PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Ware Mfg 2-Level Medium Clean Living Small Pet Cage with Rolling Base

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Ware Mfg 2-Level Medium Clean Living Small Pet Cage with Rolling Base

Provide your guinea pig, chinchilla or ferret with space to roam, while keeping his cage clean.
Overall rating:
4.538 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(26 reviews) 26
21 of 26(81%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Ware Mfg 2-Level Medium Clean Living Small Pet Cage with Rolling Base
Review 1 for Ware Mfg 2-Level Medium Clean Living Small Pet Cage with Rolling Base
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 26 reviews

Highly Recommended!

January 25, 2013
by SarahK
fromRaleigh, NC
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Ease of Assembly 
5 / 5
5 / 5 26 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
5 / 5
5 / 5 26 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 26 reviews
My husband and I bought this cage for our rats about 3 years ago and it still looks brand new. Our rats were old and have since passed and we have adopted a chinchilla and we are using this cage as a temporary cage while our new chin gets used to our current one and we can house them together. I love this cage, it is so easy to clean and keep clean. It is very durable and looks great. Highly recommended!
Pros: easy to clean, sturdy, stylish
Cons: price
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Ware Mfg 2-Level Medium Clean Living Small Pet Cage with Rolling Base
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 26 reviews

February 13, 2012
by Abby89
fromWestchester, NY
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Ease of Assembly 
5 / 5
5 / 5 26 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
5 / 5
5 / 5 26 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 26 reviews
I bought this cage for my chinchilla Elle. She loves it! I bout the 6-level one and it gives her a lot of space to run and jump about. My only con is there should be a scatter guard system for all the levels.
Pros: stylish, easy to clean, sturdy
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Ware Mfg 2-Level Medium Clean Living Small Pet Cage with Rolling Base
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 26 reviews

Convinient

January 14, 2011
by RossFamily
fromGeorgia
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Ease of Assembly 
3 / 5
3 / 5 26 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
5 / 5
5 / 5 26 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 26 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
I bought this cage for my pet ferret and she loves it and it is convinient because it has easy cleaning and it doesnt make the litter fly out of the cage whenever she is digging in the litter box. If your ferret doesnt use a litter box, it is hard to clean the droppings...it gets caught in the wire and it is difficult to get out because of the plastic lining around the cage. It is great also because you can always add on another two levels with this cage fo only $40.00! I recently did this and it is awesome! All in all, this cage is superior to othercages because of its ability to get bigger and bigger!
Pros: add on levels, great for preventing messes, good cleaning if you have a litter box
Cons: no instructions included in box, hard to assemble, droppings get in wire if you dont have litter pan
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Ware Mfg 2-Level Medium Clean Living Small Pet Cage with Rolling Base
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 26 reviews

Great cage!

January 2, 2011
by joshgipson18
fromChipley, Florida
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Ease of Assembly 
5 / 5
5 / 5 26 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
5 / 5
5 / 5 26 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 26 reviews
This really is a great cage. Everything is as described and I would definitely recommend this cage to anyone with a small animal. The only problem that I have with the cage is that for a ferret, it's kind of small. It looked pretty big when I was assembling it but after I put the litter box and everything else in it, there wasn't a whole lot of room left for my ferret, but other than that, it's a great cage!
Pros: easy to assemble, easy to clean, great quality, great for small animals
Cons: a little too small for a ferret
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Ware Mfg 2-Level Medium Clean Living Small Pet Cage with Rolling Base
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 26 reviews

very good for rats

April 17, 2010
by willow1433
fromdallas, tx
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Ease of Assembly 
5 / 5
5 / 5 26 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
4 / 5
4 / 5 26 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 26 reviews
i got this cage plus the two add ons for 8 female rattys. its came soon and it was the easiest cage in the world to assembel. it is a god cage, good quality and easy to clean. if u have adult rats is a must have cage, but if your rats are small you might want to wait a bit therefore the ll ones can fit out the bars. loves to frolic tho. i am very satisfied and recomend all rat owners get this cage
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Ware Mfg 2-Level Medium Clean Living Small Pet Cage with Rolling Base
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 26 reviews

Perfect for my rats!

