PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for H.O.T. Magnum Compact Hang-On Tank Filter by Marineland

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

H.O.T. Magnum Compact Hang-On Tank Filter by Marineland

Hangs directly on the back of the aquarium. Combines the power, quiet performance and versatility of MAGNUM canister filtration with the convenience and simplicity of a power filter.
Overall rating:
3.546 / 5
3.5
 / 
5
(22 reviews) 21
15 of 22(68%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for H.O.T. Magnum Compact Hang-On Tank Filter by Marineland
Review 1 for H.O.T. Magnum Compact Hang-On Tank Filter by Marineland
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 22 reviews

BAD PRODUCT! Creates bubble storm in tank!

January 27, 2013
by Averageguy
fromUSA
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5 22 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 22 reviews
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5 22 reviews
This filter sucks in air through one of the many loose joints either at the intake/exhaust connection, or internally. This filter worked well for me in the beginning, but, has now let me down. The very thick grease they provide does solve the problem temporarily though. In my opinion if your product depends on something like this, it is garbage. I've resorted to rtv and am hoping it will seal everything up so I have no more bubbles. I wish I would have bought something else to begin with. This product is worth $30 at most not $104. I am going to be complaining to marineland for sure! The poor fish must feel like they are in a bubble storm. BAD PRODUCT!
Cons: didn't work
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for H.O.T. Magnum Compact Hang-On Tank Filter by Marineland
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 22 reviews

Not worth it

January 20, 2013
by PlanoTX
fromPlano, TX
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5 22 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 22 reviews
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5 22 reviews
Bought this to polish a 30 gallon cichlid tank with uses very fine sand. Hoped to eventually to craft a power vacuum with it, to polish the water and clean sand.
Pros
1. Goes together easily, appears to be a straight forward design.
Cons
1. Doesn't self prime as indicated, thus making it a messy fill to get it started.
2. Intake tube is too restrictive and the motor outpaces the flow leaving air in the canister at all times. This air only allows the only the bottom 1/3 full of water and the filtration media is only partially effective.
3. Air in canister causes it to shoot out bubbles and water is sloshing in making lots of noise.
End result: After 24 hours of filtration it did nothing but make noise.
NOISEY, ineffective in normal use and not worth it at 1/4 of the price.
Cons: didn't work
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for H.O.T. Magnum Compact Hang-On Tank Filter by Marineland
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 22 reviews

Easy to setup. Easy to use. Great first canister.

September 26, 2012
by CichlidEnthusiast
fromChicago, IL
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 22 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 22 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 22 reviews
I've had this filter for at least 2 years now. I ran it on a 30 gallon south american cichlid tank for quite some time, and then move it over to my girlfriend's tetra community tank. For such a compact sized unit, it sure outcompeted every "waterfall filter" that I ran before. This was my first canister filter, and I'm hooked. There are a few minor downsides to this unit of course though. The water outlet is rather high and the water level needs to be kept close to the top of the tank. Also, you don't get a lot of options with filter media. You can run the filter cylinder or the D-shaped media filter unit. It's recommedned that you use carbon chips or sticks in the D-shaped media filter. I wish they would make a series of trays that you could set into this filter though to allow for a more customizable filtration system.
Pros: works great, easy to install, easy to clean
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for H.O.T. Magnum Compact Hang-On Tank Filter by Marineland
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 22 reviews

works great, very quiet

November 23, 2011
by tigerbarbs
fromlindon, ut
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 22 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 22 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 22 reviews
i got this filter about a week ago to replace to aqua clear power filters i had that worked really well but just couldn't keep up. it was very easy to setup and get primed. as soon as it was running i noticed the difference with in a couple hours. i have a 36 gallon tank with 11 fish in it. its been running for a week now and the water is crystal clear. the micron filter is a definate plus i've never had the option to polish the water before and now i don't no what i would do with out it. on the down side i did notice it was leaking a very small amout out of the outlet connection, instead of returning it i just applied some of the silicone that was provided and that took care of that. it is so quiet that if it wasn't for the awesome power flow of the water i wouldn't even know it was running. i am going to make sure i lube the orings and seals when i clean it and i hope it continues to impress me.
Pros: easy to clean, easy to install, works great
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for H.O.T. Magnum Compact Hang-On Tank Filter by Marineland
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 22 reviews

Great filter overall

August 31, 2011
by Anonymous
fromHamilton, NJ
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I have had this filter for years and it is still running strong. My problems with it are that it never self primes and it is a pain to clean. I noticed in one review someone said the intake tube was too short for their tank. I guess they don't know that an extension tube is available as an option. My fish love the strong currents it makes in my take unlike the weak power fliters.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for H.O.T. Magnum Compact Hang-On Tank Filter by Marineland
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 22 reviews

MAGNUM

March 20, 2011
by FLORIDABOY33
fromVERO BEACH,FL.
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I BOUGHT THIS 3 WEEKS AGO, FOR MY 30GAL. TANK. IT WAS GREAT! IT WAS POWEFULL. THEN 2 WEEKS LATER IT WAS WEAK. I THOUGHT IT STOP WORKING, BUT IT WAS STILL GOING. I FEEL IT WAS A WASTE OF MY MONEY. I WENT BACK TO MY EMPEROR 280. OH SO MUCH BETTER.
-4points
1of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for H.O.T. Magnum Compact Hang-On Tank Filter by Marineland
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 22 reviews

Stear Clear.......

