PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for LitterMaid Elite Mega Advanced Automatic Self-Cleaning Litter Box (LME9000)

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

LitterMaid Elite Mega Advanced Automatic Self-Cleaning Litter Box (LME9000)

Now your cat's litter box area will be constantly clean. Large size makes this litter box ideal for extra large cats or multiple cat households. To view a PDF version of the Instruction Guide, please click on the link below.
Overall rating:
1.883 / 5
1.9
 / 
5
(315 reviews) 300
75 of 315(24%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for LitterMaid Elite Mega Advanced Automatic Self-Cleaning Litter Box (LME9000)
Review 1 for LitterMaid Elite Mega Advanced Automatic Self-Cleaning Litter Box (LME9000)
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 315 reviews

Breaks

August 11, 2012
by irun4menow
fromShort Pump, VA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
We are currently on our 4th of these, and I will not be replacing it ever again. I have returned/exchanged each time, and I am officially done. It gets caked with feces, then stops working, gets jammed, or breaks. For the money, it's completely not worth it. You end up cleaning and working on it more than you would if you had a regular liter pan.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for LitterMaid Elite Mega Advanced Automatic Self-Cleaning Litter Box (LME9000)
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 315 reviews

Mega Disappointment

November 11, 2011
by 2CatFam
fromMadison, WI
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Sadly, 1 is the lowest star rating, but at least PetsMart took it back. I really wanted this product to work, and I would have been satisfied if it had only done a reasonable job. I thought it would be nice to have for over night trips away so my neighbor did not have to scoop for my two cats. Not only did it not clean the litter, it broke it up and pushed it onto the floor. I had to work harder to clean the self cleaning box than my regular litter pan!
I read and re-read the directions and posts for suggestions, and tried several ultra-premium brands. No matter what I did, nothing improved.
I did also try the Litter Robot, which was amazing at cleaning the litter, but my cats were afraid to go in it. If you have the money, want something that actually works, and your cats are not afraid of enclosed litter boxes, buy the Litter Robot. The Littermaid is junk.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for LitterMaid Elite Mega Advanced Automatic Self-Cleaning Litter Box (LME9000)
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 315 reviews

Do not buy!

October 29, 2011
by TwoCatsofMine
fromVirginia
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
I have been using Littermaid automatic boxes for years. The original ones were heavy duty and really lasted. I believe my first one lasted about 5 years. The second one lasted about 4. I bought this one in May and have had nothing but problems with it! The rake continously gets stuck at the waste recetacle. I have to take it apart to hit the reset button. This happens about once a week. The rake does not efficiently clean the boxes leaving behind clumps. The waste receptacles do not fit propertly. Just like another reviewer, I have to tape the top part on or everytime it empties the top would come off and if I didn't notice it right away (it's in our basement) it would then be dumping the waste on a closed up waste receptable. I have sent Littermaid an email about the poor quality of this product. I used to tell everyone about these boxes and recommend them but not anymore. Don't waste your money! This thing makes a bigger mess than a regular litter box!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for LitterMaid Elite Mega Advanced Automatic Self-Cleaning Litter Box (LME9000)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 315 reviews

Works well

October 24, 2011
by Jim128
fromWadsworth, OH
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Just had to replace our old box after 4 years. When using the recommended litter it works great. The only complaint might be the price of the disposable receptacles but it is worth it. Cleaning litter boxes the old way, with the smell was just too much. The cats are fascinated by it and once they have finished, they will stand there for ten minutes to watch it run. It clogs very seldom, usually when they have quite a bit of business to do but it has made the chore so much less distasteful and eliminated 90% of the odor. In three or four years when this one is worn out I know we will replace it with another Littermaid.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for LitterMaid Elite Mega Advanced Automatic Self-Cleaning Litter Box (LME9000)
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 315 reviews

Worst box we have had

September 13, 2011
by Jaab
fromSouth Carolina
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Wasted $200 on this product. EVen our 2 cats who were accustomed to a smaller version just look at it as it chops up waste and leaves a mess in the box. The receptables do not fit as advertised and I have finally been taping them in place because to clean the mess under the box requires re-assembly of the box as it easily falls apart. Very disappointed to still have to scoop in this "automatic" box.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for LitterMaid Elite Mega Advanced Automatic Self-Cleaning Litter Box (LME9000)
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 315 reviews

If I could give this littel box 0 stars I would

September 5, 2011
by MizPutz
fromTexas
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
This was the only model litter maid cat box our local petsmart had in stock. Buying the box and the litter that is supposed to be used in it cost me over $200. It worked correctly once. the rest of the time it just breaks up the cat waste and makes a big mess. Hardly any of it makes it into the waste container.. I really wish I had researched before buying this expensive litter box. I'm still stuck scooping just in a fancy non working litter box.... hate it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for LitterMaid Elite Mega Advanced Automatic Self-Cleaning Litter Box (LME9000)
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 315 reviews

cheap junk

August 31, 2011
by kittybitty
fromGalveston, Texas
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I paid around $190.00 for this box and it worked for 45 days = over $4.00/day to scoop litter and then break. I bought one 2 years ago and it still works...but I need two..I have replaced the 2nd one 4 times now in the past year...I will not buy another one.
This product used to be good and did what it said...now it is cheap junk. The motor is so weak that it can't pick up a clump of cat urine. I use "tightly clumping ScoopAway" which works fine in the old box that still works..the boxes sit side by side and the same 2 cats are using the boxes. Now the new box doesn't even sense when the cat has gone in the box...so I have to clean it manually...Lets see I could have paid $1.99 for a plastic box that I clean manually..and it would still work today.
Don't buy this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for LitterMaid Elite Mega Advanced Automatic Self-Cleaning Litter Box (LME9000)
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 315 reviews

Worst Ever

August 27, 2011
by Matthew854
fromRancho Cucamonga, CAC
This is the worst litter box I have ever purchased. I used high quality litter. Bought the Elite for 2 cats. Tried all levels of litter and it worked for two days. As soon as any liter got into the mechanisms, it stopped raking through the box. I spent hundreds for a litter box that I have to clean manually anyway. Don't buy it! Even when the litter is clean, it struggles to get through the clean litter.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for LitterMaid Elite Mega Advanced Automatic Self-Cleaning Litter Box (LME9000)
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 315 reviews

Used to be a good product

August 15, 2011
by Kehterp
fromSpringfield, Illinois
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I used to have a litter maid that worked great for about 4 or 5 years maybe more with no problems, but like everything it eventually died. I thought well that seemed like it was okay and worked okay so I bought another one. These new ones are a huge piece of junk.
In less than 6 months it was having problems and there was nothing different, same cat, same litter, and same place. It started jamming up on a regular basis. I would clean it and fix it and then it would be fine for a bit, and then start to do it again. Eventually the track and gears just broke. So I called there customer service about a replacement. What a nightmare, I registered it online and did everything it said when I bought it. They had me tear this thing apart and clean this and do that, when I told them I had done it several times before they said do it again.
After all of this it still did not work, so I had to open the electronics and read her a number on the circuit board, and there was an inspection sticker with a manufacture date that was less than 6 or 7 months earlier. They did everything not to replace it, but finally after finding the credit card transaction, getting a print out of the original receipt, cutting out the circuit board with the numbers on it, sending it in, and waiting for almost 2 months for the replacement, finally a new one arrived.
Within 2 or 3 months it started to do the something again, and when it broke I did not waist my time with litter maid. I would not even give this item to a person I did not like, much less buy or recommend it to someone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for LitterMaid Elite Mega Advanced Automatic Self-Cleaning Litter Box (LME9000)
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 315 reviews

Awful product - do not buy

August 13, 2011
by MaryEmerald
fromCincinnati
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I used to have the previous smaller version of this box and really liked it since it worked well and left the litter clean after each pass. However, this new design has a very different set of bars to clean the litter. They are too thin and too separated so they break apart the clumps and the other stuff and leaves a mess in the box and nothing goes into the container. This is the worst product I have seen in a very long time. Who designed this? How can you go from a good working product to this? They should return our money for the product to those of us who bought it
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for LitterMaid Elite Mega Advanced Automatic Self-Cleaning Litter Box (LME9000)
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 315 reviews

Useless piece of junk

July 6, 2011
by KJCat
fromHouston, TX
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
I have only had this litter box for six months, and the performance has been mediocre at best. For the past two months, it has been absolutely useless. The motor is not strong enough to rake clumps into the receptacle so the waste just piles up. I have to manually clean the box several times a day which completely defeats the purpose of a self cleaning box. We have tried different types of litter and varying litter levels with the same results. Don't waste your money on this thing!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for LitterMaid Elite Mega Advanced Automatic Self-Cleaning Litter Box (LME9000)
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 315 reviews

more work than traditional box

June 27, 2011
by bam11
frombisbee,az
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
My box/rake is always jammed up. It is not heavy duty enoungh to handle urine clumps guess my cat goes to much at one time. so serveral times a day i have to clear/clean it and it has tried so hard to clear urine clumps that it has broken it up the clumps. defeeting the whole reason for having it. Cleaning the old box was easier and will go back to it. $170.00 down the drain.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for LitterMaid Elite Mega Advanced Automatic Self-Cleaning Litter Box (LME9000)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 315 reviews

