PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Happy Hut Hideaway by Multipet

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Happy Hut Hideaway by Multipet

Your bird will enjoy having a place of his own where he feels safe and secure. The Happy Hut is a cozy, comfortable and helps protect him from drafts. To enhance your bird's sense of well-being choose a color that is closest to his natural plumage.
Overall rating:
4.342 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(38 reviews) 37
32 of 38(84%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Happy Hut Hideaway by Multipet
Review 1 for Happy Hut Hideaway by Multipet
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 38 reviews

A MUST HAVE FOR YOUR BIRD

February 27, 2014
by GREENDOG88
fromLONG ISLAND
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
THIS IS THE SECOND COZY HUT I BOUGHT. IT WAS MY GREEN CHEECKED CONURES 4TH BIRTHDAY SO THE SAME WAY PEOPLE GET NEW MATRESSES I THOUGHT HE DESERVED ONE TOO. I ORDERED THE WRONG SIZE ON-LINE SO I HAD TO GOT TO THE STORE FOR A SMALLER SIZE. HE LOVES IT (STILL) AND SLEEPS IN IT EVERY NIGHT! THE CLASPS WERE HARD TO OPEN (EVEN FOR MY GROWN SON) BUT HE FINALLY OPENED THEM.
Pros: keeps birds warm, cozy
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Happy Hut Hideaway by Multipet
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 38 reviews

Heavy Fleece - Flimsy Fasteners

January 28, 2014
by Genlady
fromFlorida
What is your gender?F
This was a replacement for a Happy Hut that has lasted for almost ten years. The quality of the fleece material seems as good but the metal fastener clips are much thinner and do not fasten well. I threw them away and used the old ones that are much better.
Pros: keeps birds warm
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Happy Hut Hideaway by Multipet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 38 reviews

Shrekie

January 13, 2014
by sourpickle
fromIA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
shrekie is still scared of it , but I think he will like it soon, atleast now hes pecking at it.
Pros: cozy
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Happy Hut Hideaway by Multipet
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 38 reviews

My Conure Was Scared When He Saw This

December 3, 2013
by patch2scooter
fromAurora, Ohio
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I bought this after my fancy green cheek started crawling up the sleeve of my sweater. I was not able to choose my color. When ordering I was told a color would be selected randomly. Mine turned out to be blue on the outside and red on the inside -- neither of which is found in the wild. So when I showed it to him, he freaked out. Usually he is inquisitive when presented with something new, but not this time. Maybe a different color would have worked -- something more natural and neutral.
It did seem to be well constructed..
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Happy Hut Hideaway by Multipet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 38 reviews

love it

October 31, 2013
by ttalitmile
fromFlorida
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I love the happy huts we purchased recently. So far the new design one is working. We were looking for a design that would discourage the love birds from building a 3 inch wall of fiber and poo at each entry. They seem to like the design. Thanks
Pros: keeps birds warm, cozy
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Happy Hut Hideaway by Multipet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 38 reviews

Very Cozy

August 14, 2013
by SuperCupcake
fromFredericksburg, Va
My bird has a product very similar to this and she loves it! Every night before she falls asleep, she climbs up the wire of her cage until she is right up against the cozy hideaway. She enjoys rubbing her cheek against the fuzzy fabric and "grooming" it while she makes happy little chirping sounds. This product is great!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Happy Hut Hideaway by Multipet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 38 reviews

Her favorite!

April 9, 2013
by quakerparront
fromWilliamstown, MA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
My Quaker puts herself to sleep in this every night. If you have a problem with your bird chewing through the black cord at the top, here's a tip. Buy a 'hair scrunchy' and cut it in half (ensure no loose strings!!!) Put a half over each cord...if the bird tries to chew, they will only chew up the scrunchy, not the cord. My hut has lasted over two years, and the only reason I'm replacing it is b/c the poo buildup has reached critical mass. It's still in great shape otherwise!
Pros: keeps birds warm, cozy
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Happy Hut Hideaway by Multipet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 38 reviews

You have GOT to buy one....or two!

February 18, 2013
by lovemysunconure2013
fromGainesville, Florida
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
I bought 2 so I can switch them between washes. My bird loves them and so do I! They hold up very well in wash and dry cycle. Have had mine for 3 years and neither one have ravelled. Don't know what I'd do without mine, my bird wouldn't know where to sleep. It's his comfort zone!
Pros: keeps birds warm, cozy
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Happy Hut Hideaway by Multipet
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 38 reviews

high hopes

February 3, 2013
by Anonymous
fromHillsdale,michigan
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
bought this for our two birds that share a cage,but they still have not used it and its been a couple months know .have high hopes to be able to upload a picture with them in it.
Pros: keeps birds warm, cozy
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Happy Hut Hideaway by Multipet
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 38 reviews

Linnie Loves It!

