PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Premier Pet Gentle Spray Citronella Anti-Bark Dog Collar

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Premier Pet Gentle Spray Citronella Anti-Bark Dog Collar

Humanely & effectively deters excessive barking Spray collar releases an all-natural citronella spray Twice as effective as electric shock Manufacturer provides a lifetime warranty
Overall rating:
3.203 / 5
3.2
 / 
5
(64 reviews) 62
34 of 63(54%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Premier Pet Gentle Spray Citronella Anti-Bark Dog Collar
Review 1 for Premier Pet Gentle Spray Citronella Anti-Bark Dog Collar
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 64 reviews

Not as good as I read about it

June 3, 2013
by DRichard
fromOntario Canada
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 64 reviews
Fit 
4 / 5
4 / 5 64 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 64 reviews
I have a little 14 lb mini schnauzer and the collar did nothing to stop his barking. I would bring him to the boutique and he would sit at the door and bark at everyone So I got the collar and put it on him like it said.It did nothing for him.He would bark, it would spray and he would try to lick at his chin. I thought maybe the spray wasn't strong enough , thought the battery was weak , got another battery. That didn't help. Now he even barks in the truck which he didn't before.My neighbor thought it was a great idea for her little yorkie so she got one at the same time. It didn't work for her other. Will you take the product back along with the extra battery?
Cons: Doesn't Work on Training
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Premier Pet Gentle Spray Citronella Anti-Bark Dog Collar
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 64 reviews

DO NOT BUY

January 22, 2013
by CBA81
fromNew York, NY
Appearance 
2 / 5
2 / 5 64 reviews
Fit 
2 / 5
2 / 5 64 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 64 reviews
Seriously, this might be the worst product ever. I have a big dog with very short hair. I only bought this collar so that he wouldn't bark at every sound he heard outside our hotel room door. As the instructions state, I removed his regular collar so that the jingling tags wouldn't set off the device. My dog only had the collar on for about 30 seconds before we gave up. He never barked once during this time, yet the device still went off twice. The first time was because he made a low whimpering sound (which should not set off the device, but did anyway). Immediately thereafter, the device went off again, for absolutely no reason. He was in the process of laying down, so I guess the body movements or sound somehow set off the device. Regardless, this device is far too sensitive to do any good. How is my dog supposed to associate the citronella mist with barking if it goes off constantly for no reason? He was completely traumatized after we took off the collar. The citronella spray really scared him. Awful product.
Cons: poor quality, Doesn't Work on Training
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Premier Pet Gentle Spray Citronella Anti-Bark Dog Collar
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 64 reviews

If you have a talkative Basset, this does not work

January 7, 2013
by JaviJasper
fromLos Angeles, CA
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Appearance 
2 / 5
2 / 5 64 reviews
Fit 
1 / 5
1 / 5 64 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 64 reviews
My roommate's Basset Hound wore this around his neck. We tested it out and once he figured out that constant barking will dry out the Citronella bottle, the spraying stops. So if your dog is persistent, this will fail. It was also a little bulky and ugly. The strap wasn't that soft either.
Cons: Doesn't Work on Training
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Premier Pet Gentle Spray Citronella Anti-Bark Dog Collar
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 64 reviews

i was not impressed -

January 7, 2013
by babies
fromTroy, Illinos
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I was truly disappointed in the product, especially for the price. it did not stay in one place regardless what I did. Then when I tried to turn it to the on position, which took forever to go to get the green light to go on, the battery would pop out.
Cons: poor quality, not adjustable, Doesn't Work on Training
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Premier Pet Gentle Spray Citronella Anti-Bark Dog Collar
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 64 reviews

Waste of Money

January 7, 2013
by nmhansen
fromCharlevoix, MI
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 64 reviews
Fit 
4 / 5
4 / 5 64 reviews
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5 64 reviews
The collar worked well for a month. After a month the dog became used to the spray and resumed barking. I continued to use the collar for another month hoping it might kick in again, but no luck. I searched for a different smelling spay in hopes of switching scents to throw him off. The only other scent is scentless. The collar is now collecting dust. The dog is barking again. I found a trainer who has been working with us for two months. The dog is still barking.
Pros: durable
Cons: Doesn't Work on Training
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Premier Pet Gentle Spray Citronella Anti-Bark Dog Collar
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 64 reviews

Overall this item worked, but I won't use it.

