PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Top Paw(r) Chain Training Collar

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Top Paw(r) Chain Training Collar

A choke chain/standard collar combo offering an effective training option.
Overall rating:
4.333 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(9 reviews) 7
8 of 9(89%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Top Paw(r) Chain Training Collar
Review 1 for Top Paw(r) Chain Training Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 9 reviews

Miracle Collar

November 28, 2013
by RJLinton
fromToronto, Ontario
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 9 reviews
Fit 
5 / 5
5 / 5 9 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 9 reviews
I have to say, this is the best collar I have ever had the pleasure of using. I have had 5 dogs and always had issues with pulling and wanting to chase other animals. This collar was recommended to me by one of the Petsmart Trainers and this was the best recommendation I have ever received. My puppy has stopped pulling altogether, walks beside me and doesn't even attempt to go after other animals. Since the collar he has also calmed down quite a bit. I would recommend this collar to anyone who has issues with walking their dog whether small or large.
Pros: durable, Easy to ControlDog, comfortable, looks great
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Top Paw(r) Chain Training Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 9 reviews

Excellent training tool when used properly

June 22, 2012
by MrsArcher
fromEdmonton, AB
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
This is brilliantly effective. I was not going to use anything of the sort - I'd already tried the holt head collar and martingale harness - or any "harsh" corrective measures, in training, but I've discovered firsthand that a sharp "pop" and release (learned from an experienced trainer) is both more effective and less harmful than my dog straining, panting, and choking himself on his standard buckle collar. Now I just have to get over the self-conscious guilt that occurs when I perform this politically incorrect method in front of other dog owners....but the result will be not forgoing a walk because we forgot the harness, and a dog who will walk with any person without pulling. It's like I'm walking a different dog altogether from a week ago!
+6points
8of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Top Paw(r) Chain Training Collar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 9 reviews

August 29, 2011
by DMC9
fromEdmonton, AB
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I really like this type of collar.
As others have mentioned, it is kind of the best of "both" worlds as it is great for training but you can also leave it on your dogs as an everyday collar. Correction on walks when your dog is to pull the leash in one quick motion with a verbal command and the chain part of the collar will tighten but quickly release as you relax your hand.
The only "con" that I see for this collar is because of how it has to be designed, there is not a clip to take the collar off. You have to loosen the material and I find this very hard to do with my Golden Retriever as its hard to find the collar and pull it in the right direction underneath all of his hair! I would love to see a variation of this collar that incorporates some type of clip so that it is a little easier to put on.
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Top Paw(r) Chain Training Collar
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 9 reviews

This is ok

November 13, 2009
by Codie
fromMaine
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 9 reviews
Fit 
5 / 5
5 / 5 9 reviews
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5 9 reviews
OK so i have an American Eskimo and she never really walked with me so i baught this product can it started to work when i first used it but then she go to used to it and she started running insted of walking, even thought it was as tight as it could be around her neck it still didnt work
-6points
3of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Top Paw(r) Chain Training Collar
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 9 reviews

December 15, 2008
by colflower824
fromSyracuse, NY
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 9 reviews
Fit 
2 / 5
2 / 5 9 reviews
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5 9 reviews
I am in the process of training my new puppy, and after reading the reviews I thought this would be a good product. However, it is almost impossible to get it on my dog. Since he is so young and being crate-trained, I do not like to leave a collar on him all the time. So far, we've put it on him twice; it was a two-man operation. I had to loosen it, then put it over his head while my husband distracted him, then I had to tighten it. What a disaster!! Once it is on, it works ok. Still, it is not practical if you plan on taking it on and off your dog.
-6points
3of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Top Paw(r) Chain Training Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 9 reviews

Limited-slip with chain insert best training aid

January 3, 2008
by AnnieScottieMom
fromYakima, WA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I've been training dogs and their owners for many years. This style collar is the best compromise for both everyday use and training. The dog can't slip out of the collar when adjusted correctly (leave at least 2 to 4 little chain links between the large collar rings). If you need a leash correction, make it and then let the leash loose. This collar will immediately loosen unlike the all-fabric limited slip collars. Take your dog to the store and try on until you get the correct size. Many pick one that's too big at first.
Many thanks to PetSmart for continuing to carry this! I send all my students to get one as this is the HUMANE training collar.
+15points
15of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Top Paw(r) Chain Training Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 9 reviews

EXCELLENT

May 15, 2007
by LucyPuppy
fromNew York
I am a 105 lb female German Sheppard, who is 2 years old. I really like to move when I'm on the leash. This is the best collar I have ever been taken for a walk with. It goes over my head quite easily and stays in place. My owner has nice control with it on our walks together. This leash has taught me to walk more calmly. I feel better that there isn't any metal directly on my throat. This collar is quite comfortable. I highly recommend it, by the way my owner loves it too!!
+13points
17of 21voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Top Paw(r) Chain Training Collar
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 9 reviews
2 out of 2 recommend this product
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 9 reviews
Fit 
5 / 5
5 / 5 9 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 9 reviews