March 10, 2010
by ilovemyratties
fromLas Vegas, NV
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Ease of Assembly 
4 / 5
4 / 5 26 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
3 / 5
3 / 5 26 reviews
I work at a PetSmart and unfortunately people like to dump their animals in our store all the time...so I ended up with two adult rats. This cage is perfect for them! The bars are too far apart for my newer rat, but for bigger rats I highly recommend it!
The ADDITIONAL LEVELS which allow the cage to be expanded are great as well!
Pros: the litter guard keeps litter in the cage., floors are not wire! (can lead to bumblefoot), animals like rats can climb the walls
Cons: requires full disassembly for thorough cleaning.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Ware Mfg 2-Level Medium Clean Living Small Pet Cage with Rolling Base
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 26 reviews

What a great cage!

January 19, 2010
by soccermom78
fromNorth Carolina
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Ease of Assembly 
5 / 5
5 / 5 26 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
5 / 5
5 / 5 26 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 26 reviews
We got this cage for a guinea pig. It is big and roomy. He loves it and so do we. We fixed the floor grates by covering it in printer paper and then put the piggy's fleece blanket on top with the bedding. We took out the ramp and shelf to make it roomier and easier to clean. We use the bottom drawer for the storage of any piggy supplies we can fit in it. It took me all of 5 minutes to put it together. There is enough room for his house, food bowl, water bottle, chew toys, and left over room for him to "popcorn" around in there. To clean, all we have to do is unsnap the wire cage from the plastic base and pull the blanket out to wash and replace the paper and bedding. Everyone who sees it can't believe we got such a great deal on it.
Pros: cost, size
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Ware Mfg 2-Level Medium Clean Living Small Pet Cage with Rolling Base
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 26 reviews

Clean Living, but not so easy cleaning.

January 17, 2010
by BuffyandAngelsMom
fromSeattle, WA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Ease of Assembly 
2 / 5
2 / 5 26 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
2 / 5
2 / 5 26 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 26 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Pros:
The cage seems to be well built and of good quality. It would probably last a long time.
Keeps pets out of their waste.
Cons:
Too small for most animals. They need room to exercise.
Very difficult to get together. Instructions not very clear.
Extremely difficult to keep clean! Our bunny always used the corners. The waste would collect in the nooks and cranies which caused us to have to take the entire thing apart to clean it. A basic solid bottom with a litter box is much easier to clean.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Ware Mfg 2-Level Medium Clean Living Small Pet Cage with Rolling Base
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 26 reviews

December 19, 2009
by Gpig
fromtexas, TX
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Ease of Assembly 
5 / 5
5 / 5 26 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
5 / 5
5 / 5 26 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 26 reviews
the shipping made a few dents in the cage, but in other words it is very cool. The holes at the bottom are a little uncompertable for my guinea pigs. It is very easy to clean with the littler pan. BIG! I loved the big sale it had on it. I hope this reviewing helped you make a choice. If i were you I would buy it before the sale ends.
PS, I tryed 2 petsmarts and they did not have it, + it might not have it on sale if you try the store.
Pros: very easy to clean
Cons: it is a little steep for my guinea pigs
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Ware Mfg 2-Level Medium Clean Living Small Pet Cage with Rolling Base
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 26 reviews

huge!!!!!!

August 16, 2009
by ilovemyguineapigcletus
fromhuntsville,al
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Ease of Assembly 
5 / 5
5 / 5 26 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
4 / 5
4 / 5 26 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 26 reviews
humungos it was so easy to assemble
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Ware Mfg 2-Level Medium Clean Living Small Pet Cage with Rolling Base
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 26 reviews

Awsome cage!!!

July 24, 2009
by Ferretlover3221
fromBuffalo, NY
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Ease of Assembly 
4 / 5
4 / 5 26 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
5 / 5
5 / 5 26 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 26 reviews
This cage is absolutly amazing, i ordered it online a few days ago and just got it today. It was alittle bit tricky to assemble but when I was finnaly finished putting it togather, it was sooooo beautiful! Also, for a cage titled "medium sized" its pretty big! I would recommend this cage to anyone with a ferret!!!
Pros: beautiful
Cons: triky to assemble
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Ware Mfg 2-Level Medium Clean Living Small Pet Cage with Rolling Base
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 26 reviews

excellent cage!

