PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Sentry Natural Defense Natural Flea & Tick Spray for Cats & Kittens

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Sentry Natural Defense Natural Flea & Tick Spray for Cats & Kittens

Kills and repels fleas and ticks, yet it's safe to use on your cat or kitten.
Overall rating:
2.312 / 5
2.3
 / 
5
(16 reviews) 16
7 of 16(44%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Sentry Natural Defense Natural Flea & Tick Spray for Cats & Kittens
Review 1 for Sentry Natural Defense Natural Flea & Tick Spray for Cats & Kittens
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 16 reviews

Unsure

December 24, 2013
by StaceyFace
fromHuntington Station NY
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
4 / 5
4 / 5 16 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
3 / 5
3 / 5 16 reviews
I got this product to spray my rats' cages. It appeared as if one of them had mite bites, and I wanted to make sure that my other ratties were safe. So, whenever I cleaned their cages I sprayed some of this inside.
For my rat with the irritated skin, he got his cage sprayed with this, and I used 8 in 1 Small Animal Flea and Tick Spray on his body. His skin started clearing up in two weeks. However, I also changed his bedding from Carefresh to Puppy Pads and paper towels in case the bedding was contributing to his irritation.
I felt a lot more comfortable using this since it was natural and I knew all of the ingredients used.
Not sure what did the trick, but all of my rats are happy and healthy now!
Plus, my rats smell amazing.
Pros: easy to use
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Sentry Natural Defense Natural Flea & Tick Spray for Cats & Kittens
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 16 reviews

Works

December 22, 2013
by R3dOtaku
fromCharlotte, NC
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
4 / 5
4 / 5 16 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5 16 reviews
Product works. It has helped keep the fleas away. The fleas got so bad that they started biting us. We sprayed our own legs and the biting stopped. The smell is fine. Its not overpowering at all. Would recommend.
Pros: effective
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Sentry Natural Defense Natural Flea & Tick Spray for Cats & Kittens
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 16 reviews

A Word of Caution

March 25, 2013
by KittyDesign
fromTX
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
4 / 5
4 / 5 16 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
3 / 5
3 / 5 16 reviews
Sentry Natural Defense spray for Cats contains Lemongrass, a smell that cats do NOT particularly like. If you didn't know, there's a spray out on the market that you can use to spray on your furniture and your cat(s) will stay away from it. The main ingredient is Lemongrass, and the company uses that scent to "repel" cats from your furniture. And if you personally do not like the smell of Lemongrass and spices, then you will NOT like this product! It smells heavily of Lemongrass, but I personally love the smell!! I also love that it doesn't contain crazy chemicals that I have to wash my hands after touching my cat. The ingredients are all natural, and the only con is that your cat(s) will NOT enjoy the smell, but they WILL habituate (get used to) it!! I also have peppermint oil (which is one of the ingredients as well) that I was using (diluted in water) on my cat for a little while before I could run to the store and grab this wonderful combination! Peppermint oil is said to naturally being "breaking down" the system in fleas (not sure exactly how it works, but you can look it up). It makes sense that mother nature would supply us with the appropriate materials to ward off pests. We are so used to using chemicals, that we forget that we already have things made naturally by the Earth to help us defend ourselves. This product works, my kitty has stopped scratching, and I have yet to spot a flea on her. Combine this with the 3 month supply treatment of spot on Natural Defense, and your kitties will be so happy you didn't bombard them with chemicals!!
Pros: easy to use, effective
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Sentry Natural Defense Natural Flea & Tick Spray for Cats & Kittens
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 16 reviews

It's messy but it works

October 31, 2011
by kh288411
fromRutland, MA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 16 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
3 / 5
3 / 5 16 reviews
I have a 15 year old cat who has never been outside, but somehow he's got fleas. He's got enough to make him scratch and cause scabs on his head and neck. I wanted a product to apply on the cat but something not loaded with poisons. The pet store clerk suggested this product because I would kill the fleas on contact. I also bought a heavy duty flea comb, and that has made all the difference. Kitty and I both hated the greasy film on his coat, and we weren't crazy about the strong smell. But I put it on him and then combed the fleas out of his coat with the comb. His fur dried faster and I was removing the fleas every day for a week. I'm going to treat him again, but using the comb really helps and the cat didn't mind it. This product did not cause any sickness or drooling, and the only negative is the really strong smell.
Pros: effective, easy to use
Cons: price
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Sentry Natural Defense Natural Flea & Tick Spray for Cats & Kittens
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 16 reviews

