PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for PetSafe Stationary Bark Control Training System

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

PetSafe Stationary Bark Control Training System

Creates a bark free zone for one or more dogs. Emits a loud, ultrasonic sound which startles the dog to interrupt the barking. Click "More details" below to view a PDF version of the Owner's Manual.
Overall rating:
2.693 / 5
2.7
 / 
5
(127 reviews) 126
52 of 127(41%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for PetSafe Stationary Bark Control Training System
Review 1 for PetSafe Stationary Bark Control Training System
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 127 reviews

Finally a good night's sleep!!

April 19, 2007
by Coondog
fromBaltimore, MD
Effectiveness 
4 / 5
4 / 5 127 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 127 reviews
I have a 1 1/2 year old Scottish Terrier / Poodle. He's absolutely adorable, but LOUD! And for some reason, always at night, when it's time to be quiet :-) As soon as it went off, he looked oddly around and stopped barking. Overnight he would traditionally bark for nearly 2 hours (yes 2 hours.... at absolutely nothing!!) The bark control worked wonders :-) He barked once, and then we could hear him getting quieter and quieter and then nothing. Normally one loud bark led to about a million other barks! Works great and we can finally sleep again!!!! Should have bought it months ago :-)
+14points
15of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for PetSafe Stationary Bark Control Training System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 127 reviews

February 23, 2014
by EmCh
fromCA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 127 reviews
Fit 
5 / 5
5 / 5 127 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 127 reviews
we have a small home & it definitly works with our 3 dogs except for when the door bell rings or someone is right outside the door they will bark through it
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for PetSafe Stationary Bark Control Training System
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 127 reviews

ultrasonic bark control

February 21, 2014
by hewphar
fromBirmingham, AL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 127 reviews
I have a 9 lb. maltese/shiz-tzu and she's terrified of everything and barks at any little thing. She barks incessantly if she hears anything outside or through the walls and since I live in an apartment, it ends up being a lot of barking. I bought this device after my neighbors complained and it worked for about a day. When it was first turned on and she barked it startled her but then after a couple of times she got used to it and it no longer phases her. I wouldn't waste my money on this product. It was a good idea in theory, but in reality it just doesn't work.
Cons: Doesn't Work on Training
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for PetSafe Stationary Bark Control Training System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 127 reviews

indoor anti bark device

January 8, 2014
by Oneye
fromTennessee
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 127 reviews
Fit 
5 / 5
5 / 5 127 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 127 reviews
This item worked perfectly from the moment it was connected...have 4 toy Pomeranians who began to bark insistently at almost everything since adding 2 puppies...barked all day and most of the night also. Had been getting little to no sleep at night for at least 6 months. This device was recommended by a friend who had used it with their small dogs with success. Since i do not collar my dogs this was a wonderful fix. We have peace at last, dogs are happy, parents are happy, and no harm to the animals. Good job!!
Pros: durable, Easy to ControlDog, comfortable, looks great
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for PetSafe Stationary Bark Control Training System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 127 reviews

Expedient delivery, worked on the first day.

December 5, 2013
by theamazingoreo
fromWiesbaden, Germany
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 127 reviews
Fit 
4 / 5
4 / 5 127 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 127 reviews
We received our order of the PetSafe Stationary Bark Control Training System in a week and a half. Within the first use of this product, it worked!! It has been the only thing that has worked so far on our dog. We are ecstatic that we finally have a means to an end. We've been able to use it during times when we are home for training on the spot, and when we're away. The button feature has been a life saver when it comes to deterring our dog from licking his wounds, and barking at house guests. Purchasing this has been a wonderful decision.
Pros: Easy to ControlDog
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for PetSafe Stationary Bark Control Training System
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 127 reviews

November 16, 2013
by ebend8
fromva
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 127 reviews
Fit 
1 / 5
1 / 5 127 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 127 reviews
don't work for my dogs
Cons: poor quality
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for PetSafe Stationary Bark Control Training System
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 127 reviews

