PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for PetSafe(r) Bark Control

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

PetSafe(r) Bark Control

Waterproof Wide range of correction adjusts to any dog's temperament Three correction modes w/easy-to-use push button Won't hurt your dog Deters and in most cases eliminates nuisance barking Dogs typically stop barking within first few days after wearing collar For dog's 8+ pounds
Overall rating:
3.719 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(32 reviews) 31
24 of 32(75%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for PetSafe(r) Bark Control
Review 1 for PetSafe(r) Bark Control
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 32 reviews

Saved our Dog

January 6, 2014
by AJ32214
fromTexas
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 32 reviews
Fit 
4 / 5
4 / 5 32 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 32 reviews
I don't normally write reviews, but the reviews about this collar pushed my wife and I to purchase this product for our German Shorthair Pointer. Our poor dog suffers from crippling separation anxiety and we have literally tried every product to help soothe her (thundershirt, calming pheromone spray, special treats she receives in her kennel, heartbeat noises, GNC calming chews for pets, wrapping her in shirts that my wife sleeps in, radio, TV, movies, you name it - we have tried it). I put the collar on multiple times before turning it on to let her get used to wearing something new. We set up a webcam to watch her, turned on the collar, and left just like normal. Within minutes she started her normal routine of whining, pacing, and becoming extremely anxious. She let out her first howl and the first level of the collar zapped her. That interruption immediately quit her routine and she laid down and slept. We could not believe it. This product saved our dog and made our neighbors very happy. If you have exhausted every other option like we did, try this collar. She looks cool and calm and waits appropriately for us to come home.
Pros: durable, Easy to ControlDog, comfortable
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for PetSafe(r) Bark Control
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 32 reviews

December 7, 2013
by Paige555
fromHingham,Ma
How many pets do you have?2
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 32 reviews
Fit 
5 / 5
5 / 5 32 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 32 reviews
After trying everything else from training to clicker as a last resort tried this product. My 7 year old cockerpoo would bark at everything and anything thereby making my other dog, a poodle start barking. I know that dogs are supposed to bark but nuisance barking made it unbearable to my neighbors. I only put a collar on the cockerpoo and this collar did the trick. It only took once and now I have peace . Buy it ,it works!
Pros: Easy to ControlDog
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for PetSafe(r) Bark Control
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 32 reviews

Very Happy

November 15, 2013
by Enigmakey
fromraleigh, nc
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Fit 
3 / 5
3 / 5 32 reviews
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5 32 reviews
The collar was a last resort. My dog stopped her over eager barking on day one. Love it! Love it! There is peace in the neighborhood once again.
Pros: Easy to ControlDog
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for PetSafe(r) Bark Control
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 32 reviews

My Last Resort

September 17, 2013
by MorkieMom
fromSan Diego, CA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 32 reviews
Fit 
4 / 5
4 / 5 32 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 32 reviews
My Morkie developed separation anxiety 4 months ago due to a family member moving away and us moving to a new home. He was barking for hours after I'd leave for work in the morning. Everyone said don't use a shock collar. So... I invested nearly $1000 in training/beahavioral therapy, thundershirts, medication and any other "positive reinforcement". Nothing worked! With my neighbors complaining constantly, this was my last resort. Boy don't I wish I could go back and only spend 100 bucks for a shock collar and be done with it. He quit barking the very first day I put this on him. I have a webcam set up and now he just goes and lays down when I leave instead of holwing at the door for hours. I highly reccommend trying this collar before dishing out tons of money to correct barking. At least with this product you can return it and get your money back if it doesn't work.
Pros: durable, Easy to ControlDog
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for PetSafe(r) Bark Control
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 32 reviews

January 20, 2013
by CanadaB
fromOntario, Canada
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 32 reviews
Fit 
4 / 5
4 / 5 32 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 32 reviews
The dog next door barks constantly when outside and it's owners are away....as a result my border collie/lab x puppy learned from him to bark constantly as well the instant he got outside.
After months of several failed attempts with a sonic egg, muzzle and standing outside trying to correct the behaviour myself, I gave in and purchased this bark collar once my dog was old enough.
2 barks...the collar activated...and my dog instantly shut up. I put the collar on everytime he went outside for two weeks, then as a trial, left it off a few times. Even without the collar on my dog doesn't bark anymore, will just sit and look at the barking neighbour dog silently. The collar worked great!
A friend tried the collar himself to test how strong it really was for the dog...and while he was certainly startled...he did not find it painful.
I have since recommended the product to others.
Only cons...
Collar and buckle have lasted fine so far...but for the price I would have expected better quality fabric/buckle type.
Pros: Easy to ControlDog
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for PetSafe(r) Bark Control
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 32 reviews

LOVING THIS!

September 11, 2012
by xpurplebubblegum
fromMiddletown, Pa
What is your gender?F
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 32 reviews
Fit 
5 / 5
5 / 5 32 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 32 reviews
I purchased this in the Basic Bark Control version. I have a 30lb 8 month old Mini Aussie and he would bark at EVERYTHING. We couldn't enjoy sitting outside because he would bark constantly. This has been like a miracle for us. He no longer barks outside and we can enjoy sitting outside in peace again. It took half a day to become effective. It is awesome!
Pros: Easy to ControlDog, looks great
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for PetSafe(r) Bark Control
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 32 reviews

Absolutely AWFUL!

