PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for The Almost Indestructible Ball Dog Toy

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

The Almost Indestructible Ball Dog Toy

Here's one for the big guys or the tough chewers! A hi-impact, polyethylene ball that stands up to the toughest play.
Overall rating:
4.239 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(88 reviews) 83
74 of 88(84%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for The Almost Indestructible Ball Dog Toy
Review 1 for The Almost Indestructible Ball Dog Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 88 reviews

large indestructible ball

September 14, 2011
by ggopp
fromFestus, Mo
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 88 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 88 reviews
The last one I bought was two years ago. It is for two large Rottweilers. They both play with it on a daily basis. They have finally worked it over enough to get a hole it. It has with stood more abuse than I ever imagined it could. I am very satisfied with the toy and I am ordering another one today.
Pros: durable, Keeps Pet Entertained, easy to wash
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Almost Indestructible Ball Dog Toy
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 88 reviews

WHAT'S WRONG WITH IT!

August 3, 2011
by xMOONx
fromLouisiana
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Pet Satisfaction 
1 / 5
1 / 5 88 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 88 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
I bought the large red ball for my Dobies & Pit Bull--they smelled of it and haven't looked at it since. Don't know why they don't like it because they play with anything. Just knew this would be a great-tuff toy for them.
Pros: durable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Almost Indestructible Ball Dog Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 88 reviews

Almost indestructible

July 29, 2011
by Rubetube
fromchicago
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 88 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 88 reviews
this ball is awesome. my dog loved it from day one. but i've only had the ball for about 4 days and my 1 year old pitbull seems to be destroying this ball. i give this ball a month before my dog destroys it witch is ok with me because she breaks her toys with in 2-5 days.
Pros: durable, Keeps Pet Entertained, easy to wash
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Almost Indestructible Ball Dog Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 88 reviews

Dogs Favorite Toy!

June 30, 2011
by Denise22
fromPA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 88 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 88 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I bought this over 9months ago... and my dog is STILL loving it. I bought both sizes.. and he perfers the big red ball, but plays with them both. This is an outside toy!!!
I have a 14 month old Pit Bull, and everytime he goes in the yard he pounces right on the big red ball. Its too big to fit in his mouth, but he's found a way to pick it up.. he wedges his teeth in the little opening hole on the ball and clamps down and carries it around.
I have thrown away so many toys he's destroyed, but this was a great investment. He loves it.. he doesnt get tired of it.. and it lasts long! The ball does get scratched up from teeth and claw marks (and gets dirty), but it still holds up and does the job!
Pros: durable, Keeps Pet Entertained, easy to wash
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Almost Indestructible Ball Dog Toy
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 88 reviews

"Almost Indestructible" is right....

June 23, 2011
by becuz34
fromNY
I decided on purchasing the 10" ball for my 1.5 yr old german shepherd/blue heeler mix. He hurds it around the backyard and tries to bite it to pick it up. The large design and hard material helps prevent them from being able to bit it. The only flaw is that there is a recessed plug (probably for manufacturing reasons) that allows my dog to get his teath into which stops the ball from spinning when he tries to bite it. This has allowed him to shred the plastic to where he can bit the strands and pick the ball up. This was all achieved within the first 10 minutes of play.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Almost Indestructible Ball Dog Toy
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 88 reviews

Been Sitting In Our Yard For Months

May 17, 2011
by libyc
fromSacramento, CA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Pet Satisfaction 
1 / 5
1 / 5 88 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 88 reviews
The first day Cybil, our German Shepherd Dog, thought the ball was "interesting" and even chased it a couple of times when I kicked it across the yard, but that was it. It's been sitting in the yard for months now. She couldn't care less about it even though I've tried throwing and kicking it for her. So, sure it lasts. It's never played with. Other toys though she LOVES. She ended up loving the smaller blue rubber ball that can't be torn apart and that bounces funny, but we didn't think she would so we rated it lower than we should have. PetSmart doesn't allow editing of comments though.
Pros: durable
Cons: didn't work
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Almost Indestructible Ball Dog Toy
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 88 reviews

A toy that actually lasts

March 21, 2011
by Natawnie
fromSouthwest Florida
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 88 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 88 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
I bought the 10" ball & this is the very first toy/ball I've gotten my 2 pitbull puppies (9 months) that has actually survived more than a couple days! I've had it for 2 months so far and it's still going strong with very few scratches on it. I'd recommend it to anyone who has a dog that typically destroys everything else!
** Definitely an outside toy. It's hard plastic makes way too much noise inside.
Pros: durable, Keeps Pet Entertained, easy to wash
Cons: loud
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Almost Indestructible Ball Dog Toy
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 88 reviews

True to name

January 17, 2011
by Corgi
fromBuffalo, NY
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 88 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 88 reviews
The ball is true to its name. However the ball is very noisy if you have non-carpeted floors of any kind. Also, if your dog chases this ball around and runs it into the walls or furniture frequently, it also will be noisy.
Pros: indestructible so far
Cons: very noisy
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Almost Indestructible Ball Dog Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 88 reviews

My pitbull is obsessed with this ball!