October 24, 2013
by AnnoyedDogLover
fromVirginia
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Appearance 
1 / 5
1 / 5 127 reviews
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5 127 reviews
I purchased this for my three year old Min-Pin. He is an incessant barker, looking for something to bark at. While I understand that dogs bark, my husband sleeps during the day and the dog keeps him up. I tried this product. It worked for about an hour. It's worthless. Do not purchase. Get a bark collar, they are more effective and you can wean the dog off of it.
Cons: poor quality, not adjustable, Doesn't Work on Training
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for PetSafe Stationary Bark Control Training System
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 127 reviews

ineffective and not worth the money

October 2, 2013
by ororon144
fromVA
I bought this for my 3yr old Pomeranian who barks at everything with the hopes that he would quiet down. I don't know if its because my fur baby is too small and his bark is too high pitched, but this product didn't work. At all. He was standing a foot away from the unit having a barking party and nothing happened (there is a red light that is supposed to come on indicating when the unit is making the ultrasonic sound). The only time the microphone picked up his barking was when I literally held it up to my little guy's face as he was having a barking fit and even then the unit only registered and went off once, maybe twice.
There is a button that can be pressed for manual correction and it did, when pressed, work. However, I bought this unit to correct the dog automatically without me having to be standing over him every moment just in case he's about to bark.
Definitely returned this product and do not recommend it for anyone with a toy/small dog.
Cons: poor quality, Doesn't Work on Training
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for PetSafe Stationary Bark Control Training System
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 127 reviews

PetSafe Stationary Bark Control Training System

September 8, 2013
by otheroptions
fromAblerta
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
This product is not work what I paid for it. It does not stop my two little dogs from barking. It works wonders though when I vacuum, the vacuum sets it of. it goes threw a lot of batteries BUT still does nothing. Do not buy this product.
Cons: poor quality, Doesn't Work on Training
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for PetSafe Stationary Bark Control Training System
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 127 reviews

Worth the money for us

July 17, 2013
by Anonymous
fromExeter, NH
Our shiba inu puppy started barking all night a few months after we got her. We tried everything we could think of and tried all the behavioral suggestions but no luck. After about 3 weeks of her barking throughout the night I bought this product. I didn't like the idea of a bark collar sinc she is a dog and there are times when barking is ok so this seemed like a good alternative. It took about a week for her to figure out that her barking causes the annoying noise she was hearing and barked significantly less the next week and then not at all. No more all night barking! We've had it about 6 weeks and it has been great.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for PetSafe Stationary Bark Control Training System
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 127 reviews

Worked for about a day...

June 17, 2013
by Lilysmom2012
fromToronto, Ontario
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5 127 reviews
Fit 
3 / 5
3 / 5 127 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 127 reviews
In our experience this did not work...at least not for more than a day. It's almost like our dog started to like the sound or got used to it...now it's just an ugly piece of plastic that sits on our bedroom floor.
Cons: poor quality, Doesn't Work on Training
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for PetSafe Stationary Bark Control Training System
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 127 reviews

Does not work for all dogs

May 8, 2013
by Jack987
fromBethlehem, PA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I have a large lab and a cocker spaniel mixed with border collie. I works very well for the lab, but not so much with the other. Both dogs are two years old. And no, the collie is not hard of hearing, but he does have the floppy ears. I loaned it out to a friend who has a cocker spaniel and it didn't work for her either. If it weren't for the fact that it works so well with my lab, I would return it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for PetSafe Stationary Bark Control Training System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 127 reviews

Worked great!

May 8, 2013
by chihuahualove002
fromManitoba
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I adopted a chihuahua about a month ago. I was told that he doesn't bark, except for when someone comes to the door. However, I live in a condo, which meant that he also barked anytime a neighbor entered or exited their suite. I bought this product in the hopes that it would deter his barking so that I would be able to keep him. And if it did not work, I would be able to return it within the 60 day period. Within days after I bought it, I noticed a significant change in his barking. He barked much less and when he did, it was usually only a low bark (that did not set off the system). He now only barks when someone comes to my door, and even then, it is only a couple barks at the most.
My only issue with it is that other repetitive noises can set it off, such as loud laughter. If you have people over, I suggest that you make sure it's turned off - otherwise it will be going off constantly and terrify/confuse your dog.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for PetSafe Stationary Bark Control Training System
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 127 reviews

