PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Rena Smart Filter & Filter Cartridge

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Rena Smart Filter & Filter Cartridge

Effective triple filtration for a balanced aquarium.
Overall rating:
3.423 / 5
3.4
 / 
5
(26 reviews) 25
15 of 26(58%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Rena Smart Filter & Filter Cartridge
Review 1 for Rena Smart Filter & Filter Cartridge
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 26 reviews

Overall great Filter!

March 1, 2010
by FoodResearch
fromLexington, Kentucky
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 26 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 26 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 26 reviews
I finally bought the Rena filter system for my 20 gallon tank because all the other brands were noisy and breaking down because I have sand in my tank.
I find it very easy to use and clean and changin the filters are no problem and they last longer by a few weeks.
It is quiet yet cleans very well.
I have had no problem with the sand jamming the motor.
I agree with one thing - The foot or leveler that keeps the filter in the right position did slip out of it's position once and I had water leaking down the back of my tank.
It has not happened again so I am fine.
No complaints here I think it's great overall.
Pros: easy and quiet, perfect for tankswith sand
Cons: foot or levelr does need re design
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Rena Smart Filter & Filter Cartridge
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 26 reviews

Wasted Money!!!

January 28, 2010
by dadowd
fromIndianapolis, IN
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5 26 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 26 reviews
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5 26 reviews
I bought this last night for a 29 gallon cichlid tank I am setting up. It looked nice and easy to maintain, so I took it home for 40 bucks. got it home and set up, did not flow. Found the mount that the motor sat on was broke. Got it running (figured API would send me a new one), and had it on less than 12 hours and the legs gave out and put 3/4 of my tank into my carpet. This filter system is a total waste of money and I will be returning it today as soon as the store opens.
Cons: spill hazard, poor quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Rena Smart Filter & Filter Cartridge
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 26 reviews

Poor design

November 4, 2009
by Leee
fromCharleston, SC
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5 26 reviews
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5 26 reviews
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5 26 reviews
I was looking for a new filter for my 60 gallon aquarium and saw this one on the shelf at Pet Smart. It looked and sounded like a neat filter. As far as filtering the water it does a great job, however, the adjustable feet on the bottom of the filter do not hold up well once your filter gets dirty. I came home one day to find the feet had shifted and the water in the tank was draining out the back of the filter and flooding my floor. This happened to me twice in the last month. I ended up super gluing the feet into position to buy me some time until I can get to the store and buy me a better filter that I dont have to worry about flooding my apt. I would not reccomend this filter to anyone until the company redesign the feet.
Pros: filters well
Cons: feet give out too easily
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Rena Smart Filter & Filter Cartridge
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 26 reviews

Avoid at all cost

October 17, 2009
by NeverAgain
fromMadison, WI
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5 26 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 26 reviews
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5 26 reviews
Had this product for about 7 months now and the pump started sounding and performing horribly. Emailed customer service and the response was mail the pump in and we'll 'fix' it. When I asked for a replacement to be mailed even at my cost up front since this was in a working aquarium, I got the runaround. I called and got the same answer, 'you always need to have a spare pump to handle this'.... no I need a product that doesn't fail. Will never buy another RENA product again. Poor product and worse customer service... AVOID
Cons: noisey, failed, poor customer service
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Rena Smart Filter & Filter Cartridge
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 26 reviews

Beware

August 20, 2009
by mrk35803
fromHuntsville, AL
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5 26 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 26 reviews
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5 26 reviews
I bought this on sale and now I know why it was reduced in price. I bought the 55 sized unit for my 20 gallon tank. At first i was really pleased with how much gunk it got out of the tank but i didn't like how noisy it was; even with cleaning the media regularly the flow starting reducing notably. It also has two very bad design flaws. One is that if the power is shut off it won't auto prime which is not too big of a deal as many HOTB filters are like this, you simply add enough water to the filter and it starts again. Not with this one... I learned I had to remove the pump unit and place under running tap to get it to prime. Worse flaw is that when the filter flow starts reducing (and not even totally blocked) the filter overflows into the floor. The first time this happened i thought it was a fluke; the second i tore everything down and super cleaned it, the third i trashed the filter. The last thing you want in a filter is something that dumps water in your floor, endangering not only your floor but your livestock and something that won't start itself after a power outage (and again endangering your livestock). NOt a bargain at any cost.
Pros: easy to initially set up, works well with the rena heater
Cons: flow not as advertised, won't self prime, high danger of dumping water, noisy
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Rena Smart Filter & Filter Cartridge
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 26 reviews