July 16, 2012
by ChirpsNCheers
fromLos Angeles, CA
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
My Linnie Parakeet loves his fuzzy hut! We only put it in his cage at night or else he would stay in there 24/7! The only downside to it is he likes to groom and snuggle with the side, which I noticed a lot of the fuzzy material being pulled out and was concerned he was digesting some of it. It also doesn't hold up very well to multiple washing's and further unraveled only after 3 washes in the gentle cycle.
Pros: keeps birds warm, cozy
Cons: falls apart
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Happy Hut Hideaway by Multipet
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 38 reviews

Cozy and Soft for birds(:

July 16, 2012
by rodent101
fromSilverdale,WA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
My birds cuddle and snuggle in this and on it,they adore this cuddle house so much!This prodect is soft and durable,But it can be hard to clean.Because your bird will sleep on it it can't be prevented that they will and make it durty on it wich makes it harder to keep up on the cleaning.I recommend it to parakeets,conures,lovebirds,and thats about it.
Pros: keeps birds warm, cozy
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Happy Hut Hideaway by Multipet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 38 reviews

Awesome Awesome AWESOME

July 10, 2012
by NightAnimals27
fromRochester Hills, MI
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
We have two of these, one for each of our birds, and we also have the Cozy Corner for our larger bird, Reno. Ruby (Green Cheekde Conure) loves her Happy Hut! It seems very cozy! Reno was first afraid and slept in his Cozy Corner, but now he is in it almost every minute! He's in it at, like, one in the afternoon! I'm glad they both love it. It's been a very pleasing product! After two years it shows no sign of wear.
Definitely would recommend!
Pros: keeps birds warm, cozy
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Happy Hut Hideaway by Multipet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 38 reviews

very useful!

December 11, 2011
by BellaandElliesmomma
fromVenus, PA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
my conure and my mother's parrotlet both have one of these and they love them! not only does it keep them warm, but they look so stinkin' cute all snuggled up inside! i sometimes let my conure sleep in it at night instead of putting her in her sleep cage since she looks so comfortable!
Pros: keeps birds warm, cozy
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Happy Hut Hideaway by Multipet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 38 reviews

Happy Hut = Happy Bird

December 7, 2011
by Doxxymom
fromEast Texas
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
Lucee, our Sun Conure, LOVES this hut. She took to it within a day. I wish it were about an inch bigger for her only because it ruffles her tail feathers from turning around in it, but she thinks it is perfect. I feel the soft plush material is safer than the sherpa fleece in the other bird tents. I still watch for loose material and threads for safety's sake. We have had it about three months and it still looks like new. Lucee doesn't mess in it so it stays clean and soft. She also doesn't chew on it at all. This was a very good purchase.
Pros: keeps birds warm, cozy
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Happy Hut Hideaway by Multipet
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 38 reviews

Parakeets afraid to go inside

October 27, 2011
by indolence
fromNJ
Their blue fuzzy happy hut is more than a year old and they have yet to climb inside it (atleast I have never seen them). I tried leaving food inside and the food is always untouched. I have only seen them them sit on top of it and bite at it once in awhile. There are even some bald spots on it.
What is the best way to hang it? Against the side so its up against the cage or free hanging like a swing? Also, I bought a new cage last week and the only suitable place to put it without a lot of clutter is against the cage corner but one entrance is blocked off.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Happy Hut Hideaway by Multipet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 38 reviews

Great product for your bird!

July 6, 2011
by JessaAnn
fromOregon
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Got this hut yesterday for my Green Cheek Conure. As first she was a little scared to go inside it, but when I put food in the hut for her, she got the courage to climb inside and sleep in it all night long. She uses it as her new jungle gym to play with her other toys, this happening on her first day home, I was very happy. I think the Happy Hut would be a great addition for your feathered friends! I got the the unquilted kind though, so I would recommend that one.
Pros: cozy, keeps birds warm
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Happy Hut Hideaway by Multipet
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 38 reviews

Happy Hut

December 16, 2010
by wcgirl
fromLafayette, IN
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
My daughter's Quaker Parrot loves his hut, so we got one for our Cockateil. Even though we put his favorite treat inside to try to lure him into it, he won't go near it. In fact, we've had it for two nights and days, and he gets as far away from it as possible and won't sleep anywhere near to it. He seems to be afraid of it or whatever. Does anyone have any suggestions?
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Happy Hut Hideaway by Multipet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 38 reviews

Birds Love Them!

October 18, 2010
by Sunni
fromLondon, Ontario, Canada
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
My love bird and sun conure love their huts. They both sleep inside them during nap time, or, sit on top of them. The huts are soft, well made, wash and dry up great. When I put a clean hut inside their cage, the first thing they both do, is go inside and check it out!
Pros: birds love them!
Cons: none - perfect
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Happy Hut Hideaway by Multipet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 38 reviews

My Conures always sleep in their Happy Hut

July 10, 2010
by birdkeeper2010
fromWaterloo, IA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
(click to see the video)
These are great for birds to sleep in. They keep birds warm, make them feel hidden and safe and they allow birds to relax their feet while sleeping. It has to be better than sleeping while standing on a perch. No wonder why my Conures have never slept a night outside of a Happy Hut Hideaway.
Pros: keeps birds warm, makes a bird feel hidden and safe, allows birds to relax their legs
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Happy Hut Hideaway by Multipet
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 38 reviews

It was okay

October 24, 2009
by LuvMyScampers
fromAB
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
My budgies didn't use it very often and were scared of it at first. When they did use it, though, they enjoyed hiding inside. One day when my destructive budgie got bored she chewed right through the black string that holds it up really easily. Now i can't use it anymore.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 next