PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Premier Pet Gentle Spray Citronella Anti-Bark Dog Collar

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Premier Pet Gentle Spray Citronella Anti-Bark Dog Collar

Humanely & effectively deters excessive barking Spray collar releases an all-natural citronella spray Twice as effective as electric shock Manufacturer provides a lifetime warranty
Overall rating:
3.203 / 5
3.2
 / 
5
(64 reviews) 62
34 of 63(54%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Premier Pet Gentle Spray Citronella Anti-Bark Dog Collar
Review 1 for Premier Pet Gentle Spray Citronella Anti-Bark Dog Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 64 reviews

Citronella bark collar works great.

January 7, 2013
by redfonzie
fromFairhope, Al.
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 64 reviews
Fit 
5 / 5
5 / 5 64 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 64 reviews
We have a male labrador, a small terrier rescue, and a 40lb treeing cur dog. I have used the citronella bark collar on all three with tremendous success. Now all I have to do is appear with the collar in my hand and I can hear a pin drop. Don't have to refill the collars often because once the collar is on they do not bark. I use the collars when the dogs are in the yard and when they are in their kennel when necessary. We live in a neighborhood so I am very diligent to be a responsible dog owner. I realize that not everyone is a dog lover.
Pros: Easy to ControlDog
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Premier Pet Gentle Spray Citronella Anti-Bark Dog Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 64 reviews

Works on 5 out of 5 dogs

October 20, 2011
by 5outof5dogs
fromWestern Washington State
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 64 reviews
Fit 
5 / 5
5 / 5 64 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 64 reviews
I have 5 dogs from 9 lbs to 70 lbs. My next door neighbor complained of the barking and howling, but is happy now that I put these collars on the dogs. My vet suggested this collar. Works on all five dogs. One collar size fits all. When the dog barks, a little citronella spray mist goes up in front of the dog. Now that each dog knows what the collar does, when I put the collars on, the barking stops immediately. The dogs actually seem to like the collar-all the dogs are happy when I put them on. I live in western Washington state where we get lots of rain, some snow and ice, and temperatures from about 0 to 110. This collar works fine through all of it. I have used these durable collars daily for about 14 hours per day for the past 18 months. I changed the batteries one time so far. The battery is not expensive for how long it lasts but it wasn't the easiest to find. Finally found batteries at Radio Shack-I think it's a 6 volt battery. I paid about $7 per battery. The collar must have a low drain on the battery, because it lasts a long time. I have not had to replace the ciitronella can-it just keeps going. The citronella fragrance smells good. This collar is the best! Worth every penny. I highly recommend this collar to anyone with a barking or howling dog!
Pros: comfortable, durable, looks great, Easy to ControlDog
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Premier Pet Gentle Spray Citronella Anti-Bark Dog Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 64 reviews

Excellent Product!

August 17, 2011
by DMC9
fromEdmonton, AB
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
We bought this for our mixed-breed dog (she's about 20 lbs). I truly think that this is the best thing that I have ever purchased for our dog. I do agree with many of the other reviews for this product. It won't work if your dog has a "high pitched" bark. Our dog has learned that she CAN make noise in certain pitches without being sprayed. However, in my opinion, a higher pitch and softer bark is much better than a loud and deep bark (the neighbours think so too!).
I also have read in some other reviews that the sensor is TOO sensitive to a certain pitch of noise (ie. will spray the dog even if the dog hasn't barked). I do agree with this but I think that in my experience the "accidental" sprays aren't too often and our dog still was able to connect that bark = spray.
We went from having to use this collar with her on a consistant basis to sometimes not having to use it at all. We definitely experienced a very immediate improvement in our dogs need to bark once we started using this collar.
I will say though that while this product will probably give you pretty instantaneous relief from a problem barker, the collar should be used in conjunction with behavioural training as the ultimate goal is really to get your dog to the point where they don't feel the need to excessively bark. Putting your dog outside with this collar without working with your dog won't truly make the problem better.
I would really encourage anyone who has a problem barker to try this product. From what I have read in other people's reviews, it seems that Petsmart will accept these for return if it doesn't work for you so it's as close to a "risk-free" option as you can get.
Before we used this collar, I would get very anxious and stressed when I left the house for the day as I knew that our dog would be barking lots while I was gone. Our neighbours were getting very frusterated with us (rightly so!) and I really had no idea what to do. Since using the collar, I am able to leave the house without worry about our dog as she is now calm & quiet throughout the day. It's really made a huge difference for us!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Premier Pet Gentle Spray Citronella Anti-Bark Dog Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 64 reviews

Miraculous!