January 7, 2013
by snack
fromLubbock, TX
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5 64 reviews
Fit 
3 / 5
3 / 5 64 reviews
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5 64 reviews
I have miniature schnauzers. The collar was big for them, but I made them wear it anyway. They really didn't seem bothered by the size.
The issue that I had was that it was triggered by things other than barking, such as sudden movement etc.
My dogs ended up hiding in the very back of their kennel trying to be as still as possible. So, in that sense, it worked. But it made me uncomfortable that they were sprayed for things other than the barking.
I used it a few times when someone came to the house and I needed them to be silent. It worked, but again, seemed pretty traumatic for them.
I've opted to not use it anymore because of the way my pets reacted.
It controlled the barking ... that's for sure.
Pros: Easy to ControlDog
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Premier Pet Gentle Spray Citronella Anti-Bark Dog Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 64 reviews

Citronella bark collar works great.

January 7, 2013
by redfonzie
fromFairhope, Al.
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 64 reviews
Fit 
5 / 5
5 / 5 64 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 64 reviews
We have a male labrador, a small terrier rescue, and a 40lb treeing cur dog. I have used the citronella bark collar on all three with tremendous success. Now all I have to do is appear with the collar in my hand and I can hear a pin drop. Don't have to refill the collars often because once the collar is on they do not bark. I use the collars when the dogs are in the yard and when they are in their kennel when necessary. We live in a neighborhood so I am very diligent to be a responsible dog owner. I realize that not everyone is a dog lover.
Pros: Easy to ControlDog
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Premier Pet Gentle Spray Citronella Anti-Bark Dog Collar
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 64 reviews

No luck with this product...

November 12, 2012
by LabX
fromToronto, ON
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5 64 reviews
Fit 
3 / 5
3 / 5 64 reviews
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5 64 reviews
Unfortunately, my 1 year old LabX with mild separation anxiety (just adopted from a shelter) keeps barking through the citronella sprays until the canister is empty (20~ barks). It seems to have no deterrent effect on her barking when we leave the house, and we will be returning the product since it seems to irritate her eyes. It did seem to have a bit of an effect on curbing barking when we were tying her up and leaving her for alone for couple of minutes on the street.
Note: this tool was being used in conjunction with behavioural techniques such as crate training, light classical background music, ignoring her before/after the departure, heavily exercising her before leaving, and slow-lickable-special treats that are only given when she is being left alone. After the first few trials, with no effect/response whatsoever, I also tried to disrupt the barking with a loud shake can to distract her enough to stop barking briefly and hopefully come to the realization that no barking = no lemon spray to the face. After 4 of these "setup" attempts, the barking seemed to be the worse it had ever been.
Sidenote: the ultrasonic egg was also not a deterrent to the barking behaviour! Some people seem to have great luck with these products though, so maybe they work for most dogs, but just not mine!
Cons: Doesn't Work on Training
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Premier Pet Gentle Spray Citronella Anti-Bark Dog Collar
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 64 reviews

Don't get for a big , anxious, barking dog.

July 30, 2012
by Anonymous
fromGraham, WA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 64 reviews
Fit 
4 / 5
4 / 5 64 reviews
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5 64 reviews
This collar did not work for us. We have a German Shepard and she barks any time another dog does and goes on and on all day. I have to sleep days for my work schedule at times and just couldn't have the barking. The collar worked for the first 2 days. She didn't like it,but once she got used to it it was like she had nothing on. Once they get used to the annoyance of the smell of the spray they don't care anymore. I now got a shock collar type and am waiting to see how that works for her.
Pros: durable, comfortable
Cons: not adjustable, Doesn't Work on Training
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Premier Pet Gentle Spray Citronella Anti-Bark Dog Collar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 64 reviews

