PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Bio Spot Spot On Flea & Tick Control for Cats

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Bio Spot Spot On Flea & Tick Control for Cats

Each dose kills fleas, flea eggs and deer ticks for up to one month. Kills and repels mosquitoes and contains a natural coat conditioner.
Overall rating:
2.529 / 5
2.5
 / 
5
(17 reviews) 15
6 of 17(35%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Bio Spot Spot On Flea & Tick Control for Cats
Review 1 for Bio Spot Spot On Flea & Tick Control for Cats
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 17 reviews

Do not use!

September 5, 2011
by pixiqueen79
fromSt. Charles, IL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
we followed the directions and found fleas the day after applying this for the second month. bathed the dogs and reapplied... almost a month since reapplying and still battling fleas!! Do not use this!! spend the money on the good stuff we learned our lesson!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Bio Spot Spot On Flea & Tick Control for Cats
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 17 reviews

Works Perfectly given a clean start

March 15, 2011
by charmore
fromFort Collins, CO
How many pets do you have?2
Effectiveness 
4 / 5
4 / 5 17 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5 17 reviews
Easy to use. One drawback is it feels "ickier" than Frontline when applied and has the oil slick on the kitties neck longer. But $18 vs. $50, the critters can deal. Effectively keeps off fleas, ticks and mosquitoes for our indoor/outdoor cats.
Pros: effective, price, easy to use
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Bio Spot Spot On Flea & Tick Control for Cats
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 17 reviews

Worked on 1 of my 2 cats

August 26, 2010
by DoraD
fromMcChord AFB, WA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
2 / 5
2 / 5 17 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
2 / 5
2 / 5 17 reviews
I wasn't sure how to rate this product. This worked really well on one of my cats. He hasn't scratched since I put it on. I can't find a flea on him any where. Now, on my other cat, this didn't seem to work at all. She is still scratching like crazy. The liquid for this is really runny. It drained down to their sides. Both of my cats seemed quite irritated with the medication until it dried. Their fur was left greasy looking. For the one that it didn't work on, all that was for nothing. I don't know why it worked for one and not the other. Quite strange to me. I wouldn't suggest this for someone else because who knows if it will work on your cat. Next month we will just go ahead and use one of the more trusted brands.
Pros: no more fleas on drake
Cons: still fleas on dora
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Bio Spot Spot On Flea & Tick Control for Cats
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 17 reviews

Useful Product in Comprehensive Pest Control

August 19, 2010
by HeteroSapiens
fromS. Florida
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
4 / 5
4 / 5 17 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5 17 reviews
I have had 2 indoor (& screened in pool area) cats in S. Florida for 9+ years. We have an exterminator monthly indoors, and once every 3 months out in our yard. I have tried several OTC 'spot on' treatments for my cats - sporadically, as a preventative; my smaller cat invariably is 'not herself' for several days after using other products.
As these 2 kitties are indoor only, and I have never had a problem with fleas: I assessed the adverse reaction of Snickers to outweigh any perceived benefit.
3 years ago an outdoor only cat adopted me. Living where we do: fleas and ticks are endemic. I used BioSpot exclusively on Sasha the first year he came to us. Only once did he have a flea - dead - come out with a flea comb.
I (temporarily) switched vets, who convinced me to try Revolution (along with the prescription food - different for each of my 3 cats, vitamins and supplements...all of which he sold at his clinic).
While I had no flea problems with Sasha while on Revolution, I had concerns regarding its lack of efficacy against ticks. When a neighbor had their yard infested with ticks: I switched back to BioSpot. The reason the (temporary) vet recommended Revolution was that it prevented heartworm. But BioSpot is ALMOST unique among cat 'spot on' treatments, in that it also kills/repells mosquitoes.
We did have one misadventure with Daemon and Snickers, the indoor kitties, when Daemon - but not Snickers - became infested with fleas. He probably caught them from me, with all the time I spend outdoors with Sasha. They were not apparent in the environment, but his intense scratching was only confirmed by the fleas and flea dirt coming off his fur with a comb.
We treated all 3 cats with Capster - which I cannot recommend highly enough. I used BioSpot on the indoor kitties as well as continuing it on Sasha. Even Snickers, who had sensitivity reactions to other products, did not mind. We used indoor foggers, washed and/or treated all cat bedding & furniture, and had our exterminator specifically spray for fleas. Then we repeated all this 2 weeks later.
Sasha, Daemon, and Snickers remain flea-free. The one 'con' that seems to be pervasive in these reviews that I must agree with: the greasy stripe where BioSpot is applied does tend to endure. After 24 hours, I brush any residue thoroughly. This does not seem to diminish BioSpot's efficacy.
This is a great product, if used as a single tool in a comprehensive arsenal of flea prevention/eradication.
Pros: kills fleas ticks and mosquitoes, contains an igr (insect growth regulator), causes no adverse reaction in predisposed pet
Cons: site of application does retain greasy residue
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Bio Spot Spot On Flea & Tick Control for Cats
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 17 reviews

Didn't do a darn thing

September 1, 2009
by Jillybeans
fromPhiladelphia, PA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Effectiveness 
1 / 5
1 / 5 17 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
1 / 5
1 / 5 17 reviews
I used this product for my two cats and it did absolutely nothing for the fleas. The worst part is, I have to wait 3 weeks to use something that actually does work. Until then they get flea baths and I spend hours cleaning my apt cleaning for fleas. I feel so bad that my cats are miserable all because I wanted to save a few dollars. Also it's messy and and made their hair sticky on the area for days. Do yourself and your cat a favor by springing for Frontline.
Pros: nothing
Cons: pretty much everything
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Bio Spot Spot On Flea & Tick Control for Cats
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 17 reviews

Yikes! This stuff irritated my cats & didn't work!

