PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for PetSafe 2-Meal Auto Feeder By Radio Systems

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

PetSafe 2-Meal Auto Feeder By Radio Systems

The easy way to automatically feed your pet two fresh meals within 48 hours. For indoor use only.
Overall rating:
2.316 / 5
2.3
 / 
5
(38 reviews) 36
13 of 38(34%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for PetSafe 2-Meal Auto Feeder By Radio Systems
Review 1 for PetSafe 2-Meal Auto Feeder By Radio Systems
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 38 reviews

Works as good as I hoped

December 17, 2013
by AndyC
fromMacon, GA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5 38 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 38 reviews
Have 5 y.o. rescue pit mix that still has some decreasing attachment issues, been with me only a few months.
Knew I was going to be gone for a stretch one day/night, wanted to make sure he got fed, and didn't really want to deal with a stranger to him coming in.
Why this wasn't also in the dog aisle, I don't know. I happened upon it and others on the cat side, or would have missed it.
Sure, there are certain design improvements to make (quieter timers, a little more detailed timers, ability to turn it off and not waste battery, although, really, how much is, say, 2 AA batteries a year?), and directions are minimal: no idea what the little wheel on the back does, no explanation.
And I see upon checking out Pet Safe web site that Petsmart cost was 5 bucks above MSP). Ahem.
While it may not open on a precision time frame - can't really tell from how timers are designed - it seems to have opened fine every time I've used it for about a month now. Dog sniffs, knows something's coming, leaves it alone until it opens.
I will test it one time when I'll be back home near the time it's supposed to open, but if it's off, it's not off by much. Dog hasn't complained.
I wasn't expecting it to sing to my dog or fold up napkins. Just hold the food and open. Cats? Yeah, I can see cats being a pain and tearing it up. But that's expected of most cats. If your dog is moderately mellow and doesn't tear stuff up, this should survive well (unless you just get a bad one, which happens with every product).
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for PetSafe 2-Meal Auto Feeder By Radio Systems
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 38 reviews

Poor design

August 4, 2013
by Anonymous
fromOrange County, CA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
2 / 5
2 / 5 38 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 38 reviews
Firstly, the time can only be set in 2-hour increments and it is not accurate at all. Sometimes, it opens 30-45 minutes before schedule. There should also be a battery indicator in case the battery gets low and prevents it from opening. Secondly, the lids should have some type of gasket to keep the scent of the food in. Or, a tighter seal would help. Our cats kept trying to open the lids because they were attracted to the food scent. Thirdly, it is overpriced for what you get. For $40, all these extra features should be included. We will be returning ours.
Cons: poor quality
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for PetSafe 2-Meal Auto Feeder By Radio Systems
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 38 reviews

Didn't work; not worth the price even if it did.

April 14, 2013
by ANDREAandMOXIE
fromDayton, OH
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
2 / 5
2 / 5 38 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 38 reviews
I turned it over to put the battery in and noticed that it's run by a clock movement that you find in the back of any inexpensive wall clock. It even has the dial you use to adjust the hands of the clock, which obviously serves no purpose in this feeder. This gave me doubts already. I put the battery into it, put some treats in each bowl, set the timers to 2 and 4 hours, respectively, and waited. Nothing happened. I could hear the mechanism ticking, but the dials never advanced; the doors never opened. I tried it again with different time intervals, same results.
My cat did attempt to break in but got bored too quickly to open it for a couple of treats. If she were actually waiting for a meal, I think she would break into it unless I took measures (i.e. tape and screws) to prevent it.
I removed the one screw holding the cover on the back and looked at the mechanism inside and laughed. Other than the clock movement, there are 4 plastic gears and two springs for the doors. I opened the clock movement case and observed that it was working fine, all its parts moved as they should, but no movement of the large gears for the dials. I don't think that this particular clock movement is capable of generating the torque required to rotate those gears.
The company obviously doesn't manufacture the clock movements themselves and I think this is the reason for some purchasers saying the feeder works fine and others saying it barely or never works; not all clock movements have the same power. Poor quality and quality control.
I would not recommend this product to anyone. If you are lucky enough to get a working one, your pet may still be able to break into it or flip it over, requiring modification to make it usable, and with its cheap components, it is not worth the price. I returned it to the store and bought a slightly pricier product with a programmable digital timer.
Cons: poor quality, doesn't work
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for PetSafe 2-Meal Auto Feeder By Radio Systems
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 38 reviews

