PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for PetSafe Stubborn Dog In-Ground Radio Fence System

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

PetSafe Stubborn Dog In-Ground Radio Fence System

This system is safe and effective for all hard-to-train pets.
Overall rating:
4.375 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(24 reviews) 20
22 of 24(92%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for PetSafe Stubborn Dog In-Ground Radio Fence System
Review 1 for PetSafe Stubborn Dog In-Ground Radio Fence System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 24 reviews

Awesome!

January 7, 2014
by texxxxangel
fromtexas
Very easy instructions and you can find the video for installation on u tube. Instead of burying the wire, we attached it to our wood fence. Our dogs love to dig to get to the neighbor's backyard. It worked right away! The dogs were not as excited about going out side the first couple of days, but their more willing to go now. Its getting better for them everyday. Wish I got this a long time ago.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for PetSafe Stubborn Dog In-Ground Radio Fence System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 24 reviews

Great product !

November 20, 2013
by pjensen
fromUtah
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
I only had to work with my dog (lab/husky mix) for a couple of hours before he was totally trained. The only draw back, is the collar. I wish it was a little sturdier.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for PetSafe Stubborn Dog In-Ground Radio Fence System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 24 reviews

So far, so good!!!!

May 17, 2013
by VetNurse
fromPhila, Pa
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
I have two very athletic dogs. Since my township will only permit 4' fences, clearing the fence is not at all an issue for my dogs. I have two pit mix's- who are two of THE most amazing, loveable dogs but thanks to the media and bad owners...everyone and their grandmother is terrified of them. Imagine that jumping the fence to say hello..but people have every right to be upset because they are jumping the fence!!
So far, this setup is amazing. It took them about 2 minutes to figure out to NOT go near the fence. My husband stapled it higher on the fence since that is what we need and it only took an hour. We have the parameter set so they get a warning when they are 4' from the fence line, and they get zapped at 2'. Perfect. I have the collar setting at 2 for one dog and 3 for the other.
Here is to high hopes of enjoying summer days outside and me not stressing about the safety of my pets and our neighbors not hating us.
Only complaint.....had to shell out an additional $80/90 for another collar. Seriously??? Kind of ridiculous but didn't have a choice.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for PetSafe Stubborn Dog In-Ground Radio Fence System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 24 reviews

Best money spent

April 25, 2013
by LuvBorderCollies
fromNC
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
I recommend this for any dog owner. It was easy to install and simple to train our 6 month old border collie. She is now 1 year and 6 months old. She loved to chase cars and go to the road. This underground fence has kept her safe and out of the road. She gets to enjoy her freedom everyday not having to be put up in a dog lot. She knows the boundaries even when I forget to put her collar on. It gives me peace of mind knowing that she isn't going to get in the road. We have been using this product for a year now and she has never crossed the boundary I would also recommend the lightning surge protector. Our receiver box got hit by lightning once. Luckily, it was still under warranty and pet safe sent us another one. The lightning surge protector will prevent that. Overall, I am extremely satisfied with this product. And will install it again if we ever move.
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for PetSafe Stubborn Dog In-Ground Radio Fence System
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 24 reviews

Our dog runs right through it

February 13, 2013
by Dickjr
fromSouth Carolina
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
I started with the basic system, which did not contain our lab/hound mix. So I upgraded to the stubborn dog system, which worked fine for about 3 weeks. Now the dog leaves as soon as he is off the chain.
+4points
10of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for PetSafe Stubborn Dog In-Ground Radio Fence System
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 24 reviews

Great Product, a little difficult to install

November 1, 2012
by ABCook33
fromKansas City, MO
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
My dog was so creative in finding ways to get out of her yard I nicknamed her Shawshank. This product worked though. Installation was easy except for twisting the wires to create safe paths for the dog to cross the barrier. Instructions were confusing. I have little to no electrical experience, so it took me three tries and finally outside help to figure it out. If you have a wooden fence like me, use an electric staple gun to install the wire and it will be a breeze. Replacement collars cost $81 so if the collar (not the sensor) gets damaged its easy to fit the sensor onto another collar by unscrewing the shock probes, punching holes in the new collar, and screwing them back on.
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for PetSafe Stubborn Dog In-Ground Radio Fence System
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 24 reviews

