PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Top Fin(r) Roman Columns

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Top Fin(r) Roman Columns

Create an impressive display in smaller aquariums with these dramatic ornaments. Made exclusively for PetSmart.
Overall rating:
4.231 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(13 reviews) 13
11 of 13(85%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Top Fin(r) Roman Columns
Review 1 for Top Fin(r) Roman Columns
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 13 reviews

Bought for 1$ in store!

August 8, 2013
by springgypsy
fromFlorida
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?First time
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 13 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 13 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
It's so cute and amazing! It fits great in my 5.5 galloon tank and my cichlid swims through it!
Pros: durable, stylish, price
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Top Fin(r) Roman Columns
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 13 reviews

May 5, 2013
by Dioramaman25
fromConcord,N.H.
What is your gender?M
How often do you shop at PetSmart?First time
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 13 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 13 reviews
I purchased the ruined columns to create a WW2 North African Diorama.To depict the ruins at Palmyra.I came across the kit quite by accident.I was looking for a Kitten for my Wife.After finding out only Adult Cats were available,I wandered the store that's when I made my discovery!!Pet stores aren't just for pets,and supplies.They can even accommodate the innovative hobbiest as wellI'll be back for aquarium vegetation for a WW2 Pacific Island Diorama.
Pros: price
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Top Fin(r) Roman Columns
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 13 reviews

Top Fin Roman Columns

August 13, 2012
by suzrow1
fromBecker, MN
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 13 reviews
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5 13 reviews
The appearence was good and it added some culture to my fish tank. But my fish always knock it down and it gets dirty within a week.
Pros: stylish
Cons: price, flimsy
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Top Fin(r) Roman Columns
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 13 reviews

February 16, 2012
by pants101
fromtoronto
i'm not sure if they were out of stock because this item is on sale, but i got the wrong sized column when i ordered this online...looks great, just not what i ordered and is too big for the space i'd envisioned so i can't use it...bummer...just be careful ordering online
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Top Fin(r) Roman Columns
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 13 reviews

My favorite decoration

January 21, 2012
by RainyDay
fromOregon
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 13 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 13 reviews
These are my favorite "non-natural" decoration. Most of my tanks are natural with plant and driftwood only but in one I like to have deocrations. These columns look great without being too kitschy. They are the perfect size to help hide a corner sponge filter and have worn very well. I've had mine for approximately 3 years. I find that they actually look better the longer they're in the tank, a little bit of wear and growth makes them look that much more a part of the whole tank. If they acquire too much algae simply clean with a soft brush such as a tooth brush and they're right as rain. They look great with some plants growing around or through them, real or artificial
As to others who claim these turned their water cloudy, that was most likely due to some other factor such as a bacterial bloom in the water or un-washed gravel. All in all, a great way to turn my tank into a sunken Roman temple.
Pros: durable, stylish, price
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Top Fin(r) Roman Columns
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 13 reviews

Stylish

January 5, 2012
by Hamstersrock101
fromReno,NV
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 13 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 13 reviews
I got this for my betta fishs tank. It add some color and life to it! Great product!
Pros: durable, price, stylish
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Top Fin(r) Roman Columns
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 13 reviews

Great for Small Tanks!

June 29, 2011
by MaeSoro
fromSussex, NJ
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 13 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 13 reviews
I love these, I have three in two separate tanks. My bettas and guppies love them, and I love that they are very stylish, and are very classic looking. They have been dropped several times, on tile, wood, and carpet, and have survived them all! Overall, great buy.
Pros: stylish, price, durable
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Top Fin(r) Roman Columns
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 13 reviews

AWESOME!

April 2, 2011
by Poodley
fromLos Angeles, CA
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 13 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 13 reviews
I love this so much, and so does my betta fish, Shark. He loves to swim through & around it. And it makes his bowl look super duper cute!
Pros: stylish, price, durable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Top Fin(r) Roman Columns
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 13 reviews

April 21, 2009
by TennesseeHick
fromJacksonville, Fl
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 13 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 13 reviews
A great ornament! But grime grows on it after a while
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Top Fin(r) Roman Columns
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 13 reviews

looks great!

November 4, 2007
by GenaLovesHammiesAndCats
fromSaint Louis, MO
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 13 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 13 reviews
This is a great choice for small tanks. The columns did not make my water "cloudy", you just simply wash your decor items off with water and salt(an alternitive to soap) to clean it. Its very small, so my fish have room to swim around their 2 gallon tank. I enjoy the way it looks with my live plants!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Top Fin(r) Roman Columns
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 13 reviews

I love these ruins!

September 25, 2007
by dragonflameapocalypse
fromTulsa, OK
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 13 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 13 reviews
These are some of the few unpainted aquarium ornaments I could find. Unfortunately they have started painting these after I purchased mine. The advantage of unpainted ornaments is that your fish can't pick the paint off of these. I have to replace painted ornaments like once every six month due to my bored fish eating the paint. These ornaments still look nice! I have had these for 4 years now.
Here is a helpful bit of advice I have found on the internet as well: you can soak your ornaments in a diluted mix of chlorine bleach to kill algae. It turned these from white to a light yellow, but they look better light yellow than dark green. After soaking in the bleach mix, soak them in dechlorinated tap water for 24 hours, and then rinse well. They should be algae free and ready to go back in the tank. My mother and I haven't lost any fish or snails yet to this method (we have been doing it for years), and it saves a bit of money on ornaments.
I never had these make my water cloudy either, unlike one of the other reviewers.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Top Fin(r) Roman Columns
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 13 reviews

Causes murky water

August 3, 2007
by Daniel123abc
fromReno,NV
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 13 reviews
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5 13 reviews
After all the washing i did to these stupid columns it made the water murky.
Dont know what to do.
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Top Fin(r) Roman Columns
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 13 reviews

Perfect for all aquariums

July 11, 2007
by luckyguppy35
fromTN
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 13 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 13 reviews
For my new tank I just started I got one of these and my fish, and me, love it. It is very cool to look at and my algea eater loves sitting on and around it. My frog also hangs around it a little. As soon as I earn more money I am sure to buy more of the roman ruins peices!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.