PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Sentry Pro Flea & Tick Shampoo for Dogs and Puppies

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Sentry Pro Flea & Tick Shampoo for Dogs and Puppies

Kills fleas and ticks while it cleans and deodorizes in one easy and convenient step.
Overall rating:
4.083 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(24 reviews) 23
20 of 24(83%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Sentry Pro Flea & Tick Shampoo for Dogs and Puppies
Review 1 for Sentry Pro Flea & Tick Shampoo for Dogs and Puppies
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 24 reviews

A Repeat Buy - Part of Keeping Fleas Away

January 18, 2014
by SharonTP
fromEast Tennessee
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
When my dog starts to scratch, I know it's time for a bath. This product gives her immediate relief, and about a week later, I apply her monthly flea application to her shoulders. No product lasts for a full 30 days, but this shampoo, in addition to her topical treatment, stretches the coverage out for the full month. I like this product better than the permethrin-only formula.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Sentry Pro Flea & Tick Shampoo for Dogs and Puppies
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 24 reviews

It does not work to get rid of fleas

November 3, 2013
by teska
fromrichmond va
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
My dogs are on frontline but for some reason they still got fleas. I bought this shampoo hoping that it would help. After drying my dogs, they were still scratching. I found fleas on them again. I will double their dosage of frontline and bomb my house. Don't waste your money on this shampoo.
Cons: didn't work
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Sentry Pro Flea & Tick Shampoo for Dogs and Puppies
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 24 reviews

Love this shampoo

August 24, 2013
by Floridapetlover
fromPlant city,FL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
The shampoo is amazing I used it on my dog and it killed alot of the fleas. I wish I would have left it on her for the full 10 minutes I'm sure it would have killed all the fleas.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Sentry Pro Flea & Tick Shampoo for Dogs and Puppies
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 24 reviews

Works Ok

August 4, 2013
by TLam
fromElkton, Va
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
This shampoo works ok, we have two dogs and live at the edge of a National Forest and have used Frontline religiously throughout the year and have had a bad flea problem for about a year.....Went in store to purchase a flea shampoo that would provide some relief, hoping to find helpful staff to shed light on which product would be the best, sadly we didn't get that, they didn't know which product worked the best or would preform the best for a Pom, but I digress. Pet Smart offers limited flea products to choose from so I selected this one based on the scent and the price. In the past Adam's sent my littlest pom screaming in pain so I have sworn off that brand.
First thoughts, we saw fleas in the water immediately for both dogs, no different than cheaper flea shampoos. Even during rinse we saw fleas in the water, again about the same as with cheaper flea shampoos.
After the bath fleas were jumping off the dogs left and right, the fleas were noticeably in shock, moving very slow and easily removed from the dogs. Some fleas were tiny but a lot of these fleas were huge massive fleas. All in all they were easily removed from my very furry double coated Pom who hates to be brushed. A vast improvement over cheaper flea shampoos.
In the days to come, the shampoo seems to be working great for our little Pom, we've seen two to three small fleas on him and are able to get them off of him with a little trouble. Not the easiest task as they are quick, I don't think the shampoo is effective for 30 days as it states on the bottle. Now for our big girl, who is 18 pounds, this is a different story. We've gotten 20-30 fleas off of her every day since her bath, I'm talking full size fleas, active full blown fleas, she is digging and biting and aggravated, the whole nine yards. It's like the shampoo did nothing for her. Why it is not working for her is beyond me, they both walk in the same areas, got bathed in the same shampoo, etc, but it's effective only for the one dog.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Sentry Pro Flea & Tick Shampoo for Dogs and Puppies
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 24 reviews

January 8, 2013
by GabyC
fromMiami, FL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Instantly kills those pesky fleas, but they always seem to come back.
Pros: easy to use, effective
Cons: price
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Sentry Pro Flea & Tick Shampoo for Dogs and Puppies
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 24 reviews

Kinda Works

October 16, 2012
by slimnku
fromNewport, KY
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
My dog got fleas from going outside and using the restroom, we bought this shampoo because frontline wasn't working. The shampoo worked in the fact that it did kill many fleas, we gave her 3 baths in 3 days and fleas where coming off with satisfaction. the only problem is that she still has fleas and lots of them, we haven't been able to rid her of them so we are going to use something called vectra that our vet recommended, hopefully this works.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Sentry Pro Flea & Tick Shampoo for Dogs and Puppies
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 24 reviews

Did not work for me.

