PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Sentry Home Household Flea and Tick Spray

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Sentry Home Household Flea and Tick Spray

Kills fleas, ticks, flea eggs, and larvae. Continuous flea protection for 7 months.
Overall rating:
2.667 / 5
2.7
 / 
5
(9 reviews) 9
4 of 9(44%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Sentry Home Household Flea and Tick Spray
Review 1 for Sentry Home Household Flea and Tick Spray
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 9 reviews

Worked for me

January 23, 2011
by BigAl5056
fromDaytona Beach Florida
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 9 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 9 reviews
I got a new dog and a week or two later came the fleas. I bought this Sentry Home Flea spray and followed the directions. We vacumed each day, washed the dog, gave the dog the anti-flea treatment and it worked. You have to do it all and not expect it to work in one week. You must consider the life cycle of the flea and you must break it. After doing my research on the internet I understood what I was facing and committed to doing all the steps. Yes this stuff smells bad, but I am a guy and expect it.
Pros: works, part of total plan
Cons: smells bad
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Sentry Home Household Flea and Tick Spray
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 9 reviews

Horrible!

December 3, 2010
by Chewysmom
fromMichigan
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Effectiveness 
1 / 5
1 / 5 9 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
1 / 5
1 / 5 9 reviews
While this product may or may not work well on fleas, the smell makes me wonder how anybody could spray it on their carpet and upholstery. It is also very oily, so it makes the surfaces very sticky feeling. It literally smells like diesel fuel, so your pets bed may be flea free but sure wouldn't want my dog laying in it.
This is going back to the store first thing, really disappointed with this product.
Pros: non
Cons: horrible smell, very oily
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Sentry Home Household Flea and Tick Spray
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 9 reviews

Buy another Brand

July 19, 2010
by Fleabag
fromHouston, TX
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I purchased a can of this Spray to combat fleas. I have one cat and my small apartment was infested with fleas. I sprayed the whole apartment TWICE with this Sentry Home Spray. The fleas just kept multiplying. I feel that it was a total waste of money. I could have shot darts at the carpet and killed more fleas!
Cons: product did not work
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Sentry Home Household Flea and Tick Spray
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 9 reviews

excellent product

June 25, 2010
by 2mnypts
fromseattle
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I have been in animal care and product sales as a professional husbandry technician, vet tech and behavioral consultant for over 20 yrs. I have sold just about every product on the market and used many of the exceptionally expensive products in my home and on my animals. I have had 3 cats, 2 dogs with thick coats, and several birds, rodents, reptiles and fish. I use this spray twice a year throughout the house and car and never have a problem with fleas for the past 5 yrs for a total spent of $150.00 for flea protection over that period. Price any of the others and you will see this is less than I would pay for 3 months of topical products on just the 2 dogs. It has proven safe around the birds as long as there is no contact and spraying is kept to the floor area. Carpet or wood floor doesn't seem to matter and the growth regulator really does continue working.
Thanks Sentry and Petsmart for a reasonably priced effective pest control product. it works equally well on siverfish, etc. as well.
Pros: price, effectiveness
Cons: i sure miss the time spent battling fleas
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Sentry Home Household Flea and Tick Spray
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 9 reviews

Ineffective

October 7, 2009
by Multiplecatowner4
fromPerry Hall, MD
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Effectiveness 
1 / 5
1 / 5 9 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
1 / 5
1 / 5 9 reviews
I have four persian cats and somehow a flea got in-now I have an infestation. I tried the carpet powder together with this product and the fleas are still multiplying, hopping around and biting me too. Now I'm getting an exterminator. Don't waste your time or your money on this product.
Pros: convenient spray can
Cons: ineffective
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Sentry Home Household Flea and Tick Spray
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 9 reviews

extremely happy

September 16, 2008
by natie
fromLong Beach, CA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I'm surprised that this product has rated just over 2 stars, because I just bought this product four weeks ago, and the results are amazing. I had a severe infestation going on back then, and now; after Sentry, I've seen under ten fleas, in about five days. Compared to what it was like four weeks ago, it's heaven now. I will/would recommend this product to any and all, the way that nice lady did, while I was at Petsmart, Signal Hill, CA. Ever since then, I've thanked God for running into that nice lady, on that day!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Sentry Home Household Flea and Tick Spray
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 9 reviews

sentry flea & tick spray

June 30, 2008
by kathiemarie
fromcentral NJ
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
We used this spray in conjunction with bombing the house and treating our dog for fleas. After we reentered the house, we sprayed areas our pet sleeps, the doorways and all around the moldings in each room to get any fleas the bombing may have missed. We sprayed the most popular areas every few day for a couple weeks, and did not have to bomb the house again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Sentry Home Household Flea and Tick Spray
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 9 reviews

Sentry Home Household Flea & Tick Spray

December 21, 2007
by warbie
fromNorth Carolina
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Save your money, this product does not work!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Sentry Home Household Flea and Tick Spray
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 9 reviews

Flea removal spray

October 9, 2007
by LpcEmtCw
fromLa Porte City, IA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
After 3 cans of this product on and around furniture, carpeting, base boards, beds, etc - we still had to call an exterminator to take care of our flea problem. Didn't seem to diminish the flea population one bit, let alone kill them all. This is after only 1 week, can't imagine it working for 7 months as they claim.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.