September 9, 2012
by tgarner
fromTampa, FL
Appearance 
2 / 5
2 / 5 32 reviews
Fit 
2 / 5
2 / 5 32 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 32 reviews
My 45lb lab has separation anxiety and barks nonstop as soon as we leave.
We tried the ultrasonic bark deterrent with no success. Our trainer at Petsmart suggested this collar. I was hesitant about bark collars but figured I'd try it.... I should've trusted my gut.
I put it on my dog, put him in his crate like usual, walked out of the room...and waited.
Within 5 minutes, he barked and you could hear his tone change mid bark. He barked again, more high pitch. Then barked again lower. Then yelped...then started to scream...not yelp and cry.... SCREAM this awful noise that broke my heart and scared me to death. His screams only made the collar keep zapping him. He went on for about 2 minutes and I just couldn't get the collar off of him fast enough. When I RAN into the room, he was shaking and had peed himself.
Luckily he recovered and was back to himself in about an hour but I will NEVER use a bark collar AGAIN. I returned the collar within 2 hours of purchasing it and am now trying the Thundershirt to help with my dog's anxiety.
This may work for some dogs and it will stop them easily......but I will say that those reviews and stories about dogs screaming is true....sure it wasn't hurting him, just scaring him, but it was enough to scare me. So not worth it.
Cons: Doesn't Work on Training
-11points
4of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for PetSafe(r) Bark Control
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 32 reviews

Unreliable/Poor Quality

September 9, 2012
by Dustywontstopbarking
fromRed Deer
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5 32 reviews
Fit 
3 / 5
3 / 5 32 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 32 reviews
Have owned 2 of these now and have had little success with both of them, the first one worked on the barking but when the battery went dead the battery compartment was seized and the unit was broke when trying to force it open, second unit didn't work from the day we put it on and the reps at pet smart have no technical knowledge of the device. PetSafe are one of the higher priced bark control devices, one would expect them to be made of better quality. And if you make purchases from Pet Smart DO NOT LOSE THE RECIEPT, they can not track a purchase like most stores can.
Cons: poor quality, fragile
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for PetSafe(r) Bark Control
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 32 reviews

Works Great!

September 1, 2012
by Relieved1
fromPrinceton, Illinois
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 32 reviews
Fit 
5 / 5
5 / 5 32 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 32 reviews
I am extremely happy with the choice i made. My Australian Shepard has extreme seperation issues and would bark uncontrollably and spin around in circles. A couple of times he smacked his head on a tv stand and i knew i had to do something to keep him from hurting himself. After using the bark collar he is a changed dog. I have been using the collar for 1 week and consider it the best 100 bucks i've spent in awhile. Dont listen to the bad reviews on the clasp i haven't had any issues with the collar. Thanks Pet Safe, from me and my dog.
Pros: durable, Easy to ControlDog, comfortable
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for PetSafe(r) Bark Control
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 32 reviews

PetSmart product info is wrong

July 28, 2012
by Lovemydog1
fromTennessee
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 32 reviews
Fit 
3 / 5
3 / 5 32 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 32 reviews
Petsmart's product information is conflicting. Your information says the product uses an RFA-67 Batterty (which is does) but that it comes with an RFA-118 battery (which is incorrect).
Just thought PetSmart would like to correct this information.
Great product for a dog who needs an adjustable collar that starts giving a correction at a higher static level. My dog has a high tolerance and this collar is the perfect bark control collar for her!
Pros: comfortable, durable, Easy to ControlDog
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for PetSafe(r) Bark Control
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 32 reviews

Stopped working, but great before

June 7, 2012
by Dbone
fromHighland Park, Nj
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
My GSD/Husky mix howls, whines, and barks when left alone. I tried this on the lowest setting (making sure the contact points were touching skin, not hair) and her noises lessened. After 2 days, the device stopped shocking (yes it had full battery), and my puppy got louder. I'm returning for another. Hopefully it'll work.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for PetSafe(r) Bark Control
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 32 reviews

Waste.

May 28, 2012
by StormCloud
fromPanama City, Fl
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I bought this for my dog, husky/lab mix. He is constantly barking. I put it on him the first day and the first few "zaps" worked great. Then he got used to it. So, I upped it. And again, he got used to it. I upped it to the highest and guess what? Doesn't phase him at all. Oh, and the battery is already going dead. After 1 day. I had a feeling reading the reviews I shouldn't have wasted my time.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for PetSafe(r) Bark Control
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 32 reviews

IT WORKED FOR MY NOISY BEAGLE!

April 25, 2012
by BarkyBeagle
fromalberta, canada
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
We just moved from a condo to a house, and our beagle suffers from separation anxiety and our first time leaving him alone in the new house he destroied a bunch of our boxes. Worried he would turn to the walls or the furniture like he did as a pup we decided to attempt kennel training. Unfortunatly his barking and howling were so loud you could hear him from 2 blocks away. So we bought this collar, and after about 3 minutes of a learning curve to learn that his barking and howling was what was shocking him we had wonderful WONDERFUL silence! Now I don't go to work with knots in my stomach. HOpefully he learns to like the kennel soon, but until then this collar is at least keeping our new neighbors happy!
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for PetSafe(r) Bark Control
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 32 reviews

I am amazed!