I have 3 cats

June 10, 2011
by Autumnswirl
fromVirginia Beach
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
I finally broke down and bought one of these, we had been debating over this for a couple years. I had picked out this one based on reviews and features, when I actually went to the petsmart, they had another option, Littermaid Ultimate Edition, LME9000MBPT. The only difference I could see from reading the boxes thoroughly is the ultimate came with a hood. Same motor, same power. Sense my old box had a hood, I went with that one. My biggest hesitation was not knowing if the cats would use it, one of them is a rescue cat and is extremely skittish. A PetSmart associate assured me that they would accept returns, even on a litterbox, within 45 days, with a receipt.
I have been using it for 2+ months, the cats all took to it pretty well. I left the old box set up beside the new one, but did not clean it so they had a smelly option or a different option. About an hour after I set them both up, one cat very cautiously went inside the LitterMaid, and came back out, then used the old box. By the next morning, all three were using the Littermaid, but I left the old box up for 3 days, just to make sure.
It is a little noisy when the motor starts up, but hearing that sure beats scooping behind 3 cats. I use old plastic grocery store bags to line the waste receptacle with so I do not need to purchase the receptacles as often. Now, part of my morning routine is changing the bag to a fresh one. That being said, with the initial littermaid purchase, I did buy a box of 18 replacement receptacles, and I have used 2 of those, plus the 4 that came with the ultimate.
Before buying this, I was using a 35 pound bucket of clumping litter every 2 weeks, now, I am going through about one per 5 weeks. I didn't need to change brands, I am still using TidyCats scoop for multiple cats. When I change the waste bag, I do a quick scrape with the litter scoop as the rake does not get all the urine soaked litter, it sometimes leaves the part on the bottom of the pan. But again, this sure does beat scooping after 3 cats!
Initial set-up was fairly easy, follow the instructions. The most difficult (messy) task so far has been cleaning the box itself but that is because one of my cats urinates over the rake housing and the back, so I would have to dismantle that part and clean it, and the dome- which is made from fabric. Yesterday I did another thorough cleaning of it, and left the dome outside to dry and air out (I really wanted coffee by that point). I forgot about it until this morning, and guess what? No urine on the rake housing! So I am going to leave it off, and watch to see if this continues. Had I known one of them would urinate on the rake housing because of the hood, I would have purchased the LitterMaid Elite Advanced Automatic Self-Cleaning Litter Box LME9000. Again, the hood was the only difference I noted, other than the color of the box itself, the ultimate is black, the elite is blue.
Overall, I would definitely recommend buying one of these, and have encouraged a few friends to get one.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for LitterMaid Elite Mega Advanced Automatic Self-Cleaning Litter Box (LME9000)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 315 reviews

My second one

June 2, 2011
by Papaw
fromKingsport TN
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I don't understand the low ratings this is my second one and it is wonderful. My first one served 3 cats for many years before it gave up. If you are having problems with yours I would reccomend changing your litter, my neighbors had problems with theirs cleaning good and it was because of the litter itself, They change and love it now. I personal recommend Tidy Cat clumpimg litter, it doesnt Goop up like other clumping litters do. My new one works Great, it is also quieter than the old one and a breeze to use.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for LitterMaid Elite Mega Advanced Automatic Self-Cleaning Litter Box (LME9000)
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 315 reviews

sucks

May 12, 2011
by Disappointed2000
fromny
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
This is supposed to be an automatic cleaner. I bought the elite thinking it was the best one of the model. Not the case, I am having to scoop the litter more now then before. The sweeper can handle half of the times my cat pees, and when he poops it get stuck in the grate so I am stuck cleaning the great as well. Stay away from this one
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for LitterMaid Elite Mega Advanced Automatic Self-Cleaning Litter Box (LME9000)
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 315 reviews

Bad choice!