Useful tool as part of a broad training plan

April 27, 2012
by LauraAndRugby
fromNorthern Virginia
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
My dog had a tendency to bark in protest when I left him alone at odd hours. He was fine with the normal work schedule, but if I went out at night or on the weekend...he disapproved.
So, I did a few things. I increased his exercise. I practiced leaving him alone for short periods and rewarded him heavily for quiet. I taught him "speak" and "quiet" commands and started giving those commands at appropriate times. I made sure he had freshly stuffed kongs and other safe chews to keep him occupied while I was gone. I required him to ask permission (sit, or touch my hand) for anything he wanted (this helped immensely!! It gave him a way to communicate without barking at me). We practiced brief out-of-sight stays to plant the idea in this brain that he can relax without keeping an eye on me. I also left the radio on when I left so he would react less to noises outside.
Then, the last element in the training plan was this collar. To start, I put the collar on him and set up a few scenarios that I knew would make him bark. For example, I'd tell him "quiet" (remember, he already understands what quiet means), knock on the door, and then if he barked, give him a stern "NO, quiet!" while the collar did its thing. He got the idea *very* quickly. Then, I started leaving it on him for short absences like trips to the grocery store.
For him, this collar was extremely effective **after I paired it with a verbal correction**. The spray was unpleasant enough to discourage barking, but might not have been enough, alone, to really fix the problem. He's a big, intelligent, strong-willed dog. This collar is an extremely useful tool when used as a broader training plan. It interrupted the habitual behavior long enough for him to redirect to other activities like chewing on his kongs.
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Premier Pet Gentle Spray Citronella Anti-Bark Dog Collar
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 64 reviews

HA What a JOKE

March 13, 2012
by formercustomer123
fromOklahoma
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
Appearance 
2 / 5
2 / 5 64 reviews
Fit 
2 / 5
2 / 5 64 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 64 reviews
We bought this thing on Monday for our 6 month old bully and put it on her that night. On Tuesday morning we went to take it off and the battery door was gone. We refilled it and tested it only to find it no longer works. We tried to return it but hubby is bad at keeping up receipts so unfortunately we have to take a loss on this junk that worked less than 24 hours. DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY!!!
Cons: poor quality, fragile, Doesn't Work on Training
-2points
2of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Premier Pet Gentle Spray Citronella Anti-Bark Dog Collar
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 64 reviews

Works well - but only for a few months

March 7, 2012
by Soozan
fromBay Area
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 64 reviews
Fit 
4 / 5
4 / 5 64 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 64 reviews
I have basically had to buy 1 -2 of these each year as they stop working. When it works it's a GREAT solution to the barking without the pain the shock collar inflicts.
Pros: comfortable
Cons: poor quality
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Premier Pet Gentle Spray Citronella Anti-Bark Dog Collar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 64 reviews

Works most of the time

February 19, 2012
by Michael4569
fromDallas,TX
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 64 reviews
Fit 
4 / 5
4 / 5 64 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 64 reviews
My dog was a nuisance barker. This caused many problems with my neighbors, as when he barks you definitely notice. I tried a barking control device that emitted a high frequency sound, the device had absolutely no effect on my dog and in fact my roommate's dog would continuously bark at it. Petsmart allowed me to return it for a full refund. I then bought this collar and it's effects have been significant. He will still bark if there is a lot of commotion in the neighborhood but it is limited to one or two barks. I think it is worth trying this product as it has cut out the majority of my dog's nuisance barking and if it doesn't work for your dog you can return it for a full refund.
Pros: Easy to ControlDog
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Premier Pet Gentle Spray Citronella Anti-Bark Dog Collar
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 64 reviews

Worked for a whiile

January 10, 2012
by pstjulien
fromMissouri
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5 64 reviews
Fit 
4 / 5
4 / 5 64 reviews
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5 64 reviews
This did help for about a month until my dog got used to being sprayed in the face. He learned that if he just kept barking it would quickly run out of spray. I'd come home and find my house smelling like citronella and the dog barking away like crazy. Didn't want to do it, but I'm going to try a shock collar.
Cons: Doesn't Work on Training
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Premier Pet Gentle Spray Citronella Anti-Bark Dog Collar
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 64 reviews

Garbage

October 20, 2011
by Deb777
frompa
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
1 / 5
1 / 5 64 reviews
Fit 
1 / 5
1 / 5 64 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 64 reviews
this item is expensive and does not work ..
Cons: Doesn't Work on Training
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Premier Pet Gentle Spray Citronella Anti-Bark Dog Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 64 reviews

