PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Top Paw(r) Chrome Prong Training Collar

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Top Paw(r) Chrome Prong Training Collar

Prong collars should be put on and taken off before and after daily training sessions. This collar is made of interlocking links, each with two blunt prongs that meet the dog's skin when the collar tightens.
Overall rating:
4.8 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(25 reviews) 24
24 of 25(96%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Top Paw(r) Chrome Prong Training Collar
Review 1 for Top Paw(r) Chrome Prong Training Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 25 reviews

Best Training Tool.

December 5, 2013
by Eveindae
fromOntario, Canada
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 25 reviews
Fit 
5 / 5
5 / 5 25 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 25 reviews
This is the best training tool I've ever used. Mind you, I've used a slip chain training collar before. I've discussed with my trainer and we both agreed it was time to go to the prong for my dog's training.
As long as this collar is properly fitted, a light tug on the leash will give a correction. The correction seems to work better then a slip chain or anything else I've used. My dog use to pull on his leash a bit but with the prong collar, he pays attention to me and not his surroundings. He is in training to be a service dog, and in the early stages of training, it's important that I have control and gain his attention.
I know it can look a little scary but if this tool is used correctly, you'll never go back to any other training tool. Honestly give it a try, use it correctly, and make your own discussion of this is for you. There is honestly nothing inhuman about this product unless you don't have a clue on how to use it or you abuse it.
Pros: durable, Easy to ControlDog, comfortable, looks great
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Top Paw(r) Chrome Prong Training Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 25 reviews

November 4, 2013
by Labprincess77
fromMaryland
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 25 reviews
Fit 
4 / 5
4 / 5 25 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 25 reviews
My dog used to pull like crazy and I was disappointed about my dog since I got her from the rescue center. But let me tell you about this product it just change my life and my dogs life as well and for only a few bucks it did the trick. I don't care what people said about this product (that is inhumane) but it simply works and my dogs seems to be happy and eager to walk with me like a trained dog, what a change!!!! I would recommend it!!! no questions ask...
Pros: durable, Easy to ControlDog, comfortable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Top Paw(r) Chrome Prong Training Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 25 reviews

It's Amazing. LOVE IT

October 15, 2013
by SexyNewfie1990
fromAurora Ontario
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I strongly recommend this product, i use to have a harness on my German Sheppard and i had a lot of trouble with her then i got this product and i love it, i have so much control over my dog and she listens a lot better with the collar over a harness. Its doesn't harm your dog at all, it was worth buying because it gives you the control over your dog and not the dog haven the control.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Top Paw(r) Chrome Prong Training Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 25 reviews

Love it!

May 21, 2013
by CourtneyJ
fromFlorida
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5 25 reviews
Fit 
5 / 5
5 / 5 25 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 25 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
I bought this a few months ago, and it has been a wonderful addition to daily life. Moe, my 50lb mutt (more than 5 breed mix), pulled terribly on his leash. I was terrified he was gonna snap the retractable leash I had (since I didn't think he'd get that big I didn't buy the correct strength) and end up running into the large road along side my house.
Thanks to this collar he no longer pulls on his collar, and no longer strains his leash. And I love how excited he gets when I pick it up. He loves it and will even stick his head in to put it on himself. Its made walking him safe, comfortable, and enjoyable. I highly recommend!
Pros: comfortable, Easy to ControlDog
-3points
2of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Top Paw(r) Chrome Prong Training Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 25 reviews

Hyper Aussie

February 24, 2013
by ARae12
fromOH
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 25 reviews
Fit 
5 / 5
5 / 5 25 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 25 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
I went to Petsmart yesterday and bought this collar for my three year old Australian Shepherd. He has A LOT of energy and has never done well outside on a leash. I tried training him inside, and he did great... but as soon as we stepped outside, it was as if he became possessed! Positive reinforcement was out of the question. He didn't want treats and he wouldn't pay attention to me at all. In addition to trying regular collars, I tried the Gentle Lead and the Easy Walk and neither worked. My arms felt like Jello even after the shortest walk and with the Gentle Lead, his nose was rubbed raw from pulling :(
After reading just about every review on here and on Amazon about the prong collar, I decided to give it a try. I'm so glad I did! We went on a short walk today, and he only pulled slightly. With more practice, I'm sure he will only get better :) I do recommend at least watching videos on YouTube about how to properly fit and use the collar.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Top Paw(r) Chrome Prong Training Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 25 reviews

No More Pulling!

