PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for PetSafe Big Dog Remote Trainer

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

PetSafe Big Dog Remote Trainer

This remote training system is perfect for successful training for dogs over 40 lbs. It offers 16 levels of stimulation plus instant +2 boost option. Click "More details" below to view a PDF version of the Owner's Manual.
Overall rating:
3.542 / 5
3.5
 / 
5
(59 reviews) 58
35 of 59(59%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for PetSafe Big Dog Remote Trainer
Review 1 for PetSafe Big Dog Remote Trainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 59 reviews

Great product!

February 28, 2014
by dmrichard
fromNorth Carolina
I have a 8 month old Golden Retriever that is heading into her 'teenage years' and needed a little extra something for our recall and other training. I have yet to have use the stimulation portion of the collar so the tone alone has worked wonders for our girl.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for PetSafe Big Dog Remote Trainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 59 reviews

Excellent product that saves lots of frustration

February 18, 2014
by Jakie
fromMineral, Virginia
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
The transmitter came off after a few days & we luckily found it in the snow! Just make sure the prongs are screwed on tight, as they were nowhere to be found with the transmitter!
The collar itself works wonders and has saved a lot of frustrations for us and our dog. The unwanted behavior was changed quickly. After just a few shocking instances, our dog only needed the tone to keep from dragging our cats around through the yard by the scruff of their necks!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for PetSafe Big Dog Remote Trainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 59 reviews

Great item...

January 30, 2014
by 6135
fromFlorida
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
It is not often today that we can sincerely say that a product is GREAT!
This remote dog training collar works perfect.
It only gives off a very slight electric signal to the dog when you want him/her to stop or do something.
Sending only the high pitch sound signal option also works very well for minor infractions. Simply a well manufactured product.
Only suggestion would be to make a Medium size instead of just small and large.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for PetSafe Big Dog Remote Trainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 59 reviews

Pet Safe Big Dog Remote Trainer

January 3, 2014
by Doggone13
fromMinnesota
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
The PetSafe Big Dog Remote Trainer worked just as promised and in just a few days, we just had to basically raise our voice and show her the remote and say "drop it" or "off", and she would do it.
Very valuable in training a new puppy and very safe for the animal. I highly recommend it.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for PetSafe Big Dog Remote Trainer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 59 reviews

The product works!

January 1, 2014
by grandma7
fromWisconsin
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
It works on a less than year old active golden retriever. Still runs when he sees dogs but needs some training!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for PetSafe Big Dog Remote Trainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 59 reviews

Dog Remote

October 25, 2013
by candy5
fromTacoma, WA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Works most of the time but sometimes has little effect.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for PetSafe Big Dog Remote Trainer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 59 reviews

Piece of junk

March 1, 2013
by BrianasMommy
fromFresno, CA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
I bought this to stop my female dog from having food aggression with my two male dogs. The collar had a delayed reaction...so when I would push the button, she wouldn't feel the vibration until 15-30 seconds after I pushed it, and by then, she didn't know why she was being corrected. I was within 5-10 feet of the dog every time I pushed the button, so there was no reason for the reaction to be delayed. The reaction was always delayed, and sometimes it would not work at all.
This was completely useless.
-3points
3of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for PetSafe Big Dog Remote Trainer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 59 reviews

Worthless

February 13, 2013
by KahunaBlue
fromKansas City, MO
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
I was excited that that was made for LARGE dogs. I have a 1 yr old Great Dane who can be a bit of a bully at the dog park once he picks out a dogs he sees as submissive. I thought this collar would be my saving grace, distracting him long enough for the other dog to get away, and for me to grab him. Even on the highest level of 8 he doesn't feel a thing. I took it off him and tested it on my bare inner forearm, somewhat reluctantly... I had it on 3 before I felt anything at all. And once I got up to 8 it still wasn't very strong at all! If I am only registering a slight tingle on my inner forearm, then no wonder my pup can't feel it through his fur!
There is a sound feature, which does distract him. But that is not what I am paying for! Highly upset and frustrated that this model is worthless! I had such high hopes for it!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for PetSafe Big Dog Remote Trainer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 59 reviews