August 31, 2012
by DanielleMichelle
fromNorth Carolina
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I have 6 dog's, who started getting fleas really bad and decided to try different shampoos and sprays, I bought this one because of all the great reviews. It done nothing..didn't even kill the fleas I seen crawling on them when giving them a bath..I lathered more onto them and messaged it in really well and they was still moving. Like it had no affect on them at all. I'm going to be trying the adams spray to see if it helps. I would not buy this product every again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Sentry Pro Flea & Tick Shampoo for Dogs and Puppies
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 24 reviews

Not the best or worse

August 20, 2012
by shibainu23
fromWoodbridge, NJ
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I used this product for my Shiba Inu who is three years old and had a minor flea problem. This product did kill some fleas on her but not all. It was somewhat disappointing to give her a bath with this and then watch her scratch and itch 10 minutes later. Maybe this product didn't work to well for her since she has a pretty thick coat (Shibas have a double coat).
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Sentry Pro Flea & Tick Shampoo for Dogs and Puppies
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 24 reviews

No More Fleas!

June 14, 2012
by ChorkieOwner
fromMacon, GA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
This is one of the best flea-killing products I have ever used. My Chihuahua/Yorkie mix got fleas after an accidental encounter with some stray cats at a friend's house, and I had no idea what to do because he's so young. But, after reading the reviews for this product, I thought I'd give it a shot. The pricetag made me a little hesitant, but I'm glad I paid the $15, anyway. I followed the instructions on the bottle, working up the lather and letting it sit for five minutes. The whole five minutes wasn't even up before dead adult fleas started to drop off of him. More fleas came of during the rinsing stage, and he hasn't itched all day. Great product!
Pros: easy to use, effective
Cons: price
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Sentry Pro Flea & Tick Shampoo for Dogs and Puppies
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 24 reviews

Did not work for my yorkies!

October 14, 2011
by Reesella
fromSan Francisco
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I bought this because of the raving reviews of this product. I tried it on my new pup who had several fleas after I got her from the breeder and I was scared that my other dog would get fleas as well even though he's on Frontline.
It did NOT work on my puppy. I was disappointed. I would use every other day. (I like giving my dogs a bath every other day because we go on long walks at least 3 times a day). I would still fleas on her. I was not satisfied with this product. I can't believe I got on the reviews hype of how great this item is when it doesn't even work. My pup is now on Frontline & Trifexis and not a flea is on her!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Sentry Pro Flea & Tick Shampoo for Dogs and Puppies
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 24 reviews

best i ever used

September 9, 2011
by james45
frommiddletown pa
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
it didnt take long after i started scrubbing to see the fleas fall off of buddy and of coarse he loved getting a good scrubbing lol i will be a long time user of this product
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Sentry Pro Flea & Tick Shampoo for Dogs and Puppies
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 24 reviews

Rubba Dub Dub we LOVE this Shampoo!!!

August 20, 2011
by Stinkerstein
fromJacksonville, FL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
I read the reviews before buying this shampoo and I am so glad I did. First, I want to Thank You all for your informative comments.
A little bit goes a long way! I have bathed Lucy several times since I bought this shampoo and I still have more than half a bottle left. Lucy is medium sized, 30 - 40 lbs. As the directions suggest, I lay one ribbon down from her head to her tail, it does the trick. Lathers REALLY well! The key is keeping it on your dog for as long as she or he will allow. Which shouldn't be a problem. After all, what dog doesn't like being loved on?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Sentry Pro Flea & Tick Shampoo for Dogs and Puppies
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 24 reviews

Instant Death for Fleas!

August 15, 2011
by Atheo
fromRichmond, VA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
Worked so well! Like a few other reviewers said, as soon as you start lathering up, you can see the fleas dying. Really great. One thing I noticed is that some tried to escape to her face--the directions say to start with the head, good advice, but don't forget the face! A little seemed to get in her eye by accident, but it didn't seem to hurt her. One shampoo and she's flea free!
I bought mine in a Petsmart store and there was a green tea and ginger scented option that I bought which had a really nice scent, if you find that one, I recommend it.
After her bath I diluted some with water and wiped the surfaces in my home, I also put some of the diluted mixture in a spray bottle and sprayed my sofas and mattresses...no idea if this will make any difference, but it seems like a good way to kill strays.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Sentry Pro Flea & Tick Shampoo for Dogs and Puppies
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 24 reviews

Went cross country, dog came back with fleas.

