit Crab Sand
Review 1 for Zoo Med Hermit Crab Sand
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 14 reviews

November 17, 2013
by thhon
fromHonaker, VA
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 14 reviews
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 14 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 14 reviews
Good quality for price paid.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Zoo Med Hermit Crab Sand
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 14 reviews

buy the white sand!

November 4, 2013
by kmsutton
fromVA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 14 reviews
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 14 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 14 reviews
My daughter's hermit crabs love this stuff. I read the reviews before I bought and found it is best to buy the white sand. The crabs do not like the colored sand as much as they do the white.
Pros: looks great
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Zoo Med Hermit Crab Sand
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 14 reviews

Clumpy

September 29, 2011
by Skate23
fromGrand Junction, CO
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
This sand isn't actually meant for getting wet, which with hermit crabs the substrate needs to be wet enough to pack into a ball. The sand is so fine that it is just hard to manage. Hermit crabs need a mixture of both sand and coco fiber, sand alone isn't a good idea. If you are using this sand mix it with coco fiber to where it is about 60% sand and 40% coco fiber. Add enough into the tank to where it makes a depth of 3-4 times the height of your largest crab. This sand will work it just isn't my top pick.
-2points
2of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Zoo Med Hermit Crab Sand
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 14 reviews

zoo med hermit crab sand

November 4, 2010
by hermitmommy
fromsharonville, ohio
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
the sand is a very good sand. and yes it does get hard when you get it wet all you have to do is use your hermit poppeeer scooper to break up the clumps at least that is what i do. i clean out my hermit crab's cage about oce a week and i clean out all the sand once a month. i always see them eating it but they will mot eat the colored sand but they will eat the wite sand.
Pros: it wis good for them to eat., it is good for molting.
Cons: it will clump up
+6points
8of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Zoo Med Hermit Crab Sand
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 14 reviews

Good source of calcium but...

July 25, 2010
by Tara111
fromSan Diego, CA
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5 14 reviews
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 14 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 14 reviews
this is not a good substrate because hermit crabs require a humid environment with WET SAND CASTLE CONSISTENCY SAND and this sand clumps when wet, becoming very hard, therefore not a good substrate. but if you want a good source of calcium, go for it! my crabs like to eat the stuff so just put some in with your food and you have an excellent "molting food" that looks cool too.
Pros: good molting food, crabs will eat it
Cons: can't get it wet
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Zoo Med Hermit Crab Sand
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 14 reviews

Okay..

July 20, 2010
by HemitCrabExpert17
fromMidlothian,Tx
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 14 reviews
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 14 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 14 reviews
Well I got this today for my hermit crabs. But when I put them in it was sticking. But they love it! You should buy this product though! Also it comes in little bags though. You can buy a 20 pound bag for 2! =)
Pros: looks good, good texture, not real dry, comes in cool colors
Cons: sticks to hermit crabs legs
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Zoo Med Hermit Crab Sand
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 14 reviews

A bit pricey...

March 18, 2010
by sydneysosmooth
fromBritish Columbia, Canada
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 14 reviews
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 14 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 14 reviews
I bought a starter kit with my crab, and it included this sand. The sand works great! There is only one problem for me... the price. When I cleaned my tank out (2 days ago) I had to go to Petsmart to buy more sand... and I ended up NOT choosing this one. Where they keep the crab supplies there was 2 bags of substrate, a 2pd bag of this sand, and a 4pd bag of extra fine crab gravel (by Crabworx). The 2pd bag of this was more expensive than the 4pd bag of the other stuff! There is no way I am going to buy this sand, all because of the price! The sand is good quality, and not dusty, but still!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Zoo Med Hermit Crab Sand
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 14 reviews

MMMM

January 30, 2010
by hermitcrabgirl
fromBC, Canada
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 14 reviews
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 14 reviews
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5 14 reviews
This product is pretty good... it has a nice colour, a nice texture, and comes in an ok size bag. But as soon as my hermit crab tank got humid the sand became moist, and started to clump and stick to my crabs legs. Other than that, you can buy a 20 pound bag of play sand for the price of 2 bags of this!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Zoo Med Hermit Crab Sand
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 14 reviews

Great!

August 4, 2009
by hermieperson
fromOxnard,CA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 14 reviews
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 14 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 14 reviews
I got this exact same sand but it's green. This sand is my favorite because it doesn't stick to my crabs legs.
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Zoo Med Hermit Crab Sand
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 14 reviews

This sand is Awesome!!

August 24, 2008
by Minnieluver14
fromWI
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 14 reviews
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 14 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 14 reviews
I have used lots of sand and this is, without a doubt, the best sand I've used. It looks great in the cage, doesn't clump when it gets wet, and most importantly, my crabs love it. It's also a great source of calcium! I hope my review was helpful.
THIS SAND IS GREAT!
+10points
12of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Zoo Med Hermit Crab Sand
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 14 reviews

great

June 30, 2007
by HermitLuver
fromTX
This Doesn't stink like playsand and holds humidity well. Even though its a little more pricey your hermit crab will love it and your crab really will stay cleaner then with play sand!=-D
I hope you injoied reading my comment and I hope it was helpful.
+10points
11of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Zoo Med Hermit Crab Sand
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 14 reviews

great

May 24, 2007
by eliva
fromindependence ky
it's great my hermit crabs love it and it dosen't get stuck in there shells.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Zoo Med Hermit Crab Sand
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 14 reviews

Great sand for hermits

December 17, 2006
by Bobbyscool
fromMilwaukee,wi
Yes this definetly is. most of the cages come with gravel which is not perticularly the best for hermits and this sand is 1. cheap and 2. easy for crabs to manuver in. they love it. buy it now!
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Zoo Med Hermit Crab Sand
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 14 reviews

November 23, 2006
by Mtulip
fromMobile, AL
I have used some of the other products but this sand seems to work the best. The crabs love it.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.