PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Better Than Ears Dog Treats

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Better Than Ears Dog Treats

A delicious, high-protein alternative to pig ears. They have the same great taste and aroma, with 50% less fat. And they're easy to digest.
Overall rating:
4.417 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(12 reviews) 12
11 of 12(92%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Better Than Ears Dog Treats
Review 1 for Better Than Ears Dog Treats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews

My dog loves these

September 8, 2006
by parsonsperson
fromSt. Louis, MO
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews
Rawhide and regular pig ears give my 5 year old Beagle diarrhea, and plus I'm always worried that he'll choke or get some kind of obstruction with those products. With Better Than Ears, we don't have to worry about any of that. Plus, he loves the taste. They actually smell pretty tasty. Haven't gone so far as to taste it myself, but all things relative, I can see the appeal they have for my dog. The only thing I wish is that they would last a little longer--he chews 'em up pretty fast. But I still think they're a much safer and appealing alternative to the rawhide and natural pig ear products. I will continue to purchase these.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Better Than Ears Dog Treats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews

They are much Better Than Ears!

January 4, 2013
by MYCRAZYLIFE04
fromLAFAYETTE, INDIANA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
My dogs liked pig ears until I had to worry about them choking on a piece or it getting stuck in and hurting their throat. I also don't have to worry about anything that might have been on the pigs or them eating the gross veins that are in the real ears. My dogs love the taste of the Better Than Ears and I know that there are high quality ingredients in them. The price of them is pretty good too.
Pros: dog loves it, taste, high quality ingredients, price
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Better Than Ears Dog Treats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews

My dog loves these!

March 10, 2012
by meghan22211
fromCooperstown, NY
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
My dog in general loves any food, but these. He loves them!! he sucks them down so fast.
Pros: dog loves it, taste
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Better Than Ears Dog Treats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews

Very comical...

December 4, 2010
by nirette
fromNew york, NY
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews
One year, for Christmas, we gave a dog named Shylo a package of these suckers. It was a hit; their owners tried to take some nice pictures of them eating the better-than-ears but Shylo was eating them so quickly that his face was blur. Great product & price, buy these!
Pros: price, quality, dogs love 'em!!!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Better Than Ears Dog Treats
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 12 reviews

means nothing to our dog!

June 29, 2010
by Zuri
fromSan Antonio, Texas
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Pet Satisfaction 
1 / 5
1 / 5 12 reviews
This treats seems like a good treat but our puppy just didn't care about it at all. He did not even finish the first ear yet. And the bag is too big! We wasted the money. So disappointed. Would be great if they have smaller package so pet parents could let their dogs try it first.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Better Than Ears Dog Treats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews

My Dachshund is wild for better then ears!

March 22, 2010
by gigi229
fromLinden,NJ
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews
I used to get my dachshund regular pig ears,but she always had to be supervised with them.With better then ears,we don't have to worry about her choking on them.She enjoys better then ears just as much as real pig ears.Now I occasionally give her pig ears,but not a lot.I would defenitly recommend this product,especially if your dog likes pig ears and your afraid they might choke.
Pros: safer thten pig ears, dog loves the taste
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Better Than Ears Dog Treats
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 12 reviews

dogs LOVE them

September 16, 2008
by InLoveWithYorkies
fromHouston, TX
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews
My 2 Yorkies LOVE these. I tear them in half and give each one a half since it's a bit big. However, they're NOTHING like pig ears. They're much softer and will not keep them entertained any longer than a Beggin Strip. I like this size bag because the smaller one doesn't have very many.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Better Than Ears Dog Treats
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 12 reviews

Our Dog Loves These

June 11, 2008
by moonbeamsis
fromOhio
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Pet Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5 12 reviews
I was searching for an alternative to pig ears and came across these. Our dog loves them! They keep him busy for a while and sometimes he walks around the house with it in his mouth and then plays with it. They aren't messy at all and don't contain animal by-products, which is important to me. They are reasonably priced as well, considering how many there are in the large size bag. Overall a winner for us!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Better Than Ears Dog Treats
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 12 reviews

not so much

May 27, 2008
by IJKM
fromLansing, MI
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Pet Satisfaction 
2 / 5
2 / 5 12 reviews
My pups didn't really like these treats. They eventually ate them but not one of their favorites. I liked them that they were healthier than ears and left no residue or marks. however, i would not buy them again due to my pups dislike.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Better Than Ears Dog Treats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews

January 17, 2008
by em63
fromMissouri
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews
Our dog got some of these for Christmas from "grandma" and he loved them! He got a lot of treats for Christmas and we laid one of each out in a row to see which one he would eat first - and he went straight for these. We will definitely be buying these again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Better Than Ears Dog Treats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews

Salsa Cant Get Enough!

January 29, 2007
by ChihuahuaMom84
fromCharlotte, NC
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews
These treats are wonderful even for small dogs. My chihuahua Salsa just loves them and always looks for them when I come home from Petsmart. She was a big pig ear fan but I use to always be concerned that she would choke.
These products take that fear away and my dog will never part with them!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Better Than Ears Dog Treats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews

BETTER THAN EARS

November 16, 2006
by ABISCHOICE
fromRahway, NJ
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews
Our dog, Abi, has a very delicate digestive system. These treats are much healthier & easier to digest for her. Although she prefers the cheese flavor over the bacon flavor, she LOVES the peanut butter flavor.
The only drawback to these treats is that they don't last long, because Abi just gobbles them up!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.