PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Top Fin(r) Aquarium Thermometer Strips

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Top Fin(r) Aquarium Thermometer Strips

Vertical strip thermometer adheres to outside of aquarium glass.
Overall rating:
3.133 / 5
3.1
 / 
5
(15 reviews) 14
8 of 15(53%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Top Fin(r) Aquarium Thermometer Strips
Review 1 for Top Fin(r) Aquarium Thermometer Strips
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 15 reviews

Get a better one if you can...

January 16, 2013
by Clare9438
fromAlbuquerque, NM
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5 15 reviews
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5 15 reviews
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5 15 reviews
I bought this product because it is easy to use; just slap it onto the aquarium and that's it. After a while though, mine stopped working and always stayed at the same temperature. I ended up worrying if my fish were ok in the water or not. The reading is inaccurate too: it probably also takes the temperature of the room it's in. Just buy one that stays at the bottom of the aquarium: it's easier and less money waisted.
Pros: easy to install
Cons: didn't work
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Top Fin(r) Aquarium Thermometer Strips
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews

Great product

November 18, 2012
by Morrow
fromAshland City, Tn
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
I have of these on all three tanks and one glass stick on. They all three match up with the reading from my stick on. As long as you know, that of the three colors that appear, the green stripe is the actual temp. Some one has suggested that the two other colors represent the odd numbers not shown on the strip and they might be right but as long as you follow the green strip and check it first with a glass thermometer you should be fine.
Pros: works great, easy to install, price
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Top Fin(r) Aquarium Thermometer Strips
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews

Very Accurate

November 5, 2011
by SSSS
fromMeridian, ID
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 15 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
I've had the thermometer for about 3.5 years. I have a heater that keeps the water a 76-82 degrees. The thermometer is always in that range. It is easy to read, but is, because of it's age, has the actual reading and a reading that says 84. For example, my water temp. is 78 but it also says it is 84. It sticks to the tank even after being moved about 5 times. Overall this is a reliable, accurate thermometer.
Pros: easy to install, price, works great
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Top Fin(r) Aquarium Thermometer Strips
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 15 reviews

August 12, 2011
by DraugIsilme
fromArkansas
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 15 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 15 reviews
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5 15 reviews
I've had this thermometer stuck to my 1.5g for over 4 years now. Needless to say, I've had no problem with it whatsoever. The readings are pretty simple (so long as you don't get confused when there are two colors, which obviously means it's an odd number since the thermometer goes by even numbers), its small enough to where it doesn't take up a massive amount of room on the tank, and if you don't mess with it, it won't come off. I would assume its not a wise idea to put it in a spot where air can blow on it-otherwise it might give a false reading (ex. I breathed on it a few times and the temperature began to escalate, but easily went back down to its original temp. when I stopped). All in all, its a very nice thermometer for a tank this size, and has never let me down within the past four years. My only complaint is that I'm afraid that if I try to take it off and try to reuse it on another tank, it will mess up and ruin the stickiness as well as the readings.. so if you find this thermometer equally reliable, make sure you stick it on a tank that you plan on keeping for a good while and you'll definitely get your moneys worth!
Pros: easy to install, price, works great
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Top Fin(r) Aquarium Thermometer Strips
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 15 reviews

Not Worth It

June 30, 2011
by PurdyMunster
fromOdessa, TX
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5 15 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 15 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
Got this product a week ago & its pretty much just a guess. Easy to use indeed you just stick it to the tank but you really have no clue what the temperature is. It'll show like 2 or 3 colors. Your better off just investing a dollar or 2 more for a glass thermometer.
Pros: easy to install, price
Cons: didn't work
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Top Fin(r) Aquarium Thermometer Strips
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 15 reviews

Pretty Bad...