Doesn't work for high-pain tolerant dogs

June 20, 2011
by BadDaisy
fromCalifornia
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
I gave it 3 stars, but probably could be 4. This product was easy to assemble, but unfortunately it just doesn't work on our boxer. She has a high pain tolerance and she just dealt with the pain. I used it to try to prevent her from jumping our block wall. I put it close to the top of the wall (otherwise the other boxer will chew it) first on setting number 3, but she jumped it. Then set it all the way up to the max number 5, She jumped the wall anyway. Not only does she jump it, she walks/runs along the top like a cat. She continued to run along the top of the fence, even while getting shocked for a good 20 feet until she reached the front yard to jump off the wall toward the street. Guess it's back to being in the outside kennel while I'm at work.
+4points
11of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for PetSafe Stubborn Dog In-Ground Radio Fence System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 24 reviews

Worked for my escape artist

September 13, 2010
by yendis
fromFort Worth, TX
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I've had this system for over a year now and got it as an alternative to replacing a $7500 wood fence. I have two dogs a Siberian Husky (escape artist) and a Great Pyrenees (130 lbs explorer). I set the system up and it only took one try at setting #3 to convince the Husky that walking out the gate or digging wasn't a good idea. The pyrenees took #4 to get the message (5 settings total). Both are now set to #1 (noise and vibration only). I've taken the collars of several times and forgotten to put them back on and they're not tempted to cross the line. The system works great for a medium size dog however the sensitivity isn't strong enought for tall dogs if the line is burried. I've had as many as 5 dogs on my system at one time....
If you're worried about the "shock" don't be. I grabbed a collar out of the truck and turned to close to the fence with it in my hand and it got me. It feels like a really hard grab and only seemed to affect the skin with no prolonged symptoms (ie muscle craps).
Pros: customizable to any shape yard, system can handle multiple dogs (addt'l collars), no longterm effects, audible alarm if system isn't working, can use inside or outside, kid safe (wire is only radio signal), new /replacement wire is available, very effective for cost
Cons: requires visual barrier(s) to help train dogs, modify install for tall dogs
+21points
28of 35voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for PetSafe Stubborn Dog In-Ground Radio Fence System
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 24 reviews

Pitbull safe

February 19, 2010
by samandmya
fromBreckenridge MN
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I would give this to anyone with a large breed dog that is a little harder to get to listen. I think this works great and would recomed this to anyone.
+4points
7of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for PetSafe Stubborn Dog In-Ground Radio Fence System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 24 reviews

keeps max in the yard!

November 6, 2009
by mommymax
fromSouth Jersey, NJ
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 24 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
Hello! We bought this Stubborn Dog electric fence because, well, we have a stubborn chocolate lab. It was very easy to install as long as you have a grasp of the circuit concept in electric. If not the manual explains it too you. We bought an edger to make slits in the ground. We tucked the wire in with a ruler, hooked it up.. and it was ready to go. It took my husband and I about 3 hours to install. My Max was about 5 months at the time. By the second time he went past the white flags, he learned to stay away from them. We only walked him around the perimeter for 3 days. He definitely had it by then. It was the best thing I bought or him by far. I can let him play outside and he goes nowhere near the boundaries... It's also nice because he has access to the front yard, where if we had a regular fence he wouldn't. I highly recommend this product.
+18points
19of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for PetSafe Stubborn Dog In-Ground Radio Fence System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 24 reviews

Wonderful product

August 29, 2009
by bosslady
fromcincinnati, ohio
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 24 reviews
I love this product. It took my golden retriever puppy 14-30 days to get the hang of his boundries, but once he understood it it was great. He is a much happier dog now that he can run around the whole yard instead of being chained up. It is much, much cheaper than a chain link fence as well. I would recommend this product to anyone.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for PetSafe Stubborn Dog In-Ground Radio Fence System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 24 reviews

My dog is a stubborn, digging escapee of the yard.