Stuff works and seems safe

July 17, 2011
by CatOwner19
fromNC
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
We have had two cats for over 15 years and this spring a stray was kind enough to leave us with four kittens under our back porch. When the kittens were about 8 weeks old I brought a few of them inside to see how the older cats would take it. Well, we got fleas; and in checking the kittens afterward, I found that the two longer-haired ones had ticks also. Dealing with 16+ year cats and kittens, and having a young child; I did not want something poisonous. We got this and I used it on the almost 12 week old kittens and our two older kitties. I will admit that I was very sparing on the inside cats, mainly because they aren't used to being restained at all and I was not persistent; the kittens I treated as directed. It is three weeks later and the kittens are without ticks and not scratching all the time (I see no fleas on them) but yesterday I saw a flea on our indoor Tom. So, I have re-applied to the indoor cats according to the directions this time and we'll see what happens.
Also, when I sprayed the areas of the porch frequently used by the kittens, and had residue on me from applying it to them I noted, amazingly, that I did not get bitten by a single mosquito for two nights (which never happens when I go outside). My wife noticed that there were fewer bugs in general around the porch, and no ants coming inside on the backside of the house.
The smell is strong, but I like it. The cats mostly did not seem to mind being treated, although our Tom sulked for two days last time; he seems less affected this time. No kitties seemed distressed or in any way unhealthy, three seemed slightly shy of petting for a day.
So, I think the Sentry Natural Defense Natural Flea and Tick Spray for Cats and Kittens, 8-Fluid Ounce is working and seems safe; I'll update in a week to let everyone know if we appear clear of fleas inside the house.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Sentry Natural Defense Natural Flea & Tick Spray for Cats & Kittens
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 16 reviews

Works decently

April 30, 2011
by PaleoClipper
fromFall Branch, TN
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Effectiveness 
3 / 5
3 / 5 16 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5 16 reviews
Yes, it does smell, but look at the bottle! It says "Spice Scent". I knew it would smell a bit odd, not to mention the ingredients all have strong smells.
As per it being effective: it does work, but you must reapply. As with any flea/tick medication. One application of anything simply will not work. So far I have put it on both of my cats, one adult, one kitten, and have seen the fleas dying before my eyes. Sure, it doesn't kill them instantly, but I have yet to find anything that does kill instantly.
I would not recommend spraying this on carpet/area rugs if you have a hard floor though. I thought that would help with the fleas I know are in the carpet, but I just started to slide all over the place.
A bit oily, but it does "dry" after a day or so; keep in mind the main ingredients are oil! The cat's don't seem to mind it all that much. They seem more annoyed that I sprayed them with something more than anything. No drooling or annoyed meowing.
Pros: easy to use
Cons: price
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Sentry Natural Defense Natural Flea & Tick Spray for Cats & Kittens
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 16 reviews

Just NOT worth it!

July 21, 2010
by Terrie
fromDelanco, NJ
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
1 / 5
1 / 5 16 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
1 / 5
1 / 5 16 reviews
I bought this as a quick relief of these pests on my cat and it was ineffective. It smelled so bad and left my cat looking like a grease ball. He couldn't even take the smell, he was drooling so bad. I wish I wouldn't have bought this as it was a waste of my money. Now I must spend more money to not only treat the cat but all my carpets because of this not working.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Sentry Natural Defense Natural Flea & Tick Spray for Cats & Kittens
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 16 reviews

Killed fleas Instantly

May 20, 2010
by marjon
fromGeorgia
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 16 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5 16 reviews
I used this on a rescued kitten who was severely infested with fleas. The fleas were dying immediately. The smell is not great, but could be worse. She went from having hundreds of fleas, to having about 4. One thing people need to realize, is that you have to treat your house along with your pet because once you bring a flea infested animal into your home, the fleas are going to lay eggs everywhere. If you're only treating the cat, then the fleas that are in the carpets and pet beds are just going to jump on the cats. Use this if you want some instant relief for a pet. She looked scraggly for a day or two but it was worth it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Sentry Natural Defense Natural Flea & Tick Spray for Cats & Kittens
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 16 reviews

Save your money!