June 3, 2009
by AnnaxBear
fromOntario, Canada
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Ease of Assembly 
5 / 5
5 / 5 26 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
4 / 5
4 / 5 26 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 26 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
I really love this cage. It assembled very easily and the quality is excellent. The cleaning is good, except for when i pull out the tray, the excess hay thats in the cage falls to the ground, but that's okay i suppose. This is definitely an amazing cage. :) Absolutely love it.
Pros: mess guards, 2nd level with ramp, wheels, slide-out litter tray
Cons: hay in cage falls out when cleaning tray
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Ware Mfg 2-Level Medium Clean Living Small Pet Cage with Rolling Base
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 26 reviews

Perfect for Chinchillas/Guineapigs

April 9, 2009
by MySoapMarks
fromBristol, CT
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Ease of Assembly 
5 / 5
5 / 5 26 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
4 / 5
4 / 5 26 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 26 reviews
I bought this online for my hamster. The spacing of the bars is too far. He can't use it, but I've always wanted a chinchilla and now I have a cage for him! I thought this was very easy tp put together. The wire cage is one piece. I unfolded it and put it in place. The clips on the sides to hold the cage in place were a bit difficult to clip on, but it only took a minute. The bedding guard was easy to assemble. It was a little difficult to slip every spot in place, but it was easier that those side clips! The top snapped on very easily. For the shelf, I suggest putting the ramp on and then clicking the shelf in place. I found that to be easy. I'm not too crazy about the floor. The holes seem odd, but you can remove the "sifter" (it is two pieces and a bar is in the middle so you should keep them). I didn't add the casters, but they seem easy to clip in. I bought the add-on levels as well so the cage is huge. It is very good quality.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Ware Mfg 2-Level Medium Clean Living Small Pet Cage with Rolling Base
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 26 reviews

Perfect for Ferret

March 4, 2009
by luther34
fromIndy
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Ease of Assembly 
4 / 5
4 / 5 26 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
5 / 5
5 / 5 26 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 26 reviews
I got this cage for my ferret. It's the perfect size. The wheels make it easy to move and the guards on the outside prevent litter from being kicked out the side. I didn't find the pull out tray all that useful since ferrets use a litter box, but I could see how it would be usefull for a pet that doesn't.
Pros: wheels, high sides
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Ware Mfg 2-Level Medium Clean Living Small Pet Cage with Rolling Base
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 26 reviews

The only Ferret cage you should ever buy!

February 25, 2009
by Chickymama
fromKnoxville, TN
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Ease of Assembly 
5 / 5
5 / 5 26 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
5 / 5
5 / 5 26 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 26 reviews
I did my homework and found this cage with the ability to add a level for under $100! The basic set up is perfect for one critter, add a level and its perfect for 2, etc. The slide out drawer makes clean up a breaze.
The cage itself is elegant enough to sit out in plain sight - ours sits in the corner of our living room ontop of a rubbermaid 3 drawer storage center. Our Ferret can swing in her hammock and watch tv!
The cage also has a scatter gaurd to prevent any litter or food from being kicked out.
Seriously, dont spend a fortune on a fancy cage that will be either too bulky or difficult to clean - this one is PERFECT!
Pros: easy to clean, has the ability to grow as tall as you want it, plenty of ferrety playspace, simple and elegant in design, affordable affordable affordable, scatter gaurd - need i say more?!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Ware Mfg 2-Level Medium Clean Living Small Pet Cage with Rolling Base
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 26 reviews

Great Cage for A Guinea Pig!!!

