PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Zoo Med Turtle Canister Filter

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Zoo Med Turtle Canister Filter

Easy priming external filter for turtle tanks, vivariums, box turtle pools or aquariums up to 30 gallons.
Overall rating:
2.594 / 5
2.6
 / 
5
(32 reviews) 30
14 of 32(44%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Zoo Med Turtle Canister Filter
Review 1 for Zoo Med Turtle Canister Filter
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 32 reviews

Not worth it!

May 1, 2013
by TurtleWoman
fromOntario
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I have TWO of these in a 30 gallon tank--does not clear water AT ALL, and these are EACH rated for a 30 gallon tank (so, I have twice as many filters as I need!). Constantly (multiple times a day) clogs up, resulting in poor flow. Poor design allows turtles knock them down and knock them apart.
Really, it is just easier if I change the turtles water DAILY instead of using this filter!
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Zoo Med Turtle Canister Filter
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 32 reviews

Decent filter

September 27, 2012
by Michelle38
fromAltanta, GA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
My son has a 30-40 gallon tank for this red-eared slider that he has had for 2 years. We have tried the other in tank canister filters, but ended up having to clean it every 2 days or so and it didnt do a very good job. This filter does a great job and the turtle loves the waterfall effect. The only reason that I didnt give it 5 stars is because the assembly might be a little difficult for some people. Assembly wasnt all that hard though, just a lot of pieces and it takes a few minutes to get it set up. I would recommend this filter for people who were not
satisfied with other in tank canister filters.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Zoo Med Turtle Canister Filter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 32 reviews

Keeps a 60 gallon tank clear

March 9, 2012
by Turtlenate
fromRochester, MN
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
We love our filter. Keeping the filter clean is the name of the game. Up keep, up keep. These are not the walk away pumps. Then again none of the pumps are.
I changed the hoses since I wanted to hide the pump and it works great.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Zoo Med Turtle Canister Filter
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 32 reviews

Not worth the money

February 2, 2012
by Depal
fromSouthern California
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
This filter works great for awhile but tends to clog when used with larger turtles, mine is about 4 inches in a 40 gallon tank. But I have heard from a family member that it also has a hard time with sand as well. You are probably better off getting a Fluval fish filter for your tank rather than this one. It's quality is not worth the price at all.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Zoo Med Turtle Canister Filter
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 32 reviews

Dont Believe the BAD reviews!!

December 11, 2011
by Turtlenerd
fromcolumbus
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
As long as you put the carbon filter in first, then the ceramic rocks (totally opposite of the picture on box) this filter works great!!! The waterfall feature of the water going back into the tank is awesome, my turtle loves it and it helps with pushing the warm water around the tank! Easy set up and as long as its cleaned regularly it works great.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Zoo Med Turtle Canister Filter
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 32 reviews

I'm getting a new filter today

October 24, 2011
by jaaaybird
fromCA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Ok so let's first start off that this filter is pricey, but a sale's associate recommended it and I've had it for at least a year.
So the pros about this product:
It will keep your tank clean for quite some time. I have a 10 gallon tank with 2 small red ears and it's last me for at least 2 months without a spot. This is the feature that sales associate stressed and he was right too, it does its job.
The waterfall is a nice touch.
Can be quiet when it doesn't have difficulty sucking up water
Cons:
The filter/carbon bag replacements can be pricey as you're buying replacements over longterm.
Clean-up can be difficult, the tubes fill with algae and it's hard to get out - my best bet: use a straw or a BBQ stick to scrape out.
The suction cups that support the tubes can easily get damaged and constantly need to be wet in order to support the tubes. My tank is half full and it's become a problem when I constantly have to fix them.
The overall design poses as a problem, I don't like the whole tube thing. Can get confusing / problematic when taking apart and putting back together.
So overall, it works great, but just when it comes time to actually doing the dirty work, I hate this thing. I don't mind cleaning more often, i just need an easier process.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Zoo Med Turtle Canister Filter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 32 reviews

GreatGreatGreat!!!

September 10, 2011
by GreatProduct
fromGeorgia
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
I've tried other filters before this, and none are this good. I have to clean them at least once a week... This one I cleaned today after having it for a week and it didn't need to be cleaned at all. I have two turtles and a 40 gallon tank. It keeps it really clear! My turtles are so happy now(: Thank you ZooMed :D
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Zoo Med Turtle Canister Filter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 32 reviews

Someone who knows about filtration!