July 14, 2011
by MarcieDoggers
fromWarwick, NY
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
This product has been a god send! I have an almost 3 year old beagle/terrier mix, and she has a really big barking problem. It's mostly when we leave her alone in the house for any amount of time alone, and seeing as we live in a condominium complex our neighbors were none too happy. We were getting notes left on the door, and nasty looks after every time we left the house. I knew she was just afraid that we wouldn't come back, and also jealous because she loves going for rides, and was mad at us for leaving her, but no matter how hard I tried to help her see that we would be back she just wouldn't calm down.
Prior to this collar we had tried a shock collar, this was totally worthless. It worked maybe once or twice, but it didn't fit her neck properly, and when it did work her reaction was so heart wrenching that I would just take it off. This collar does not need to fit so snug that it chokes in order for it to operate properly as it has a microphone built in that picks up the sound. Genius! And seeing as my dog absolutely abhors water or anything that sprays her it works immediately, and she doesn't make a peep once she sets it off. We've even started using it in the car as she likes to act up when we take her for rides, and it has calmed her down greatly.
I highly recommend this collar! If you have a persistent barker and you've tried everything, I promise you this will work for you!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Premier Pet Gentle Spray Citronella Anti-Bark Dog Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 64 reviews

Didnt Use it for What it was..

January 31, 2011
by Simm
fromCalgary
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I bought this collar and replaced spray with water ! As we were going on a hike and it was over 30 degree's and it was PERFECT too cool my dog down and he LOVED IT! (; I dont use it for what its intentionally made for but i love this product (;
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Premier Pet Gentle Spray Citronella Anti-Bark Dog Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 64 reviews

No more barking

December 20, 2010
by johnnedoc
fromNorth East, PA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I bought this for our chocolate lab who would bark every night at the animals outside, bark at people walking down the street or bark just to bark. She was driving us crazy.
I placed the collar on her and turned it on the 4th day. She started to bark and got sprayed. One more spray during the day and she got the message - no bark!
After a week I took the collar off and she discovered she could bark without being sprayed. She barked for 5 minutes straight until I brought her inside and put the collar on. No more barking. Just having the collar on is enough to keep her quiet.
Pros: works
Cons: cost
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Premier Pet Gentle Spray Citronella Anti-Bark Dog Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 64 reviews

It works!

December 19, 2009
by Anonymous
fromLowell, MI
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 64 reviews
Not inexpensive, but safe & very effective. Easy to use. My Westie was barking at every critter on TV and every little noise outside. Now she is back to her lovable self.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Premier Pet Gentle Spray Citronella Anti-Bark Dog Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 64 reviews

LOVE IT!!!

October 20, 2009
by JSJS
fromSAC
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 64 reviews
This is the only thing that keeps my dog from not barking. I don't even have the spray towards her face. I put it face down and it works great without spraying in the face. The only bad thing is it is not waterproof. We had a dog sitter and they didn't know you had to take it off it the dog wants to swim. So I just bought a new one. LOVE IT!
Pros: safe
Cons: not waterproof
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Premier Pet Gentle Spray Citronella Anti-Bark Dog Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 64 reviews

