PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Exo Terra Waterfall

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Exo Terra Waterfall

Natural waterfall effect -- integrates easily in any type of terrarium. Increases humidity level; ideal for chameleons, water agamas, anoles, frogs, etc.
Overall rating:
2.954 / 5
3
 / 
5
(22 reviews) 22
10 of 22(45%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Exo Terra Waterfall
Review 1 for Exo Terra Waterfall
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 22 reviews

convenient

March 13, 2014
by michellle
fromny
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
looks good perfect I love it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Exo Terra Waterfall
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 22 reviews

Maybe yes

March 12, 2012
by Sylvan827
fromColumbia County, NY
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
So I got this to increase the humidity in the cage for my water dragon. I got the med. It goes together easy enough, and it looks nice, and it seems to work well. He won't stop climbing on it, but it is no where near big enough for him to get in or really get wet, but it works.
+9points
10of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Exo Terra Waterfall
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 22 reviews

Perferct

February 20, 2012
by BoxTurtleGuy
fromKiel, WI
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
My desert box turtle, Gus, loves this! He likes to drink from it and crawl on it. It looks great in his terrarium. I have had it for many years, and it still is in great condition.I recommend this for any other turtle owner, the best you can get!
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Exo Terra Waterfall
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 22 reviews

Not for baby reptiles/amphibians

February 18, 2012
by SirMatticus
fromOgden, Ut
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I love my animals, #1. I bought this for humidity control and it did well, but also was a scare. I was looking for my baby salamander, couldn't find him. Searched the bedding as tiger salamanders love to burrow. As scared as I was, I decided to check the waterfall expecting to see a dead salamander. There he was, alive and well (thank god I don't use it that much.) How he got in there? I have no idea. The waterfall doesn't fit together that well, but fits together well enough to prevent that from happening. Alls I know is it scared me half to death and I'm removing it from my terrarium. If you want humidity control, get a repti-fogger. For smaller terrariums, it tends to fill them up with fog but it gets the job done.
+21points
21of 21voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Exo Terra Waterfall
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 22 reviews

Looks great/poor quality.

August 14, 2010
by peltingmot
fromBoston
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 22 reviews
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5 22 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I have a medium sized waterfall in an Exo Terra 18x18x24 tropical kit tank. It looks great, helps keep the humidity around 70%, and the pump is very quiet.
On the down side, the tube from the pump to the top of the waterfall is short so once the pump is stuck to the base piece, trying to connect the tube to the pump can be quite difficult. The waterfall also doesn't actually fit together very smoothly, the electricity cord coming out the back is too large for the gap it's supposed to fit through so you end up with small gaps in the back. This combined with its weight, it ends up being a chore to change the water even with the Exo Terra dual front opening doors.
The waterfall "pools" are very shallow, in the medium waterfall, not more than 1/4" deep. I would suggest the medium waterfall should be bought for you and not your pet tree frog.
Pros: add a great look to your tank, increases humidity, very quiet
Cons: doesn't fit together well, water pools are very shallow, difficult to change water
+12points
16of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Exo Terra Waterfall
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 22 reviews

Exo Terra Waterfall Small

May 2, 2010
by BOBBO
fromNew Jersey
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5 22 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 22 reviews
I had high hopes when I purchased this. Set up was fairly simple and straighforward. I added water, put the pump in, plugged it in and nothing. I read the instructions again to see what I missed. Ok, the flow is adjustable so I tried that. Then it worked for about 1 minute and stopped. As you can imagine this was getting me quite frustrated. Now I had to play Sherlock Holmes to try and figure out what was wrong. After careful examination I discovered that due to a defect water was leaking out through the back of the waterfall and into the terrarium. I am bringing this back to the store for a refund. I'll try another brand. Perhaps Zoo Med.
Cons: poor quality - leaks!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Exo Terra Waterfall
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 22 reviews

Wrong choice for me

March 21, 2010
by mandajay
fromLansing, IL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 22 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 22 reviews
I recently redesigned my terrarium and decided to buy the medium waterfall (the large would have been too big). It goes with the rest of the tank and my water dragon loves it, however the pieces do not fit right together. The tube for the pump is too short for the pump to fit in there properly. I ended up cracking the pump casing just trying to get it to stick to the bottom. After putting it into the tank the top part shifted and it took forever to try to get it back in position. The cord is a little big so it does not fit in the slot correctly.
Pros: quiet, looks great, dragon loves sitting on it
Cons: not enough water in the tank, dragon can not soak
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Exo Terra Waterfall
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 22 reviews

this stinks

March 26, 2009
by stinks
frommicklton N.J.
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 22 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 22 reviews
i got this i set it up the next day its all clogged and it makes a loud noise my frogs liked it but every single day i had to unclog it and put more water in it!!!idon't like it one little bit!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Exo Terra Waterfall
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 22 reviews

January 23, 2009
by Bookwyrm
fromPictou, Nova Scotia
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 22 reviews
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5 22 reviews
I've been running this waterfall for close to six months now, and while it's attractive, I can't say I'm entirely pleased with the product. The design does not allow for the pieces to fit together snugly, and as such I'm forever taking it apart to fish out drowned crickets before they clog up the pump.
It's difficult to clean, and I find the lower shelf really doesn't hold water; it would be nicer if it were deeper and actually held a pool.
My dragon won't drink still water, which is why I bought the product. He lovers it, but he won't drink from it and there's nowhere for him to soak so I still have to mist him twice daily and provide him with a pool to submerge in
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Exo Terra Waterfall
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 22 reviews

