PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Veterinarian's Best Hot Spot Itch Relief Spray

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Veterinarian's Best Hot Spot Itch Relief Spray

Therapeutic spray used to stop the itching and discomfort from flea allergy dermatitis and pollen allergies. For dogs over 10 weeks of age.
Overall rating:
4.8 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(10 reviews) 10
10 of 10(100%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Veterinarian's Best Hot Spot Itch Relief Spray
Review 1 for Veterinarian's Best Hot Spot Itch Relief Spray
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 10 reviews

Good

July 30, 2011
by CJoy
fromSan Jose, CA
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
4 / 5
4 / 5 10 reviews
My 12 year old Jindo dog was suffering from some crazy hot spots. This summer has been the first time she has ever gotten them, so I was really scared about them especially since she was so miserable and uncomfortable.
I got this spray after reading other reviews and products since this seemed to be the best. Although my dog doesn't like sprays, I was able to spray it on her hot spots which was soothing and nonirriating for a little bit. I think this product works, but it has TEA TREE OIL in it, which I found out after can be pretty toxic to humans and dogs. I think my dog did seem a little bit lethargic after I sprayed this on her too...
**This product does help soothe hotspots and ceases itching for a bit but just BE AWARE THAT IT HAS tea tree oil in it, so just keep an eye on your dog and do NOT spray too much... And do not let them ingest it! Also I suggest getting a separate spray bottle, since the nozzle is not the greatest.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Veterinarian's Best Hot Spot Itch Relief Spray
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 10 reviews

Finally stopped the scratching!

July 28, 2011
by ChipsMom
fromBaltimore, MD
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 10 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
My Maltese mix started scratching non-stop in early July. I went from looking for fleas, to buying a hydrating shampoo to changing flea medication. The new flea medication just made the scratching worse. I have the Vet's Best Allergy Itch Relief shampoo which seemed to calm the scratching temporarily. After speaking to my college friend in veterinary school, we concluded that he may have allergies to grass pollen, as his itching began in July. After I sprayed him ONCE in each itchy spot with this spray, he has not scratched again in a week. I must say I am pretty impressed with this product and have been recommending it to my friends.
Pros: works great, price, easy to administer
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Veterinarian's Best Hot Spot Itch Relief Spray
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 10 reviews

Incredible Itch Relief!

July 21, 2011
by HealthyByNature
fromWadsworth/Sharon, OH
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 10 reviews
This is a great product! Our German Shepherd Dogs (from Germany) always seem to suffer in Summer from some kind of skin allergy. They itch, bite and lick their underbellies and inner side of their thighs raw. They literally wake us up at night from all the perpetual licking and biting. We even had one female who, by mid-Summer each year, would develop hives on her paws which so intensely irritated her that she would literally gnaw the pads right off her paws in her attempt to "scratch her itch". In the past, we have had expensive allergy testing done, tried cortisone and steroid shots, pricey meds, etc., all to no avail. Allergy testing provided no conclusive diagnosis, yet after many years, our GSDs Summer skin reactions persist. We have always used organic law care products and have carefully refined/regulated their diets. So the only thing left to conclude is that they must have a grass/pollen allergy of some kind. While it is still frustrating to not know conclusively what their Summer allergy stems from, at least we know what helps. We had always used Hot Spot for smaller areas of irritation and liked how well it worked. It finally occurred to us to simply start applying it to them everywhere and see if it would stem the seasonal allergy issues. And it has! THIS IS THE ONE THING THAT WORKS TO STOP THEIR ITCHING! They sleep through the night. They run and play through the day. All now with very few interruptions for itching and scratching. We simply spray this on to their underbellies and paws and rub it in... the dogs love it and happily lay down for their twice-a-day applications. Completely natural. Smells great. Summer is much happier now in our family for humans and German Shepherds alike!
Pros: works great, price, easy to administer
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Veterinarian's Best Hot Spot Itch Relief Spray
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 10 reviews

Seems to work!