Works Well with a Little Duct Tape

February 9, 2012
by MsFixIt
fromBoise, Idaho
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 38 reviews
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5 38 reviews
The quality is pretty poor, but after spending $40 I was determined to make it work. The secret? Duct tape. Or clear packing tape, if you prefer.
For credibility purposes, I'm a mechanical engineer. And I realized that if the bowls can't move, the cats can't open the feeder.
I taped around edges of the removable bowls to lock them in place. I also taped around the bottom of the feeder to lock it to the floor so the cats can't push it around. It took about 5 minutes.
After a few days, the cats gave up on trying to get it open because nothing would budge.
It's a little unsightly, but now it works like a charm. I use it for morning feedings and in the last 7 months that I've had it, I have not gotten any more 6 AM "feed me" whining from either of my cats!
Pros: easy to clean
Cons: poor quality
+8points
9of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for PetSafe 2-Meal Auto Feeder By Radio Systems
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 38 reviews

January 23, 2012
by GilbertOpenedThis
fromKentucky
Appearance 
2 / 5
2 / 5 38 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 38 reviews
I would not recommend this product. I wish I would have read these reviews before I purchased the feeder. Here, I thought my cat was very intelligent and could open this poorly built feeder, but I find out that multiple cats with any determination can use their mouth to open the lid and use their paw to pull out the tray.
After the first use, I woke up to find both trays on opposite sides of my kitchen, completely empty. My cat was able to get to his food before the timer actually opened the feeder.
Luckily, I will be able to get a store credit for the feeder, but that is the only positive thing that has come out of this regrettable purchase.
Cons: poor quality, doesn't work
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for PetSafe 2-Meal Auto Feeder By Radio Systems
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 38 reviews

Good idea, poor execution.

January 3, 2012
by SiameseTrio
fromBoston, MA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5 38 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 38 reviews
There must be previous models that people are giving good reviews on this because I cannot see how any cat with any amount of determination cannot get to the food. I have 3 cats so bought two feeders (4 total dishes). After the first trial run, I came home to have one feeder flipped and the other one was open. I then screwed the feeders to a large flat board (let's see them flip this), there are screw holes so looks like they did have mounting in mind at the factory. Trial run two (this time I sat there and watched them), they popped the top on one within 30 seconds (no lie) and were able to get a claw under one dish and pull the serving tray out which then popped the second top. I would avoid this product and wish I had read the reviews before purchasing. I will try to drill some holes to secure the serving dishes into the device (since I bought these months ago and only tried on one previous vacation, hoping I would be able to rig it up to work by the next vacation).
Pros: easy to clean
Cons: poor quality, doesn't work
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for PetSafe 2-Meal Auto Feeder By Radio Systems
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 38 reviews

Smart choice, but cats can open lids

March 27, 2011
by PreciousPirate06
fromPortland, OR
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
I originally bought this to feed my cat if I was unable to feed him since I got up at 3am...however, a week or so later I found out he was able to open the lids on his own and was very sneaky about it. If your cat gets into everything, is always hungry or is just very smart, I would stay away from this model....other than that, it was a good buy.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for PetSafe 2-Meal Auto Feeder By Radio Systems
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 38 reviews

Great idea, which doesn't work so well in practice

March 27, 2011
by Charlie75
fromBrooklyn, NY
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
unfortunately, although this *looks* great, the motor barely worked when we got it. we tried different batteries, and still, the motor would run the timer, then it'd fade out... and stop... and then start... so the dishes never opened reliably. we finally had to return it because it just *never* opened again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for PetSafe 2-Meal Auto Feeder By Radio Systems
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 38 reviews