Makes a good paper weight

March 22, 2013
by JoeyTheBarker
fromCalgary, AB
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 127 reviews
Fit 
1 / 5
1 / 5 127 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 127 reviews
I have an extreamly loud and annoying dog. He barks at everything, a sound, smell, food, when sleeping and when eating. He barks when anyone goes near the bathroom, when you turn off the light, on the light, to go outside, and to come in. He even barks when he is doing his business.
I picked this up and put it in my tiny basement suite. He barked, and we have no clue if it worked, then I noticed he barked back to it when the light went off.
It only gave him another reason to bark.
Pros: looks great
Cons: Doesn't Work on Training
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for PetSafe Stationary Bark Control Training System
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 127 reviews

Save Your $$

March 11, 2013
by tumbleweedFURchaser
fromOshawa, ON
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 127 reviews
Fit 
1 / 5
1 / 5 127 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 127 reviews
Purchased cause moved into an apt from a house. We have 2 Shelties BUT only one is the barker and he gets the other one going.
It was unsure even if it was working cause "us" humans is not suppose to hear the squeal that only the dogs could hear.
We replaced the batteries 3 times and even thought about tying it directly onto the dog.
We even bought a spray bottle so every time the light did go from green to red we sprayed the dog.
We now live in a loud, vinegar smelling house.
Pros: looks great
Cons: poor quality, not adjustable, Doesn't Work on Training
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for PetSafe Stationary Bark Control Training System
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 127 reviews

Its Weak at Best, save your Money

January 18, 2013
by Pedro4
fromCT
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Appearance 
2 / 5
2 / 5 127 reviews
Fit 
2 / 5
2 / 5 127 reviews
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5 127 reviews
If I hadnt seen my Dog look at it the first time she barked, I would assume its a plastic box full of sand, with an LED on it. I guess it makes some sort of noise, but if your Hound really believes in her first amendment right to BARK, this box does nothing. Zero. Buy some KONGs with the money, or earplugs. She really doesnt like her crate and I was hoping this would get her to stop barking, but I suspect the annoying noise makes her Bark more and more aggressively as it simply irritates or scares her. She is a 50lb Lab. Maybe they'll make a bigger more powerful Turbo model than can stop a dog from going Nuts Barking. That said, I cant recommend this.
Cons: Doesn't Work on Training
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for PetSafe Stationary Bark Control Training System
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 127 reviews

Awesome; Works well

January 7, 2013
by LadyDecco
fromNewport News, VA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 127 reviews
Fit 
4 / 5
4 / 5 127 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 127 reviews
My dog is a hound and he can bark very loudly. When we got this and set it up on the counter he didn't like the sound. He hasn't barked in months and we use it occasionally to keep him off things such as the dinning room table by pushing the button on the top to make the noise and he goes away. Very good training tool.
Pros: durable, Easy to ControlDog
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for PetSafe Stationary Bark Control Training System
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 127 reviews

didn't work at all

November 4, 2012
by charity11
fromCincinnati, OH
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 127 reviews
Fit 
4 / 5
4 / 5 127 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 127 reviews
We are taking this back today to try something else. We wanted to get one of these instead of collars because we have 3 dogs. Only 1 is a big barker but the others chime in sometimes too and we don't want to have to purchase 3 collars. We just moved to condo with neighbors above and next door to us. Wanted something that would keep all of them quiet while they are in their crates at night and while we work but they were not affected by this at all. When we first turned it on, they perked up and looked our direction... but did not respond at all besides that. We even sat it right in front of their crates for the night and they still barked all night.
Cons: poor quality, Doesn't Work on Training
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for PetSafe Stationary Bark Control Training System
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 127 reviews

disappointment!

October 4, 2012
by armywifeGermany
fromGermany
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5 127 reviews
Fit 
3 / 5
3 / 5 127 reviews
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5 127 reviews
we ordered this product for our puppy for her CONSTANT bark and when i say constant i mean constant. its ridiculous!! she barks when in her crate and when she's out. we bought this system and i was so excited when it got here we moved her crate and put the system next to it and it worked... for like a week.. then its like she became used to it f it ever worked for her .. now we are back to the constant barking. I'm very disappointed that we spent money on something to help but it didn't. maybe others might have better luck but since day one its seemed like the sound of it didn't phase her at all..
Cons: not adjustable, Doesn't Work on Training
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for PetSafe Stationary Bark Control Training System
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 127 reviews

Did not work with my cocker spaniels

June 1, 2012
by WinstonsMom
fromMA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Waste of money. Did not work with my cocker spaniels at all.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next