August 8, 2011
by DogLova
fromVA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
I bought this mainly because the bottle says kills eggs for up to 30 days. I was a little hesitant at first because of the price, BUT, this stuff seems to work extremely well. I could see the dead fleas almost instantly after beginning to wash. It lathers up real nice, so you don't have to use half the bottle for one wash. My pooch didn't whine when I started washing his face, as he does with some other pet shampoos when a little gets in his eyes. It is well worth the money and IMO you will not be disapointed. Has a pleasant smell, no medicinal odor at all. If your pet has fleas/ticks, this is the shampoo to buy. Kudos to Sentry for getting it right. :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Sentry Pro Flea & Tick Shampoo for Dogs and Puppies
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 24 reviews

Best shampoo ever.

November 4, 2010
by 3pups2pigs
fromOrange County, CA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Stop looking and searching for a flea shampoo that works instantly. This shampoo works miracles!! There is no chemical smell, was nice and sudsy on my dogs, and easily washed off. The best part, I SAW the few fleas wash off in the suds. It killed them instatnly.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Sentry Pro Flea & Tick Shampoo for Dogs and Puppies
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 24 reviews

Dead Bodies Everywhere!

August 8, 2010
by GooglyMoogly
fromAsheville, NC
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
Despite giving my puppy her first monthly flea/tick treatment, I found some fleas on her a week or so later and wanted to get rid of them quick and for good. Found this product—it was more than I wanted to spend, but thought I'd give it a try, hoping like crazy I wouldn't regret spending that much later. After all, I was still smarting from having purchased an expensive monthly flea/tick treatment for my pup that had failed me!
I was pleasantly surprised! As I lathered up my pup, there were flea bodies falling over dead like crazy! IT WAS AWESOME! The shampoo has a very nice scent to it as well—not medicinal and horrible like others I've used in the past on other pets. I especially like this shampoo because even after the bath, it continues to kill adult fleas and ticks for up to 14 days and kills flea eggs for 30 days.
Ever since that first application, I have never seen fleas on my pup again (I have also since changed to a different monthly flea/tick treatment that has performed excellently)! Hooray for a product that actually works as promised!
Pros: pleasant scent, kills adult fleas and ticks for up to 14 days, kills flea eggs for 30 days
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Sentry Pro Flea & Tick Shampoo for Dogs and Puppies
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 24 reviews

Works Great!

July 19, 2010
by Shern
fromRaleigh, NC
Tried 2 other shampoos before I found this product. Works Great!!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Sentry Pro Flea & Tick Shampoo for Dogs and Puppies
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 24 reviews

Best Product Ever!!!

November 11, 2009
by ItchyBitsy
fromLos Angeles, CA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I bought this after i saw my maltese Mia was infested with fleas. It was horrible! Soon as I stared using this product the fleas were dying an comming off. After a couple of week of using it she was flea free. If you want to keep your dog flea free for a longer time use the spot on teratment after using this shampoo. It really works!
Pros: smells good
Cons: none
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Sentry Pro Flea & Tick Shampoo for Dogs and Puppies
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 24 reviews

Minor Flea Problem

September 23, 2009
by BisonsMom
fromohio
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
After reading the reviews today, I bought this at petsmart and gave my 5 month old st. bernard a bath. His last dose of frontline was at the limit for weight and he quickly grew out of it, then we spent 5 days out in the country, so I think that's how this started. I think it worked great! I had a hard time corraling him in the tub and didn't get his hind and tail very well...When i got him out and towel dried him, I went through and checked and used tweezers to get about 6 dead fleas off. There were 2 on his leg and tail that were still alive but I got them. That was 5 hours ago, and I was just checking him out again (I feel like my kid was sent home with lice-he's my first puppy and even one flea sounds gross!) and I found one again, alive, on his hind leg. His coat looks great though and it does smell good. I will definitely use it again in conjunction with his frontline. And I also got the Sentry brand natural defense spray, and the stuff for the carpet. It all smells good too.
Pros: works great after waiting the 5 minutes
Cons: you really have to scrub it in & thoroughly cover
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Sentry Pro Flea & Tick Shampoo for Dogs and Puppies
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 24 reviews

Worth its Weight in GOLD!!!

August 18, 2009
by Jockeyclub
fromHaslett, MI
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I had a dog come to me COMPLETLEY covered in fleas! After two rounds of capstar a flea bath and frontline he still had fleas!!! Having dogs and cats of my own fleas can become a HUGE problem FAST! I bought this product and immediatley the fles began to die and wash off. I am still finding a few dead fleas on him (hes very long haired) but overall this prduct has worked wonders!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 next