PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Premier Pet Gentle Spray Citronella Anti-Bark Dog Collar

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Premier Pet Gentle Spray Citronella Anti-Bark Dog Collar

Humanely & effectively deters excessive barking Spray collar releases an all-natural citronella spray Twice as effective as electric shock Manufacturer provides a lifetime warranty
Overall rating:
3.203 / 5
3.2
 / 
5
(64 reviews) 62
34 of 63(54%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Premier Pet Gentle Spray Citronella Anti-Bark Dog Collar
Review 21 for Premier Pet Gentle Spray Citronella Anti-Bark Dog Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 64 reviews

December 13, 2006
by MeganH
fromFlorida
We got this collar for my 8 month old Min Pin. She is only 7 lbs and I didn't want a shock collar. So we got this one because I heard so many good things on it. After wearing it for three days, she no longer barks when we leave the house. Even not wearing it, she has now learned that barking when we leave is not allowed. This product is great and I would tell anyone who has a dog who won't stop barking to use it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for Premier Pet Gentle Spray Citronella Anti-Bark Dog Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 64 reviews

citronella bark collar

October 27, 2006
by lisab
fromsomerset, nj
it has only been two days, but this collar has almost stopped my 11 mo lab's "nuisance" barking. i'm sure a few more days will cure him completely!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for Premier Pet Gentle Spray Citronella Anti-Bark Dog Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 64 reviews

Premier Products Citronella Anti-Bark Collar

September 16, 2006
by Gidget
fromFlorida
Wonderful product!
We tried everything to stop our precious dog from excessive barking and did not want to resort to a shock collar. After reading many reviews on this collar we decided to purchase. This product worked the very first time we used it. Peace and quiet has returned to our household. I highly recommend this product!!!
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for Premier Pet Gentle Spray Citronella Anti-Bark Dog Collar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 64 reviews

Useful tool as part of a broad training plan

April 27, 2012
by LauraAndRugby
fromNorthern Virginia
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
My dog had a tendency to bark in protest when I left him alone at odd hours. He was fine with the normal work schedule, but if I went out at night or on the weekend...he disapproved.
So, I did a few things. I increased his exercise. I practiced leaving him alone for short periods and rewarded him heavily for quiet. I taught him "speak" and "quiet" commands and started giving those commands at appropriate times. I made sure he had freshly stuffed kongs and other safe chews to keep him occupied while I was gone. I required him to ask permission (sit, or touch my hand) for anything he wanted (this helped immensely!! It gave him a way to communicate without barking at me). We practiced brief out-of-sight stays to plant the idea in this brain that he can relax without keeping an eye on me. I also left the radio on when I left so he would react less to noises outside.
Then, the last element in the training plan was this collar. To start, I put the collar on him and set up a few scenarios that I knew would make him bark. For example, I'd tell him "quiet" (remember, he already understands what quiet means), knock on the door, and then if he barked, give him a stern "NO, quiet!" while the collar did its thing. He got the idea *very* quickly. Then, I started leaving it on him for short absences like trips to the grocery store.
For him, this collar was extremely effective **after I paired it with a verbal correction**. The spray was unpleasant enough to discourage barking, but might not have been enough, alone, to really fix the problem. He's a big, intelligent, strong-willed dog. This collar is an extremely useful tool when used as a broader training plan. It interrupted the habitual behavior long enough for him to redirect to other activities like chewing on his kongs.
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for Premier Pet Gentle Spray Citronella Anti-Bark Dog Collar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 64 reviews

Works most of the time

February 19, 2012
by Michael4569
fromDallas,TX
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 64 reviews
Fit 
4 / 5
4 / 5 64 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 64 reviews
My dog was a nuisance barker. This caused many problems with my neighbors, as when he barks you definitely notice. I tried a barking control device that emitted a high frequency sound, the device had absolutely no effect on my dog and in fact my roommate's dog would continuously bark at it. Petsmart allowed me to return it for a full refund. I then bought this collar and it's effects have been significant. He will still bark if there is a lot of commotion in the neighborhood but it is limited to one or two barks. I think it is worth trying this product as it has cut out the majority of my dog's nuisance barking and if it doesn't work for your dog you can return it for a full refund.
Pros: Easy to ControlDog
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for Premier Pet Gentle Spray Citronella Anti-Bark Dog Collar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 64 reviews

works to reduce barks, but a bit too sensitive

June 29, 2011
by latsyrhc
fromChicago, IL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
I got this product for my bichon-poodle. It works great to deter nuisance barking (he barks at pretty much anything that moves) but it is overly sensitive. If he cries/whimpers too loudly, it sprays him. If I laugh too loud, it sprays him. If he shakes too hard, it sprays him. So I only use it when I bring him to the office with me or if I have guests over at my house.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for Premier Pet Gentle Spray Citronella Anti-Bark Dog Collar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 64 reviews

Great Product!