Not so much

December 17, 2010
by SunnyTheKitty
fromMinneapolis
My name is Sunny. I'm not the birghtest cat in the world. I broke into this thing in the first 30 seconds. I dared my owner to try it again, so he did, and he taped the containers in. But then he went away for the weekend, and the food bins didn't open, and I was VERY unhappy. Don't let my kitty friends use this.
Cons: worthless
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for PetSafe 2-Meal Auto Feeder By Radio Systems
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 38 reviews

Petsafe Meal Feeder

November 16, 2010
by Merlie
fromOntario
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
I had an old version, did me six years before the plastic perished. This new product is flimsy and is unreliable. I came home to two hungry cats when it did not work.
I don't trust this device and would not buy it again.
Cons: unreliable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for PetSafe 2-Meal Auto Feeder By Radio Systems
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 38 reviews

Not reliable

August 10, 2010
by firefli
fromMassachusetts
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Very unreliable product. Used in home for trial 2 days. Day one only one door opened on time, day 2 neither door opened. I would never be able to leave the house for a weekend and depend on this item.....my cat would starve
Cons: no battery cover, unreliable timer, non durable
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for PetSafe 2-Meal Auto Feeder By Radio Systems
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 38 reviews

Have loved this feeder for YEARS

August 1, 2010
by veterinarian
fromFrederick, Maryland
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
We have owned this feeder for several years and we really like it. It is accurate enough for opening in an hour window (say, between 5 and 6 a.m.) and it has NEVER failed to open, to my knowledge, in the four or so years that we have been using it basically every day. I agree that the two compartments do not open simultaneously, so clearly that is problematic if your cats each need their own bowl, but our 2 girls share fine and the bowl is big enough for both of them to eat comfortably. I like that the compartments are timed separately, because then if we are away, we can trigger one in 12 hours and one in 24 or what-not. I work an irregular work schedule, and this has been a WONDERFUL way to keep our kitties from smacking me in the face with their paws at 6 am when I worked until 2! A great product, in our experience.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for PetSafe 2-Meal Auto Feeder By Radio Systems
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 38 reviews

This around the clock feeder is a blessing!

June 21, 2010
by Deerest1n
fromWaxhaw, NC
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 38 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 38 reviews
I have been using this feeder since April 2010. My 2 yr old Bengal had just been diagnosed with severe HOCM and was prescribed Plavix and Diltiazem for a total of 5 pills a day...for as long as he lasts. Well, at this time, June 21, 2010 he appears healthy and is unaware of his limitations. I credit the reliable timing of the feeder, used as a pill dispenser, to keep him going.
I use the feeder to dose out the pills as prescribed for the late night and middle of the day dose when I am working.
It is truly a dependable feeder. I will change the batteries every 3 months to ensure that there will not be a lapse in timing. I cannot express the peace of mind I have knowing that my Rex will receive the care he needs when I am not at home!
Now are you asking HOW a CAT can be enticed to willingly take a pill at the correct time? A second blessing is the invention of Greenies Pill Pockets. He gulps down the Plavix with just 1/2 half of the Greenie wrapped around it. If I use a whole pill pocket he will chew AROUND the pill and leave it behind.
The bitter Diltiazem was a challenge until I turned the pill pocket into kittie truffles! I crush Rex's favorite snack, regular Greenies, and then rolled the pill & pocket in the crushed snacks creating the "truffle" looking treat.
If you know the Bengal breed they are "talkers". When I am home and it is time for his treat/pill he reminds me until I give him his medicine!
Bengals are also rough players and the feeder has withstood his attentions. Absolutely no complaints for this literally life saving feeder!
Pros: reliable
Cons: none
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for PetSafe 2-Meal Auto Feeder By Radio Systems
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 38 reviews

PetSafe 2-Meal Auto Feeder by Radio Systems

March 28, 2010
by inquisit123
fromOK
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 38 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 38 reviews
This is the 1st feeder I've ever purchased. I returned it after 3 days. I gave it trial runs before simply leaving it to feed my 2 cats. First trial: worked fine - opened on time. Next trial: one compartment opened on time; the other stayed shut. Third trial: I waited some 40 min. past the set time, and neither compartment ever opened. As for feeding 2 cats with it, I'd inserted a heavy greeting card in the space between the 2 compartments to keep them from nosing into the other's food in the middle of still eating his or her own, and that worked. However, as the timer is impossible to set to an exact time, new problems would be created: one eating, one waiting; who will win the other meal once it is finally exposed? I did not find the timer to be too loud. But none of these latter details really matter, because this contraption is basically useless. SO IMPORTANT to test these products before trusting them to actually feed our animals!
Pros: none
Cons: completely unreliable
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for PetSafe 2-Meal Auto Feeder By Radio Systems
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 38 reviews