May 30, 2011
by Matthew6
fromNew York
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5 15 reviews
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5 15 reviews
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5 15 reviews
I got this thermometer yesterday ( the large version ) and it says its 84 to 86 degrees Fahrenheit. COMPLETELY WRONG!! The water on the inside is between 70 and 78 degrees. And half of the time two or three different temperatures are colored, so you have to guess. I don't at all suggest you get this product. I was going to get the old and reliable glass version, but I decided to get this non accurate one. A Big mistake. I recommend that you go with the glass one, and I really had faith in this thermometer!
Pros: easy to install, price
Cons: didn't work
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Top Fin(r) Aquarium Thermometer Strips
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 15 reviews

OK.... at first

October 7, 2010
by doranb
fromLas Vegas, NV
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5 15 reviews
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5 15 reviews
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5 15 reviews
I got this with a small two gallon aquarium. It worked at first for a little bit, or at least I thought it did. It always says that the water in the tank is between 75 and 80 degrees, even when I know its not (I also used a glass thermometer to get the real temp). You might as well just guess what temperature the water is. I would just spend an extra dollar on a glass thermometer and get the real temperature.
Pros: colors are easy to read
Cons: influenced by outside temperatures
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Top Fin(r) Aquarium Thermometer Strips
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 15 reviews

Most time's it say's only one color!

August 8, 2010
by mesofrog
fromcoulmbus ohio
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5 15 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 15 reviews
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5 15 reviews
But that color may say between may different temps. So it's kinda hard to read what the real temp is. You just get a rough draft of it. For my use it worked well and stayed where it should. Only down fall I can't move it. Once you try to take it off it tear's up. So if you move your tank and want o move it you have to get a new one.
Other then that the item has went 3 year's with great reading's and only ripped when I tried taking it off and moving it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Top Fin(r) Aquarium Thermometer Strips
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 15 reviews

Bad

July 25, 2010
by Katty
fromRenton, WA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5 15 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 15 reviews
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5 15 reviews
The only thing this is good for is perhaps a good luck charm. You're seriously better just guessing the temperature in your tank than using this. Either the colors overlap many temperature ranges, or the thing is completely black. It's not easy to read as you have to guess which temperature out of several it really means or ponder what it means when no colors show up at all.
It's very easy to apply, just peel and stick. But for about the same amount of money you could get a much more accurate glass thermometer that will give you one correct reading. Skip this and go for a glass one.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Top Fin(r) Aquarium Thermometer Strips
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 15 reviews

It's alright actually

April 11, 2010
by Staccato
fromLong Beach, CA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 15 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 15 reviews
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5 15 reviews
It does it's job.
The readings seem pretty accurate even though I am very sure the temperature outside causes some incorrect readings.
It does get hard to see sometimes, but other times the strip is bright enough to read.
The good ol' glass thermometers are way more trustworthy but this strip is more trustworthy than an electric meter.. I would never trust the electronic ones.
Wouldn't suggest using it near the light or heater though, of course
Pros: at least the reading is visible most of the time, better than electric thermometers, can go almost everywhere
Cons: sometimes not readable, not as good as glass thermometers, misreadings caused by temp outside of tank
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Top Fin(r) Aquarium Thermometer Strips
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 15 reviews

TERRIBLE

June 12, 2009
by Tam3R
fromA town in, PA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5 15 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 15 reviews
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5 15 reviews
This is not good at all!! It doesnt even work!!! As soon as you put it on the tank the colors go away!!!!
This is one of two products I bought today from this brand that DONT WORK!!!!!!
Im very upset!
Pros: absolutely nothing
Cons: everything
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Top Fin(r) Aquarium Thermometer Strips
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews

Top Fin (r) Aquarium Thermometer Strips

March 18, 2009
by RockysMom123
fromBoulder Colorado
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
I have one of these thermometer strips on my tank at home and at work. They are extremely accurate. I keep a close eye on the water temperature as I almost lost my betta at home because the water was too cold. Wouldn't be without them! Thanks Top Fin!!
Pros: inexpensive, can be placed anywhere, easy to change location
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Top Fin(r) Aquarium Thermometer Strips
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 15 reviews

This is a good thermometer for small aquariums.

January 3, 2008
by FishyFriend
fromOregon
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?First time
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 15 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 15 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
I have a 2.5 gallon aquarium, and this thermometer works great. It seems to be accurate. Since I have a betta (Leo), I have to maintain a fairly warm temperature. This thermometer helps me do that. It may be inexpensive, but it gets the job done.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Top Fin(r) Aquarium Thermometer Strips
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 15 reviews

July 16, 2007
by ruru
fromwoodbury mn
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5 15 reviews
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5 15 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
i bought the small one and i really dont think it works! my room is usully hot and i thinks it efects the strips reading because this stirp goes in the out side if i where you i would get the thermometers that go in the water
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Top Fin(r) Aquarium Thermometer Strips
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
1 out of 1 recommend this product
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews