PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Sentry Oatmeal Flea and Tick Shampoo

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Sentry Oatmeal Flea and Tick Shampoo

Keep your pet clean and flea-free with this conditioning shampoo.
Overall rating:
4.333 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(15 reviews) 15
13 of 15(87%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Sentry Oatmeal Flea and Tick Shampoo
Review 1 for Sentry Oatmeal Flea and Tick Shampoo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews

Best For Price

January 11, 2014
by screamingvocalist
fromBeverly Hills, Ca.
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
After spending ridiculous $ on products that either don't work - or leave your dogs hair so corse , rough and uncombable, including the regular shampoo by this company, I tried this one and have used it ever since.
It not only totally eliminates fleas, but leaves my little guys coat so soft good smelling and cuddly, women can't resist little Sparky!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Sentry Oatmeal Flea and Tick Shampoo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews

Seems to be an excellant product.

November 23, 2013
by Randy2
fromPhx. AZ
We have a mixed breed (Shar-pei--Akita). This is a very large doggie with Shar-pei skin and an
Akita head, ears that resemble sails and a tail that wags constantly. Because of his oily skin we find few shampoos that work well with him and we have a tic problem as well. This product has helped, alot. The product addresses both problems well. Of course we will know moe with continued use. I really would like to write this review again in a year. Thank you.
Pros: easy to use, effective
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Sentry Oatmeal Flea and Tick Shampoo
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 15 reviews

HTAP

October 18, 2013
by HTAP
fromCalifornia
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I found this product very good for killing fleas, larvae and eggs that are on the animal before bathing. In addition it kills fleas that jump on the animal after the bath for up to a week. After that, the affects wear off. So, weekly bathing is a must for continued coverage. The oatmeal feature helps cut down on the sensitivity of chemcial reactions of the animal. I've had all animals react mildly (skin iritation) to this product. I'm glad the oatmeal was added. The former product was too strong. Of course, treating the animails bedding area, the house and the yard at the same time is the only way to break the flea's cycle (treatment for 2 weeks and repeat the next month). I would recommend this product for flea control. Do boost the animal's immune system with Echinecea when using this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Sentry Oatmeal Flea and Tick Shampoo
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 15 reviews

Doesn't work!

October 4, 2013
by Nat86
fromOrange County
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I washed my 2 dogs and cat with it, and it doesn't work at all! After I all took them a long bath I brushed them so hopefully I would comb them dead out of ther hair, since I didnt saw any in the tub. But they were just alive as before I took them a bath!!! What a disappointment. I don't recommend anyone to buy this product. Also I don't understand where al those good reviews come from! DOENST WORK AT ALL.
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Sentry Oatmeal Flea and Tick Shampoo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews

Sentry oatmeal flea and tick shampoo for dogs

July 11, 2013
by Cljcs
fromSo ca
This product was very successful to remove fleas. The first washing turned the rinse water dirty from the flea debris. The next day we washed him again and noticed active fleas in the soap and rinse water. The past two days, I have not seen any fleas and his scratching has stopped. Before the washings, We applied Sentry fibroguard for dogs.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Sentry Oatmeal Flea and Tick Shampoo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews

awesome stuff!

May 2, 2013
by icecreammom
fromCorpus Christi tx
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
both my pekes had fleas and ticks on them very badly.used this stuff and they were basicly all gone!followed up with frontline plus,all gone!
great for the skin as well,one of my pekes had bad places on them where they were digging because of the fleas and it healed them right up and left their coats so clean and soft.
also its a great price because it is so thick and goes a long way.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Sentry Oatmeal Flea and Tick Shampoo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews

Won't regret buying this!