The best bark collar

September 10, 2009
by rescuedogs
fromMI
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 64 reviews
We did canine rescue through a non-profit organization for 6 years, and bought this collar a few years ago as our first spray bark collar for a rescue that was a real barker. We didn't want to do a shock collar, so we gave these a try. We also own 3 dogs. We have this 3 of these spray collars and 1 of the "MultiVet Deluxe". The Deluxe is a pain to turn on and off. You have to push and hold the front silver button and it has three modes - off, on with short spray, and on with long spray. This model is much easier, with just an on/off switch, which is great when company is ringing the doorbell and you're putting these on 3 dogs quickly. We have never had a dog that these did not work with. If the collar is off, the dog will bark - they are smart and know when they can get away with barking. However, we keep them on our boys when we have company or when the neighbors are in their yards, we keep them filled (very easy to do, takes 30 seconds), and we make sure the batteries are working. We usually have one or two barks, and then silence. We've done this with a variety of doges - Am. Staffs., Golden Doodles, our Husky mix, Dane mix, Pug Terrier (22 lbs), German Shepherd mix, etc. with weight varying from 22 - 100+ lbs. I will say for our pug terrier, we bought a small cheap thin collar that fit through the spray box and that makes it easier to keep it on him. You do not have to use the collar the spray unit comes with. All that being said, I know PetSmart will accept these as a return if you don't think they worked. For us, they've worked on every rescue we've had. Oh, and the citronella refill seems to work the best (as opposed to lemon or water)."
Pros: works on a variety of breed sizes, easy to turn on and off -switch not a push button
Cons: l1325 replacement batteries are a pain to find, replacement batteries are expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Premier Pet Gentle Spray Citronella Anti-Bark Dog Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 64 reviews

Even Stopped a Great Pyrenees

August 3, 2008
by ampowell83
fromOklahoma City, OK
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 64 reviews
I have an 8 month old Great Pyrenees (who is my BIGGEST baby ever) and up until he was about 3 months old, had a barking issue when put into his kennel. From day one of owning Benson we started to kennel train him. He picked up on the house training very quickly but would NOT stop barking in his kennel. We tried everything and then I purchased this collar. When we got it home, I sprayed a little of the citronella in his face and immediately he did not like it. We only put it on him at night when he slept in his kennel. Within a few hours, we had no barking. Now, the collar sits in a drawer, not being used and Benson sleeps like a baby at night. He has to be the best behaved dog in a kennel I have ever owned, and all thanks to this collar.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Premier Pet Gentle Spray Citronella Anti-Bark Dog Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 64 reviews

It works!

June 17, 2008
by Rotti
fromnv
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 64 reviews
I have female Rotti ,which barks too much when she's in back yard .
As soon as we start using this, she stop barking . She barks once ,then get sprayed and stops.
Only problem I had was the first collar I received stop working in 2days ,so I had to E-mail customer service for replacement.
The customer servise reps are very nice and proffecional.
and I received my replacement and it's working great!
I only turn it on when she goes outside or she gets too excited playing with kids,though.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Premier Pet Gentle Spray Citronella Anti-Bark Dog Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 64 reviews

Citronella Anti Bark Collar

June 12, 2008
by Dolly
fromOlmsted Falls, Ohio
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 64 reviews
I have a 1 year old Golden Retriever, who had a constant barking problem. I hired a professional trainer, even that didn't correct the problem.
Finally, in desperation, before I reluctantly gave him away, I purchase the Citronella Anti Bark Collar. I put it on him the day I received it, he barked three times and to my suprise the nuisance barking stopped. I thought I was dreaming! He now barks once to go out. Nothing more. It's a "miracle" product. I recommend this collar to everybody I know, with a dog who has a barking problem.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Premier Pet Gentle Spray Citronella Anti-Bark Dog Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 64 reviews

A very good product for Rottys

February 17, 2008
by RottyGirl
fromrichmond hill
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 64 reviews
I have purchased this produce a few months ago for basic alpha behaviour modification such as: going nuts in the car, jumping at people, jumping at dogs, losing control when seeeing another dog,etc. Worked very well, I just want to get another one with more distance, and water proof.
A very effective product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Premier Pet Gentle Spray Citronella Anti-Bark Dog Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 64 reviews