March 15, 2010
by KurtZ
fromChicago
What is your gender?M
I purchased this for a 46 gallon tank. The box was a previous return, that was apparant as soon as I got it home and noticed there was no carbon in the box and the polishing core was missing...not to mention the obviously re-taped box (it was the only one left on the shelf so I took it anyway.) I had some carbon already, so I figured I would give it a shot...well I struggled with it for hours trying to get it to stop blowwing bubbles. I kept opening, filling, sealing, running it over and over but the bubbles would not stop.(must have been a leak, thats why it was a return)...not to mention it sounded like a diesl engine running (box states it is silent)...after hours later and a severe headache I decided to put it back in the box and return it. I picked up the Ehiel today and it is perfect. Works great, easy set up, it doesnt blow bubbles and it is truly SILENT. Spend the extra money and avoid the hassle.
Pros: none
Cons: loud air bubbles.
-4points
1of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for H.O.T. Magnum Compact Hang-On Tank Filter by Marineland
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 22 reviews

Works Great

June 20, 2008
by HOTMagnumOwner
fromDaly City, California
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 22 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 22 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 22 reviews
I have a 20 gallon tank which I own about three months now and have 18 different fishes including Gold fish and Koi which puts out numerous waste but this water filter really works great. I have added several decorations which requires for me to burry them under the gravel causing to make the water cloudy from the waste and uneaten food particles on the gravel but after 2 hours of getting cloudy, the water gets clean and clear again, very clear( I wish I could add a picture with this review but I don't know how to.). This filter is by far the best I've ever used. I have bought about 4 water filters since I have this tank but have returned them to the store but this is the only one I really like. I would recommend this filter to any one who reads this review. Thanks for give me the opportunity to share my experience.
-3points
1of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for H.O.T. Magnum Compact Hang-On Tank Filter by Marineland
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 22 reviews

Great portable water polisher.

March 4, 2008
by mholtum
fromTempe, AZ
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 22 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 22 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 22 reviews
I bought this strictly for the micro filtration with DE, took me all of 5 minutes to set it up and get it running. Does a great job and best of all it is portable! Highly recommend for polishing water with the micron filter and DE powder. I use it on my 180 gallon Jardini tank, my 125 Tanganyikan tank and my 60 gallon feeder tank, and the price can't be beat!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for H.O.T. Magnum Compact Hang-On Tank Filter by Marineland
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 22 reviews

Combo is Great

February 16, 2008
by dellingd
fromOklahoma City
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 22 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 22 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 22 reviews
I have used this product for years. I have two 55 gal tanks with undergravel filters. Each undergravel filter has two lift tubes and I have one of these filters on each one (total 4 filters). They work great and my water is never dirty for more than 10 to 15 minutes even after stiring the gravel. I have a fifth Magnum I add to whichever 55 gal I stir up for what ever reason and it polishes the water great. I would and have recommended these filters to many people and have had none of them complain. Any one can have a lemon once in a while but I have never had one that didn't work straight out of the box.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for H.O.T. Magnum Compact Hang-On Tank Filter by Marineland
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 22 reviews

A great overall Filter

February 15, 2008
by KyleM
fromOmaha, NE
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 22 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 22 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 22 reviews
I bought one of these filters about three years ago, and I just bought another one for my new ciclid tank. Over the years of using this filter I have never had any problems with it. It has never clogged up or had any maintnance problems. It has done a great job keeping my tank crystal clear, and is easy to clean. Another great feature is that when your cleaning your tank you can hook up your gravel cleaner directly to the filter which adds a great deal of convienance to cleaning. Overall, I think it is a great filter for anyone with a medium sized tank, even people just starting that dont know much about fish.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for H.O.T. Magnum Compact Hang-On Tank Filter by Marineland
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 22 reviews

Wonderful Product

December 18, 2007
by Jo12
fromTX
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 22 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 22 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 22 reviews
I bought one of these to go on my 75 gallon Saltwater Predator tank I have a 6 inch Porcupine Puffer who is extremely messy when eating and I've had no problems with this filter and my water is crystal clear I just purchased another one for my 55 gallon cichlid tank, from my personal experience with this product I think it is wonderful and recommend it to anyone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for H.O.T. Magnum Compact Hang-On Tank Filter by Marineland
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 22 reviews

Not So H.O.T.