February 12, 2009
by AshleyG
fromColumbus, OH
Ease of Assembly 
4 / 5
4 / 5 26 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
4 / 5
4 / 5 26 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 26 reviews
I just bought this cage for my guinea pig. It took a little effort to put together, and the directions were useless, but it was not too bad considering the cage. I was really impressed with the quality of the cage and the materials used in making it.
I agree with other reviews that the holes in the bottom of the cage may be too large for a guinea pig's sensitive feet, so we decided to cover the bottom with a few sheets of newspaper and then put bedding on top of that. In the drawer, we also put some litter because some of his droppings will drip down there. It seems like it is going to be very easy to clean and maintain.
My guinea pig refused to use the ramp at first because it was too slippery. But there is an easy and inexpensive fix for this. We bought a rug and then used heavy duty velcro to attach it to the ramp (so that we could change it when necessary). Our guinea pig instantly ran up the new and improved ramp and it is now probably his favorite part of the cage.
Overall, the cage is great. There is plenty of room for our guinea pig to run around and I really like that his food bowl can be on the upper level and away from his bedding and potty. I would highly recommend this cage, but if you are getting it for a guinea pig, you will probably have to do something to the ramp so that it is not too slippery for your little guy or girl! :-)
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Ware Mfg 2-Level Medium Clean Living Small Pet Cage with Rolling Base
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 26 reviews

Lenny Loves it!

June 26, 2008
by luvscritters
fromThe L.C. FL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Ease of Assembly 
5 / 5
5 / 5 26 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
4 / 5
4 / 5 26 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 26 reviews
Our guinea pig Lenny loves everything but the 2nd level. He likes to sleep behind the ramp rather than in his log. I think it's a great cage with only a few minor draw backs. The litter guard... I'm only using 3/4 of it so that we had a place to put his water bottle that was easy to get to. The drawer does help with the cleaning! And the price was right comparatively speaking!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Ware Mfg 2-Level Medium Clean Living Small Pet Cage with Rolling Base
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 26 reviews

Way too small, costs way more than it should

October 26, 2007
by AmyC
fromCalifornia
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Ease of Assembly 
5 / 5
5 / 5 26 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
2 / 5
2 / 5 26 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 26 reviews
This cage is too small for anything but maybe a large rat or a small, single guinea pig. I was looking for a cage for my two piggies that was easy to clean, and I found this. It went together easily, but my piggies were afraid to use the ram. They finally went up with a little coaxing. Despite claiming being easy to clean, I found this actually takes more work than your standard small animal cage. Since small animals like to go in the corners, you have to take the whole thing apart to get all the waste. My piggies lived in it for one week, only as long as it took to find a bigger cage.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Ware Mfg 2-Level Medium Clean Living Small Pet Cage with Rolling Base
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 26 reviews

Piggies Love this

July 15, 2007
by MarriedonGoliath777
fromConyers, GA
Ease of Assembly 
5 / 5
5 / 5 26 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
4 / 5
4 / 5 26 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 26 reviews
My pigs became instantly interested in the ramp and hopped up to get to the food. The litter does fall through the small holes, so the next time, I just put some litter in the bottom tray (first wrapping the tray with a garbage liner) . Works great. Pigs do not seem to have any problem with the small holes. A solution if they ever do start to have problems is to place a couple small pieces of corrugated plastic under the loft area. Personally the trade off between small grates under their feet as opposed to their standing in soiled litter is well worth it.
I got this cage at the store for 20 off. I want another and cannot get it no matter WHAT store I visit. If you can get it for the 59 dollar price point it is even more worth it!
The rollers make it awesome as these are classroom pets during the school year and they can move to be near the student of the day, or to the far end of the room when administrators come in. Lack of smell is a great thing also.
Two thumbs up!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Ware Mfg 2-Level Medium Clean Living Small Pet Cage with Rolling Base
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 26 reviews

Ware Ferret cage

June 24, 2007
by Reinivai
fromWheeking, IL
Ease of Assembly 
5 / 5
5 / 5 26 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
4 / 5
4 / 5 26 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 26 reviews
Ok so this is my first cage I got for my ferret Squall so far it hasn't broken down yet. He hasn't broken out yet as well. Thank godness. But the fact that he is getting bigger I'm going to have to get the add a level product they sell. I'm not too sure I can place more then him in the cage. I took out the bottom cover which it was a big help keeping most of the stuff in as well. But a last some dose get out. Hint put a small towel or rug under the cage. The ramp it kinda pointless ferrets don't really use it they can just climb up with out using it. But The only real down side to this cage is that it dosen't have enough room for more then just one ferret. If your thinking about haveing only one ferret then this cage is perfect. If not get a diffrent cage.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
1 2 next