PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for PetSafe Deluxe Little Dog Remote Trainer

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

PetSafe Deluxe Little Dog Remote Trainer

Recommended for dogs less than 40 lbs. Ten levels of static correction & a tone-only feature Corrects nuisance barking Use for basic training or to correct problem behaviors such as digging or chewing
Overall rating:
3.763 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(38 reviews) 36
27 of 38(71%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for PetSafe Deluxe Little Dog Remote Trainer
Review 1 for PetSafe Deluxe Little Dog Remote Trainer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 38 reviews

Very Disappointed

January 27, 2014
by Mahri
fromKY
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I bought the Little Dog Trainer for my short haired, 30 lb. dog that is escaping from the yard, and barking excessively.
The vibrating static was so weak, even on the highest #, that after a few times, my dog no longer acknowledged it. Due to the short lasting collar battery life, I only turned it on when needed, but the battery still ran down after a day or two, even if turned off.
I adjusted the collar tightness on my dog, but it is still pretty useless.
Another problem is that if you take the collar on and off the dog, she figures out when she is free, and misbehaves.
I do not recommend this collar!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for PetSafe Deluxe Little Dog Remote Trainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 38 reviews

Smart dog

January 20, 2014
by Cop3per
fromFlorida
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
I have a one year old poodle who didn't like to come when called. A half hour with the training collar was all it took. Seldom, if ever, do we need to shock him. The warning button is all it takes. Smart dog!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for PetSafe Deluxe Little Dog Remote Trainer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 38 reviews

not strong enough signal

January 12, 2014
by speck
fromyuma az
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
if they pick your dog up when loose they throw away the collar libs don't like them
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for PetSafe Deluxe Little Dog Remote Trainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 38 reviews

love it!!!

January 4, 2014
by puppymommm
fromOklahoma
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
we use this because our dog would run off without the leash on. This has stopped her from doing this.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for PetSafe Deluxe Little Dog Remote Trainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 38 reviews

December 21, 2013
by doglover454
fromJacksonville, Fl
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I have a very feisty little dog that thinks he's the toughest dog in the area. He knows what the collar is for so it brings him back to reality. Great product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for PetSafe Deluxe Little Dog Remote Trainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 38 reviews

October 18, 2013
by dtownerofdd
fromalabama
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
good product worked well would buy again good price too shipped on time
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for PetSafe Deluxe Little Dog Remote Trainer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 38 reviews

For a CAT?

June 8, 2013
by OnlyCatie
fromAsheville, NC
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I purchased this for my cat. We were on our last leg with him. He was chasing and attacking my other cat. So, we used this to stop him immediately. I got the small dog collar, the one that was made for a dog about his weight. It worked at first, and eventually I got him trained to stop attacking with just a beep instead of a shock. The issue I have is perhaps not with the product and more with my cat. He eventually stopped listening to it. Batteries worked. My fiance who got shocked will attest to that. I just have stubborn pets.
-7points
1of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for PetSafe Deluxe Little Dog Remote Trainer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 38 reviews

Loved it at first..........not so much today

February 6, 2013
by TracyA
fromPreston, Idaho
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
I purchased this item online on Dec 15, 2012. It arrived to me right before Christmas. I loved it.....until I put it on my dog yesterday, took the dogs outside to run and when she came back in, one of the probes was missing.......I have looked and looked outside where she was playing at and can't find it anywhere. Not real sure if I did find it, if I would put it back on the trust that it would work properly. Very disappointed. When it was all together, it worked awesome.
I felt it was not a cheap investment.....but now it is worth nothing.
+3points
7of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for PetSafe Deluxe Little Dog Remote Trainer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 38 reviews

A great training tool!

January 16, 2013
by LouisianaVetGirl
fromBaton Rouge, LA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
I love the fact that this collar has 8 different levels of static, it really lets me use the minimum shock I need to get my stubborn pup to pay attention. We had an issue with barking (keyword: had) and nothing else had worked. Petsmart training had not stopped the barking, citronella collars had not worked, and regular bark collars didn't always work when I wanted them to, but with this, I can properly train my terrier! The only thing I do not like is the range, I wish it could reach a little farther in the dog park.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for PetSafe Deluxe Little Dog Remote Trainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 38 reviews

Money well spent...I have a new boy!

