PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Adams Plus Flea & Tick Shampoo for Dogs, Puppies, Cats & Kittens

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Adams Plus Flea & Tick Shampoo for Dogs, Puppies, Cats & Kittens

With Insect Growth Regulator (IGR). Kills fleas, brown and American dog ticks, and flea eggs. Breaks the flea life cycle and prevents flea eggs from hatching for 4 weeks.
Overall rating:
4.35 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(20 reviews) 20
18 of 20(90%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Adams Plus Flea & Tick Shampoo for Dogs, Puppies, Cats & Kittens
Review 1 for Adams Plus Flea & Tick Shampoo for Dogs, Puppies, Cats & Kittens
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 20 reviews

Adams Plus Fleas & Tick Shampoo

January 31, 2014
by Jackson760
fromOceanside, Ca
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 20 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5 20 reviews
Works great! I use this about every two weeks, and I have seen a complete turn around in my little guy named Louie! I will admit it is a little strong but the overall effectiveness is awesome. I would absolutely recommend this dog shampoo hands down.
Pros: easy to use, price, effective
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Adams Plus Flea & Tick Shampoo for Dogs, Puppies, Cats & Kittens
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 20 reviews

Best product I've ever used

January 19, 2014
by Jbsan
fromFlorida
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 20 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 20 reviews
I've tried plenty, including Hartz, Sentry, I even tried Advantage flea treatment and nothing worked. The fleas kept coming back. Finally after cleaning my apartment with Adam's flea powder and then following with the Adam's flea shampoo, I'll just say this much. When they say the fleas fall off, They. Are. Not. Lying. It's a little on the pricey side, but it is worry every penny. Now I don't have to make the choice anymore of giving away my cats. Adams finally gave me the help I needed.
Pros: easy to use, price, effective
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Adams Plus Flea & Tick Shampoo for Dogs, Puppies, Cats & Kittens
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 20 reviews

90% Effective

November 4, 2013
by slim34
fromGeorgia
How many pets do you have?3
Effectiveness 
4 / 5
4 / 5 20 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5 20 reviews
Had to shampoo my dogs after trying topical solutions that did not work. This product killed about 90% of the fleas. I was able to easily comb out the eggs too. Since this is a toxic product though, it was a bit of a pain trying to bathe my dogs. I wore gloves, goggles (dogs shake during baths), and old clothes for protection. My dogs don't like baths to begin with, so trying to keep this shampoo on for 5 minutes before rinsing was very hard to do. You have to work in sections too, so the bath is going to take longer. It was a pain, but more effective than the topical treatments I used. The price is great too since you get to use it more than once. I still have 2/3 of the bottle left after bathing 3 small dogs.
Pros: price, effective
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Adams Plus Flea & Tick Shampoo for Dogs, Puppies, Cats & Kittens
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 20 reviews

Used to be the best

August 19, 2013
by SheriRH
fromJupiter, FL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
1 / 5
1 / 5 20 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
1 / 5
1 / 5 20 reviews
Adams products used to be the best. Not anymore I guess due to regulations they had to change the mix. I am very disappointed in all of there products now. I put an adams flea collar on my dogs and watched the fleas around it. Ridiculous to pay out all that money and it not work. I tried them all, shampoo, dip, there fogger and none works as well as it once did. I will not and do not recommend buying there products anymore.
Pros: easy to use
Cons: didn't work
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Adams Plus Flea & Tick Shampoo for Dogs, Puppies, Cats & Kittens
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 20 reviews

OMG EXCELLENT PRODUCT!!

August 16, 2013
by Vstaats
fromReading,PA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 20 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 20 reviews
I did lots of research on flea removal shampoos because I have tried all the treatments and none have worked... I Have 5 cats, one over 20lbs, some with thin hair, one with very very thick hair, I also have 1 large dog 65 pounds and a ferret. I used this product and (FOLLOWED THE DIRECTION as it will only work if it is left on the exact time needed) and I was amazed all the fleas were dead with in minutes, on all my pets. It worked so well my neighbor used it on their 100 pound dog and it worked.. I followed my cats with flea collars and all my pets are now passed out sleeping. I combed their coats out with a flea comb to remove all the dead fleas and they look and smell great. I suggest this to everyone.. just make sure you follow the directions.. use a timer so you have it on the right amount of time or it will not work. good luck...
PS cannot beat the price either.. it is worth every penny. Just follow the directions, do not apply and rinse wait the full 10 min!!! good luck!
Pros: easy to use, effective, price
Cons: price
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Adams Plus Flea & Tick Shampoo for Dogs, Puppies, Cats & Kittens
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 20 reviews

good but drys skin out

February 2, 2013
by Nikko1Kire2Captain3Mia4
fromIowa
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Effectiveness 
3 / 5
3 / 5 20 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
3 / 5
3 / 5 20 reviews
I have used this product on my dog and cat it can be a little harsh on skin so use a good conditioner
Pros: effective
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Adams Plus Flea & Tick Shampoo for Dogs, Puppies, Cats & Kittens
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 20 reviews