January 31, 2009
by LuvMyShiba
fromDFW, Texas
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 24 reviews
That was until I purchased this system! I have one of the most stubborn dogs I've had in my life (he's a Shiba Inu). He is truly a Houdini of dogs. He constantly dug out of the yard even with all the effort we put in covering his holes and trying to dig proof it (in numerous ways). After day two or three, he knew the effects of the red collar and respected his new boundaries. Without the collar, he runs straight to the fence... with the collar he comes about 6 inches from the fence and turns around to come back. AND we're only about a week into training. He maybe stubborn but he is definitely smart. Finally something that leaves me at peace when my dog roams freely in my yard!!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for PetSafe Stubborn Dog In-Ground Radio Fence System
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 24 reviews

Not for the extremely stubborn dog

December 8, 2008
by 2snowdogs
fromFairbanks, AK
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
1 / 5
1 / 5 24 reviews
I bought this system for my 2 Siberian Huskies who can escape out of any yard and it did not work at all. We followed the exact instructions on how to train them with fence system and it worked at first but within a week they ended up enduring the shock and getting out of the yard. We weren't able to return it since we had already opened it up and used it so it was kinda a waste of $200. I imagine this product works very well for other dogs, but not for the extremely stubborn dog like mine.
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for PetSafe Stubborn Dog In-Ground Radio Fence System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 24 reviews

November 20, 2008
by wilson3
fromCape Coral, FL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 24 reviews
I purchased this in ground fence system for my weimaraner who jumped my chain link fence. I installed the fence system to my existing fence & within 1 day of using it, my dog learned his boundries & his "jumping the fence days" are over!! AMAZING!! I no longer have to worry about him getting loose, what peace of mind!! I highly recommend this product!!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for PetSafe Stubborn Dog In-Ground Radio Fence System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 24 reviews

Only thing that works

July 3, 2008
by DianeH
fromMurrieta, CA
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 24 reviews
We have 5 acres and four dogs that would constantly run off. This is the second system we have tried and the only one that actually worked!
+9points
11of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for PetSafe Stubborn Dog In-Ground Radio Fence System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 24 reviews

Best barriet out there!!!

June 11, 2008
by Heartgirl
fromAlabama
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 24 reviews
My American bulldog just walked through the other system. We trained him to find the barrier, and he doesn't even think about going outside the barrier. He is a stubborn dog, but this was the best way to keep him safe.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for PetSafe Stubborn Dog In-Ground Radio Fence System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 24 reviews

Great Product

June 9, 2008
by dana611
fromHahira, GA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 24 reviews
This product is great!! I had a few concerns because I was upset at first to put the shock collar on my dogs but since I have they are better dogs and are much happier that they can play without me right there with them.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for PetSafe Stubborn Dog In-Ground Radio Fence System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 24 reviews

SO FAR, SO GOOD I Highly Recommend this thing!

May 11, 2008
by finsup
fromOrlando, FL
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 24 reviews
I've had this radio fence installed for about two weeks now and it's the best thing I've ever bought concerning our dog! It takes awhile to install, if you are burying the wire and you have a considerable amount to bury, you might consider renting a trenching machine. I had 310 feet of trench dug in about twenty minutes. It cost about $70.00 for 4 hours to rent it but that's better than digging for those 4 hours. I guess our dog is a fast learner because after the second time she got shocked she has yet to go near the area where the wire is buried again. She is very careful not to stray near it, I'll intentionally throw her ball over the line and she stops 3 or 4 feet before the warning sounds activates. This fence has given everyone in my household MAJOR peace of mind, we no longer have worry about the dog running off!! I highly recommend this radio fence to anyone.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for PetSafe Stubborn Dog In-Ground Radio Fence System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 24 reviews

Perfect for big dogs

December 15, 2007
by mysticdreamer
fromOregon
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 24 reviews
We have used this for a year with our german sheppard dog and it works great. We had a cheaper system when he was younger but as he grew up we found that it did not give enough of a correction to keep him with in the yard. Switching to this system was the best thing that we ever did, he now stays in the yard, it covers our 5 acres nicely.
+10points
13of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for PetSafe Stubborn Dog In-Ground Radio Fence System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 24 reviews

All I can say is WOW!!

October 19, 2007
by Ivegot4
fromHuntsville, Texas
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 24 reviews
I have 2 dogs that are escape artists even with a privacy fence. I got this fence and put it around the yard and it only took once and they will not test the area again. ALSO, and this is the reason I am writing this review, we had one collar that did not work. Petsmart wouldn't take it back (my fault for loosing the receipt) So, I called the company. 5 minuets on the phone and I got a new receiver shipped out to me, and a prepaid package to send the broken on back AND they said to just keep the extra parts and just send back the black box. I have never ever had this great of customer service. I am totally happy with this product. You dont even get this good of service when you buy a $40,000 new vehicle :)
+44points
46of 48voted this as helpful.
1 2 next