July 24, 2012
by Drumgirl
fromSouthern, NH
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 38 reviews
Fit 
5 / 5
5 / 5 38 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 38 reviews
I did a ton of research and soul searching prior to buying this collar..lets face it..nobody wants to zap your best friend...but....I was fed up with him running off and potentially getting killed by a car and he was barking non stop when people stopped in, not to mention, barking aggressively at my sons friends that came over and I was concerned he would bite them...NOT GOOD! I have a pomeranian/chuahua(he's 4)so he has a mouth and thinks he is a Saint Bernard..LOL I did what the manual said and addressed one behavour at a time.which I think is key for success. I tackled running away first, he learned in 10 minutes and maybe two zaps tops..no joke, but I gave him 3 days of training..Now I dont have to zap him or even have the collar on... I yell come and he comes running! I am SO IMPRESSED!!!!! I then moved on and addressed the barking and aggression with visitors..One zap and boom..he was cured..over the weekend, I had some girlfriends over whom Buddy never met since they live accross the country and not a peep out of him, he barked when they came which I want, but as soon as I gave him the enough command..boom all was quiet and they didnt believe me that he was aggressive before..he is like a cute cuddly teddy bear now and he has freedom now, he gets to hang out with us and be part of whatever is going on instead of barking madly, locked in my bathroom..My best friend is now perfect and happier because he has freedom! I also wanted to mention that I love the tone feature, while training him, if he was doing something I didnt like or not listening, I would say ah ah and tone him twice at the same time and now all i have to do is tone him twice and he comes or stops whatever he was doing..I dont even need to zap him. I did read where other reviewers said the off button is in an odd spot and the dog can turn it off while laying down, which he has done once, but honestly...I dont even need the collar on anymore and its only been two weeks.dont let that deter you..He is just a calmer more chill dog. Best money I ever spent! Good luck, I highly recommend this to anyone who wants to change their dog for the better.One Happy pet mom and a much happier fur baby :)
Pros: Easy to ControlDog
+43points
43of 43voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for PetSafe Deluxe Little Dog Remote Trainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 38 reviews

soda pug's collar

August 18, 2011
by favetoyever
fromport townsend wa
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
he be came to have a few bad habits steling food barking nipping etc so level one no recatshon level 2 little twitch level 3 scatching the collar level 4 payed attshon to me
-2points
7of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for PetSafe Deluxe Little Dog Remote Trainer
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 38 reviews

Works well except for power button

June 26, 2011
by cybrshrk
fromSouth Jersey
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Purchased this for our stubborn dog. She refuses to listen to anything EXCEPT when she wants to. This includes the VERY important "Come!" command. Using this collar and only the tone setting, she now listens a lot better. It's important to use a command in concert with the tone. At first, she was confused by the tone, but now realizes she has a command to carry out. Two weeks in and her command obedience has improved greatly. NOW FOR THE BAD NEWS: Due to the location of the power button, it is easy for your dog to power off the collar just by lying down. The button is on the outside of the unit (which hangs down from the neck) and is easily pushed in by the floor or ground. Because the tone on this collar is so low...you have no way to know if the collar is still powered on. Poorly designed unit. Our older dog used a different brand large dog collar. That collar had a blinking LED and LOUD tone that we could hear across the yard. It worked very well!!! Because of the poor design and extremely low tone, I cannot recommend this collar to others. Check the other brands and look for one with a LED light indicator and loud tone. Trust me, this unit here will drive you crazy.
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for PetSafe Deluxe Little Dog Remote Trainer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 38 reviews

Petsafe Deluxe Little Dog Remote Trainer

March 3, 2011
by corgiliscious
fromcape may , nj
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I just started using this to try to correct a couple of negative behaviors from my 1.5 yr old corgi. He had a habit of barking and chasing our cats and didn't respond to my verbal or other commands ( tug on choke collar, spry with water ) to curb this. I did have to give him a little shock set on number 4 to get his attention , but it was one time and now all he needs is a reminder with the tone to make him stop.
Now to get him to not be mouthy when he gets excited when someone comes into the house. I don't want him nipping at anyone's hands and it has been so hard to teach him this isn't acceptable
I would recommend this collar , though I did have to have my husband assemble . I think it should be already to go , or at least not require tools to get it working
I wish I had found this product sooner as our dog came to us already a young adult with not enough training
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for PetSafe Deluxe Little Dog Remote Trainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 38 reviews

This collar really works!