May 9, 2011
by kgv1
fromFt. Lauderdale, FL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
4 / 5
4 / 5 10 reviews
I've been using this spray for about a week on my Golden Retriever's itchy spots (belly and inner hindquarters) that she gets from contact with grass. There are many dogs in our building and the small grassy area where we walk them must have tons of urine on the ground. This product isn't the quick fix others mentioned but it has helped a lot. She was up all night chewing on herself and scratching her belly and this product helped to calm that. The spots are less red and irritated. The first few days I used as directed, about 3-4 times a day and now that she's scratching less, about 1-2 times a day. I like that it's a natural product and doesn't cost an arm and a leg! My dog seems to like the smell lol. We're moving soon and will have our own yard but in the meantime this spray is helping a lot with her hot spots.
Pros: works great, price, easy to administer
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Veterinarian's Best Hot Spot Itch Relief Spray
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 10 reviews

Great Hotspot Treatment

October 7, 2010
by Rosy
fromCalifornia
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 10 reviews
I was recommended this product by a Petsmart Associate and I took it home and used it on my Golden Retriever/Lab Mix and it worked great. The trick it to check your pet regularly to make sure he doesn't have sores, if you notice a hotspot right away, spray this one and within 1 -2 application it helps. It takes away the itch, instantly. I have recommended this to family and Friends who's pet's have had Hotspot issues.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Veterinarian's Best Hot Spot Itch Relief Spray
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 10 reviews

NEW LOOK!

July 22, 2010
by Tracie
fromKnoxville
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 10 reviews
I just ran to petsmart to get this product after all the wonderful reviews and had a heck of a time finding it. I was looking for a bottle with a picture of lassie on it..but it looks different now. So for all those people with a visual memory, it's now in a green bottle with a white label, very much like the vet's best hot spot foam spray.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Veterinarian's Best Hot Spot Itch Relief Spray
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 10 reviews

Miracle Spray!

May 14, 2010
by greenbicycle
fromSt. Petersburg, Florida
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 10 reviews
I have a one year old, black lab/newfoundland mix who has extremely sensitive skin. She's been having trouble with hot spots for several months and has had little response to treatment (changing her food helped, too). The vet suggested expensive antibiotics every time the problem returned, which upset her stomach. She was itching all night and pulling out her hair. My friend lent me this spray and my dog slept through the entire night. By morning, the red spots on her stomach were gone and the sores had not gotten worse. This is an amazing product, even though it only has three ingredients!
Pros: gentle, natural, highly effective, fast working
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Veterinarian's Best Hot Spot Itch Relief Spray
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 10 reviews

Great Spray!

September 21, 2009
by lovemydogsinomaha
fromOmaha, NE
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 10 reviews
My dog has seasonal allergies which get pretty bad in the spring & fall. He will chew his leg, tail & paws raw. This past spring I had to take him to my vet twice to have hot spots cleaned up & treated. He was given a steroid shot to help, along with a spray for the hot spots. It was pretty expensive! Last week I noticed he was chewing his paws & he was starting walk like his paws were bothering him. Thankfully there were no sores yet. I was out of the spray my vet gave me & the over the counter allergy pills he gets daily weren't helping. I debated about taking him to the vet for the shot becuase I knew I would be charged for an exam which he didn't really need. I looked online & found this spray so I thought I would give it a try after looking at the reviews. My dog didn't enjoy having it sprayed on his paws or the smell, but in just a day or two his paws were looking so much better & he was back to walking like he normally does! This product seemed to help minimize the itching & scratching, as well as keeping him from chewing. It's great & I would recommend it for seasonal allergies. I'll definitely start using when I first notice him chewing from now on!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Veterinarian's Best Hot Spot Itch Relief Spray
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 10 reviews

September 10, 2007
by linzo
fromKansas City, MO
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 10 reviews
This seems to help alot with my dogs allergies. I have spent alot of money at the vet and this seems to still be the best thing to treat her and recomend it to anyone. It has a strong wierd smell, but you get used to it after a few uses. It's very worth it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Veterinarian's Best Hot Spot Itch Relief Spray
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 10 reviews

Fabulous Product

December 12, 2006
by RosiesMomma
fromPiney Woods of East Texas
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 10 reviews
I HAVE recommended this product to many friends. Not only does it relieve my poodle - Rosie's - insane scratching from her flea allergies, we learned something really interesting!
Last summer we were riding around the neighborhood on our Mule (Kawasaki Mule) - being swarmed by mosquitos and gnats. We went back to the house for something to drink and picked up Rosie - whom I had sprayed down a bit earlier. On our second ride that evening we noticed that the mosquitos left us alone! We were amazed and deduced that it was the spray on the dog warding them off. My hubby is allergic to ordinary human style commercial products such as OFF or Deet - they actually cause sunburn-like blisters. So we tried using the dog's spray on ourselves and it worked! No blisters and better yet - no mosquitos!! Now he carries "Hot Spot & Itch Spray" to work at the golf course, although he disguised the label!!
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.