January 5, 2011
by Filterman
fromVA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 32 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
4 / 5
4 / 5 32 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 32 reviews
I bought this product and it was fairly easy to assemble. It did take a minute to figure out the instructions, but once I did it was up and running. It runs really quiet when you put the outlet tube into the water and it circulates fine when you do. Once it was running for about 30 minutes the tank started to clear and after a day it was totally clear. This is an awesome filter and am thinking of getting another for my fish tank.
Pros: filters like a higher dollar filter., very easy to wor with., low price.
Cons: instructions could be better.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Zoo Med Turtle Canister Filter
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 32 reviews

DON'T BUY THIS FILTER!!!!

August 22, 2010
by mrb2217
fromChester, MD (Kent Island)
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
1 / 5
1 / 5 32 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
1 / 5
1 / 5 32 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 32 reviews
This is the biggest piece of junk I've ever bought. It wouldn't stay primed more then 20 minutes. Tried everything and it still wouldn't stay primed. When it would work it was very loud and annoying. DO NOT BUY!!!!!!
Pros: none
Cons: poorly made, noisy, won't stay primed
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Zoo Med Turtle Canister Filter
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 32 reviews

I was expecting more...

May 4, 2010
by iloveidaho
fromIdaho
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 32 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 32 reviews
Bought this item yesterday, and after the initial headache of getting it running properly I am a little disappointed. I guess I figured that spending 60 dollars on a filter would result in BETTER water flow than my little 20 dollar one that was nearing the end of it's life... but no. The water barely has enough pressure to come out of all the holes in shower tube, a couple are "flowing" while about half just kinda drip. I will be returning this product today. Which is a bummer because my turtle is very interested in the way the water flows in... he hangs out underneath it and watches it rain down. Cute... but not 60 dollars worth of cute.
Pros: quiet
Cons: low flow, hard to set up, 60 bucks!?!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Zoo Med Turtle Canister Filter
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 32 reviews

BAD FILTER

March 27, 2010
by Judadabuda
fromB.C Canada
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Appearance 
1 / 5
1 / 5 32 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
1 / 5
1 / 5 32 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 32 reviews
I bought this filter thinking that it wold keep my tank cleaner than my repto filter but i was wrong the fliter is just like pumping water out of the tank and back in i does not work!!!
Pros: none
Cons: expensive should not be labeld as a filter
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Zoo Med Turtle Canister Filter
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 32 reviews

What a hasslel!

August 30, 2009
by crazyfool
fromChandler, AZ
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
2 / 5
2 / 5 32 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
1 / 5
1 / 5 32 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 32 reviews
I bought this filter thinking that the $60 dollars would be worth while. Little did I know it would require weekly cleaning or my poor turtle would be swimming in a swamp!
The setup instructions are complicated and took a while to figure out.
The waterfall is not whisper at all. It would keep me up all night.
My 20 gallon tank isnt even filled up all the way and it had trouble keeping it clean for more than 4 days.
The $30 repto filter I had previously worked 121283729 times better and was less work. I regret not replacing it with the same model.
SAVE YOUR 60 BUCKS and buy a whisper technology filter all you have to do with that is replace the cartridge. Not deal with all these tubes that turn green.
I'm returning mine TODAY.
Cons: hard to assemble, tubes get dirty, water barely pumps, filter sits outside of tank, its expensive!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Zoo Med Turtle Canister Filter
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 32 reviews

For small tanks ONLY!

May 30, 2009
by Centsible
fromLA, CA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 32 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
4 / 5
4 / 5 32 reviews
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5 32 reviews
I've used this filter on a 20 gallon tank (with about 17 gallons of water, bare bottom) with a 5 inch turtle and 15 medium sized goldfish for two months and it does an "o.k." job. I had to replace the carbon media with my own mesh bag filled with store brand carbon media and the performance improved considerably (eliminated the stench completely!). I also use a piece of a natural loofah sponge on the intake tube as a prefilter and it helps collect thick sludge and break it down a little before it's sucked into the canister. The water still becomes cloudy pretty easily and I really dislike that the tubes build up algae. If you purchase this filter, expect to keep up weekly maintenance (water changes as well as filter cleanings). I do like that it collects thick waste in both chambers and (in my case) has not clogged yet. I'm sure it would do a much better job in a lot less water, like 15 gallons or less with either only fish or young turtles. I think it's a bit expensive for the quality.
Pros: spray bar!, quiet, small, self-priming, easy to clean & assemble
Cons: requires weekly cleanings, algae grows in tubes, for small tanks, requires "creative tweaking", no way to change flowrate, expensive media replacement
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Zoo Med Turtle Canister Filter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 32 reviews

I personally think this filter works great!

