PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Sentry(r) Original Formula Flea & Tick Shampoo for Dogs & Puppies

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Sentry(r) Original Formula Flea & Tick Shampoo for Dogs & Puppies

Sentry Original Flea & Tick Shampoo for Dogs kills fleas & ticks for up to 10 days. Kills the ticks that may carry lyme disease. pH balanced for Pet's coat. Cleans, deodorizes and conditions.
Overall rating:
3.3 / 5
3.3
 / 
5
(10 reviews) 10
6 of 10(60%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Sentry(r) Original Formula Flea & Tick Shampoo for Dogs & Puppies
Review 1 for Sentry(r) Original Formula Flea & Tick Shampoo for Dogs & Puppies
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 10 reviews

Flea Killer

July 17, 2012
by CeCeLovesAnd
fromAtlanta, GA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Works very well. Used this on my malti-poo and pulled 6 fleas off him! I didn't know he had that many!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Sentry(r) Original Formula Flea & Tick Shampoo for Dogs & Puppies
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 10 reviews

I wish it worked!

August 5, 2011
by alex09us
fromMiami, FL
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Used this product as directed and saw no results. I even left the shampoo on my dog for longer than directed on the bottle for maximum effectiveness, and still saw no results. After bathing I would check him and still found ticks completely unaffected.
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Sentry(r) Original Formula Flea & Tick Shampoo for Dogs & Puppies
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 10 reviews

Sentry is better than others on the market

September 2, 2010
by Katlvr2003
fromBelleville, MI
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
I purchased a bottle of this shampoo and was pleasantly surprised at it's affectiveness on my chocolate lab. When I finished the bottle, about 5 washings, I purchased another brand at a lesser cost. I can honestly say that I will not make that mistake again. The Sentry shampoo was affective at killing the fleas, smells very pleasant, and leaves my dog's coat very soft. She scratches less after her bath... but remember, shampooing is only one step in flea prevention. Don't forget the treat the living area... The carpet powder is very good also, but you must leave it on at least 24 hours for best results and it has a pleasant scent.
Pros: smells pleasant, easy to use and lathers quickly, rinses clean
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Sentry(r) Original Formula Flea & Tick Shampoo for Dogs & Puppies
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 10 reviews

Does not work!!!!

October 13, 2009
by LICY
fromChicago, IL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
This product does not work. DO NOT BUY IT!!!. It claims to keep your dog flea free for 10 days... it doesn't! Not happy after spending money on this shampoo, on spot treatment as well as a spray for the home, my poor dog still has fleas.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Sentry(r) Original Formula Flea & Tick Shampoo for Dogs & Puppies
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 10 reviews

Kills fleas, smells nice, & coat is soft

September 21, 2009
by Piper1
fromCleveland, OH
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
While waiting to buy Frontline Plus for his monthly application, our beagle ended up getting fleas. I purchased Sentry Flea and Tick Shampoo based upon the previous reviews and costs. We left the shampoo on for more than 5 minutes and then rinsed. All the fleas that were on our beagle were dead! We love this product..effective against fleas, coat is soft, and he doesn't get the beagle smell in a couple of days like most other shampoos we've used in the past. Highly recommend Sentry Flea and Tick Shampoo!
Pros: kills fleas fast
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Sentry(r) Original Formula Flea & Tick Shampoo for Dogs & Puppies
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 10 reviews

shampo

August 8, 2009
by brutusandtrouble
fromsyracuse ny
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
i tried shampo on my small dog didnt work at all
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Sentry(r) Original Formula Flea & Tick Shampoo for Dogs & Puppies
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 10 reviews

GREAT PRODUCT

July 23, 2008
by giatrack
fromConyers,GA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
i went around looking at petsmart after finding sooo many fleas on my dog, he lives in a kennel outside during the day and comes in at night and in the mornings.
i bought him sentry's original blue colored flea and tick shampoo. and shampooed him over twice in one bath. i could see the ticks just falling off and dieing. and some of them came up to touch the shampoo and dieing rapidly. it is a massacre for fleas and ticks. and my dog smells super good and is clean, his coat is very shiny. i am really happy with taking my chances. you do not have to go & buy expensive shampoos. this does the job. as well as sentrys oatmeal shampoo.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Sentry(r) Original Formula Flea & Tick Shampoo for Dogs & Puppies
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 10 reviews

Sentry dog and puppy shampoo

May 26, 2008
by amhetzel
fromAustin, Tx
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
The product kills fleas that are on the dog at bath time but does not kill fleas that are on the dog afterwards. As soon as the dog goes outside again they get covered in fleas. The shampoo smells good and cleans the dog well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Sentry(r) Original Formula Flea & Tick Shampoo for Dogs & Puppies
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 10 reviews

It worked for me

October 29, 2007
by NaomiC
fromSan Diego, CA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I have two small/medium size dogs. One of them had quite a few fleas on her and with her curly fur, it's hard to get them out. We stopped by the store and picked up this shampoo plus a lot of other things to treat and prevent further infestation. But of course, we shampooed them first to make them more comfortable. I don't quite know why it didn't work for the previous reviewer, but it worked just fine for us. I did what the instruction said to worked up a thick lather on the dogs and let it sit for 5 minutes before rinsing off. The fleas were dead before the 5 minutes were up. I can pick them out with hand and see that they are dead. They also floated to the top of bath water when I rinsed the dogs.
Perhaps, I used more than the previous reviewer. After both dogs are done, I have used about 1/5-1/4 of the bottle as my dogs aren't very big (~12-20lbs).
It is true, however, that you cannot use only this shampoo and wish for the flea problem to be gone. Treating the environment and repellent on animals are both necessary to be rid of fleas.
The only thing I didn't like about this product is the fact that it smells like a medicated shampoo but that's honestly to be expected.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Sentry(r) Original Formula Flea & Tick Shampoo for Dogs & Puppies
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 10 reviews

poor product

June 17, 2007
by juju101
fromPhiladelphia, PA
When I brought it I was hope my dog fleas would go away but she still irritated so I wash again her a couple days later and the flea was still a live and still irritated her. This is one of the worst products it brought.
-1point
3of 7voted this as helpful.