BarksALot to BarksNoMore

January 18, 2008
by BarksNoMore
fromCincinnati OH
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 64 reviews
My 8 yr old 110 lb lab is the most gentle loving dog ever but was having a hard time dealing with the stress of living in a new apartment. He previously lived in a house out in the coutnry with 5 acres to run on and no neighbors close by to be bothered by his barking in the house while the owners are out. After a very LONG first weekend and several complaints filed by neighbors I had to figure out something. I called the vet and they gave me 3 options: sedate him while we are gone, shock collar (which they really didn't recommend), and anti-bark school (which could take a while). I feverishly looked for other options to curb my barking dog while I was away. I scoured the internet and stumbled on this product.
I went out and bought it that day. The local petsmart had it in stock but for $120 vs. $80 online. They agreed to price match it if I brought the receipt back in. While I was out I called the home phone from my cell phone and listened to him bark for 30 minutes straight.
I got home put the collar on him and left again, of course with the cell phone connected to the home phone so I could listen for his barks. Within hte first few minutes he barked three times and then was completely quite for the next 45 minutes.
If he goes for a long period of time he may forget but just one bark and he quickly remembers. This product has been a life saver for my family and thankfully our pooch is still part of it.
My best investment this year!!!!!!!!!!!!
* Not sure if this makes a difference but our dog was already VERY scared of spray cans.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Premier Pet Gentle Spray Citronella Anti-Bark Dog Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 64 reviews

All is quiet at our house

October 9, 2007
by Aussiemom
fromCalifornia
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 64 reviews
This worked instantly on our 6-year-old Aussie's barking, which is otherwise uncontrollable when her adrenaline is flowing. Although we wanted to use it the second we got it out of the box, we followed the instructions that told us to put it on her a few hours every day for a few days until she was used to wearing it. And then to activate it. Once we did, it was two barks and then she was quiet. Now she is quieter even when she's not wearing it!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Premier Pet Gentle Spray Citronella Anti-Bark Dog Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 64 reviews

peacekeeper

September 9, 2007
by Rosiesmom
fromSouth Carolina
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 64 reviews
I use to have a problem with my pit barking nonstop at my other dog whenever he was outside or getting any attention. I purchased the bark collar and it worked from the start. Now I don't even have to turn it on for her to quiet down. She still whines at times with it on but she knows that she can't get too loud with it or it will spray. It really keeps the peace around my house and I would recommend it to anyone as a humane alternative to shock collars, which is why I was attracted to the product in the first place.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Premier Pet Gentle Spray Citronella Anti-Bark Dog Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 64 reviews

It works and I'd buy it again.

June 2, 2007
by sgbxena
fromphilly suburbs
Dog's a terrier-mix, and a persistent barker. She learned immediately from the first squirt. I paid 30% more than it's currently selling for, and have no regrets. Highly recommended. Wish this site also carried the replacement battery so I don't have to go hunting for one.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Premier Pet Gentle Spray Citronella Anti-Bark Dog Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 64 reviews

Bark Collar

January 31, 2007
by KELLEY7718
fromTexarkana
First of all I would like to say this is the best 89.99 I have ever spent.
I was given a yorkie puppy that the previous owner said it barked to much and they couldnt get him to stop. Well needless to say they were not lying. The first night home he barked all night long.
I researched Petsmart website for the best collar. I did not want to use anything that would shock him and I read about this collar. I went and bought one that day and it took 2 nights of wearing the collar for him to stop barking. He only barks now when he is playing or needs something. While he is in his crate he does not bark at all.
This is the best thing ever!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Premier Pet Gentle Spray Citronella Anti-Bark Dog Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 64 reviews

It works!

January 8, 2007
by JodyB
fromGeorgia
I'd tried a different brand of bark collar several years ago on a different dog and didn't have much success, so I was a bit hesitant to put much money into another one. I read good things about this particular collar on-line and liked the 'no shock' concept, so I gave it a try with one of my two new dogs, the one that barks the most. Was I surprised with the fantastic results! It only took three 'trial' barks and sprays of citronella and Bailey was bark free.
I take it off during the day and replace it at night when I most fear her barking offending the neighbors. I'm so satisfied that I just ordered a second collar for our other dog.
The collar is simple to setup, easy to refill, and best of all, gives great results. I would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone wanting a humane way to curtail annoyance barking.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Premier Pet Gentle Spray Citronella Anti-Bark Dog Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 64 reviews

Citro Collar

January 2, 2007
by Citro
fromGA
Worked instantly!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 next