PetSmart Ratings and Reviews
Shop now at PetSmart

Customer reviews for Top Paw(r) Easy Rider Car Harness

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Top Paw(r) Easy Rider Car Harness

Help your pooch "head out on the highway" in safety and comfort with the Easy Rider Car Harness. Makes the trip safer for both the dog and the driver.
Overall rating:
4.167 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(18 reviews) 17
16 of 18(89%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Top Paw(r) Easy Rider Car Harness
Review 1 for Top Paw(r) Easy Rider Car Harness
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 18 reviews

tangled mess

November 16, 2009
by troste
fromVirginia
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Pet Satisfaction 
1 / 5
1 / 5 18 reviews
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5 18 reviews
Though this is made with very good quality, the actual product not only becomes a tangled mess but stresses my dog out. Within seconds of seeing this now she runs and hides in her kennel. Once she is in the car she freaks out runs in circles on the seat and then it take 5+ minutes to get her untangled...the entire time shes freaking out trying to get out of the car. Overall it's a horrible, stressful product that i have thrown in a corner and don't use anymore.
Cons: tangled stressful mess!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Top Paw(r) Easy Rider Car Harness
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 18 reviews

Tangles/Seatbelt in instructions is no longer made

July 30, 2009
by Danielle88
fromEau Claire, WI
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Pet Satisfaction 
1 / 5
1 / 5 18 reviews
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5 18 reviews
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5 18 reviews
I bought this to help insure my dog's safety in the car. He has separation anxiety and so car rides, especially if I have to run into a store, can be very difficult and I was afraid that he would hurt himself or tear up the car. I tried the harness out, but I haven't seen the seatbelt in the instructions of the product in any car made after the early 90's. On the ride the harness became tangled and knotted as the dog moved around. This product may be useful if you have a mellow dog, but if your dog moves around in the car or become anxious it just becomes a twisted mess.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Top Paw(r) Easy Rider Car Harness
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 18 reviews

Weird sizes

October 23, 2009
by gizmosmommie
fromHanford, CA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Pet Satisfaction 
3 / 5
3 / 5 18 reviews
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5 18 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 18 reviews
I have a 15 pound shih tzu, the small was too big and the xs was too tight, i really which this product size was acccurate because it did work
Pros: safe
Cons: sizes are weird
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Top Paw(r) Easy Rider Car Harness
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 18 reviews

June 16, 2008
by sh57042
fromWichita, KS
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Pet Satisfaction 
3 / 5
3 / 5 18 reviews
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 18 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 18 reviews
I bought 2 harnesses for my two dogs for road trips. The only bad thing is if they get restless and start turning around they often times get tangled in the seat belt itself. I usually on average have to stop twice on a road trip to remedy them being sooooo tangled in the seat belt itself.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Top Paw(r) Easy Rider Car Harness
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 18 reviews

Ok...

September 12, 2007
by ClarkW
fromKnoxville, TN
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Pet Satisfaction 
3 / 5
3 / 5 18 reviews
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5 18 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 18 reviews
I purchased this for long car rides with my dog (~30 pounds). She usually doesn't mind wearing it and it keeps her restrained for most trips. On occasion, she will free herself from the straps. It appears to be a high quality product (made from seatbelt material). My dog did chew part of one of the straps though, but she's also chewed through leashes too. Overall I am only somewhat satisfied. I still think it needs more work to prevent dogs from escaping.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Top Paw(r) Easy Rider Car Harness
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 18 reviews

Safe and Secure

April 23, 2009
by KellarPack
fromHouston, TX
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Pet Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5 18 reviews
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 18 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 18 reviews
My dogs often take trips with me from Houston to Austin and the Top Paw Harnesses have made this ride so much more enjoyable. I used to have to kennel my larger lab on the ride there because she was always trying to jump in the front. This lead to her being confined to her small kennel and as a result vomitting every thirty minutes along the way. This way both of my dogs can have the whole back seat to lay out and enjoy the ride with me and my husband. They can stick their noses out the window without me being nervous that they are somehow going to fall out of the car. I like knowing that they are safely confined to the car with their seat belts just like us. The only complaint that I have about the harnesses is that they seem to get tangled up in them if they try to move from one window to the other or if they are trying to turn to look through the back.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Top Paw(r) Easy Rider Car Harness
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 18 reviews

The ONLY safety harness I will buy!!!!

