PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Zoo Med Hermit Crab Heater

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Zoo Med Hermit Crab Heater

To keep the optimum temperature, try the Hermit Crab Heater from Zoo Med, specially designed for hermit crabs.
Overall rating:
3.5 / 5
3.5
 / 
5
(12 reviews) 12
8 of 12(67%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Zoo Med Hermit Crab Heater
Review 1 for Zoo Med Hermit Crab Heater
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 12 reviews

hermie heater

April 8, 2013
by ONEDLOVER1234
fromORLANDO,FL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
it was just ok .It toatally could have been better.I have a 10 gallon tank and the heater did NOT heat it.DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Pros: easy to install
Cons: price, didn't work
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Zoo Med Hermit Crab Heater
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews

Fine

June 14, 2012
by fancyhedronbabydoll
fromIL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
This was a good investment for me. And those of you using this on a plastic tank it clearly says on the box and on the white sticker you peel off the back not for use on any other surfaces besides glass!
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Zoo Med Hermit Crab Heater
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 12 reviews

The reason everyone is having problems..

May 4, 2012
by CrabbyHermit
fromWashington
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Everyone is having problems because with the amount of substrate hermit crabs need, the heater doesn't get all the way through. I am having the same problem, I asked around on hermit crab forums and I found the golden ticket! In order to have this actually heating the tank( If you are having the correct amount of substrate) is to MOUNT IT ON THE SIDE OF THE TANK so it heats the air and the substrate.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Zoo Med Hermit Crab Heater
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 12 reviews

Zoo Med Hermit Crab Heater - not worth the money

December 31, 2011
by KatAndMouse
fromVirginia
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I purchased the heater a couple of months ago for my daughter to use with her new hermit crab. The directions say it is usable with a plastic tank, but it does not heat up enough to make any difference in the temperature inside the tank.
-4points
1of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Zoo Med Hermit Crab Heater
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews

Very Good Product

December 18, 2010
by GuineaPig863546
fromMemphis,TN
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
It warmed them up, but the only way for my two little boys to get warmed up was for them to burrow. But over all its a very good product and I would recommend this to a hermit crab lover in a heart beat. I hope it works out well for you! :o)
Pros: warmed them up, they were more active after i bought it, they seemed happier
Cons: had to burrow to get the heat
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Zoo Med Hermit Crab Heater
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews

I've honestly had no problems with it.

November 17, 2010
by TheGardenhead
fromOhio
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I have a relatively small tank (2.5 gallon) and when I place it on the side of the tank wall, it works just fine. Stays in place, and does its job. Also great with sponges, to keep the environment humid.
Pros: does it's job.
+2points
5of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Zoo Med Hermit Crab Heater
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 12 reviews

Horrible product!

January 5, 2010
by formalaffair
fromTampa, Fl
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Not worth $5 let alone $19! This procuct puts off very little heat. I have the smallest size starter kit for my hermit crab. This heating pad hardly passes any heat through the thin plastic. It sticks with very poor contact, even tho it says it will work on plastic or glass. Its practically falling off the plastic. Once you stick it, thats it, the directions tell you not to peel it off. However, in my case, its falling off, so it shouldnt be a problem to take it off. I plan on returning it today.
Pros: i cant find any pros
Cons: poor quality, once its placed on glass thats it you cant move
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Zoo Med Hermit Crab Heater
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews

For small tanks

November 8, 2009
by HermitGuy101
fromTexas
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
I would recommend this for small tanks. (Five gallon glass)
These keep up the heat somewhat. They also sell larger ones for larger tanks!!!
Pros: gives off enough heat for small tank
Cons: not good for large tanks
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Zoo Med Hermit Crab Heater
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 12 reviews

August 24, 2009
by 1sthermie
fromScarborough, ON
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
good if you have a very small tank
Pros: easy to instal, isnt in the way
Cons: doesn't heat tank enough
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Zoo Med Hermit Crab Heater
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 12 reviews

Provides a little heat, but could be better

March 25, 2009
by Crabber
fromGA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I've used this product for my 10-gal hermit crab tank for about 8 months now, and it hasn't broken or malfunctioned yet. It's a nice addition to a tank if you just need a little more heat, but I would also recommend using a lighting fixture with a heat lamp or a different source of heat in addition to the heater.
+3points
7of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Zoo Med Hermit Crab Heater
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 12 reviews

Not so hot

January 24, 2008
by Bookwyrm
fromThorold, ON
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
This would be a suitable heater for a small Critter Carrier type enclosure, possibly fora molting crab. But it definitely doesn't cut it for large tank.
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Zoo Med Hermit Crab Heater
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 12 reviews

hermie heater

February 25, 2007
by hermielover
fromLouisville,KY
I would recommed this product to somebody who has a five gallon aquarium for hermit crabs because it will not keep them very warm.BUY IT AT OWN RISK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.