January 10, 2013
by MaceyMom
fromMichigan
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 25 reviews
Fit 
5 / 5
5 / 5 25 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 25 reviews
I LOVE the prong collar and so does my dog. Walking and running together is a pleasure since my Aussie adjusts her pace to me. There is no pulling with the prong collar, unlike the regular collar and the harness that we tried. She is excited to see the collar go on because she knows that it means a great time. The only thing I would do is to make sure that you unhook/hook the link in the same place every time. Otherwise, it can be challenging to connect the links if your fingers aren't that strong.
Pros: comfortable, durable, looks great, Easy to ControlDog
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Top Paw(r) Chrome Prong Training Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 25 reviews

The best thing I have EVER bought for my dog!!!

April 13, 2012
by ambernicole8101
fromDenton, TX
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
I have an almost 2 year old pointer/pit mix that weighs almost 60 lbs and he has been a puller since the first time he was on a leash. He would bark at other dogs and people and pull so hard that I would lose circulation in my hand because I had to wrap the leash around it to keep him close! He also learned how to escape from his old collar AND the harness I tried using by backing out of them. I love taking him on walks but because of his agressivness towards other people, animals and his ability to escape, I don't very often. Since the weather is getting nice again I began to look for something else that might help and found this. The reviews were overall pretty good so I bought it and hoped for the best. It is a GODSEND!!! I feel like I'm walking someone elses dog! I tried it out today just around the house and ran into a couple of stray dogs. My dog barked and started to take off but stopped immediately thanks to the collar! He really didn't pull much after that and when he started to he'd self correct before the collar tightened. He never yelped or looked uncomfortable and still had fun on our mini walk and he never tried to escape! I can't wait to take him out tomorrow for a long walk around the neighborhood!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Top Paw(r) Chrome Prong Training Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 25 reviews

Definitely recommend!

September 20, 2011
by doglover13
fromKent, ohio
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5 25 reviews
Fit 
5 / 5
5 / 5 25 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 25 reviews
Before using this product it was a nightmare walking my dog. She would just keep pulling no matter what I tried. When I put this collar on to walk my dog, it automatically fixed the problem. Now I have enjoyed walking my dog every night.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Top Paw(r) Chrome Prong Training Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 25 reviews

lovin' it!!!!!

April 13, 2011
by boxermomma13
fromsan diego, ca
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
OMG!! i am loving this product, dont know why i didnt purchase it a looong time ago!!! i have 3 boxers, who were a nightmare to walk!!!! 2 of them are about 70 lbs and would pretty much walk ME!! ive had leash burn and scratches, and just dreaded the walks. i preferred to take em to an enclosed area, such as a baseball field where i didnt have to worry about the leash and they can run free. i just bought this collar today, and my walks w/them were perfect!! no pulling at all, kept them right next to me!!! now i look forward to walking my pups around the neighborhhood!!!
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Top Paw(r) Chrome Prong Training Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 25 reviews

Great Training Collar

February 25, 2011
by MikeSO
fromVernal,Utah
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I owned a 150+ lb. Rottweiler who would walk me instead of me walking him until I purchased this collar. It works like its supposed to. I now have another large Rottweiler pup and I plan on using this collar again. It took me only about a month to fully see the effects of using this collar. Teaching to heal and sit with it works well. I don't see any cons to this collar as it doesn't hurt the animal as much as people think it does. Ive trained 4 Rottweilers using this collar.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Top Paw(r) Chrome Prong Training Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 25 reviews

Wonderful!!

January 16, 2011
by anj83
fromClarksville, Tn
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
We have a 2 year old Pit Bull. She's an amazing dog and had always doing fairly well walking on the basic choke collars. The only time we had any issues were when we left our neighborhood and would go somewhere like the park where there are lots of other dogs around. She's never been aggressive, but rather LOVES other dogs and gets VERY excited when she sees a new friend, usually a few hard tugs and focusing her she would calm down and be fine. The problem is people tend to get a bit freaked out when they see a large adult pit bull pulling to get to their dog, not understanding that she is friendly! We bought this about 6 months ago and it has been the PERFECT fix!! She still gets excited and pulls slightly when we cross another dog, however with this collar, I don't have to work to get her focus on me and she immediately sits to wait for the other dog to pass!! This collar has made our walks completely stress free, for our dog, myself and everyone else at the park!
Pros: adjustable
Cons: a bit intimidating at first glance
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Top Paw(r) Chrome Prong Training Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 25 reviews