May 17, 2010
by NewBullyMama
fromEastern NC, Crystal Coast
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I bought a small size harness for my English Bulldog puppy when he was just 2 months old and 10lbs. Adjusted as small as it would go, it was perfect! As he's grown, and he's surely grown, I've adjusted the harness to it's limit. The fit and quality is great. Everytime we return home and I unhook it, he runs and chews on it and it's still in great condition. I especially like the loop on top for the seatbelt to go thru, instead of having the attachment that snapped into the seatbelt latch. I feel he has more range of motion and can sit, stand, or lie down. I also like that when he's wearing the harness with a leash attached and he pulls, I dont have to worry about it choking him or crushing his airways. My only complaint is that my local Petsmart never has them in stock. I bought the small there and have since been looking to purchase a medium, but can't seem to find it and at this time, the website only has X-Large. If you can find the size you need, I highly recommend this product to anyone with a pet that's concerned about their safety while riding in a vehicle, or for that matter, anywhere!!
Pros: durable great quality great fit very safe
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Top Paw(r) Easy Rider Car Harness
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 18 reviews

Need to have!!

March 12, 2010
by BoxerMomma
fromPanama City Beach, FL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I and Boxers LOVE this harness. It's easy to use, comfortable and the dogs are able to move around (sit, lay down, look out the window) with out me worrying about them. I've had to stop quick several times and the harness keeps them safely in place. I recommend it to all my dog owner friends! God forbid anything should happen while on the road, but if it does this harness keeps the dogs and you safe. Think about if you were in an accident, the dog was fine and could crawl out a broken window, then be hit by another car! How awful!! If it was seat belted in the harness it would still be safe in the car. DON'T WASTE ANOTHER MINUTE THINKING ABOUT IT, GET THE HARNESS!!!!
Pros: life saver, easy to use, comfortable, adjustable
Cons: dogs can get tangled if turn the wrong direction
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Top Paw(r) Easy Rider Car Harness
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 18 reviews

my dog's favorite harness!

March 9, 2010
by dlss
fromGA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
If your dog doesn't like riding in the car, this harness may or may not help make him/her feel more secure, but it could save his/her life. My dog actually prefers this harness to all of her others for walks, car rides, whatever! (And I think that by using it for other things, rather than just car rides, you would probably prevent the panic that others describe in their reviews when the dog realizes it's going for a car ride, if it doesn't like car rides already and associates the harness with this negative experience. I really can't see anything about this harness itself that would make a dog uncomfortable if it is put on and adjusted correctly.) You can't really leave it on all the time because it sticks up on top, but the extra padding around the chest helps prevent tangles if your dog has fine hair and the harness feels more secure in general than your average dog harness and is very, very adjustable so you can get just the right fit. If you are unsure of the size, take your dog into the store and try it on first. A well-made, high quality product that I highly recommend to all dog owners who take their dog in the car. I consider it an essential safety item!
Pros: lifesaver, more comfortable for your pet, highly adjustable, gives a sense of security to dog in the car
Cons: can't leave it on all the time
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Top Paw(r) Easy Rider Car Harness
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 18 reviews

Great

March 4, 2010
by MotherGaia
fromOhio
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I went looking for a seat belt for my new Pomeranian puppy and found this, i got the X-small and it fit perfectly, it is adjustable so as she grows up she will be able to still use it. I read some reviews on this product and some said their dog freaked out when wearing this, now i know that some dogs might not be used to it and will need training with it to help them understand its ok and helps them be safe, my Pom puppy knew right away that this helped hold her in a safe spot and now enjoys rides and lays comfortably in the back seat. I think this is a smart idea and takes a load off my mind to know that if anything happend she would be safe. comfortable
Pros: comfortable, ajustable, easy to use, doubles as a walking harness
Cons: not the most stylish thing out there
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Top Paw(r) Easy Rider Car Harness
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 18 reviews

Excellend Product

December 23, 2009
by 12jasmine34
fromOntario, Canada
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 18 reviews
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 18 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 18 reviews
I purchased this product in Canada when my Llasa-poo was small. I have an extra small, the sizing is very generous. I alway put it on her when she is in the car. She sits or lays in the back seat. It is convienient to use and very safe. You wouldn't want your children to travel without a seat restraint, why would you want your pet. I see lots of pets with their heads out of he window and not restraint in the vehical. If there was ever an accident wouldn't you want your pet safe, I know I would. This is a very well made product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Top Paw(r) Easy Rider Car Harness
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 18 reviews

Saved both our lives

September 16, 2009
by madmolly
fromLocust Grove, VA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 18 reviews
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 18 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 18 reviews
I purchased this harness for my 30# hound dog because she loves to ride in the truck, but the ride was too rickety for her to be comfortable. I also liked the fact that she couldn't leap out of the truck when I opened the door. Recently, we had a reason to never travel without it again. I was driving down a twisty two lane road when a driver coming in the opposite direction was distracted momentarily and swerved into my lane. I swerved to miss them but my truck lost control and we rolled over into the ditch on the opposite side of the road. My dog was securely fastened in her harness and I remember her flailing around, but securely attached! The truck landed on the driver's side door and she was dangling over my head. Had we not had her secured with the harness, she could have flown around or out of the truck and severely injured one or both of us. I will promote this product to everyone I meet with a dog, it saved our lives!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Top Paw(r) Easy Rider Car Harness
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 18 reviews

Yay!