It's a very good product

January 15, 2013
by Truesaint
fromNJ
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
4 / 5
4 / 5 20 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 20 reviews
I will not use anything else,we have used several products before this. Some of the products are temporary but this I find to kill the fleas dead!!!!
Pros: easy to use, effective, price
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Adams Plus Flea & Tick Shampoo for Dogs, Puppies, Cats & Kittens
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 20 reviews

Absolutely awesome product!

January 6, 2013
by AshleyNicole
fromPhenix city, Al
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 20 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 20 reviews
I used this product on my cat. She ended up getting fleas really bad this winter. After using this product she has not scratched once and is flea free!!! Great product! Highly recommended!
Pros: easy to use, effective
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Adams Plus Flea & Tick Shampoo for Dogs, Puppies, Cats & Kittens
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 20 reviews

It WORKS!!

August 10, 2012
by Waylon
fromIndiana
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 20 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 20 reviews
Read the reviews and was somewhat skeptical about reports of fleas falling off while washing the dog. But they were 100% correct. Without a doubt the best product for this application I have ever used.
Coco the lab thanks you also!!
Pros: effective
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Adams Plus Flea & Tick Shampoo for Dogs, Puppies, Cats & Kittens
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 20 reviews

shampoo

July 26, 2012
by wenchie
fromyonkers, ny
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
This is a really great shampoo! I used it on my 10yr old maine coon.The first time it killed most of the fleas....used it again following week & I can't find one flea!His fur is so soft & he shines in he sunlight!
He has asthma & Thank God it didn't bother him one bit!
Pros: easy to use, effective
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Adams Plus Flea & Tick Shampoo for Dogs, Puppies, Cats & Kittens
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 20 reviews

Very Effective

June 24, 2012
by Frustrated000
fromOrlando, FL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 20 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 20 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
While it is gross to watch fleas drop off your cat dead into the tub, it is also very satisfying. This product would always leave my cats very clean and flea free but because the fleas were in my home they did manage to come back. So using a combination of this product, Adams Plus Flea & Tick Mist with Insect Growth Regulator, and a certain home flea spray in a light blue bottle (won't mention the brand name), I was able to completely get rid of them. It took about a month and I frequently washed all bedding and linens (anything cloth) during that time. I have not seen flea since and its been about two months. I will say after reading the other comments, if you want to get rid of fleas you have to bathe them frequently while also killing them in your home. If you have outdoor/indoor pets you probably need to get a medication as well.
Pros: easy to use, effective, price
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Adams Plus Flea & Tick Shampoo for Dogs, Puppies, Cats & Kittens
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 20 reviews

So relieved!

March 12, 2012
by MollyR
fromOrlando, FL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 20 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 20 reviews
I just got a kitten, the first pet I've had on my own, and when I started noticing it scratching I got scared. When I finally saw a bug on it (after much searching) I wasn't sure if it was a flea because I only got a real quick look at it before it dissapeared but I didn't want to take a chance. I did some research on different products and this was highest rated one i could find, and i wasn't willing to pay $50 for something that might not work so I gave it a shot!
I lathered my kitty and waited, a few minutes into the process I started noticing black things becoming visible, I managed to get about 5 fleas out during the wash, all were dead as soon as I saw them, and they were huge! After the wash, with a flea comb I got about another 6 out.
I am extremely satisfied with this product and will be repeating the process every week for a few more weeks.
This product is worth every penny!!!
Also, while I think it's unimportant, my kitten is REALLY soft now and he smells great :D
Pros: easy to use, effective, price
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Adams Plus Flea & Tick Shampoo for Dogs, Puppies, Cats & Kittens
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 20 reviews

Fleas just disapear

July 6, 2011
by Dogsrock247
fromRound Rock,TX
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Unfortanly one day I was brushing my dog and about 24 fleas came crawling out on to the brush. Which was a problem since we lived on 4 1/2 achers and had chickens rabitts a cat and a dog. So imideatly I went on Petsmart sight and found this I bought it and used it the next day my dog was completly flea free yipee! I would totally recomend this to a friend
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Adams Plus Flea & Tick Shampoo for Dogs, Puppies, Cats & Kittens
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 20 reviews

Greatest Product Ever!!!!!