November 2, 2007
by NotHappy2
fromSyracuse, NY
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5 22 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 22 reviews
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5 22 reviews
I purchased this product based on all the great reviews and I am very displeased. Intake tube is way too short, it only went halfway down to the bottom of my 55 gallon tank. The output line leaked at the seam where it pivots left and right. Now for the canister itself, it will not stop spurting bubbles no matter what I do. I believe it is warped and leaking air. To top it all off the micron filter was crushed in the box and canister bracket will not stay put. I am returning the unit tomorrow and demanding a full refund. I thought my cascade 1000 was junk, this is worse. I should have just went back to my power filter to begin with and saved the hassle of this small nightmare.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for H.O.T. Magnum Compact Hang-On Tank Filter by Marineland
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 22 reviews

H.O.T Mag

March 27, 2007
by efmj1
fromWV
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 22 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 22 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 22 reviews
We have had this filter for probably 2 years and have never had any problems with it. We use it along with an Emperor Bio-filter on our 55 gallon tank and always have crystal clear water and happy fish that just keep having babies and more babies.(We raise fancy tail guppies.)I would recommend this filter to anyone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for H.O.T. Magnum Compact Hang-On Tank Filter by Marineland
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 22 reviews

Hot Magnum Canister Filter 250 gal/hour

March 26, 2007
by mistymoonlight
fromMichigan
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5 22 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 22 reviews
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5 22 reviews
Parts missing from box; both gaskets, although brand new, were split; difficult to assemble, even with diagrams; very noisy; i've been doing aquariums for many years, and this is the most annoying piece of equipment ever. my husband bought a Fluval for his 100 gallon aquarium at work, and he says it's so much better that he's buying me one right away. sorry to be so negative, but i'm very surprised that the reviews are so positive. i bought it so i can make sure there is optimum water quality and circulation for large Discus.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for H.O.T. Magnum Compact Hang-On Tank Filter by Marineland
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 22 reviews

February 14, 2007
by oovayblob24
fromGA
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 22 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 22 reviews
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5 22 reviews
I have 3 Hot's. I have tried alot of filters and found this one to be the best. When you consider how quiet, and easy to clean it is you can't beat it. It keeps all my tanks very clean. I have people compliment me on how clear my tanks always are. I would recommend this filter to anyone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for H.O.T. Magnum Compact Hang-On Tank Filter by Marineland
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 22 reviews

January 30, 2007
by combskids
fromVirginia
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 22 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 22 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 22 reviews
I have one on my 60 gallon tank that i just started up! I have used MANY different filters in my other tanks that i have but i changed all my filters to the HOT, Its great! So i tell everyone please change to this filter!!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for H.O.T. Magnum Compact Hang-On Tank Filter by Marineland
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 22 reviews

working great

January 9, 2007
by Fred
fromVancouver B.C.
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 22 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 22 reviews
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5 22 reviews
The unit is not a bad thing at all, it is smaller to work with but the cleaning capacity of it is awsome. I am useing the hot with a 350 also on my 225 gal set up, it is keeping the water perfectly clear with no problem's. Make sure that you put the connection's together properly or the seal's might get damaged.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for H.O.T. Magnum Compact Hang-On Tank Filter by Marineland
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 22 reviews

use of H.O.T Magnum hang on

December 1, 2006
by kc669
fromcincinnati,ohio
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 22 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 22 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 22 reviews
i have a 150gal tank with red devils and jack dempsey in them water was cloudy had two emperor 400 i changed to the hang on magnum (2) cleared my water and are very very quiet had to touch them to make sure they were still working i have a 180gal that im about to start with african cichlids soon going with the same filteration system
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for H.O.T. Magnum Compact Hang-On Tank Filter by Marineland
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 22 reviews

HOT Magnum....Don't waste your time!!

November 16, 2006
by Erick
fromWisconsin
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5 22 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 22 reviews
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5 22 reviews
After reading several somewhat positive reviews, I decided to try the magnum. I've been looking for a way to get that clarity of water everyone so desires. On a larger fish tank, I'm running the Magnum 350, but my small 20 gallon I purchased the HOT Magnum. Not a wise choice I've come to realize. After spending an hour to read the directions and put the filter together, only disappointment arose after watching the connection where the outlet tube joins the cover of the filter leak. I took it apart, put it back together and the same thing. They supply silicone if you'd like to repair these leaks, however, I believe after spending that much for a filter, it shouldn't leak right out of the box. So I took it back to the store for an exchange. The next filter only took me about 15 minutes to setup (now I'm a pro) but now even worse, the filter makes annoying noises as though it's sucking in water somewhere. Through the sides of the filter, you can actually see the water level lower after turning the power on. Hmmmm.....another air leak I suppose. This filter is going back and I won't be exchanging it for another one. I've learned my lesson and I hope you have to.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 next