December 25, 2010
by Pitties51
fromRhode Island
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 88 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 88 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
I gave my new rescued pitbull the larger (reddish-orange) Indestructible Ball for Christmas. It is very, very hard -- not recommended for indoor play unless you have padded walls. Yogi went crazy for this ball. He spent nearly a half-hour chasing it around our dead-end street, into the fields, etc. It's too big for his jaws to grab and too hard for him to puncture or make a dent in it. Wonderful exercise for a strong dog! (This is a dog who has destroyed two heavy crates so far -- but not the ball!) I may order the smaller blue one, as well.
Pros: tough colorful stimulating great exercise
Cons: too hard to safely kick
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Almost Indestructible Ball Dog Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 88 reviews

Great fun

October 21, 2010
by ladyrowan2
fromPhoenix, AZ
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
We have a German Shepard that loves balls. Unfortunately every ball we've purchased has been destroyed typically in less than a day. This is not your throw and go fetch ball. We purchased both the 12" and 6" ball. The 12" is great for outside. I can throw the ball out there and he'll play soccer for hours and bark at the ball. The 12" is too big for him to get his mouth around, but after over a year there is nothing wrong with it but some scratches on the outside. The 6" ball also has some scratches and it not as much of a favorite as the larger ball. He has figured out how to pick up the smaller ball now using the scratches to hang onto it.
Pros: difficult to destroy, great for soccer style play
Cons: not a throw and fetch ball
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Almost Indestructible Ball Dog Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 88 reviews

Pit Bull Obsession

September 8, 2010
by ALC811
fromMississippi
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 88 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 88 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
My 5 year old pit bull received the 12" ball for Christmas when he was one. His obsession with this toy has been very comical and entertaining, and we quickly learned that it would be an outside only toy. He learned to pick it up by sticking his front incisor in the hole at the top. He loved to play soccer with it, lick at it, and tote it around(everywhere). After 4 years, the hole got bigger, and the ball is now torn into small pieces that have to be trashed. I will definitely be buying him another one! Any toy that can last 4 years of rough pit bull play deserves 5 stars all around!
Pros: long lasting, indestructible
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Almost Indestructible Ball Dog Toy
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 88 reviews

Worth the buy!

June 10, 2010
by StellaBella
fromConroe, TX
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Pet Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5 88 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 88 reviews
My dog loved this toy at first, but now doesn't play with it quite as often. I think she just prefers the toys she can carry around. She's a heavy chewer so I'm just happy that this one has lasted a month. She likes to play with this in the house but it's heavy and makes a lot of noise when it hits walls and metal food bowls. She occasionally plays with it outside as well. She has managed to scratch the outside of the ball with her teeth, but no real damage. I bought this along with the "Jolly Ball Teaser Ball" and a "Nylabone Double Action Chews". All 3 are worth buying, and I've given good reviews for each of them. It's just nice to have paid for toys that have lasted more than 10 mins!
Pros: durable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Almost Indestructible Ball Dog Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 88 reviews

March 14, 2010
by zita
fromCentral, KS
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 88 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 88 reviews
Our Cane Corso loves this ball,she plays with it til she's wore out & keeps on playing. I agree with others on this is an outdoor toy. We've had other balls & she had them done for in 30 min or less. This ball is well worth the money. I recommend this to anybody who has a dog with sharp teeth & loves to chew & play.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Almost Indestructible Ball Dog Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 88 reviews

Pit Bull Proof (so far)

January 19, 2010
by PitOwner
fromrural Washington state
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 88 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 88 reviews
The ONLY toy that has held up to my pit bull for 3 years. She immediately learned how to lodge her eye tooth into the small depression on top so she can pick it up and run away with it but she has never been able to actually chew it up ... unlike even the super Kong toys. She has become quite the skillful soccer player, using her front legs, and it is great exercise for both of us. NOT an inside toy but her favorite outside toy, for sure.
Pros: durable
Cons: can't be used inside
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Almost Indestructible Ball Dog Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 88 reviews

Fun in the backyard

December 3, 2009
by Lestan
fromIN
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Pet Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5 88 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 88 reviews
My golden loves to punt this ball around the yard with her paws. She can't pick this ball up with her mouth because its sooo big. But its fun to watch her attack the ball and push it around the yard. My only problem with this ball is I worry she might get hurt because of its large size and hardness.
Pros: hours of fun, durable
Cons: possible injury if not careful
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Almost Indestructible Ball Dog Toy
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 88 reviews

Very tough BUT....