OMG

July 5, 2009
by shabie
fromLouisville,ky
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 26 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 26 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 26 reviews
you have to try this i don't really have to clean my tank as much as i use to and water stay so clear....... :-)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Rena Smart Filter & Filter Cartridge
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 26 reviews

Not worth the money

January 26, 2009
by vegasmegan
  • Expert
fromLas Vegas
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5 26 reviews
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5 26 reviews
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5 26 reviews
This filter is FAR too expensive for what it is. It doesn't function any better than a Marineland or an AquaClear and you're paying way more. Not to mention the filter media is ridiculously expensive. It doesn't self prime and even when you do help it along it takes forever. For what it is...the value just isn't there....this is a case where more money doesn't mean it's better quality.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Rena Smart Filter & Filter Cartridge
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 26 reviews

filter

January 20, 2009
by CDNO32
frompennsylvania
What is your gender?F
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 26 reviews
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5 26 reviews
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5 26 reviews
I had this filter for about a year with weekly cleanings it still eventually started to leak in the back alot. overall its a good filter it lasted awhile but it did leak so thats the only problem i had with it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Rena Smart Filter & Filter Cartridge
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 26 reviews

Rena Is good, but...

September 5, 2008
by PhishGuy
fromCt
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 26 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 26 reviews
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5 26 reviews
It's a good filter. Only thing that bugs me is that it takes a long time to prime and get water flowing when the filter is turn off, like during a tank cleaning. I have to keep pulling the head out to get the filter to prime. Other than that, the filter is good.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Rena Smart Filter & Filter Cartridge
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 26 reviews

Rena Smart Filters

June 13, 2008
by jereg
fromSilver Spring, MD
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5 26 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 26 reviews
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5 26 reviews
Nice filter if you want to empty your tank. I purchased this as a second filter for my 60 gal tank, and it worked very well for the first few weeks. I also purchased additional filter packs, and change them regularly, but if they clog before you attend to them, the filter starts to leak between the lid and base effectively draining the water from your tank.
Thankfully, it only managed to drain about 5 gallons. This has happened twice, and I have now tossed the system.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Rena Smart Filter & Filter Cartridge
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 26 reviews

Rena 55

May 11, 2008
by Ryan23
fromHazlet, nj
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 26 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 26 reviews
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5 26 reviews
Nice filter, I didnt like how it hooks on to the tank however with the two hinges and its tough to adjust them with the filter getting out of the right position. It still does make a humming noise but its calming down a little bit, It clears the water very well and i like the new style of filter pads, overall i think its worth the money
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Rena Smart Filter & Filter Cartridge
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 26 reviews

Not that great...

April 24, 2008
by ChrisInGeorgia
fromGainesville, GA
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5 26 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 26 reviews
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5 26 reviews
Nice reviews here on this site from other users but my results after purchase and use are bad. Water is not clear. Better results from a cheap TopFin 30 on my 30 size tank. The GPH is incorect. Filters get dirty fast and are costly. Do not buy. And if you are wondering I have 4 Zebra Danios and 5 Ghost Cats.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Rena Smart Filter & Filter Cartridge
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 26 reviews

Good Filter

January 15, 2008
by tiger3383
fromLafayette NY
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 26 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 26 reviews
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5 26 reviews
I recently purchesd the rena smart filter for my 46 gallon fish tank i had an older filter that i had alot of trouble with it finally died and i decided to buy better!!! This filter is awsome just in 2 days my tank is cleaner and the water so much clearer the only problem i had with the filter is it is larger than the older filters and my tank is not brand new so there was some modifications that i had to perform to my lid but other than that it was a great investment and i would recomend it to anyone
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Rena Smart Filter & Filter Cartridge
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 26 reviews

rena smart filter55

January 13, 2008
by bobmsr
fromwilkes-barre,pa
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 26 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 26 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 26 reviews
i installed it on my 30 gallon community tank, i have never seen a filter so easy to install and maintain my 5 yearold granddaughter helped set it up, for who those said they have noisemake sure the dial for the flow is wide open otherwise it does gurgle a bit, other than that no problemo, also make sure it is level front to back side to side, that should help but then again some people have trouble with a Mercedes too, meaning lemons come in all things
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Rena Smart Filter & Filter Cartridge
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 26 reviews