December 27, 2009
by kevman088
fromVirginia Beach, VA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 20 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 20 reviews
My family and i have a yorkie, a friend gave him to us for christmas, lil did we know he had fleas. First we tried the Hartz shampoo a couple of days ago, no change. I was doin some lookin around on petsmart and found Adams with an awesome rating. So went this mornin and picked it up, and gave lil tucker (the yorkie) a bath, once the lather was worked up within a minute the fleas fell off dead, 15 total. I left on for the full 5 min just to be sure, and sure enough tucker has been good ever since. My fam and I are Adams users for life. Thanks Adams and Petsmart.
Pros: easy to use, awesome sent, adds luster to coat
Cons: none
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Adams Plus Flea & Tick Shampoo for Dogs, Puppies, Cats & Kittens
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 20 reviews

Worked Great First Time Around

December 4, 2009
by ScarDiary
fromAmarillo, TX
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 20 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 20 reviews
I had moved to Texas recently, and my dogs accumilated a few fleas. Not a horrible infestation, but enough to make them itch and be uncomfortable. After trying the Biospot spot-on with no success, I went out and bought this shampoo. Put my dogs in the tub, washed them head to toe, scrubbing and covering every spot! The fleas that did not fall off dead in the tub, were dead on the dog, and all that was required was a simple brushing. Afterwards, I used the Adams spot-on, and have not seen a flea since! Wonderful product!
Pros: easy to use and does what it says
Cons: a little smelly but it beats fleas!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Adams Plus Flea & Tick Shampoo for Dogs, Puppies, Cats & Kittens
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 20 reviews

Very Happy

November 25, 2009
by KCMP
fromTN
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 20 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 20 reviews
I noticed my dogs doing a lot of scratching. I got to looking and noticed they had fleas. I was mortified! My Husband brought home this flea and tick shampoo and after I steamed cleaned my carpets and furniture I threw the dogs in the tub. At first I noticed a few fleas being washed off and after waiting six minutes I rinsed. More and more fleas were being rinsed out. After they dried and got down and could not find a single flea still living! I am so happy and so relieved. I would definitely recommend this product to friends and family.
Pros: works fast!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Adams Plus Flea & Tick Shampoo for Dogs, Puppies, Cats & Kittens
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 20 reviews

This didn't work for me NONE what so ever

October 12, 2009
by Khobieblew
fromSpartanburg sc
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Effectiveness 
1 / 5
1 / 5 20 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
1 / 5
1 / 5 20 reviews
I've done everything to get rid of fleas and came on here to find a good flea shampoo.i went out and bought this hoping it would work.three days later the fleas were back on both of my dogs.UH i have to find something soon!
-7points
2of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Adams Plus Flea & Tick Shampoo for Dogs, Puppies, Cats & Kittens
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 20 reviews

KILLS FLEAS-TICKS

April 8, 2009
by CIND
fromBROWNSVILLE, TX
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 20 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 20 reviews
AFTER TRYING A COUPLE OF SHAMPOOS... I COME ALONG THIS ONE. AND THIS SHAMPOO REALLY DOES WORK.. ITS THE BEST DOG/CAT SHAMPOO EVER MADE.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Adams Plus Flea & Tick Shampoo for Dogs, Puppies, Cats & Kittens
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 20 reviews

Darn Fleas

August 19, 2007
by Purr
fromPutnam, CT
I have used Adam's flea and tick shampoo on many, many occasions. It's been used on my cats, and my dogs. I also have family members who use this product on their pets. After having tried many products in an attempt to deal with a flea problem, I found this product to work wonderfully. It has the added benefit of making the animal's fur extremely soft and silky. I have reccomended this product to other pet owners, and will continue to do so.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Adams Plus Flea & Tick Shampoo for Dogs, Puppies, Cats & Kittens
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 20 reviews

Kills the fleas

June 12, 2007
by DebB
fromTampa Bay
We have been fighting fleas for a while now, and this was the first product that seems to have worked. Frontline and Advantix have basically done nothing. Another brand of shampoo has had very short term effects. Adams however, seems to be doing the trick and the dogs fur is soft and silky to boot.
My one concern has been discovery my own allergy to it, resulting in two forearms of hives. Noone else in the household has shown any sensitivity, so I would advise the use of long plastic gloves. It works though- so Iwill put up with the risk of hives in exchange for the elimination of fleas.
+19points
19of 19voted this as helpful.