March 1, 2011
by serena1
fromIndianapolis, IN
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
We bought this after the original littermaid quit working. Poor choice on our part, it is noisy, the metal tines scrape the plastic creating this horrible noise. Somehow the plastic insert for the litter gets pulled away from the unit creating a gap and allowing litter to collect under the unit. The motor itself is noisy! It has to be reset after a power outage, not automatically coming back on. It goes thru a lot of litter, because it not only pushes out the waste, but the litter itself, giving a box full of waste and litter!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for LitterMaid Elite Mega Advanced Automatic Self-Cleaning Litter Box (LME9000)
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 315 reviews

Broken Bulldozer

February 24, 2011
by Tahnee
fromAtlanta, Georgia
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Great until it breaks. I am a flight attendant and it made my life so much easier. I have a snooty yet loveable rescued flame point persian and he took to it immediatly the first month I brought him home...he was rescued from the street not a shelter. A little messy, he climbs in over the side he won't use the ramp,but then neither do my mother's cats. I don't buy waste receptacles I recycle/use the plastic bags from the grocery store. Place one in, when full take it out tie it up and dump it. Voila! Now to why I gave it an average rating with only three stars....the "bulldozer" started getting hung up and would be stuck in the middle of the box which left me wondering how my cat was using it while I was gone since there was only a small space for him to sit on either side of the bulldozer. To further my anger this happened within 30 days of the warranty expiring. I called the number on the box for service and was told my one year warranty had expired. I was told the problem is the relay switch needed to be reset and was instructed on how to do that. It did not solve the problem and I was told that the relay swtich had gone out on it and that was a common problem with the product. I was also told there is no way to replace the switch so when it goes out you have to buy a whole new unit. Lucky LitterMaid, unlucky for me. I am very disappointed as this is a great concept,but the product costs too much money to break after only a year of use. I can't afford to buy one of these every year. I have been scooping and wondering how long it is going to be for my particular persian to retaliate since he has to go 3 to 4 days without his litterbox being cleaned. I am looking for other options before I purchase another one of these. If I can't find something better I guess I will do the pros and cons of automatic and crossing my fingers it lasts longer than a year or doing what I am doing now, scooping manually. That wouldn't be such an issue if I didn't travel. Cost needs to be lowered or reliability improved.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for LitterMaid Elite Mega Advanced Automatic Self-Cleaning Litter Box (LME9000)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 315 reviews

best invention since sliced bread!!!

February 5, 2011
by keetol
fromCleveland, OH
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
this is the best invention EVER! we have had 2 of these. the first one lasted about 4 years. it was my fault that it stopped working. too much water when i was cleaning it out. then we got a different brand that our cats didn't like, now we have had our current littermaid for about 3 yrs now.
it's not perfect, but we love it. every couple days i have to scrape the bottom with a scooper because the clumping litter seems to stick over time.
some people were complaining about the price of the litter, recepticals, and filters. i save money by reusing the recepticals a couple times by just dumping them in the trash and putting them back in.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for LitterMaid Elite Mega Advanced Automatic Self-Cleaning Litter Box (LME9000)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 315 reviews

I am very pleased

January 16, 2011
by pattercat
fromSpokane WA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I purchased this product initially for 2 reasons: 1) we were horrible about cleaning out our litter box in a timely manner so that we were wasting a ton of clumping litter and 2) my new dog had decided that the litter box was his personal buffet table (grosssss). I wanted a solution that would clear away the waste before the dog could.
I have had no problems at all with the box. I have one cat who is 11 yrs old - she took to the box immediately. I didn't even give her a chance to transition - I just took away the old box and she starting using this one right away. I am saving a ton on litter. The box automatically sweeps through 10 mins after she uses the box and deposits the waste in a container that is very easy to access and change out.
I would recommend purchasing several additional receptacles from the beginning unless you go to the pet store often enough that getting replacements is convenient.
Pros: save a ton of litter, fairly quite - i won't say silent, doesn't scare my cat, well built
Cons: power outages can be an issue if you use the cord, instructions were a bit confusing for assembly
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for LitterMaid Elite Mega Advanced Automatic Self-Cleaning Litter Box (LME9000)
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 315 reviews

Do Not Waste Your Money!

January 9, 2011
by ZZZZt
fromCalifornia
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
This thing is no good. The original one I bought lasted 7+ years and reliable. When it wore out I immediately bought a replacement that I thought would be new improved. Instead cheap and unpredictable. It's not strong enough to move the clumps consistantly and clogs, I tried using less littler. Also there's always a pile of litter under the box as it falls through the gap before the receptacle and the area that holds the litter. I ended up buying a Scoopfree litter box and totally impressed. I threw the littermaid elite in the trash yesterday. (Idon't work for Scoopfree.) I'm all done with Littermaid!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 16 next