July 15, 2009
by JHFTX
fromPattison, Texas
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Effectiveness 
1 / 5
1 / 5 17 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
1 / 5
1 / 5 17 reviews
My cats were miserable for at least a week after this stuff hit their skin. Scratching, crying, rolling and mad as wet chickens. After all of that, I saw no difference in the fleas. They are indoor cats, but the dog contaminated them. :)
Cons: ineffective, irritating to cat
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Bio Spot Spot On Flea & Tick Control for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 17 reviews

Have used for 10 years

May 17, 2009
by cindylou32
fromAtlanta, GA
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 17 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 17 reviews
I've been using BioSpot to control fleas on my two indoor/outdoor cats for about 10 years. In my experience - it works, the cats have had no adverse affects, and it's much less expensive than other products.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Bio Spot Spot On Flea & Tick Control for Cats
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 17 reviews

November 11, 2008
by ShellBell
fromChesapeake, VA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Effectiveness 
1 / 5
1 / 5 17 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
1 / 5
1 / 5 17 reviews
My cats are indoor only. They don't get fleas. Unfortunately, either I or my husband must have brought them home. I purchased this product because I didn't have time to go to the Vet. It didn't seem to kill the adult fleas or prevent the eggs from hatching.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Bio Spot Spot On Flea & Tick Control for Cats
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 17 reviews

don't waste your money

October 22, 2008
by Geriann
fromSewell, NJ
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
1 / 5
1 / 5 17 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
1 / 5
1 / 5 17 reviews
I purchased this for two cats, that don't go out side, but seemed to be scratching because of fleas. This worked for maybe 2 days, and then they were scratching themselves more than before. I called the vet and purchased Advantage for them. It is worth the extra money! Within an hour they seemed more comfortable with less scratching, and within 12 hours, we were finding dead fleas where they were sleeping. Spend the extra money and get something that really works
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Bio Spot Spot On Flea & Tick Control for Cats
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 17 reviews

Messy product

June 20, 2008
by Anonymous
fromFlorida
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Effectiveness 
3 / 5
3 / 5 17 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
1 / 5
1 / 5 17 reviews
I'm sure this product is effective, but I found it to spread down my cat's back in a large area. It took more than a week before the "wet area" started to disappear and when my cat slept on a chair, the oily subastance was transferred onto the back of the chair. I won't use it again.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Bio Spot Spot On Flea & Tick Control for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 17 reviews

Greatest thing since sliced bread!

December 14, 2007
by Birdies
fromZanesville, Ohio
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 17 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 17 reviews
I read the other reviews and don't care, I have been using this product since I first found it in Foster&Smith's catalog years ago. I have 4 inside cats and three out, plus a dog. I also take the time to treat my yard in the spring which I have come to find if you don't do this no matter what you use it does not work. We go to my sisters farm regulary and take our dog and he never gets ticks or fleas or anything and she uses revolution and her dogs get ticks! Also our dog is epilectic and this is the only product we can use on him. Love it and will continue to use it.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Bio Spot Spot On Flea & Tick Control for Cats
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 17 reviews

Very disappointed

October 7, 2007
by MissKitty13
fromGreensboro, NC
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
2 / 5
2 / 5 17 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
2 / 5
2 / 5 17 reviews
I'm sorry to say that I was seriously disappointed in bioSpot. I have one cat who stays indoors. At the beginning of spring, she became infested with fleas. I treated her with bioSpot Spot On, and it worked at first, but within two weeks she was scratching and had visible flea dirt again! The results didn't last half as long as the package claimed they would. I stuck with the product for the past three months, thinking the initial results might be a fluke, but I found I had to reapply it about twice a month in order to keep her from scratching. In my experience, you won't save any money with bioSpot because you have to use twice as much of it as more expensive brands.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Bio Spot Spot On Flea & Tick Control for Cats
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 17 reviews

Not satisfied with product!

October 1, 2007
by 4kitties
fromAustin, TX
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Effectiveness 
1 / 5
1 / 5 17 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
1 / 5
1 / 5 17 reviews
For the first time, my cats have been victims of flea infestation. I ordered another brand online, but decided to buy Biospot in the interim.
Four days later and the cats are still scratching, there are still visible fleas and a lot of flea dust! I realize fleas are difficult to get rid of, but this product does not seem to be helping much. I do not recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Bio Spot Spot On Flea & Tick Control for Cats
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 17 reviews

Bio Spot

September 27, 2007
by doreen
fromSan Diego, CA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Effectiveness 
1 / 5
1 / 5 17 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
1 / 5
1 / 5 17 reviews
Living in San Diego fleas are a year 'round nuisance. This time I purchased a year supply for 2 cats and 1 dog and this stuff does not work from day 1. I wasted my money. Finally, I purchased a human lice comb and started combing my pets to remove the fleas. As I collect the flea and a little fur I dump into a paper cup keeping the fleas submerged and eventually flush the hair and fleas.
The best part of this is it is free but my pets end up so clean and happy.
If you decide to buy this product only try it for a few months but I bet you will agree with me. I wasted a LOT OF MONEY on it.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Bio Spot Spot On Flea & Tick Control for Cats
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 17 reviews

Worked Before But Not Now

September 21, 2007
by KSF59
fromBirmingham, AL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
1 / 5
1 / 5 17 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
1 / 5
1 / 5 17 reviews
Biospot was recommended by a friend a year ago. I tried it and it seemed to work well on both cats and dogs. But the last three times I used it, it was not as effective two of the times and not at all the third time. Not sure what the problem is but I will have to find an alternative. Too bad because it was cost effective for someone with 8 pets!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Bio Spot Spot On Flea & Tick Control for Cats
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 17 reviews
2 out of 2 recommend this product
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 17 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5 17 reviews