High dollar piece of garbage

January 12, 2013
by Labsms
fromMs
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?First time
Bought this unit to attempt to break a two year old 80 pound lab from chasing cars. This unit is cheap made and worthless. I even tested it on myself to see if it would even work. I am very shock sensitive and until I had it on high 6 mode I could barely feel it. My lab doesn't even react unless its on high 8 mode and it barely bothers him. I even put new batteries in it. Don't waste your money on this unit. Only reason I gave it one star is because I had to choose that.
+8points
9of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for PetSafe Big Dog Remote Trainer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 59 reviews

malfunctioned after 4 months

November 14, 2012
by Ninamom
fromMarietta, GA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
The trainer worked fine for the short time it lasted. However, my money was wasted because I didn't save the original packaging and the company will not accept returns without it. It consumes batteries really fast and they are not cheap. I would not recommend the product to anyone.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for PetSafe Big Dog Remote Trainer
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 59 reviews

Okay - but not for the cost!

October 3, 2012
by Anonymous
fromIA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
We've tried just about every training collar, and will probably stick with this one. However - the battery life is AWFUL, and the probes have fallen off twice since we've had it (about a month and a half).
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for PetSafe Big Dog Remote Trainer
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 59 reviews

Big Dog Remote Trainer

August 23, 2012
by RLHJLK
fromSummerfield,NC
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 59 reviews
Fit 
2 / 5
2 / 5 59 reviews
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5 59 reviews
I bought this for my German Shepard.I was so surprised to find out (after reading the entire manual) that,If your dog has long hair you have to contact customer service to get longer contacts.I feel that the product should come with both!!!
Pros: comfortable, looks great
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for PetSafe Big Dog Remote Trainer
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 59 reviews

So So

June 18, 2012
by Dmarii
fromWisconsin
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
Appearance 
2 / 5
2 / 5 59 reviews
Fit 
1 / 5
1 / 5 59 reviews
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5 59 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
About 2 months ago I rescued a Rhodesian Ridgeback mix from our local humane society. Upon meeting the dog he seemed well trained and calm.. that all changed when he came into my home. He has the personality of the dog from "Marley and Me" and if you've seen that movie you know just how unruly my dog is. After private training lessons failed, and consistant home training I felt it would be best to resort to something I knew had a greater chance of seeing results. I started the collar on low settings with no reaction from my dog. My roommate has 2 cats and a medium size (mostly well behaved dog) and I figured over time I could socialize all the animals (of course slowly) but it just hasn't gotten to that point; even with the collar. The battery in the collar itself has died after about a month of (daily) use. Note: I did not abuse the collar but my dog did not learn even when I turned the correction all the way up! He would continue the bad behavior even though I was correcting him immediatley with the tone and zap. I even zapped myself to make sure it was working and it definitely was. I was really hoping this would take care of my dog's bad behavior but maybe I just need to give it more time. I will say that he did learn the remote meant zap because anytime he saw it or I had it in my hand he would give me a look like OH NO! yet still would continue his bad behavior. So sassy. Any suggestions would be great!
Pros: durable
Cons: Doesn't Work on Training
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for PetSafe Big Dog Remote Trainer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 59 reviews

Great product 3 years old

April 21, 2012
by HappycustomerInfl
fromSpring hill fl
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 59 reviews
Fit 
5 / 5
5 / 5 59 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 59 reviews
I today pulled my collar out of the drawer for a friend to try on there puppy. He's is a great dog just very energetic just as mine was. I have a black LAN slash wolf yes wolf dad was half article half timber wolf my boy is turning 8 in June and has always been territorial and gets tunnel vision when he's not happy listens on hands normally over three years ago I bought this collar and although I rarely use it now all I need to do is put it on him. Within 1 hour of my friends puppy wearing this collar they have seen a complete chage. They plan to purchase one for themselves. They started out very skeptical but now see.
Pros: durable, Easy to ControlDog
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for PetSafe Big Dog Remote Trainer
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 59 reviews