it's like having a whole different dog outdoors

December 19, 2010
by net2dahoop
fromKansas City, MO
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Our 10 month old chocolate lab is a little (big) princess so long as there are no unusual stimuli. We live on a street with several dogs, 6 whose front yards are visible from ours, and we have a neighbor who inadvertently provokes our dog to pull, jump, and whine in order to greet him. There are also a couple of little kids that WANT to say hello, but aren't able to because our pup is so out of control outside.
We should've bought a training collar a long time ago, but we didn't know which one to buy and we like to do a thorough job on our homework before buying new things for her. Like others have said, the pronged collars always looked intimidating/cruel, but after reading the reviews we realized this is what we needed.
We decided NOT to buy the snap-on collar because of poor reviews (i.e., others have had problems with the collars snapping off!), although it would be nice to have the snap-on mechanism for getting the collar on or off. Getting the collar on is less of a problem than getting it off. We've taken the advice of others and have started to undo one of the links when taking it off, which seems safer because our dog would quickly pull away and it seemed that one of her eyes could be poked with the prongs while taking it off.
Her neck is ~16", we got the 20" training collar and removed 3 of the links. If you remove links, remove them from the middle (not the end of the collar) because getting the collar back together might be harder -- it seems that the loops for the prongs in the middle are wider spaced than the one at the end (and less harder to get back together).
She is a little reluctant to get the collar on still, but she hasn't pulled either of us since we've used this collar. Hopefully this is a preview of upcoming attractions!
Pros: it works
Cons: looks are intimidating
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Top Paw(r) Chrome Prong Training Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 25 reviews

AMAZING!!

November 15, 2010
by CTinNC
fromHuntersville, NC
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I have a 6 month old pitbull who literally has bruised my arms from pulling SO hard out the front door when we were getting ready to go for a walk. I also used to get leash-burn from her pulling the lease through my hands so quickly and hard. We tried everything...regular collar, harness, choke collar and nothing worked.
We decided to try this collar despite its "scary" apperance. WOW!!! Amazing results even within the first day!! Yes, the first day!! She learned very quickly not to pull. When she would pull (slightly) she would stop and look up at me as if to say "what's going on". We have had this collar for 3 days and we only use it occassionally. She has learned THAT QUICKLY!! Amazing!!
Pros: collar is adjustable you can take out links
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Top Paw(r) Chrome Prong Training Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 25 reviews

Don't let its appearance stop you from buying this

October 23, 2010
by liz124714
fromRochester, NY
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
We have a Jack Russell/Beagle mix who pulls very hard on his leash. We have tried leash training, but any time he sees another animal his hunting instincts kick in and he takes off, pulling us with him. We tried harnesses, but he pulled more. Also, we tried the HALTI head collar. He was able to paw at it and kept getting it stuck inside his mouth.
I was apprehensive about this collar because it looks so scary, but I'm so glad I got this. A note on sizing: the size is the actual length of the item, not your dog's neck circumference. My dog has a 15" neck so I got the 18" and only had to take off 1 link (it's adjustable). As soon as we took him for a walk and he would start to pull, he would immediately stop. This will be a great training aide. It is difficult to put on at first, but I think I'm getting the hang of it.
Pros: best training collar i've found
Cons: scary looking
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Top Paw(r) Chrome Prong Training Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 25 reviews

My Husky stopped pulling!!

August 19, 2010
by DreaK
fromSouthern California
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
My four month, 40 pound husky was a CRAZY puller. We started out training him on a harness at 2 months and sadly it just encouraged his natural inclination to pull. At such a young age he could already drag me down the street. So on the recommendation of a dog trainer we switched him to a regular nylon collar about a week ago. It worked but only at first. This morning we were in PetSmart and managed to slip his collar when he saw another Husky pup and I ended up chasing him all over the store (should have just knelt and called him it would have saved me the unnecessary cardio) but that was the last straw. I had been recommended this product by a fellow dog owner (she has a Black Lab) but was apprehensive because I was worried it was cruel. Well like I said chasing him around the store was the last straw!! And now I couldn't be happier!! He doesn't pull AT ALL and doesn't even try!!! It took me a couple tries to figure out how to get it on him correctly but I love that you are able to remove some of the link to make it smaller (he is between collar sizes right now). This is going to be a life saver whenever we are around other dogs because all he wants to do is PLAY with them but this is going to be the best tool to teach him better manners. I would recommend this product over and over again. And no, it doesn't hurt them but if you are worried just try it yourself and see.
Pros: everything
Cons: a bit scary looking
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Top Paw(r) Chrome Prong Training Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 25 reviews

