PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Marineland(r) Penguin(r) Bio-Wheel Aquarium Power Filters

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Marineland(r) Penguin(r) Bio-Wheel Aquarium Power Filters

For a crystal clear, healthy aquarium. For freshwater and marine. Offers superior biological filtration.
Overall rating:
3.819 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(227 reviews) 225
158 of 226(70%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Marineland(r) Penguin(r) Bio-Wheel Aquarium Power Filters
Review 1 for Marineland(r) Penguin(r) Bio-Wheel Aquarium Power Filters
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 227 reviews

Great deal!

March 16, 2014
by Aquatic5guy
fromLexington KY
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
The 350 C version is absolutley Great! Works quietly and effective!
My 50/75 filter was horrible.. This filter cleaned up my foggy 60 gal tank over night, I recommend this to anyone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Marineland(r) Penguin(r) Bio-Wheel Aquarium Power Filters
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 227 reviews

1st one - no power, 2nd one loud, 3rd one loud

March 1, 2014
by BryanMidwest
fromDes Moines, Ia
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Where is quality control?
I purchased the Marineland 200 for my son. The first one the motor was dead, second attempt the fan blades could be heard 2 stories away, and 3rd attempt is just as loud as 2nd. My daughter has Marineland 150 and it has been quiet & has worked flawless for 2 years. Either the Marineland 200 is terrible or Marineland products have gone downhill in the past 2 years.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Marineland(r) Penguin(r) Bio-Wheel Aquarium Power Filters
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 227 reviews

Marineland penguin 350

February 9, 2014
by Cichlidsoutherner
fromCommerce,GA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I'll start off with the things i like about this...
1) It moves a lot of water, and it done a decent job as a back up to my canister filter. I even have sand substrate.
2) It is pretty easy to maintain. Buy the correct filter insert and you're ready to go.
3) Putting it together was easy as well.
Things I did not like.
1) The water noise was horrible. I keep my tank in the bedroom and I didn't know whether to built an ark to prepare for a deluge of water incoming. Or, to keep a bed pan beside the bed in-case the urge to use the bathroom became to strong to resist. I have a Penguin 150 that is no where near as noisy as this beast.
2) The intake is huge...I guess one would need a intake that large when producing a torrential downpour. This filter could be used as a pool filter.
So....I took this back and backed up my canister filter with...another canister filter. Now all I can hear is the air pump.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Marineland(r) Penguin(r) Bio-Wheel Aquarium Power Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 227 reviews

great

February 2, 2014
by glubglubimafish
fromsyracuse newyork
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
i bought one of these about a year ago and it works perfectly as long as you take care of it by cleang and/or changeing cartiges.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Marineland(r) Penguin(r) Bio-Wheel Aquarium Power Filters
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 227 reviews

Great filter!

January 5, 2014
by OCDaboutFISH
fromLothian,Md
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
This filter works like a charm.Not super quiet, but not bad enough that you focus on such.The only thing i notice, sand and loose dirt cause major wear in short time to prop shaft. Found this to be the case with most hang on back (HOB)filters this will lead to failure.So use gravel on turn it off when mess with tank and give plenty time to settle. Once cycled the bio wheel does a great job with nitrites.i also feel you should go one size bigger than the tank rating main because most over feed and the solids filter clogs fast other wise.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Marineland(r) Penguin(r) Bio-Wheel Aquarium Power Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 227 reviews

December 26, 2013
by Anonymous
fromilllinois
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 227 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 227 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 227 reviews
filter works great ,it was cheaper to buy complete filter than to buy two replacement bio wheels for same unit.thanks
Pros: easy to clean, works great, easy to install
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Marineland(r) Penguin(r) Bio-Wheel Aquarium Power Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 227 reviews

Great

December 25, 2013
by Graziza
fromAntioch ca
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Love this product , my aquarium water is so clear now
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Marineland(r) Penguin(r) Bio-Wheel Aquarium Power Filters
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 227 reviews

penquin 100

December 20, 2013
by diannes
fromsouth side chicago
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
works great, pretty quiet except need more water due to splashing, otherwise great
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Marineland(r) Penguin(r) Bio-Wheel Aquarium Power Filters
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 227 reviews

Does"nt live up to its reputation

December 19, 2013
by Packard0723
fromDesMoines Ia
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I have had 2 of these filters, Trust me they are one of the most over rated products on the market. Both the penguin and the emperor bit the dust after approximately 1 year. They also require a great deal of maintenance I was always having problems with the bio wheels in both models. Also their claim to fame is nitrites being killed as soon as they pass through the wheel, not in my case it did"nt phase them at all. I know some people swear by these but the only swearing I did was at the filters.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Marineland(r) Penguin(r) Bio-Wheel Aquarium Power Filters
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 227 reviews

Good product

December 12, 2013
by ozzymaniac64
fromPort Vue Pa
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I have 2 of these running in my 46 gallon bow front. The first one came with it as part of a kit. The second one I bought on sale for 17 dollars. The reason for the 4 stars and not 5 was because the bio wheel at first spins very rapidly and also after I cleaned the wheel one time some of the fibers came loose and at times now stop the wheel from spinning. I have other bio wheel filters for larger aquariums that i have never had problems with at all and they are 8 years old or more. over all a good product it just seem they are making them cheaper these days. After the wheel gets the build up of bacteria needed to clean water they do slow down. You realy should never have to clean them but if you do use aquarium water not water from faucet. I found also that I can get better and cheaper cartriges for these filters instead of marineland brand. I do not use the marineland cartriges at all anymore. I suggest you search for cartriges that fit it from other manufacture I did and am very satisfied.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Marineland(r) Penguin(r) Bio-Wheel Aquarium Power Filters
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 227 reviews