February 21, 2009
by ohsoblonde
fromCalifornia
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 32 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
4 / 5
4 / 5 32 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 32 reviews
I have had this Filter for 3 months or so. When I took it out of the box, I was a little confused putting it together and I had a hard time getting the top of the canister off. However, since then, I have found it is very easy to put together, just the initial setup took a couple extra minutes to figure it out. To keep the filter from getting clogged, I empty and rinse out the canister couple times a week. Once a week, I take the whole filter completely apart, and clean it. I use pipe cleaners to clean out all the tubes, thoroughly clean the media and the canister. Part of the reason I clean it so often is because I have two turtles. I am getting a larger tank this week and plan on buying another filter, so that i will have 2 in one tank.
Pros: filters great, my turtles love the water fall, it cleans the tank well, its fairly easy to take apart and clean
Cons: needs to be cleaned regularly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Zoo Med Turtle Canister Filter
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 32 reviews

Perfect Little Filter for Turtle Tank

December 24, 2008
by Andeveron
fromNew York, NY
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 32 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
2 / 5
2 / 5 32 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 32 reviews
I read some of the other reviews and was surprised at the complaints of the filter being difficult to put together. I just looked at the illustration that's on the instruction pamphlet and fitted everything together in 5 minutes. Got it working and pumping water by the 6 minute mark.
I've had mine for about 3 years and it's still working. I also bought another two for a turtle tank in our office and one more for a larger turtle tank to complement the undergravel filter in that setup.
My only complaint with this filter is the ridiculously expensive replacement media. The cylindrical sponge costs $5 and the little baggie of charcoal also costs $5. It's unreasonable by any metric and I've resorted to making my own media to save on the outlandish costs from the manufacturer. Due to the high cost of replacement media, I can only give this 3/5 stars.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Zoo Med Turtle Canister Filter
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 32 reviews

Not so clean

June 30, 2008
by zuvvy
fromSacramento, Ca
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 32 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
2 / 5
2 / 5 32 reviews
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5 32 reviews
Purchaced this filter for my 16 gallon red ear slider's tank because of price. Not so great instructions. I do not recommend this for anything bigger than 10 gallon tank. It works better with a different brand filter substrate and is a lot more quiet than with the filter that came with the canister. If you purchaced this canister try another filter substrate and you'll be a lot happier and so will your turtle.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Zoo Med Turtle Canister Filter
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 32 reviews

I'm not too sure about this...

January 16, 2008
by NewJersey
fromNew Jersey
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 32 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
2 / 5
2 / 5 32 reviews
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5 32 reviews
I bought this for my turtle tank as well. I wanted a waterfall in the tank and this seemed to be the best being that it's a filter as well. I bought the first one and it stopped pumping very often, then it stopped working completely after about 6 months. I went a purchased another one, because I figured I was the problem with not cleaning the tank as often as I should (the tank is cleaned about every 2 weeks). This second one just stopped pumping when I was at work and when I came home it was making an awful screeching sound, then it just burnt out. I was looking for a different one, that's why I'm on the site. I'm just not too sure if I should make this purchase again. I paid about $60 for each of the other two and don't want to spend that much again, when it doesn't work that well. The tubes are too short, and they are not large enough to suction-up the debris, hence, algae build up!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Zoo Med Turtle Canister Filter
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 32 reviews

Bad design

January 10, 2008
by RobJ
fromLexington, KY
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
1 / 5
1 / 5 32 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
1 / 5
1 / 5 32 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 32 reviews
I thought this would be a good idea for my turtle. He liked the rain of the return water. Unfortunately we live in an area of hard water and I am still scrubbing the water spots off the side of the aquarium even though I changed to a solid flow two months ago. Every time I tear down the tank I need my husband to rescue me and get the filter to prime as it won't get the air back out of the system. I plan to buy extra tubing to make cleaning easier, that much seems simple. But the uptake tube has very small holes for the "output" that comes from turtles. This leads to tearing down of the tank much more often. If the endpiece were changeable also this would really help. If you do this, don't do the waterfall, do a solid flow return. Plan on buying extra tubing and just do the tank cleaning when your extra helper is going to be handy. I've had mine for 4 months + the motor is good, and it still is quiet. I eagerly await the radically updated model.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Zoo Med Turtle Canister Filter
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 32 reviews

Good idea, bad design

August 29, 2007
by Buslady6502
fromSoCal
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I tried this filter with a turtle tank as it's made for, bad mistake. It quits sucking water up often. I'd use it on a 5 gallon for fish, but not a turtle tank. It is a good idea though, there's alot of filtering media in the container..I just think they need to go back and redesign it or make it a little bigger.
The first one I bought the motor quit. I returned it TO ZooMed, they were great- they sent me a new one. But that one too, failed.
Look into Fluval's internals.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Zoo Med Turtle Canister Filter
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 32 reviews

July 21, 2007
by Laddie
fromllama,indiana
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5 32 reviews
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 32 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 32 reviews
It doesn't pump the water.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 next