November 1, 2010
by AJ99
fromSeattle, WA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
My whippet was one of the most stubborn pets that I've ever owned. After numerous attempts @ obedience I'd almost given up, and I've trained dogs in the past and done quite well w them in the obedience ring. From the minute that I put this collar of the dog ( and following the directions ) I had his utmost attention and immediate modification to his behavior. He has become a wonderful pet and I owe it all to this collar!
Pros: weather proof, very good range
Cons: batteries last so long it's hard to tell when they
+15points
15of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for PetSafe Deluxe Little Dog Remote Trainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 38 reviews

I have a new dog

August 28, 2010
by tam250
fromLancaster, PA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
In a matter of hours our dog learned what this was all about. Now we only have to show him the remote and he behaves. We only had to use level one a few times and the tone a few times. It was absolutely amazing. And prior to having this product our little guy was out of control! I mean he was the BOSS. We have had the collar about 2 weeks and have had no battery issues as others have wrote about in their reviews but if we do I have no problem with replacing them. However, I don't think we will need the product long. Regardless, it was money well spent!
+9points
11of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for PetSafe Deluxe Little Dog Remote Trainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 38 reviews

Saved my little dog

July 4, 2010
by kristyraye
fromTomball, TX
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I had a fox terrier mix that we found on the side of the road as a puppy (he was 8 weeks old). My husband was furious that I brought him home and has given me grief about him since then. Until I bought this collar. Fortunately, I was out of town when it arrived. But apparently, my husband only had to use the shock twice and the rest of the time, the dog responded to the beep. He has become a much more pleasant dog to be around. He doesn't chew and he is completely house trained now.
I don't know why everyone is complaining about the batteries. A package of the replacement batteries can be bought at any store and cost around $4.00. As far as ours goes, we had it on for 3 solid weeks and the batteries lasted that long. But again, I had no problem getting replacement batteries. If you are worried, then buy them ahead of time to replace them when you need to.
This was a lifesave for my dog and my marriage. I would certainly recommend it to anyone.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for PetSafe Deluxe Little Dog Remote Trainer
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 38 reviews

not worth the $$$$

November 30, 2009
by aandp
frommaryland
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
Effectiveness 
3 / 5
3 / 5 38 reviews
We purchased this collar for a medium size dog (approx 15-20 lbs) we bought it on wed and it stopped working by sun. At first it worked like a charm but a few days later the collar would just shut itself off (and this is with using enegizer batteries) Our dog responded very well to the tone function so we rarely needed to use the "static" We are considering returning for a tone only product. I would only suggest buying this if you want to change the batteries every other day. also try the 1-10 setting on yourself before testing on your dog... a small dog should never need the level 10... it is quite uncomfortable.
Pros: effective system
Cons: horrible battery life, collar shuts itself off, no low power warning!
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for PetSafe Deluxe Little Dog Remote Trainer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 38 reviews

NOT recommended

October 1, 2009
by MaryR
fromBarrie, ON
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Effectiveness 
1 / 5
1 / 5 38 reviews
I would not waste my money on this product. I ended up having to buy an Innotek, which I would recommend. It was definately worth the money. The Petsafe collar requires expensive batteries in the collar that do not last very long so you end up paying more in the end. The innotek is rechargeable. Also the Petsafe only works aboout 20 ft. or less. Spend the money and buy the Innotek it's far superior!
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for PetSafe Deluxe Little Dog Remote Trainer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 38 reviews

My dog is trained

September 23, 2009
by mytraineddog1
fromLake In The Hills, IL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 38 reviews
Thanks to PetSmart and PetSafe Deluxe Little Dog Remote Trainer, my dog is trained. I had a problem with loud barking during dinner time for the family and when I was on the telephone. But that has all changed since I started using the PetSafe Deluxe Little Dog Remote Trainer that a coworker asked me to pick up from PetSmart. This was the best thing I could have done since getting my dog.
Pros: sound a warning alarm after 1 shock., don't have to shock the dog again just warning.
Cons: battery doesn't last long, you get 8 days of battery life on the collar.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for PetSafe Deluxe Little Dog Remote Trainer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 38 reviews

Good product

August 26, 2009
by Pupproblems
fromminneapolis, mn
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
Effectiveness 
4 / 5
4 / 5 38 reviews
I was nervous to order this collar after reading some of the reviews about size, battery life, etc. I am very pleased. We have had the collar for one week and the battery is still working. We have a Maltese that is large for the breed (about 12 lbs.) and the collar fits well. We were able to cut most of the excess off except the part of the collar containing the wire, but no big deal. The only criticism I would make is that the dial is too expansive (we only use it at 1 or 2) and I'd love if the buttons had a distinct shape so I could very easily press one of the them without thought.
Pros: fit effectiveness
Cons: buttons on remote
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
1 2 next