November 4, 2009
by Lalaloh
fromPlumas Lake, CA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 88 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 88 reviews
I bought this (10") for my pitbull about 2 years ago, and although it is extremely tough, you have to be careful about where you let your dog play with it. I learned the hard way. My dog broke the mirror on one of my mirrored wardrobe doors at my old house when she was chasing it, so now we dont let her play with it inside. When she is outside with it, it almost immediately goes into the pool. Because she cant get her mouth around it, she pulls it under her body with her front legs and doesnt have alot of control over it. My suggestion would be to get the smaller one so dogs have a little more control over it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Almost Indestructible Ball Dog Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 88 reviews

October 21, 2009
by RHammack
fromSheridan, IN
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 88 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 88 reviews
I bought two of these balls and have had them now for ten years and they have went through four masstiffs and an english bulldog. This is not a ball that is meant to throw and you have to have a fenced backyard when they play with it. Ours have big hole in the top so they can be torn through (but considered the size of dog) but, my dogs still play with these for hours. Every dog we have owned seems to love these. They like to bat them arround with their heads and I think it drives them crazy that they can't pick them up. I think these are the best toy especailly for ball crazy dogs.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Almost Indestructible Ball Dog Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 88 reviews

Finally!

October 7, 2009
by Chato05
fromAustin, Tx
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 88 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 88 reviews
I know everyone has something to say and has probably heard this alot about this toy but it "is" amazing! I have two american pitbull terriers m/f the boy is 4 and huge and the girl is 2 medium size well they would go like 8 mins with a kong toy (together i might add) and destroy it REALLY!
when i saw this toy i was a little sceptical at first but when i brought it home it took 5 mins for my dogs to be chasing it around the back yard untill they we're absolutly beat. i love this toy it keeps my dogs entertaind for hours. give it a try if you have tough chewers most likely you and dog will be happy you did.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Almost Indestructible Ball Dog Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 88 reviews

Almost Indestructible Ball

September 21, 2009
by GERCH629
fromCamp Lejeune, NC
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 88 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 88 reviews
We have a 4 year old female pit bull (65 pounds) who we have spent a FORTUNE on buying her chewing toys and balls........she just destroyed her ultra kong toy in like 2 weeks.........we have searched high and low for anything that lasts longer than 1-5 minutes........we used to be able to find a tire that was for power chewers but can't find it anymore........the only ones we can find now don't last more than 1/2 hour ........this ball is a miracle.........it is NOT meant to be used indoors as it is way too hard and will end up breaking your belongings.......i'm sure it is meant to be played with outside......it is a VERY hard ball (we bought the 10" size) and it took about 30 minutes for our dog to figure out how to roll it around the yard.........she rolls it, chases it, flings it up in the air and bounces it off her nose......she will do this for HOURS until she's completely exhausted and we have to bring her in to recooperate..........over the past 2 years we have bought roughly 8 of these for her so far (and are getting ready to order some more) and she absolutely LOVES them...........she is OBSESSED with this ball..............
people who say their dog doesn't play with it have to realize that dogs are like kids (some like some toys and some like other toys)............the ONLY drawback to this ball is with OUR dog she can BARELY get her jaws around this ball (which is a good thing) and after a month or two of playing with it the ball has teeth marks in a circle all around it so when she flings the ball up in the air and bounces it off her nose it'll cut her nose up some...........when it does that it's time to throw the ball out and give her a new one......she loved it so much we gave one to our neighbors dogs hoping they would chase it for hours like ours does (and unfortunately their dogs could care less about this ball)......IT IS BY FAR THE BEST TOY WE'VE FOUND FOR OUR VERY AGGRESSIVE CHEWER............well worth the money!!!!!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Almost Indestructible Ball Dog Toy
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 88 reviews

Dogs not interested at all

August 31, 2009
by Nat256
fromAlabama
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Pet Satisfaction 
2 / 5
2 / 5 88 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 88 reviews
I was very excited when I found this ball recommended on a website for pittbull owners. I bought this ball with the hopes that it would survive my pittbull/lab mix for longer than an hour. I bough the six inch ball but unfortunately it was too big for him to get his mouth around it. It is also very hard. My husband and I played with the ball trying to get any of our six dogs interested in it, and NONE were. In addition to our lab/pitt mix we have 2 black and tan coonhounds, a boxer bulldog, a terrier mix, and a German Shepherd mix. I tried giving it away to my brother for his Boxer bulldog but he asked what the dog was supposed to do with it seeing as it is "too big and too hard". My sister likewise did not want the ball for her two pittbulls and her two labs also citing that it is way too big and also too hard. "How are they supposed to play with it?" she said, "these aren't herding dogs". All of these dogs enjoy playing with balls. However this toy only qualifies as a ball in shape. It cannot be picked up, it cannot be mouthed, it cannot be retrieved at all. If your dog enjoys "soccer" style playing or herding objects then maybe this is the toy for you as I have no doubt that it truly is "amost indestructible". However, if you have a dog who truly enjoys playing ball, i.e. retrieving, mouthing, chewing a ball then save your money and find something else.
Pros: it is tough
Cons: dogs not interested, too big, too hard
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next