PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for T-Rex Calci-Sand for Hermit Crabs

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

T-Rex Calci-Sand for Hermit Crabs

A fine, granular calciferous sand specially prepared to be the safest hermit crab beach substrate.
Overall rating:
2.727 / 5
2.7
 / 
5
(11 reviews) 11
5 of 11(45%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for T-Rex Calci-Sand for Hermit Crabs
Review 1 for T-Rex Calci-Sand for Hermit Crabs
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 11 reviews

Not good

March 14, 2013
by micronat
fromMonterey bay
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5 11 reviews
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 11 reviews
It's not worth it because it stains every thing! Even the crabs. Take it from me because I spend most of my time studying animals and hope to become a marine biologist some day. Just get normal sand color and you should have no problem. The price is to high for something your not gonna use.
Pros: looks great
Cons: price, messy
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for T-Rex Calci-Sand for Hermit Crabs
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 11 reviews

pink hands!

December 15, 2012
by Obsessed06
fromToronto, Ontario
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 11 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 11 reviews
My hands are pink. all thanks to the sand. i havent even gotten a hermit crab yet, and when i set up the tank (10 gallons) my hands got stained bright pink. and with my tank with the whole bag of sand, its about 4 millimetres when i measure it. i suggest play sand, for which you can get for about the same price for 10x's as much, and give your crab (or future crab!) the proper width/height/thickness of the bedding to take care of your crab and have a long living hermie!
Pros: looks great
Cons: messy
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for T-Rex Calci-Sand for Hermit Crabs
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 11 reviews

good quality

March 28, 2009
by Minnieluver14
fromWI
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 11 reviews
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 11 reviews
I bought this sand for my 3 crabs. The color looks great in the cage. The only thing I don't like about it is that it "stains" your crabs the color of the sand. Overall, this is good sand and I would recommend it, though it is not the best sand I have used.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for T-Rex Calci-Sand for Hermit Crabs
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 11 reviews

Not very good for hermit crabs

March 25, 2009
by Crabber
fromGA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Calci-sand stick to hermit crab's legs, and can smell after a while. It is pretty expensive for as much as you need for a tank, and you can't really reuse it. Eco Earth, (or Fiber Bedding or Forest Bedding, basically the same things) is a much better bet, and so is regular sand.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for T-Rex Calci-Sand for Hermit Crabs
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 11 reviews

Stains Crab

March 4, 2009
by GeckoGirl
fromAZ
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5 11 reviews
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5 11 reviews
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5 11 reviews
This sand is terrible. It sticks to my hermit crab Daisey's legs and stains them.
Pros: the color is nice
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for T-Rex Calci-Sand for Hermit Crabs
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 11 reviews

you should have it

July 2, 2008
by nygirl
fromny
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 11 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 11 reviews
t - rex is a great brand. i can use the brand t - rex, knowing that its a safe product that will help my hermit crabs not hurt them. i love how it comes in variest differnet colors and even GLOW - IN - THE - DARK. its just the right texture, for the hermit to move as much as them want. i love this product because it works great.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for T-Rex Calci-Sand for Hermit Crabs
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 11 reviews

calci-sand

May 22, 2007
by Gramarcia
fromGainesville, Florida
Started using this when a web site recommended it. I use play sand, but put on a layer of calci-sand every now and then. I like the way the various colors look like since sand is a boring color. It's got ingredients that are good for crabs, but to me it also seems to retain the 'sandcastle' texture better than just sand.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for T-Rex Calci-Sand for Hermit Crabs
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 11 reviews

Terrible

January 18, 2007
by itsme
fromToronto
It clumps, It doesnt keep in humidity, its better to buy regular sand and get something else for calcium.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for T-Rex Calci-Sand for Hermit Crabs
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 11 reviews

It's ok

December 17, 2006
by Bobbyscool
fromMilwaukee,wi
It's ok but my daughter got it and she said that the hermit crab sank into it. i mean what's the deal with that?
-3points
1of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for T-Rex Calci-Sand for Hermit Crabs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews

calci sand

November 7, 2006
by marty
fromminnesota
this is good sand. it has calcium in it so if he eats it it's good for him and it's not rough like gravel so if it gets inside hermit crab's shell, it wont scratch him and hurt him. it comes in bright colors to go with his tank.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for T-Rex Calci-Sand for Hermit Crabs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews

Great

August 21, 2006
by Maleigh
  • Expert
fromBarnegat, NJ
You can give this to crabs after they molt so they get more calcium. You can also sprinkle some Calsi-Sand over your crab's food to make it be even more tasty for them.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.