3 smart cats

March 15, 2010
by JH959
fromColorado
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
2 / 5
2 / 5 38 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 38 reviews
As a recommendation from our veterinarian, we were to purchase a feeder for one of our cats who chose to over eat all the time, so I decided upon this one. Well, it didn't take very long at all for one of our cats to figure out how to open it. She would either pull on the tray enough that it would pop open or she would slide the tray out and eat the food. Before we knew it, all three of our cats had figured it out. Since then I donated it, and purchased the Le Bistro electronic portion control feeder. It works wonderfully! And no one can steal food out of it!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for PetSafe 2-Meal Auto Feeder By Radio Systems
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 38 reviews

2 very SMART cats

December 13, 2009
by kwilamowski
fromMemphis, TN
Appearance 
1 / 5
1 / 5 38 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 38 reviews
My husband and I thought we would try this out since we both are planning an upcoming trip for the holidays and really only want the pet sitter to have to come over once per day to check on the cats. Unfortunately within 12 hrs the cats were able to figure out how to open it and ate the food. So I don't recommend this.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for PetSafe 2-Meal Auto Feeder By Radio Systems
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 38 reviews

Please for the past year.

December 5, 2009
by Itsastupidsong
fromMaryland
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 38 reviews
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5 38 reviews
I've been using this product for about a year now. It worked pretty well in my house. I have 3 cats, one of which is very food motivated and must be fed at 6:30a for else you'll get a cat butt on her face. You can't set it for exactly the time you want but you can get it pretty close. The settings are in 2 hour increments but you can estimate in between. As far as the loud ticking, I've never heard it unless I was filling it. The only issue I've had is that my cat beats at it so hard to open it that if one side is already open the lid and removable tray will bat around and make a racket. My cat hasn't been able to open it yet, but I can see how a stronger (and maybe smarter :P) cat could.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for PetSafe 2-Meal Auto Feeder By Radio Systems
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 38 reviews

Not Worth the Investment

November 8, 2009
by SnowFox
fromOntario, Canada
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Appearance 
2 / 5
2 / 5 38 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 38 reviews
I had bought this feeder 2 days ago for my one of two cats. He is always hungry and begins meowing around 4 am when his feeding time isn't until 6:30. It drives me crazy, but more so my roommate. I figured if i purchased a feeder I would be able to give him a little snack at around 4 am when he gets hungry and then he won't wake anyone up.
Lets just say when I took the feeder out of its packaging, put the food in it then set it down, he was all over it. Tooth marks already. All throughout the night I could hear him batting the feeder around.
The second night, within one hour of me putting the feeder down, he managed to open it. I caught him before he could scarf it all down.
I was not too impressed, and lets just say I hope they'll let me return it tomorrow.
For those who have starving cats like mine, don't bother with this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for PetSafe 2-Meal Auto Feeder By Radio Systems
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 38 reviews

Didn't take long for the cat to get it open

September 1, 2009
by anon1
fromRockville, MD
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5 38 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 38 reviews
Unfortunately the ticking is a bit loud. And it didn't hold up well to cat abuse. And I didn't like the fact that you can only time it on two hour increments. But I would have dealt with all this except for the fact that the cat figured out how to open it up and get the food - just by turning the dial. That pretty much rendered it useless.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for PetSafe 2-Meal Auto Feeder By Radio Systems
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 38 reviews

might work for a kitten

August 4, 2009
by JJChicago
fromChicago, IL
Appearance 
1 / 5
1 / 5 38 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 38 reviews
My cat can easily stick his snout under the lip of the lid and have access to the food in about 2 minutes. The seals aren't tight at all!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 next