PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for T-Rex Calci-Sand for Hermit Crabs

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

T-Rex Calci-Sand for Hermit Crabs

Pure, natural calcium carbonate substrate in an array of colors with FDA-approved colorants.
Overall rating:
3.125 / 5
3.1
 / 
5
(8 reviews) 8
5 of 8(62%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for T-Rex Calci-Sand for Hermit Crabs
Review 1 for T-Rex Calci-Sand for Hermit Crabs
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 8 reviews

Do not buy product!

June 14, 2012
by sammers272
fromNY
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5 8 reviews
Appearance 
1 / 5
1 / 5 8 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 8 reviews
I ordered a nice beach theme for my hermit crabs so I included sand when I get it, it is black and looks like dirt. When I touch it my hands get all dirty. Complete waste of my money!!!
Cons: messy
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for T-Rex Calci-Sand for Hermit Crabs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 8 reviews

good product

August 22, 2009
by hamsterlover22
fromNew Jersey
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 8 reviews
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 8 reviews
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5 8 reviews
I think it's cool since it glows in the dark, but it's a really small bag! I used one whole bag the first time I got it! They should make bigger bags or make these a little cheaper. Yes, it does stick to their feet but luckily I don't really take him out so much and plus, I have a hamster right next to him so I vacuum a lot. Overall, I love the product and so does hermie!
Pros: glows in the dark
Cons: small bag of substrate
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for T-Rex Calci-Sand for Hermit Crabs
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 8 reviews

It sticks to their feet and can be a mess...

May 3, 2009
by Animallover81
fromKnoxville,TN
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5 8 reviews
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 8 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 8 reviews
This sand is wonderful,but it will stick to their feet!!! It can be a mess so before I let my hermie out to run around my room I have to give her a bath.... Overall though it is really cool and the white kind glows in the dark plus they can eat it as a source of calcium.
Hope I helped,
Animallover81
R.I.P: Ethel
Pros: cool colors
Cons: sticks to pet's feet
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for T-Rex Calci-Sand for Hermit Crabs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 8 reviews

It's Perfect

February 10, 2008
by Bookwyrm
fromThorold, ON
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 8 reviews
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 8 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 8 reviews
I picked up a bag of this sand and a few bags of the Jungle Bedding my crabs had been living in in the store. Three weeks later, the crabs have spoken and absolutely love it! It's easier for them to dig in and hasn't begun to mold (and I mist daily, and keep it very humid in my tank!).
I'll be picking up more of this and throwing out the other; the crabs won't dig in it, and the calcium in it makes it a real bonus for molting crabs as they can burry themselves in it and get the calcium they need by eating the sand.
Very easy to spot clean.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for T-Rex Calci-Sand for Hermit Crabs
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 8 reviews

Moldy

January 25, 2008
by jillianjakes
fromBuffalo, NY
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5 8 reviews
Appearance 
2 / 5
2 / 5 8 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 8 reviews
I purchased this sand for my hermit crabs. After a few I noticed that mold was growing around the water dish. I scooped it out but a few days later there was even more all over. Had to throw everything out. Definetly would not recommend this product.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for T-Rex Calci-Sand for Hermit Crabs
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 8 reviews

:D

October 24, 2007
by eemmiillyy
fromVirginia Beach, VA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 8 reviews
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 8 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 8 reviews
I really like this sand,it's awsome how it glows in the dark and my hermit crab loves walking around her cage now. I may have to get another bag though,because one bag isn't a lot, but it's enough. One bag has enough to completely cover a 14 1/2 x 8 3/4 cage with a thin layer. Since hermit crabs like to dig,I'm probably getting another bag or two. But if you buy a few bags,this sand is perfect!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for T-Rex Calci-Sand for Hermit Crabs
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 8 reviews

Not too bad-I think they like it!!

April 11, 2007
by mycrabsrcool
fromBay City, MI
Other reviews say this sand molds when it gets wet. I accidently poured water on one of my hermit crabs and it did NOT mold. It was a fair amount of water. I also enjoy that it glows in the dark. It does clump into small balls of sand, but nothing bad.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for T-Rex Calci-Sand for Hermit Crabs
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 8 reviews

No no with water

December 15, 2006
by ratlover
fromlivingston, MT
This product is horrible if gotten wet. i got some for my fiddler crabs and was told it would be just fine after it got wet i had it in the tank for 3 days and than stated to notices it was really dark in some places so i pulled apart the tank and the sand that was damp was green and coverd in mold.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.