Get for training

June 5, 2010
by KSMD
fromVentura, CA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 25 reviews
Fit 
4 / 5
4 / 5 25 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 25 reviews
I have a 7 year am. staff mix. She has always pulled on a leash and is really strong. I have tried choke chains and halties. (She snapped her last choke chain) Both work for a short period. This collar stopped the pulling almost immediately. People are afraid of these collars bc they look cruel, educate yourself they are safer than choke chain if used proper, make sure you know proper placement before using it. The only thing I'd suggest is buying the snap on one instead of this as it is hard to manipulate on and off the dog as you can't slide it over their head.
Pros: stops pulling, good for training
Cons: is hard to snap on and off the dog
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Top Paw(r) Chrome Prong Training Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 25 reviews

Snap on training collar

May 31, 2010
by hfejme
fromElizabethtown, PA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 25 reviews
Fit 
5 / 5
5 / 5 25 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 25 reviews
I have my third rescue Akita, and unlike the previous two, 'this one pulls Hard. He's a good pup otherwise, all 100+ pounds of him, but he has landed me on the ground many times. I've had this collar two days and he's a different dog to walk .
It does not hurt him, but simply controls him. For any dog who doesn't respond to an ordinary choke collar, this is worth a try.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Top Paw(r) Chrome Prong Training Collar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 25 reviews

thank goodness for this thing...

May 23, 2010
by PepperandLuna
fromTexas-land
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 25 reviews
Fit 
4 / 5
4 / 5 25 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 25 reviews
It was kind of funny; when we first saw Luna we had already reserved her to be adopted. So we come to Persmart on an adoption day, and she's sitting like a ANGEL in her crate. Just calmly lying down, watching. So lovely behaving. I was thinking "This'll be easy"
Bu when I took her out, BOOM. She started literally DRAGGING me across the store. She was so bad I hadn't gone 10 yards before a guy stopped me and tried to calm her down. He failed.
6 months later I decided to try the pinch collar. I did it on my arm and it didn't hurt (In fact it felt good, my arm was itchy lols) I pur it on her and she was INSTANTLY about 50 times calmer.
But depending on the dog, the collar will work differently for you. Obviously this isn't for a chihuahua. If you have a smart dog it should be not-pulling pretty fast, But it took Lulu another 6 MONTHS before she finally stopped dragging me. Now she rarely pulls, and if the leash gets taught I can pop her back a bit. this is a LIFE-SAVER! I love it!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Top Paw(r) Chrome Prong Training Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 25 reviews

Amazing

January 24, 2010
by GoldenOwnerJAX
fromJacksonville, FL
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 25 reviews
Fit 
5 / 5
5 / 5 25 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 25 reviews
I read the reviews from multiple sites and was still not sure if it was the thing for my 3 month old Golden. After a walk yesterday where she pulled the entire walk I decided it was time. The minute I put it on her in the store she was calm and sat waiting for me. Our first walk was quite different from the day before. She didn't pull but once. I had my father in law help me put it on my arm and yank on it to see how it felt. Did not pinch or hurt at all, just consistent pressure all the way around. If you are on the fence about the look or concerned it would hurt your dog just go to the store and try it on. Both of you.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Top Paw(r) Chrome Prong Training Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 25 reviews

Power Steering For Your Dog

July 11, 2009
by KleeKaiMom
fromLas Vegas, NV
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 25 reviews
Fit 
5 / 5
5 / 5 25 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 25 reviews
These collars are amazing! We have three Alaskan Klee Kai dogs (look like Huskies) and when they were young they liked to pull and since they were bred originally to pull a sled it came as no surprise they wanted to pull us too! The trainer at Pets Mart recommended the collar and we have used them on all three dogs since they were young. They are all older now and don't need them anymore but any dog owner that needs help controlling their dog(s) while training/leash walking should give this a try!
Pros: easy to put on, durable/strong
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 next