Awesome Filter

January 9, 2008
by wafubu
fromDallas, TX
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 26 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 26 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 26 reviews
I really like the way this filter is designed, changing media is very simple, it's also extremely Quiet! Seems that it is built out of a little bit better plastic material than most of the other filters I've used. Love the motor location makes it easier to clean the motor without having to dissasemble the entire filter, it also makes the motor very quiet as it is completely submerged. I also love the way the rena Heaters connect to this filter as if it's one unit, and it truly does heat the water more thouroughly , The only drawback is that the filter media is very expensive compared to other filters, but you do have to weigh in the fact that the filter is supposed to filter 4x better than any other type of PF in it's class because the water actually flows THROUGH the media instead of over the top of it like most filters. I do believe this because my tank was very cloudy for 2 days with another filter, I exchanged it for this one and this morning the water was much, much clearer I'm sure by this afternoon it will be crystal clear!! It is definately working better than the more expensive alternative brand that had integrated heating.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Rena Smart Filter & Filter Cartridge
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 26 reviews

Quiet and effective

September 11, 2007
by LotsaTanks
fromFlorida
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 26 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 26 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 26 reviews
I have six of these filters in my fish room. They run flawlessly. I also have Whisper filters which are much cheaper but stop running after a while. I wanted reliability so I spent more on this filter. I bought one to see how it worked. Then I got another. Now six. When you first start it up there is some noise as the air gets flushed out of the system. Sometimes I have to unplug it and start the motor again when a new filter is first set up. I think it may help with the initial noise of air in the motor. After that the thing is is quiet. They have not quit running or jammed up like my Whispers do. I am happy. The filter cartridge is really different and my water stays clearer-even with messy oscars. I would recommend this filter if you want a better than average filter.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Rena Smart Filter & Filter Cartridge
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 26 reviews

Hard facts

August 23, 2007
by mukund
fromOrlando, FL
What is your gender?M
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5 26 reviews
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5 26 reviews
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5 26 reviews
I have been using this filter for over a month, and its hard to find one great thing to write about it.
Heres the deal:
1. The filter makes incessant noise of water suction, air suction and everything else. And i made sure I followed all installation steps to perfection, not once, but seven times. My water levels were perfect (i even tried various possible water levels).
2. The worst part: the filter, after 5 hours of operation, starts to whistle and hum real LOUD. I have not had a good nights sleep ever since i got it, and I don't have the heart to stress my fish by turning it off for the night.
3. Check to see if it fits your aquarium, since the clamp area is rather long. Also, be prepared for a looong suction nozzle that stands out in the water.
Gentle advise: beware of this product. There are lots of better ones out there, so invest wisely. I hardly write reviews, but this time I was urged to put this notice up!
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Rena Smart Filter & Filter Cartridge
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 26 reviews

Simply the BEST

July 24, 2007
by M4RT3LL
fromShrewsbury, MA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 26 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 26 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 26 reviews
I will never buy another brand after buying this filter. I already own a Rena XP4, and have been supremely happy with it, so you would think I would just go and get their HOB. But, I read the reviews of the Marineland Emperor (supposed to be the best) which turned into a nightmare. The first Emperor was dead the morning after plugging it in. So I returned it to PETSMART and got another one. BIG MISTAKE! Got this one home to find the motor, housing, and spray bars were MISSING!!! I went for a 3rd try and luckily PETSMART was ALL OUT OF THEM. I found a Rena SmartFilter 55 for the same price and tried it out.
WHAT A GREAT FILTER. Quieter than any other HOB and I have used them ALL!!!! I have it set on my 60 gallon Saltwater along with a TopFin 60 (Also good, but not as effective). I am going to buy another SmartFilter 55 for this tank and move the top fin 60 to another tank. This filter is so quiet after running for a full day and since this tank is in my bedroom I am replacing the TopFin with a 2nd Rena.
BEWARE: I have noticed with all of my rena Filters that when setting up for the first time they can be quite noisy for the first few hours even as long as a day. I believe that because the system is pressurized it takes some time to work the air bubbles out and this can be noisy.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Rena Smart Filter & Filter Cartridge
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 26 reviews

Noise

July 2, 2007
by JuliaP
fromNY
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5 26 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 26 reviews
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5 26 reviews
I'm sure that this filter works really well, so it's a shame that it makes more noise than a lawnmower. I returned mine because I couldn't stand the noise. I bought a Whisper filter instead. It may not be the best filter, but at least it's quiet.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Rena Smart Filter & Filter Cartridge
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 26 reviews

Good System

June 4, 2007
by VTGuy
fromBarre, Vermont
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 26 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 26 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 26 reviews
Rena Smart Filter 55
Very easy to set up. Keeps up with the tank without a problem. Happy Fish!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 next