November 13, 2009
by Alexis2002
fromTN
Effectiveness 
1 / 5
1 / 5 16 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
1 / 5
1 / 5 16 reviews
While the scent isn't too bad.... the product is useless. I used it 3 times, as directed, and saw no difference in my poor cat. I was trying to go with a natural product to get rid of the fleas, just wish it would have worked. Am going to have to use nasty chemicals to get rid of the beasts.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Sentry Natural Defense Natural Flea & Tick Spray for Cats & Kittens
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 16 reviews

Do not buy-highly ineffective

October 8, 2009
by Multiplecatowner4
fromPerry Hall, MD
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Effectiveness 
1 / 5
1 / 5 16 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
1 / 5
1 / 5 16 reviews
I've got 4 persian cats and all this junk did was to make their coats nice and greasy-they looked like someone poured cooking oil on them. And the stuff does NOT dry. Most importantly, the fleas were still there. And it stinks-do not waste your time or your money on this product.
Cons: your cat will look like a grease ball, does not dry, unpleasant odor, ineffective!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Sentry Natural Defense Natural Flea & Tick Spray for Cats & Kittens
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 16 reviews

DO NOT BUY!

July 2, 2009
by CATLUVER12
fromSunnyvale, CA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Effectiveness 
1 / 5
1 / 5 16 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
1 / 5
1 / 5 16 reviews
this product does not work at all! It left my kitty really oily and the smell was disgusting! she was meowing constantly and tried licking it off which got me all scared and worried up. Do not buy this product, it is not worth it.
The adams flea shampoo actually worked really well for me but it involves taking them a shower. Good luck!
Pros: none!
Cons: oily, smells bad
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Sentry Natural Defense Natural Flea & Tick Spray for Cats & Kittens
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 16 reviews

Please DO NOT BUY this product

June 15, 2009
by Nally
fromFresno Ca
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
1 / 5
1 / 5 16 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
1 / 5
1 / 5 16 reviews
This is a horrible product. It smells really bad and made my poor kitty really sad to have it on. Her fur looked sticky and was really oily and the FLEAS did not go away. I gave it one star because it isnt possible to give it no stars.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Sentry Natural Defense Natural Flea & Tick Spray for Cats & Kittens
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 16 reviews

No, No, No!!!!

July 11, 2007
by BDK8
fromGeorgia
Effectiveness 
1 / 5
1 / 5 16 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
1 / 5
1 / 5 16 reviews
I bought this product because the sales associate suggested it was the best for my kitten...he was wrong!!! Not only did it not fulfill its purpose, my cat was meowing all day, trying to get this stuff off of him....The smell is extremely strong, and makes the cat roll around all day trying to get it off....and he still had a flea. Definitely not a good product!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Sentry Natural Defense Natural Flea & Tick Spray for Cats & Kittens
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 16 reviews

waste of time and money

May 31, 2007
by scotty
fromFort Worth TX
Effectiveness 
1 / 5
1 / 5 16 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
1 / 5
1 / 5 16 reviews
The spray smelled bad and left my cat looking greasy. After 2 days she still had fleas. A total waste of money and only irritated my cat.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Sentry Natural Defense Natural Flea & Tick Spray for Cats & Kittens
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 16 reviews

Oily, smelly and ineffective!

February 14, 2007
by Virginie
fromL.A.
Effectiveness 
1 / 5
1 / 5 16 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
1 / 5
1 / 5 16 reviews
I bought this because I wanted a natural way to fight fleas and ticks, and a product that would respect my kittens' health.
The smell is pleasant, but awfully strong. It burnt my nose, so I can imagine how unpleasant it must have been for the cats! It left them oily for several days, they visibly hated it, and spent their time trying to lick it off.
To top it off, both the cats are still scratching, so it didn't kill all the fleas.
If you want to rid your cat of its fleas and avoid dangerous products, buy a flea comb; that is what I am going to do!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Sentry Natural Defense Natural Flea & Tick Spray for Cats & Kittens
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 16 reviews

I would not recommend this product.

September 17, 2006
by MrMax1
fromWhittier
I followed directions but this product left my kitten oily. Although I tried from keeping my kitten from licking it off but all day long all he did was to lick it off. In addition, he also managed to wipe it off my rubbing himself on the carpet and on my sofa.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.