Works on 5 out of 5 dogs

October 20, 2011
by 5outof5dogs
fromWestern Washington State
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 64 reviews
Fit 
5 / 5
5 / 5 64 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 64 reviews
I have 5 dogs from 9 lbs to 70 lbs. My next door neighbor complained of the barking and howling, but is happy now that I put these collars on the dogs. My vet suggested this collar. Works on all five dogs. One collar size fits all. When the dog barks, a little citronella spray mist goes up in front of the dog. Now that each dog knows what the collar does, when I put the collars on, the barking stops immediately. The dogs actually seem to like the collar-all the dogs are happy when I put them on. I live in western Washington state where we get lots of rain, some snow and ice, and temperatures from about 0 to 110. This collar works fine through all of it. I have used these durable collars daily for about 14 hours per day for the past 18 months. I changed the batteries one time so far. The battery is not expensive for how long it lasts but it wasn't the easiest to find. Finally found batteries at Radio Shack-I think it's a 6 volt battery. I paid about $7 per battery. The collar must have a low drain on the battery, because it lasts a long time. I have not had to replace the ciitronella can-it just keeps going. The citronella fragrance smells good. This collar is the best! Worth every penny. I highly recommend this collar to anyone with a barking or howling dog!
Pros: comfortable, durable, looks great, Easy to ControlDog
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Premier Pet Gentle Spray Citronella Anti-Bark Dog Collar
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 64 reviews

Not consistent

August 22, 2011
by veggietwin
fromNC
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
This product, when it worked, worked well. The problem was that most of the time my dog barked it did not activate.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Premier Pet Gentle Spray Citronella Anti-Bark Dog Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 64 reviews

Excellent Product!

August 17, 2011
by DMC9
fromEdmonton, AB
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
We bought this for our mixed-breed dog (she's about 20 lbs). I truly think that this is the best thing that I have ever purchased for our dog. I do agree with many of the other reviews for this product. It won't work if your dog has a "high pitched" bark. Our dog has learned that she CAN make noise in certain pitches without being sprayed. However, in my opinion, a higher pitch and softer bark is much better than a loud and deep bark (the neighbours think so too!).
I also have read in some other reviews that the sensor is TOO sensitive to a certain pitch of noise (ie. will spray the dog even if the dog hasn't barked). I do agree with this but I think that in my experience the "accidental" sprays aren't too often and our dog still was able to connect that bark = spray.
We went from having to use this collar with her on a consistant basis to sometimes not having to use it at all. We definitely experienced a very immediate improvement in our dogs need to bark once we started using this collar.
I will say though that while this product will probably give you pretty instantaneous relief from a problem barker, the collar should be used in conjunction with behavioural training as the ultimate goal is really to get your dog to the point where they don't feel the need to excessively bark. Putting your dog outside with this collar without working with your dog won't truly make the problem better.
I would really encourage anyone who has a problem barker to try this product. From what I have read in other people's reviews, it seems that Petsmart will accept these for return if it doesn't work for you so it's as close to a "risk-free" option as you can get.
Before we used this collar, I would get very anxious and stressed when I left the house for the day as I knew that our dog would be barking lots while I was gone. Our neighbours were getting very frusterated with us (rightly so!) and I really had no idea what to do. Since using the collar, I am able to leave the house without worry about our dog as she is now calm & quiet throughout the day. It's really made a huge difference for us!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Premier Pet Gentle Spray Citronella Anti-Bark Dog Collar
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 64 reviews

Really??

July 16, 2011
by MamaDane
fromTucson, AZ
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I put this on my Great Dane and he sat down. It sprayed him. He stood up. It sprayed him. He grabbed his ball. It sprayed him. He drank water. It sprayed him. It sprayed him 8 times before I took it off. He hadn't even barked yet, probably because he was so confused. Maybe mine was defective?? Regardless, if you purchase this product make sure it's not just spraying your dog randomly.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Premier Pet Gentle Spray Citronella Anti-Bark Dog Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 64 reviews

Miraculous!

July 14, 2011
by MarcieDoggers
fromWarwick, NY
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
This product has been a god send! I have an almost 3 year old beagle/terrier mix, and she has a really big barking problem. It's mostly when we leave her alone in the house for any amount of time alone, and seeing as we live in a condominium complex our neighbors were none too happy. We were getting notes left on the door, and nasty looks after every time we left the house. I knew she was just afraid that we wouldn't come back, and also jealous because she loves going for rides, and was mad at us for leaving her, but no matter how hard I tried to help her see that we would be back she just wouldn't calm down.
Prior to this collar we had tried a shock collar, this was totally worthless. It worked maybe once or twice, but it didn't fit her neck properly, and when it did work her reaction was so heart wrenching that I would just take it off. This collar does not need to fit so snug that it chokes in order for it to operate properly as it has a microphone built in that picks up the sound. Genius! And seeing as my dog absolutely abhors water or anything that sprays her it works immediately, and she doesn't make a peep once she sets it off. We've even started using it in the car as she likes to act up when we take her for rides, and it has calmed her down greatly.
I highly recommend this collar! If you have a persistent barker and you've tried everything, I promise you this will work for you!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 next