January 9, 2013
by PuppyLover82812
fromMiddlesex, NJ
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
My 4mo old Silky/Yorkie mix had fleas, I ran to petsmart and picked this up because it was the first product I found and also the store associate recommended it. On the ride home I was regreting it and thinking of turning around to get something else...I'm not sure why but I figured if it was only $11 it wouldn't work. I got home bathed my puppy in the stand up shower and locked him in there for the full 5 minutes. Although he was super upset it was absolutely worth it! When I was drying him I found dead fleas and some on the shower floor too. I took him to the groomers the next day just to make sure and that's where I wasted my money...they couldn't find any fleas either. Just make sure you leave it in for the recommended time. It also left his coat so soft and shinny!
Pros: easy to use, effective, price
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Sentry Oatmeal Flea and Tick Shampoo
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 15 reviews

Actually works

July 2, 2012
by DaughtryFan
fromTemple, Pa
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I was really surprised how well it worked! Although within 2 days I saw a few fleas on him. I am using K9 Advantix II also.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Sentry Oatmeal Flea and Tick Shampoo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews

Works great. Use as a first step to kill fleas.

March 30, 2012
by zmgs
fromFL
My dogs got a terrible flea infestation, and this was our first line of defense. While lathering you could see the fleas dying in the foam! My dogs were much happier and calmer. A few days later we applied Frontline and got rid of the flea problem.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Sentry Oatmeal Flea and Tick Shampoo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews

It works... it really works!

July 2, 2010
by tmgray
fromWashington, DC
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I used this on my puppy who was about to have his first frontline dose in one week. This protected him very well until his frontline was due. I still use it to bathe him every week before his next frontline treatment. I got my aunt some for her two pit bulls and she says that it works wonders on them as well.
Pros: great product for the price, long lasting and smells great, good for dogs who cannot tolerate monthly products
Cons: individual results may vary
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Sentry Oatmeal Flea and Tick Shampoo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews

It works!

April 23, 2009
by ChrisM
fromNY/Florida
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
On vacation in Florida, we found two of our four dogs madly scratching despite having applied their monthly dose of Advantix just a few days earlier. After bathing our Parsons Terrier/Pom mix & Shitsu/Maltese mix, the fleas dropped off. Be sure to leave the product on the full five minutes after shampooing to maximize effectiveness & rinse well. The formula is mild & helps soothe the raw spots. I don't recall any scent which is fine with me. Left dogs hair soft & bright white &, best of all, scratch free. Claims to continue killing fleas/ticks for ten days after application. We'll see!
Pros: oatmeal is soothing, no harsh chemical smell
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Sentry Oatmeal Flea and Tick Shampoo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews

I LOVE IT!!!

March 9, 2009
by star808
fromJacksonville, FL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
We have a Lab who is ALWAYS in the water. We use Frontline because it’s water resistant. By the time the month is half way over she is starting to itch. We got this shampoo, tried it and it works!!! It’s a great fill in to do the trick before the month is up.
It smells great and it made her coat really soft too!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Sentry Oatmeal Flea and Tick Shampoo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews

Sergeant's Oatmeal Flea and Tick Shampoo

December 21, 2006
by Roxan
fromLos Angeles, CA
This is the best product I have ever used. WHen recomended I was a skeptic, but it really did work. My dog have very sensative skin and this help sooth him, especially during extreme hot and cold weather.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Sentry Oatmeal Flea and Tick Shampoo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews

With Proper Use

November 4, 2006
by SweetKoda
fromSummerville, Sc
This shampoo is great for dogs with sensitive skin. However, I must disagree with "helper." When used with a proper flea/tick regimen (frontline or other PREVENTION), this product does work. You can't expect a shampoo to fight off fles and ticks alone...one needs to implement prevention like frontline. This is especially true if you have yard dogs, as squirrels and other animals constantly reintroduce new fleas (one flea can have up to 10,000 eggs a month).Capstar is a great pill to get rid of any current infestations. Also this has been a horrible year for fleas. Hope this has been helpful.
+16points
16of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Sentry Oatmeal Flea and Tick Shampoo
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 15 reviews

BAD

October 30, 2006
by helper
i am sorry to say that this product did not work
for my dog
she continued and still continues to have fleas and ticks. She is currently scratching herself. So i conclude for no one to buy this product due to its lowered effects on dogs.
-16points
3of 22voted this as helpful.