Great aquarium filter

December 9, 2013
by cd33
fromHarvest, al
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
A great HOB aquarium filter. I purchased this for a recently acquired 29 gal tank which this seems perfect for. I like the extra filter cartridge space where I could place some extra biomedia if I wanted to.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Marineland(r) Penguin(r) Bio-Wheel Aquarium Power Filters
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 227 reviews

Jammed Impeller on arrival

December 8, 2013
by mrbhhs
fromFlorida
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I have been a big fan of marineland filters...BUT I will never buy another one again...I have had 4 marineland filters go bad on me in the last 6 months...three emporor 400's and when I ordered two 350's from Petsmart, the first one I opened had a bad impeller in it!!! Really disappointed in Marineland...never again....I'll spend less money on Whisper's use them till they die, then buy more...and save some money while I am at it.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Marineland(r) Penguin(r) Bio-Wheel Aquarium Power Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 227 reviews

Marineland Bio-wheel

December 8, 2013
by Boomer0113
fromGeorgia
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Got this filter for just $25.00. A great filter for a great price. My local pet store wanted $53.00. I will be back for all my aquarium needs.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Marineland(r) Penguin(r) Bio-Wheel Aquarium Power Filters
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 227 reviews

Noise ?

November 17, 2013
by fiterking
fromIllinois
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 227 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 227 reviews
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5 227 reviews
every one complains about the noise in these filter , Here is a hint folks....Use a little GREASE on the impeller and bio wheel cradles... I have and have not heard a sound out of this filter , except the trickling of the water back into the tank , and that is OK ... The only thing I don't like about this filter is , you cannot use the intake with out the extra screen at the top . even when closed it still takes in water . Would have liked to option to not use it at all and just have the bottom screen.
Pros: easy to clean, works great, easy to install
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Marineland(r) Penguin(r) Bio-Wheel Aquarium Power Filters
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 227 reviews

Worse ever

November 17, 2013
by Ivanlol
fromVancouver, BC
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5 227 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 227 reviews
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5 227 reviews
I got this and it was not working. It was not power enough
Cons: hard to clean, didn't work, Hard to Install
-6points
0of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Marineland(r) Penguin(r) Bio-Wheel Aquarium Power Filters
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 227 reviews

Poor Performer

November 12, 2013
by DogsFishBirds
fromNorth Carolina
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5 227 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 227 reviews
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5 227 reviews
Wouldn't recommend this filter unit to anyone. Save your money and get a Fluval or an AquaClear. Marineland filters are plagued by manufacturer problems with the impeller. The noise and vibrations are AWFUL, I can only imagine how stressed the fish get. The biowheel is kind of a joke as well. Due to the wacky impeller issues, the water may or may not create a strong enough flow to even come into contact with the wheel, which should be imperative for the filtration to be complete. The filter cartridges are atrocious as well. Not impressed in the least. Switched over to a Fluval.
Cons: didn't work
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Marineland(r) Penguin(r) Bio-Wheel Aquarium Power Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 227 reviews

Fish Filter

October 25, 2013
by lusissy
fromHouston, TX
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 227 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 227 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 227 reviews
This is a great filter for fish tanks. It is easy to clean, easy to install and does a great job keeping the water chemically balanced.
Pros: easy to clean, works great, easy to install
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Marineland(r) Penguin(r) Bio-Wheel Aquarium Power Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 227 reviews

Crystal clear water!

October 14, 2013
by DonnaSue
fromMontana
What is your gender?F
Does everything it is advertised to do! Water is clear, fish are happy, great biological filtration. Filters are easy to change - quiet except for the sound of tricking water (nice "white noise" actually).
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Marineland(r) Penguin(r) Bio-Wheel Aquarium Power Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 227 reviews

Great Workhorse Filter! 200 & 350 models

September 17, 2013
by SirGrizzy
fromAtlanta, GA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I have used several different HOB filters over the years and I love the Marineland Penguin bio wheel power filters. I picked up the larger 350 model and it works great. It has two carbon filters to remove ammonia and the bio wheels collect beneficial bacteria to help maintain healthy levels. If you have a larger tank and don't have the money to purchase a canister filter, I would go with 1-2 of these. This filter also works great alongside the AquaClear HOB filters. The marineland penguin is a great workhorse for solid wastes while the AquaClear provides great amounts of beneficial bacteria! Perfect combo.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Marineland(r) Penguin(r) Bio-Wheel Aquarium Power Filters
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 227 reviews

Just OK

September 6, 2013
by AquaMan1966
fromBX, NY
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I bought the first Penbguin 200 and it did not work right out the box. The second one is working but no better than the Aqueon i also have in the tank. Hoenestly both make noise once the water level drops. The bio-wheel stops spinning frequently. and the filter cartridge clogs up quickly.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 9 next