PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Top Fin(r) Magnet Cleaner

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Top Fin(r) Magnet Cleaner

Removes algae while keeping your hands dry. Safe for glass aquariums.
Overall rating:
2.833 / 5
2.8
 / 
5
(12 reviews) 9
5 of 12(42%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Top Fin(r) Magnet Cleaner
Review 1 for Top Fin(r) Magnet Cleaner
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 12 reviews

Scratched Tank and Broken Cleaner

August 20, 2012
by Wayner83
fromDallas, GA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5 12 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 12 reviews
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5 12 reviews
This is by far probably the worst review I have ever given. The felt, or whatever it is, peeled away from the edge of the non handle piece within 10 seconds of using it. This led to it scratching/spreading glue on the tank. I honestly think it is because the magnet is too strong, as once it is together, it takes an act of God to separate the two pieces I would not recommend this for anyone.
Pros: price
Cons: didn't work, hard to use
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Top Fin(r) Magnet Cleaner
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 12 reviews

Made the tank worse

June 1, 2012
by Oscars
fromGeorgia
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5 12 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 12 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews
I got this cleaner out of the packaging and before I was done cleaning the front of my 55gal the velvet started to peal and it smeared adhesive all over my tank which was a serious challenge to get off. I had the other brand but it put a big cut in my glass across the front so I got this one and I figure it will be great after I take off the outer velvet and apply some velcro.. the soft side of course.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Top Fin(r) Magnet Cleaner
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 12 reviews

October 9, 2010
by Angeltothefish
fromSacramento CA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 12 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 12 reviews
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5 12 reviews
Is easy to use but DOENT float I thought that it would but it doesnt
Pros: cleans well
Cons: doesnt work
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Top Fin(r) Magnet Cleaner
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 12 reviews

Very aquarist should have this item

September 25, 2010
by ecampochiaro
fromHot Springs Ar
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?First time
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 12 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews
this little thing is wonderful. on more built up algae on glass it takes a couple of swips but it is very effecent. Now i dont have to use that stupid scubby tool.
Pros: ease of use
Cons: takes a couple of swipes
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Top Fin(r) Magnet Cleaner
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 12 reviews

September 11, 2010
by saknd
fromNorth Dakota
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5 12 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 12 reviews
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5 12 reviews
This product is worthless. First of all, the inside part of the cleaner doesn't float and isn't attracted to the outside piece like a magnet should be. So if it is dropped inside the tank, it won't reattach unless it is right next to the glass. So this means fishing it out with your hand. I had to use a lot of pressure to get this product to work and even then it just got off the superficial algae. With all the scrubbing I ended up scratching the inside of my tank. After just a couple of weeks, ended up throwing this cleaner away and went with the good magnetic cleaner
Cons: scratched glass, doesn't float, not very strong of a magnet
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Top Fin(r) Magnet Cleaner
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 12 reviews

magnetic cleaner

July 7, 2010
by puppypaws123
fromroseville,ca
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 12 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 12 reviews
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5 12 reviews
i like this but left glue mark on the glass
Cons: leaves marks on glass
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Top Fin(r) Magnet Cleaner
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 12 reviews

HORRIBLE

May 30, 2008
by KFed
fromBismarck
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5 12 reviews
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5 12 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews
this product works good but the industrial glue that holds the velvet on comes off and it is true you do need goo gone to get it off and alot of it. So I can not recomend this product. I LOVE Top Fin. Great Products. This is the first one that i am dissapointed in. Dont Buy It. Get the magnet floater. WORKS GREAT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Top Fin(r) Magnet Cleaner
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 12 reviews

Top Fin Magnet Cleaner bummer

May 21, 2008
by Anonymous
frompittsburgh, pa
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5 12 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 12 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews
This worked ok the first time I used it but the black velvet pad that touches the outside of the thank flips over and puts industrial glue on the outside of your tank.
Yea good luck getting that glue off you will need goo gone to get it off. it did clean the inside but made a mess of the outside.....
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Top Fin(r) Magnet Cleaner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews

its good

July 20, 2007
by 50cent
fromnc
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews
its good product for your little pet
-6points
0of 6voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Top Fin(r) Magnet Cleaner
Based on the average of (3) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 12 reviews
2 out of 3 recommend this product
Performance 
3.5 / 5
3.5 / 5 12 reviews
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5 12 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews