PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Adams Plus Flea & Tick Mist with Insect Growth Regulator

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Adams Plus Flea & Tick Mist with Insect Growth Regulator

Features Pyrethrins in an alcohol base.
Overall rating:
4.028 / 5
4
 / 
5
(36 reviews) 35
26 of 36(72%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Adams Plus Flea & Tick Mist with Insect Growth Regulator
Review 1 for Adams Plus Flea & Tick Mist with Insect Growth Regulator
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 36 reviews

Don't Work

February 1, 2013
by Chez
fromWashington D.C.
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
1 / 5
1 / 5 36 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
1 / 5
1 / 5 36 reviews
My family purchased the product when our mini dachshund got fleas, and we went out to get this product after reviews it works. It never stopped the fleas nor did it kill them. We drenched our dog in it, and it did nothing. I recently used it on our lab who we rescued and was suffering from a huge infestation. It did nothing to these fleas.
Cons: didn't work
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Adams Plus Flea & Tick Mist with Insect Growth Regulator
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 36 reviews

pretty good

January 27, 2013
by kayp
fromfl
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Effectiveness 
4 / 5
4 / 5 36 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 36 reviews
works pretty well... used it along with capstar and thorough cleaning. Perhaps i should have used the couch products also. I dont like using this type of stuff but in south florida i think it may be necessary unfortunately.. fleas still hear but way fewer! Diligence is key when fitting fleas! just started Pet Armor for longer killing affect ( hopefully this keeps them away) I'm thinking that I will use this product every other month and then the pet armor (or frontline) a week or so after. My dogs and cat have had no ill effect from this so far (first try). my thinking is this... the fipronil can be applied every 30 days but can be affective for killing fleas for 90 possibly ...and the adams can be applied every week for killing affect but has a 60 days IGR affect.... so each every 60 days ( a week or so apart) will have the same if not better affect as frontline plus for much less... wish me long term luck! :)
Pros: easy to use, effective, price
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Adams Plus Flea & Tick Mist with Insect Growth Regulator
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 36 reviews

GoOd I gUeSs...

August 29, 2012
by cuteanimals4ever
fromCA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Like the title reads it's good I guess Sophie my beautiful doggy is a few years old now she gets fleas every now and then so I bought her this it's Ok not the best product i'll admit, it takes quite a few sprays just so the flea will die I spent $14.00 on this I expected this to be a better product, but it's just like the others it works at first, but then you need to buy something else because it stopped working. Sophie's fleas are getting gone just not as i'd wish. Sophie doesn't like it at AlL she runs away and it releases a StRoNg odor that makes the furniture smell and Sophie spends a good amount of time trying to wipe it off she's a very mellow dog so IDK. I wouldn't really recommend though.
*cUtEaNiMaLs4EvEr*
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Adams Plus Flea & Tick Mist with Insect Growth Regulator
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 36 reviews

Fab-u-lous!

August 22, 2012
by LittleLab
fromNorth Carolina
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 36 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5 36 reviews
I took my female black Lab outside with the bottle and a washcloth. I thoroughly sprayed the washcloth and wiped it around her face and ears. I then followed the instructions and methodically went head to the tip of her tail. I used the washcloth to ruffle her hair...ahem...fur around to make sure I worked it in well....OMG the fleas were popping up out of nowhere. If they weren't dead they died shortly thereafter. After I sprayed her I used a flea comb on her and went head to toe and quite a few dead fleas were picked up especially near the base of her tail.
I also sprayed her bed and common areas she likes to lay down. The product did not cause any discoloration of carpet or couches. The formula smelled of strong alcohol but it goes away fairly quickly.
If her scratching pre-treatment was a 10 I'd say its a 3 now. She will need another treatment in 10 days like the bottle says but we are well on our way to killing them all. I vacuumed the whole house and washed bedding.
It's a great product that can be used around the house as well as on your baby!
Pros: effective
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Adams Plus Flea & Tick Mist with Insect Growth Regulator
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 36 reviews

Amazing

August 13, 2012
by CUTiger
fromGreenville, SC
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 36 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5 36 reviews
This spray is amazing. We have a boxer puppy that was on Trifexis but would still get covered in fleas at my in-laws'. We would give him a bath with flea shampoo afterwards, but we would still be picking fleas off him for DAYS. Our Petsmart Trainer recommended anything by Adams, so we tried this. We spray him before and after we go to my in-laws', and we NEVER find fleas on him now! This is not something I would recommend to constantly use on your dog, but if you only have flea problems when going certain places then this is your answer.
Pros: easy to use, effective
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Adams Plus Flea & Tick Mist with Insect Growth Regulator
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 36 reviews

August 10, 2012
by TickFree
fromMt Vernon, IL
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 36 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 36 reviews
After a day of working on 4-wheeler trails in the woods, my cousin and I became infested with tick larvae. After speaking to a family friend who is a vet they informed us that these larvae could burrow under your skin and last for a month. The vet also recommend we use this spray and that it was safe for humans.
We used it. The itching stopped almost instantly. After sleeping with it on the bites were almost all gone. I plan on using it again after our next trail construction.
Pros: easy to use, effective
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Adams Plus Flea & Tick Mist with Insect Growth Regulator
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 36 reviews

Completely Ineffective

June 6, 2012
by BW29579
fromMyrtle Beach, SC
Effectiveness 
1 / 5
1 / 5 36 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
1 / 5
1 / 5 36 reviews
This is one of two Adams products I purchased and both were a complete waste of money. The cats hate being sprayed with it, but it would be worth it if it killed the fleas. It does ABSOLUTELY NOTHING. Don't waste your money too.
Cons: price, didn't work
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Adams Plus Flea & Tick Mist with Insect Growth Regulator
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 36 reviews

Happykitty

March 18, 2012
by Onehappyhouse
fromOhio
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 36 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
3 / 5
3 / 5 36 reviews
After many months and gobs of money spent on the traditional well advertised flea remedies THAT GAVE LITTLE TO NO RESULTS- I decided to try Capstar. Although our cat basically refused and repeatedly spit this pill out even wrapped in ham, we were able to to get it down. After about 45 minutes she was scratching, digging, biting and going nuts- as the instructions state this is because of the dying fleas not the med. 2 hours after the pill was given we followed up with Adams Plus Flea & Tick Mist. This stuff stinks and the cat hated it and was very unhappy with me after, but worth it to be free of fleas! This kitty has been flea free since. We have combed her repeatedly with a flea comb ever since and have found nothing. I am positive the little blood suckers are lingering in the house in various spots even after intense cleaning, but have FINALLY been able to find a break in the cycle and look forward to a flea free future. This was worth every penny I spent despite being pricey. I LOVE MY KITTY!
Pros: effective
Cons: price
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Adams Plus Flea & Tick Mist with Insect Growth Regulator
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 36 reviews

Adams flea and tick mist

March 8, 2012
by newisme
fromClearwater, Florida
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Effectiveness 
1 / 5
1 / 5 36 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
1 / 5
1 / 5 36 reviews
my Charlie is a 12 pound Lasa. here at Top of the World in Clearwater Florida. Our Fleas have the very best to chew on, and believe me, they do chew. now this Adams mist gets the little guys running, but if it does kill them, it takes a while and even if sprayed before taking him outside, he still comes back with more, I am trying to train Charlie to go in the middle of the street, and still he comes back with more, now the next part is a warning should be very prominent, do not use this mist unless you put on rubber gloves to protect your manicure. It will remove your polish, or make it so goopy that dog hairs glob in it. and if you have paid for a manicure, this is dangerous ground. plus can any one imagine spraying nail polish remover all over our loved pets. in a way, a big way, this is outrageous.
Pros: price
Cons: didn't work
-2points
2of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Adams Plus Flea & Tick Mist with Insect Growth Regulator
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 36 reviews

Awesome flea & tick mist

February 29, 2012
by ChihuahuaMommy1
fromBrownsville, TX
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 36 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 36 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
I am part of a rescue orginzation and they recommended that I try Adams cuz everytime my Chi went outside, she came in with them jumpin critters that drove her batty! So I gave my Chi a couple of sprays and rubbed it into her coat real good and within minutes, them darn fleas turned belly up and were falling right off and my Chi seemed to be happy about it, which made me happy too! This is an awesome product!
Pros: easy to use, effective, price
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Adams Plus Flea & Tick Mist with Insect Growth Regulator
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 36 reviews

Fleas did NOT 'head for the hills'!

October 30, 2011
by jdianec
fromBrea, CA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Effectiveness 
1 / 5
1 / 5 36 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
3 / 5
3 / 5 36 reviews
I've used this 2 times this week on my pup, who has horrible flea allergies, and she's still scratching and biting a lot. I bought this product because of the reviews only to find it didn't work at all for my pup. I used it as directed but I didn't see any change in the scratching. Except for the immeadiate relief it gave her that only lasted a few hours, I see no advantages with this product. It seems to work for other folks and their pets though. Maybe I'm dealing with super fleas.
Pros: price, easy to use
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Adams Plus Flea & Tick Mist with Insect Growth Regulator
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 36 reviews

Works Great!

October 12, 2011
by LucyD
fromIndiana
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 36 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5 36 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
We had been dealing with a flea problem with our puppy for a few weeks and this product was successful in treating the inside of our home as well as our pet in a single application. Very happy with our results!
Pros: effective, price, easy to use
Cons: price
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Adams Plus Flea & Tick Mist with Insect Growth Regulator
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 36 reviews

WOW!

October 10, 2011
by Anonymous
fromillinois
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 36 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 36 reviews
my dog was infested with fleas, i had used other products on him with little to no effect. I used this product on him and I swear the fleas where littleraly jumping off him. I have never before seen anything like this. The reason i gave the overall rating a 4 is because I used it on a thursday and today is monday, so far so good no returning fleas and he is so much happier now!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Adams Plus Flea & Tick Mist with Insect Growth Regulator
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 36 reviews

very surprised at how effective this was

October 6, 2011
by Rea118
fromupstate NY
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 36 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5 36 reviews
We had a flea infestation several years ago and I obsessively cleaned house, sanitized this, sprinkled borax on and vacuumed that, bathed cats with flea shampoo, did advantage,etc. Petsmart was repeatedly out of advantage, and my husband on a whim got this product. I read the reviews before I wasted my time on the cats, and was halfway convinced. We have an 18 year old cat, indoors, a 6 year old cat, in and out, and a kitten of unknown age, suspect she is 6 months old. I could not BELIEVE how well this worked. The kitten did foam at the mouth, but I have a friend who is a vet who said it was b/c when cats hate the taste of something, that is what they do, and that older cats w/n groom a bad taste the way kittens do. We rinsed off the kitten about half an hour later, but the other cats we did not rinse off. Never in a million years, after what we went through a few years ago, would I have guessed that my flea problem would be gone so fast. you can use this on furniture too btw.
Pros: effective, price, easy to use
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Adams Plus Flea & Tick Mist with Insect Growth Regulator
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 36 reviews

September 27, 2011
by Boom
fromPoconos, PA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
After spending alot of money on products that did not work, including Frontline (which had been on my dog for 6 months and my dog/house still became infested with fleas), I bought this product which instantly killed all fleas that were on my dog. Only product I have found that did what it claimed to do. I have since switched to Advantix, but if I ever see fleas on my dog again I will use this product immediately!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Adams Plus Flea & Tick Mist with Insect Growth Regulator
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 36 reviews

Don't waste your money on anything else

June 22, 2011
by mel613
fromTaylor, MI
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 36 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 36 reviews
Love this product... Now my boys are happy, and flea free...
Pros: effective
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Adams Plus Flea & Tick Mist with Insect Growth Regulator
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 36 reviews

I <3 IT!!!!!!!!!!!

October 12, 2010
by ilovepiejk
fromSouthern Cali
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 36 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
1 / 5
1 / 5 36 reviews
this product i use to buy the small bottle and it ran out to fast so i bought the bigger one because its cheaper per oz. PLus u can use it on ANYTHING! ur dog the bedding. i simply love it. and it kills the ticks pretty fast... :D I totally recommend it to anyone. Its better then the rest.
Pros: cheap, can be applied to anything
Cons: dog hates it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Adams Plus Flea & Tick Mist with Insect Growth Regulator
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 36 reviews

September 23, 2010
by Minde
fromCarteret, NJ
Effectiveness 
4 / 5
4 / 5 36 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
1 / 5
1 / 5 36 reviews
I bought this spray so I can use it all over my house, the strong smell disappears shortly after its applied. The bottle says you can spray on your pet, so I decided to try it on my cat. I only sprayed once and I could tell she HATED it. A cat naturally cleans herself so my cat ended up licking it, I DID NOT like the reaction. I quickly gave her a bath to get the spray off. I would use this spray around the house but def not on my baby.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Adams Plus Flea & Tick Mist with Insect Growth Regulator
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 36 reviews

WOW!

September 18, 2010
by APBTaliva
fromMerced, CA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 36 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 36 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
I found a flea on one of my dogs and bought shampoo, topical solution, and Adams Flea and Tick Mist. I sprayed the dog's beds and the carpet. Prior to washing my dogs and treating them with the topical solution, I sprayed them both with the Adams Flea and Tick Mist. WOW! One of my dogs is white and within seconds of spraying him I could see the fleas rising to the top of his fur and falling off!!! I was discussed and pleased all at the same time!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Adams Plus Flea & Tick Mist with Insect Growth Regulator
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 36 reviews

works good so far

August 25, 2010
by StacyA
fromIndiana
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
4 / 5
4 / 5 36 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5 36 reviews
I used this on my cat and fleas where falling off - So far I'm happy with this spray
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 next