November 5, 2010
by IlovemyGinger
fromArlington, VA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I bought this product for my Maltese who yaps hysterically if I leave her at odd hours of the day. I can go to work and she's fine but if I leave for a after work dinner or if she is left for more than 8 hours she freaks out. She can bark for hours and not get tired, she has done this since the day I got her. Since I live in an apartment I knew I had to stop this before I got kicked out so I purchased the citronella spray and so far it works perfectly. I have only had to use it a handful of times so far. Since I haven’t used it that much I only rated it four stars. My one MAIN complaint is that one size fits all is not acceptable. I have a TINY Maltese who is full grown at 6 lbs. And it completely dominates her neck. It makes me feel awful to have such a large object on her but I make sure not to leave her for more than 5 hours when she is wearing it.
Pros: it works
Cons: size is too large for small dogs
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for Premier Pet Gentle Spray Citronella Anti-Bark Dog Collar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 64 reviews

it's ok for the time he was wearing

August 15, 2010
by julien
fromCanada
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I bought it petsafe spray trainer for a lot more money. But it was worth it in the long run. No batteries. Using spray when I need it.
Pros: works well
Cons: batteries are too expersive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for Premier Pet Gentle Spray Citronella Anti-Bark Dog Collar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 64 reviews

Citronella Anti-Bark Collar

July 1, 2008
by MSPark1974
fromMoreno Valley, CA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I bought this product because it is a humane way to train an animal and it worked great initially. Soon my Jack Russell terrier was barking again because the spray no longer startled him.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for Premier Pet Gentle Spray Citronella Anti-Bark Dog Collar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 64 reviews

Works on 2 of 3

June 12, 2008
by 3Dobermans
fromOswego, NY
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
4 / 5
4 / 5 64 reviews
We have 3 Dobermans, and as anyone can imagine, 3 barking dobes is a lot of noise. We wanted something that would deter them, but not hurt. So we bought 1 citronella collar.
It works beautifully on one, she recognizes the collar and immediately gets it. The second one, has to bark once to understand the collar is on, but then understands. The third, is a little more "independent" and doesn't care that she is getting sprayed, at all.
I think it does depend on your dogs personality, but if it works on 2/3 dobermans, it will probably work on most dogs.
Oh, yes- the collar runs on a battery, so make sure to turn it off after you take it off. Also, MAKE sure its full. Otherwise your dog may pick up on that and have a harder time learning that barking is bad.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for Premier Pet Gentle Spray Citronella Anti-Bark Dog Collar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 64 reviews

It Works

July 26, 2007
by molmom
fromGA
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 64 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 64 reviews
We have a springer spaniel with a barking issue and this product was recommended by salesperson; worked the very first time! That was 5+ years ago. I have recommended to several, even when the price was quite a bit more. Just be sure to keep extra batteries on hand.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for Premier Pet Gentle Spray Citronella Anti-Bark Dog Collar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 64 reviews

More than one dog, more than one collar...

November 13, 2006
by barcadog
fromFlorida
Overall we are very pleased with this product. However, we do recommend that if you have more than one dog that you get one for the other dog(s) too. Everytime our other dog barks, the citronella sprays the dog wearing the collar who isn't barking. Very sad!! So far it is working on our dog who wears the collar, but we will be buying one more for our other dog!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for Premier Pet Gentle Spray Citronella Anti-Bark Dog Collar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 64 reviews

It Really Works

October 18, 2006
by King
fromTulsa, OK
One of our dogs (which we recently got from the SPCA) is a barker---at falling leaves, birds, squirrels--and gets so worked up he can't stop.
The citronella collar really works. The barking was reduced by 80-85% the first day. Peace and quiet returned. I couldn't believe how quickly he began to learn to bark *ONLY* when it was really important. He and our other dog are now hunting their squirrels in silence.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for Premier Pet Gentle Spray Citronella Anti-Bark Dog Collar
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 64 reviews

Overall this item worked, but I won't use it.