June 3, 2009
by Raparee
fromGarner, NC
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 18 reviews
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 18 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 18 reviews
I was really worried about my puppy always getting sick in the car when I had her in the carrier. Didn't matter if the trip was 5 minutes or 50. So when she grew up a bit, I got her one of these harnesses. Not ONLY does she now love the idea of car trips, I know she's safe in the seat belt, has range to move across the back seat, and it's a fabulous harness outside the car, simply attached to a lead. It doesn't chafe with the soft front, so if I do need to stop suddenly, it won't pull any more against her with the seat belt than she does when she's ready to go on a lead. :)
I'd definitely recommend it for ease of transport!
Pros: seat belt safety, excellent harness, soft front/no chafe
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Top Paw(r) Easy Rider Car Harness
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 18 reviews

Used Daily for 20 months - Secure and Durable

October 31, 2008
by MoAndBuddy
fromNorth Atlanta Burb, GA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Knowing my lab was going to be a Giant, I bought the Large Easy Rider for Buddy at age 4 months and 40 pounds. At that time I adjusted it as small as it would go. Now at almost 24 months it has been adjusted many times as he grew to 116 pounds. Buddy goes with me everywhere, every day, and loves wearing his harness. It keeps him safely secured while allowing him to keep an eye on things or curl up for a nap.
We recently completed a cross-country road trip and the harness performed excellently there and back again. I know the harness has over 30,000 miles on it. It recently started slipping open, the main clip on the back has worn out after thousands of clicks. So Buddy gets a new one for his 2nd birthday next week.
When I tell Buddy, "Go get your seatbelt" he knows exactly what I mean and jumps up to retrieve it off its peg. He will often get it while I am getting ready to go out as if to say "Hey Mom, I need to get dressed too!"
Pros: easy to clean wash with towels in washer, very comfortable never caused any irritations
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Top Paw(r) Easy Rider Car Harness
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 18 reviews

Perfect for my dogs!

September 29, 2008
by LovingPetMom13
fromOklahoma City, OK
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 18 reviews
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 18 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 18 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I travel weekly for my job and usually take my dogs with me. I decided to get them harnesses to ensure their safety if we were ever into an accident. Jersey, my medium-sized dog, does wonderfully! Tank didn't handle the limited range of movement well, so I bought him a seat and use it along with the harness, which gives him a wider range of movement. They definitely serve their purpose, and my dogs even wear them all week at the hotel just as their harnesses.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Top Paw(r) Easy Rider Car Harness
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 18 reviews

Best Seatbelt for my Dog

April 21, 2008
by abbey2005
fromCharlotte, NC
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 18 reviews
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 18 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 18 reviews
I read reviews prior to puchasing this device. My 2 1/2 year old lab/hound mix was always getting sick while riding in the car. It just seemed like anything we tried never worked. We decided to give this a try and it was the best thing we ever bought for our dog. She had no problem while traveling and didn't get sick on us. We have decided that what was making her sick was allowing her to roam around in the back of our SUV. Not only was that making her sick it was also dangerous. Now our 70 lb bundle of joy is safe. We just came back from a long trip and had no dog sickness. I have already recommended this to my family and close friends that have dogs. Thanks for a great product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Top Paw(r) Easy Rider Car Harness
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 18 reviews

Love it

October 11, 2007
by Anonymous
fromBurlington, ON
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 18 reviews
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 18 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 18 reviews
I have a 25lb Boston Terrier/Pug cross and she'd bounce from front to back constantly if allowed, so I bought her this safety harness along with the seatbelt connector to keep her safely in place. My only issues is that she's so little she can't really look out the window when harnessed in. I think I'll have to buy a booster seat which will solve that problem.
I definitely recommend this product. It's comfortable for her, and they can't get out of it, if it's fitted properly for them.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Top Paw(r) Easy Rider Car Harness
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 18 reviews
1 out of 1 recommend this product