My Experience with this collar

December 28, 2011
by saveadog
fromCorona, California
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 59 reviews
Fit 
5 / 5
5 / 5 59 reviews
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5 59 reviews
We rescue dogs and bought this for dangerous behavior. It trained one dog in one day. The second dog we used it on, was playing outdoors the second day of wearing and the grommets and probes fell off and were lost. The box and the manual say Lifetime Warranty for the life of the collar. We were told that these parts were considered "accessories" (even though that IS the collar) and I asked for a supervisor. She said the same thing, I faxed her the warranty and copy of the box stating the warranty and to no avail. I suggest buying the least expensive choice as this unit cost much more and they do not back their warranty.
Pros: Easy to ControlDog
Cons: poor quality
+23points
23of 23voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for PetSafe Big Dog Remote Trainer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 59 reviews

pongos new trainer

August 18, 2011
by favetoyever
fromport townsend wa
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
so pongos remonte trainer sport dog water proof trainer faild on us after 5 months we boght this wast of mony batterreys die in like a week
-9points
0of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for PetSafe Big Dog Remote Trainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 59 reviews

Works!

April 9, 2011
by Dixie73
fromSt. Augustine, FL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Definitely pricey, batteries aren't cheap, and they die quickly if you forget to turn it off. I'm sure it could be made better but it worked and that's all that matters to me. Buttons do stick on the remote and I’ve had to press it a couple of times to get it to beep. I have 125lb Female French Mastiff who is extremely smart, can learn anything in about 5 minutes and can be as stubborn as a mule and as strong an ox. I read several books on training which all said to use positive reinforcement - praise and treats. Teaching her to sit, laydown, come, potty, outside, back up – EASY. Her behavior with other people such as jumping, play biting was the most challenging because she would not act this way with me and if someone else told her no she would not respond. When she out-weighted my 11 yr. old daughter, I had no other choice than to buy this collar. Both my husband and I tested the settings it to see if it was really painful. By the way, it’s not painful, just uncomfortable. The first time I used it - gave her a beep, of course she ignored me, then I shocked her. ONE time is all it took for her to get it– beep, and then shock. After that, we used the beep to teach her. This collar is known in my house as– “The Good Girl Collar”. I mention it, put it where she can see it -VOILA - good girl.
+27points
28of 29voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for PetSafe Big Dog Remote Trainer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 59 reviews

Waste of money.

January 6, 2011
by ARGuy
fromLittle Rock, AR
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I bought this for my sweet, but stubborn, Labradoodle. The collar/remote is unreliable and doesn't work 95% of the time. After pushing the button multiple times, the collar might work, but the behavior is no longer an issue and the dog doesn't know what behavior/action is being corrected. At first I thought this might be a safety feature, or I, the operator, was not doing something correctly. But no, it's not me or my long haired dog, the collar is simply a piece of junk. I have not tried to return the collar; mainly because it's just a hassle to do so, but will be purchasing another collar this weekend.
Cons: unreliable, poor battery life
-2points
2of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for PetSafe Big Dog Remote Trainer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 59 reviews

poor quality

June 27, 2010
by artiemclovin
fromedgewater fl
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I have had 2 of these collars in less than a yr. The first didn't work from the box and the 2nd about 6mo. When it did work it was great. My dog would just look at the remote if he was thinking of misbehaving and just sit. I am a firm believer in these training collars just not this one. The batteries ony last about 2wks in the collars and then you have a sepperate batterie in the remote, big money waster. I am returning the collar again and getting one w a rechargable battery from pet smart, The customer service is great and I have had NO problems w/ returning the collars even after being used for 6mo. Love Pet Smart!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for PetSafe Big Dog Remote Trainer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 59 reviews

Poor Performance

June 9, 2010
by BlkLber
fromUpstate NY
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Out of the box the transmitter did not consistently signal the collar. I'd have to push the button 5-6 times to get it to work. I refused to even put the collar on the dog before bringning it back. Petsmart should stop selling this product. Wasted my time.
Cons: cheap transmitter doesn't work
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next