Leaks

January 3, 2009
by RussK
fromBrick, NJ
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 22 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 22 reviews
The shape of the output hole for the pumped water at the top is jagged. It allows the water to run up the waterfall and down the side. As it runs down the side, it leaves the waterfall completely. Now the bottom of my anole tank and most of the substrate is soaked.
I wound up drilling and cutting a lot to make new paths for water. And I had to use plumber's putty to close off unwanted paths.
Pros: quiet, looks nice
Cons: leaks, hard to fit pump, wire gets in the way of back piece
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Exo Terra Waterfall
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 22 reviews

Peace of junk. Don't waste your money

December 26, 2008
by Ragtatter
fromDayton, OH
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Appearance 
1 / 5
1 / 5 22 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 22 reviews
The pieces of the waterfall don't quite fit together properly, and it is incredibly difficult to get the pump lined up so that A) it's cord will go through the hole they provided AND B) It will pump water. They provide a slot for a fogger, but there's no way to have a fogger in it without the cord being painfully obvious.
I had this installed in my terrarium 15 days before the pump shut down and quit working. I contacted Exo-Terra to inquire about getting a replacement, and was told "tough luck".
When I spend over $60 on an item, I expect it to work for at LEAST a month before dying on me.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Exo Terra Waterfall
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 22 reviews

Not very Happy

June 17, 2008
by MtHornedDragonOwner
fromMyrtle Beach, SC
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 22 reviews
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5 22 reviews
I bought this in Medium Size for my Mt. Horned Dragon, He seems to like it. Also purchased the fogger that works very well. But what i don't like is the fact that it doesn't fit together very well. the pool at the bottom barley holds any water and the pump does not stay down. if you have any reptile that likes to get in the water then this is not for you. Huge bump in humidity with the fogger installed but i don't think its worth the money. Also it does leak quite easily.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Exo Terra Waterfall
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 22 reviews

Very nice unit

May 29, 2008
by reptilezoo7
fromLafayette, LA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 22 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 22 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
We just got this waterfall for our frog & lizard terrarium. We did not have too much trouble setting it up, although it was difficult to get the pump hooked up to the output tube in the back because they did not line up vey well, and the tube was too short to allow the suction cups on the pump to fasten securely to the base. We turned the pump around so it lined up better but then the cord was awkward. We did get it, though, and it is a nice unit.
I like how the pool part of it is removable for easy cleaning. Our frogs like to dig and kick up a lot of substrate, and they sit in the water also. The substrate ends up in the part of the waterfall that comes off, which makes it easy to clean every day, or more often if needed!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Exo Terra Waterfall
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 22 reviews

Good if you know your friend lmao (pet)

March 17, 2008
by SavannaMonitorsAreForPros
fromLos Angeles, California
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 22 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 22 reviews
Let me start this off by saying my savanna loves the moving water in the tank. I bought the biggest one they had because it's heavier and my guy Dino is 2ft long. He's lazy because my Humidity isn't have enough though this product helps. I feed him pinkies (baby rats) and boiled eggs so I don't have to worry about crickets hiding. I'm going to buy the fogger soon because there's a slot for it built in the waterfall. So I will write a review on that and let you know how it works out. Oh yeah I had this waterfall for three months you should change the water weekly and if you get lazy because we all do sometimes. Don't hook the waterfall up and you have a still bowl of water there for your lizard or frog.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Exo Terra Waterfall
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 22 reviews

Very nice

March 14, 2008
by like
fromN.J.
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 22 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 22 reviews
This is a nice waterfall and my frogs liked it to but the pump gets cloged alot although it is very nice!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Exo Terra Waterfall
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 22 reviews

Just bad

March 7, 2008
by tore676
fromjacksonville nc
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5 22 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 22 reviews
I opened this and after about 30 minuets of trying to set it up i finally got it, until my rep jumped on it and knocked it off. the design is just bad. It is impossible to set up.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Exo Terra Waterfall
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 22 reviews

Its a mess!

February 7, 2008
by misty185
fromNew Orleans, La
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 22 reviews
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5 22 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
I purchased a small waterfall for my cuban knight anole a few months ago. Its started off well and he drank from it freely and regularly. Unfortunately, all the crickets found out about it and started hiding in it. the back lid where the filter cord comes out of tends to fall off at will and if it is not pefectly level it WILL leak and overflow easily. Also it is very difficult to clean and promotes algae growth and annoying insects like fruit flies! I do not recommend it unless you have no live food, dirt, or uneven surfaces in your habitat!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Exo Terra Waterfall
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 22 reviews

It Works Well

August 19, 2007
by Slither
fromBerkshire County, Mass
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 22 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 22 reviews
I just recently baught this waterfall. It works Great. I purchased this product because i own a ball python who needs high humidity. This really helps with the humidity. The motor works good and runs quiet. Plus if you dont over fill it, it wont leak. So far this is a great product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Exo Terra Waterfall
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 22 reviews

it takes a few

August 5, 2007
by chameleonmomma
fromBurien, WA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 22 reviews
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5 22 reviews
I first bought the small fountain to see how my chameleon would like it; it lasted a few weeks then it leaked everywhere. luckely i bought it from a small town pet store and told the owner my concernes before i bought it, he said if it leakes bring it back! so i went through 2 of the small ones, then i decided to spend more money on the stupid things and buy a bigger one. i've had it for about 2.5- 3 months now and i haven't had any problems... yet. but like tHEy say, don't count your chickens before they hatch. we'll have to wait a bit longer to see if it was worth all the trouble and money. *****IF YOU BUY ONE MAKE SURE THERE IS A GOOD RETURN POLICY*****
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Exo Terra Waterfall
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 22 reviews

Tree frogs like it

January 15, 2007
by StephanieW
fromRound Rock, TX
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 22 reviews
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5 22 reviews
My tree frogs seem to like it well.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 next