May 12, 2011
by heydollie33
fromNY
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I never thought twice about a neighborhood dog barking until my own 9-month-old pug started barking at everyone. I have only put this collar on him twice and he is a new boy! I think anyone who has a negative review might not have made the collar tight enough. I highly recommend this product and I bow to the manufacturer!
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for PetSafe(r) Bark Control
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 32 reviews

March 18, 2010
by brandolynnn
fromknoxville tn
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
so far so great! I just went and purchased it today and kinda upset to pay that much. But all it took was 2 barks and it has even calmed my dog down. He stays right by my side and has not had any bad behavior. My dog is a 1 year old yellow lab.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for PetSafe(r) Bark Control
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 32 reviews

My neighbors thanked me.

January 19, 2010
by SaharasDad
fromSalinas, CA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 32 reviews
I purchased this product after receiving a sincere complaint from my neighbors about two months ago. I witnessed the excessive barking while standing in their driveway that night and understood how annoying it must have been. Anyways, I purchased the Deluxe Bark Control collar the same night. After watching the included How-To video, I placed it on the lowest setting (there are 3 settings), shaved a little hair from the underside of my dog's neck and began to put it on her before going to work each day. The following weekend, she was outside and I heard her begin to bark. Immediately, she let out a slight whimper (it was very slight) and stopped barking.
A couple weeks later, my friend and I tried it out on ourselves. Again on the lowest setting, we placed the collar against our neck and emulated a dog's bark. (It detects the vocal vibrations only to avoid false triggers.) While the shock is startling, it doesn't hurt. If it did, I would try an alternate method of controlling her excessive barking.
Recent feedback from my neighbor has been very positive.
Pros: very effective., seems well-built and durable., has multiple settings.
Cons: not cheap!
+9points
12of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for PetSafe(r) Bark Control
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 32 reviews

Cheaply made product!

December 15, 2009
by JLWall
fromWhite House, TN
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Effectiveness 
2 / 5
2 / 5 32 reviews
This collar is awful. The clasp on it is so weak, this collar just falls off. I have a Great Pyr who barks excessively and we tried this... we ended up having to use electric tape on it to keep it from coming undone so easily. We shaved his neck so it would even work on his thick skin... THEN after 1 month, it still fell off and he was able to eat it. There is $100 down the drain. If the collar would stay on in the first place, it will work fine. It was effective while it stayed on. So cheaply made, I'll never buy this brand again.
Pros: works once the neck is shaved
Cons: doesn't stay on, cheaply made, falls apart easily, have to set it on high for a large breed dog
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for PetSafe(r) Bark Control
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 32 reviews

Awesome!

March 5, 2009
by DollyH
fromLiberty, Mo
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 32 reviews
Finally! A solution to my dog's relentless barking. I have a Yorkie that thinks the world is coming to an end every time I kennel her and leave the house. She gets a look like, "don't you DARE do it". Then proceeds to freak out barking and yelping until I'm gone. Well, I recently moved from a house into an apartment with fear that she may get me evicted. I could never give up my baby girl, but I can't loose my place to live because of my neurotic dog. I read over several reviews before choosing this product. Thankfully I did because this one did turn out to be a great buy. I tried it on her and pretended I was leaving to test it out. Bark one "yelp", bark two "yelp" then nothing. I couldn't believe it. The only problem with it that I found was it's a little too big for small dogs. My Yorkie is almost 8lbs, big for a Yorkie and it just barely fit in the right place. I also think that I might glue a rubber strip on the underneath of the coller so it doesn't slip when she jumps around. All in all though, it's a great buy!
Pros: effectively stops barking
Cons: almost too big for small dogs
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for PetSafe(r) Bark Control
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 32 reviews

bark collar

February 1, 2009
by nikki20
fromNorthern California
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 32 reviews
I have never written an online review of anything before but I was so impressed with this product that I felt compelled to do one now! One day with this collar and my dog has stopped her incessant barking at all the golfers that go by our backyard. She seems so much happier and so are we! She is a sheltie mix (who are known for their barking) and she became so fixated on strangers/other dogs that nothing would stop her. Not even a dog trainer! We knew that she was loving and smart and now we can enjoy her 100% of the time.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for PetSafe(r) Bark Control
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 32 reviews

Works!!

July 21, 2008
by Marianne
fromSpringdale, AR
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Effectiveness 
4 / 5
4 / 5 32 reviews
I got this product about 6 months ago and I'm very satisfied. I really like how there is a warning sound the first time the dog barks. Also, there are increasing levels of correction, so the first correction is slight. I have tested this product on myself and the first correction feels like touching a live wire for 1/2 a second. Yes, it hurts a little, but the dog will realize this and stop barking. I didn't think my dog would learn from this, but she did the very first time!! The only bad thing about this product is that sometimes it moves out of place if your dog is a jumper.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 next