January 7, 2013
by snack
fromLubbock, TX
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5 64 reviews
Fit 
3 / 5
3 / 5 64 reviews
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5 64 reviews
I have miniature schnauzers. The collar was big for them, but I made them wear it anyway. They really didn't seem bothered by the size.
The issue that I had was that it was triggered by things other than barking, such as sudden movement etc.
My dogs ended up hiding in the very back of their kennel trying to be as still as possible. So, in that sense, it worked. But it made me uncomfortable that they were sprayed for things other than the barking.
I used it a few times when someone came to the house and I needed them to be silent. It worked, but again, seemed pretty traumatic for them.
I've opted to not use it anymore because of the way my pets reacted.
It controlled the barking ... that's for sure.
Pros: Easy to ControlDog
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for Premier Pet Gentle Spray Citronella Anti-Bark Dog Collar
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 64 reviews

Worked at first.... disappointed.

January 27, 2008
by kben
fromSan Diego, CA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
3 / 5
3 / 5 64 reviews
I bought this product instead of the shock collar, thinking it was more humane. At first it worked great, and we had an experience much like that of the other reviewers, and were very happy with her decreased barking. However, after about 2 months the battery went out...not a big surprise, but they're $6 to replace :( and since it seems like it needs a new battery every 3 weeks. Also, the spray trajectory/strength has steadily decreased... now even with a new battery, if my dog sets it off it barely sprays anything and so is not very effective. Not to mention that she will bark crazily for 5 minutes before it even puffs out any of the citronella. She's back to her old ways of barking with the collar not phasing her one bit... so I'm back to square one and buying a sonic collar to try to fix the problem yet again. I don't know about you, but I hate rebuying things!! Not sure if it was worth the money since it only worked for 3-4 months max!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 36 for Premier Pet Gentle Spray Citronella Anti-Bark Dog Collar
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 64 reviews

Waste of Money

January 7, 2013
by nmhansen
fromCharlevoix, MI
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 64 reviews
Fit 
4 / 5
4 / 5 64 reviews
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5 64 reviews
The collar worked well for a month. After a month the dog became used to the spray and resumed barking. I continued to use the collar for another month hoping it might kick in again, but no luck. I searched for a different smelling spay in hopes of switching scents to throw him off. The only other scent is scentless. The collar is now collecting dust. The dog is barking again. I found a trainer who has been working with us for two months. The dog is still barking.
Pros: durable
Cons: Doesn't Work on Training
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 37 for Premier Pet Gentle Spray Citronella Anti-Bark Dog Collar
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 64 reviews

Works well - but only for a few months

March 7, 2012
by Soozan
fromBay Area
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 64 reviews
Fit 
4 / 5
4 / 5 64 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 64 reviews
I have basically had to buy 1 -2 of these each year as they stop working. When it works it's a GREAT solution to the barking without the pain the shock collar inflicts.
Pros: comfortable
Cons: poor quality
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 38 for Premier Pet Gentle Spray Citronella Anti-Bark Dog Collar
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 64 reviews

Worked for a whiile

January 10, 2012
by pstjulien
fromMissouri
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5 64 reviews
Fit 
4 / 5
4 / 5 64 reviews
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5 64 reviews
This did help for about a month until my dog got used to being sprayed in the face. He learned that if he just kept barking it would quickly run out of spray. I'd come home and find my house smelling like citronella and the dog barking away like crazy. Didn't want to do it, but I'm going to try a shock collar.
Cons: Doesn't Work on Training
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 39 for Premier Pet Gentle Spray Citronella Anti-Bark Dog Collar
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 64 reviews

Not consistent

August 22, 2011
by veggietwin
fromNC
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
This product, when it worked, worked well. The problem was that most of the time my dog barked it did not activate.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 40 for Premier Pet Gentle Spray Citronella Anti-Bark Dog Collar
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 64 reviews

Minor improvement

August 1, 2008
by Dismayed
fromWashington State
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Effectiveness 
2 / 5
2 / 5 64 reviews
I tried this product on my two English Setters. We have a huge fenced yard on a corner lot, and when people walk their dogs along past our house, both of mine go nuts and run the length of the fence repeatedly, barking relentlessly until they are out of sight. (Which of course, reinforces the barking - when I bark, you leave!)
Initially, the spray collar startled them and interrupted the barking. However, the stimulus of another dog close to our property line is too much for them to handle. After the first few days of wearing the collar, one of my dogs would bark through the spray until the collar was empty. There was a slight reduction in the younger dog's barking, but he still chimed in. I have seen a reduction in barking at distant noises or what seems to be "nothing at all," but the territorial barking is another story. We have tried pairing the spray with a command ("Enough") but they completely ignore us while "protecting the home." It's been frustrating!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
prev 1 2 3 4 next